All you need to know about insurance and provision for your child


A child's birth is one of the most beautiful moments in a parent's life. However, it may not be long before various questions arise regarding the protection of your child and your family. comparis.ch has summarised the key topics for you.

These are the following:

Health insurance

  • Basic health insurance

    With the birth of your child behind you, your family now has a new little member. You should apply for health insurance for your baby within three months of its birth. If you register it too late, there is a risk of the insurance benefits being cut. Health insurance basically covers all necessary medical expenses (minus the maximum out-of-pocket), e.g. many vaccinations and preventive check-ups. Since your child does not need to be insured with the same provider as you are, it is worth retrieving free quotes from other insurance companies on comparis.ch – it's easy! More...

  • Supplemental insurance

    Conventional or alternative medicine? Maybe you prefer trying a more gentle treatment approach with your child. In that case, you might want to consider taking out a supplemental insurance for alternative medicine as basic insurance only covers certain treatment methods. Dental insurance is also advisable. Not all children are blessed with a naturally healthy and straight set of teeth. Orthodontic treatment can easily cost way over 10,000 francs. We recommend taking out dental insurance shortly after birth. The latest possible moment to do this is before the child's first dental appointment.

Property insurance

  • Personal liability insurance

    For now, your baby is still very dependent on you – but soon it will start to discover the world on its own, using all its senses. It is perfectly normal that it will also break a few things in the process. To hedge your bets in case the damage caused by your offspring affects third parties, you can include your child in your personal liability insurance. Usually, it is enough to notify your insurance provider without having to pay an additional premium. More...

  • Contents insurance

    Home contents insurance covers damage to household items, furniture, clothes and sports gear caused by fire, water, theft or glass breakage. If you already hold a contents insurance policy, you might want to recalculate and, if necessary, adjust your sum insured. Otherwise, you risk being under-insured. More...

Life insurance

You may want to contemplate buying life insurance to make sure that your family does not encounter financial problems should the bread-winner become disabled or die. Even if only one parent is working, life insurance makes sense for both: if something happens to the parent taking care of the children, this usually entails higher expenses for child care and housekeeping. More...

Alles Wichtige rund um die Versicherung und Vorsorge Ihres Kindes


Die Geburt eines Kindes ist einer der schönsten Momente im Leben. Bereits kurz nach der Geburt stellen sich jedoch viele Fragen betreffend dem Schutz Ihres Kindes und Ihrer Familie. comparis.ch zeigt Ihnen innert wenigen Minuten die wichtigsten Themen auf.

Diese sind:

Krankenkasse

  • Grundversicherung

    Die Geburt ist überstanden, das Kind ist Teil ihrer Familie geworden. Drei Monate nach der Geburt sollten Sie Ihr Kind bei einer Krankenkasse angemeldet haben. Bei verspäteter Anmeldung beginnt der Versicherungsschutz erst ab Beitrittsdatum. Zusätzlich müssen Sie bei nicht entschuldbarer Verspätung einen Prämiezuschlag bezahlen. Praktisch alle notwendigen medizinischen Kosten werden von der Krankenkasse abzüglich der Kostenbeteiligung gedeckt, so etwa viele Impfungen und Vorsorgeuntersuchungen. Da Ihr Kind nicht bei der gleichen Krankenversicherung sein muss wie Sie, lohnt es sich, einfach und gratis Angebote von anderen Versicherern auf comparis.ch einzuholen. Mehr...

  • Zusatzversicherung

    Schulmedizin oder Alternativmedizin? Manchmal möchte man es bei seinem Kind mit einer sanften Heilmethode versuchen. Dann lohnt sich eine Zusatzversicherung für alternativmedizinische Angebote, denn von der Grundversicherung werden nur bestimmte Behandlungen übernommen. Auch eine Zahnversicherung ist sinnvoll. Nicht alle Kinder sind von Natur aus mit einem schönen Gebiss gesegnet und Zahnstellungskorrekturen können schnell Kosten von weit über 10'000 Franken verursachen. Am besten schliesst man Zahnversicherungen kurz nach der Geburt ab, spätestens aber vor dem ersten Zahnarzttermin.

Sachversicherungen

  • Privathaftpflichtversicherung

    Noch ist Ihr Kind nicht selbstständig – doch bald wird es die Welt auf eigene Faust entdecken und mit allen Sinnen erkunden. Dass dabei auch mal etwas zu Bruch gehen kann, gehört dazu. Wenn Sie finanziell auf der sicheren Seite sein wollen, wenn Schäden bei Drittpersonen entstehen, schliessen Sie Ihr Kind in Ihre Privathaftpflichtversicherung mit ein. In der Regel reicht eine Meldung an die Versicherung, ohne dass mehr Prämien anfallen. Mehr...

  • Hausratversicherung

    Die Hausratversicherung deckt Schäden an Haushaltsgegenständen, Mobiliar, Kleidern und Sportgeräten die durch Feuer, Wasser, Diebstahl oder Glasbruch entstehen. Besteht bereits eine Hausratversicherung, lohnt sich eine Neuberechnung und eventuelle Anpassung der Versicherungssumme. Ansonsten droht eine Unterdeckung. Mehr...

  • Lebensversicherung

    Damit die Familie auch im Fall einer Invalidität oder Tod des Ernährers finanziell abgesichert ist, lohnt es sich, eine Lebensversicherung abzuschliessen. Selbst wenn nur ein Elternteil berufstätig ist, ist eine Lebensversicherung für beide sinnvoll: stösst dem die Kinder betreuenden Elternteil etwas zu, entstehen oft Mehrausgaben für Kinderbetreuung und Haushaltsführung. Mehr...