Switching insurers

Cancel by the end of March and switch health insurance mid-year

TIPS
|
How to switch contracts mid-year: sign the cancellation letter and make sure your health insurer receives it before 31 March. Source: iStock.com/izusek

Holders of a standard model policy with a deductible of 300 francs have a special cancellation right. They may switch health insurance as of 30 June. However, to do this, they are required to cancel their previous insurance policy by the end of March. A fast and easy way is to use the letter template provided by comparis.ch.

Those who switch health insurance now can benefit from lower premiums in the second half of the year. This option is available only to those having the standard model of basic health insurance with a deductible of 300 francs (0 francs for children). A mid-year change of health insurance is not possible for those with a higher deductible or an alternative insurance model such as family doctor, HMO or Telmed. Unlike when you switch at the end of the year, you are not allowed to increase your deductible when you switch mid-year.

3 points to note when you switch mid-year

  • To switch to a new health insurer in the middle of the year, you need to give three months’ notice, i.e. your cancellation letter must be received by the current provider by the end of March at the latest.
  • It is best to send the cancellation letter by registered post. You can find a template for this letter here.
  • If you are behind on your premium payments, the health insurer may reject your cancellation. 

Under what circumstances can I cancel by the end of May?

If an insurance company raises its premiums in the middle of the year, it must notify its policyholders of this change by the end of April. In this case, policyholders enjoy a special right to cancel by the end of May. They then switch to the new health insurance deal on 1 July. 

What are the benefits of switching health insurance in the middle of the year?

There are many reasons to change health insurance providers. Most people switch to save money. Since the benefits of mandatory basic health insurance are the same everywhere, changing to the least expensive provider is an obvious decision.

Some policyholders want better service. To find out more about how the different insurers compare in terms of customer satisfaction, you can visit the Comparis Community or view the results of our annual survey of several thousand health insurance customers.

Wechsel

Bis Ende März kündigen und Mitte Jahr die Krankenkasse wechseln

TIPPS
|
So kündigen Sie Ihren Vertrag auf Mitte Jahr: Kündigungsbrief unterzeichnen und bis zum 31. März bei Ihrer Krankenversicherung einreichen. Bild: iStock.com/izusek

Versicherte im Standardmodell mit einer Franchise von 300 Franken haben ein Sonderkündigungsrecht. Sie können die Krankenkasse per 30. Juni wechseln. Allerdings müssen sie dafür ihre bisherige Versicherung bis Ende März kündigen. Mit der Briefvorlage von comparis.ch geht das rasch und unkompliziert.

Wer jetzt die Krankenkasse wechselt, kann bereits in der zweiten Hälfte des Jahres von günstigeren Prämien profitieren. Berechtigt sind jedoch nur Grundversicherte mit Standardmodell und einer Franchise von 300 Franken, beziehungsweise 0 Franken für Kinder. Prämienzahlern mit höheren Franchisen oder alternativen Versicherungsmodellen wie Hausarzt, HMO oder Telmed steht dieser Weg nicht offen. Anders als beim Kassenwechsel Ende Jahr ist eine Erhöhung der Franchise nicht möglich.

Welche 3 Punkte sind bei dieser Sonderkündigung zu beachten?

  • Für den Kassenwechsel per Mitte Jahr gilt eine Kündigungsfrist von drei Monaten. Das Kündigungsschreiben muss somit bis spätestens 31. März bei der bisherigen Versicherung vorliegen.
  • Die Kündigungsmitteilung erfolgt am besten per Einschreiben. Eine Vorlage für den Kündigungsbrief finden Sie hier.
  • Bei ausstehende Monatsprämien kann die Krankenversicherung den Wechsel verweigern. 

Unter welchen Voraussetzungen kann ich bis Ende Mai kündigen?

Wenn die Prämie auf Mitte Jahr erhöht wird, muss die Krankenkasse ihre Versicherten bis Ende April darüber informieren. Versicherte haben in diesem Fall ein Sonderkündigungsrecht bis Ende Mai. Der Krankenkassenwechsel erfolgt dann auf den 1. Juli. 

Welchen Vorteil bringt mir der Kassenwechsel Mitte Jahr?

Gründe für einen Kassenwechsel gibt es viele. Bei den meisten dürften die Finanzen ausschlaggebend sein. Da die Leistungen der obligatorischen Grundversicherung überall gleich sind, liegt ein Wechsel zu einem günstigeren Anbieter auf der Hand.

Manche Versicherte wünschen sich einen besseren Service. Hilfreiche Angaben zur Kundenzufriedenheit finden sich in der Comparis Community sowie in den Resultaten der jährlichen Umfrage, die unter mehreren tausend Krankenkassen-Kunden durchgeführt wird.