Health insurance

Save on basic insurance


 

Ways to save money on basic health insurance:

  • TIP 1: Various savings models

    With alternative health insurance models such as HMO, family doctor, Telmed or other models, you can save up to 25 percent on premiums. Check with your insurance provider if one of these alternative models is offered in your area.

  • TIP 2: Optional deductibles

    By choosing a higher deductible, you are responsible for a greater amount of the costs resulting from an illness and/or accident. On the other hand, this can lead to substantial savings on premiums. Health insurance companies are free to offer the following deductibles:

    Children (up to 18 years of age):

    • CHF 100
    • CHF 200
    • CHF 300
    • CHF 400
    • CHF 500
    • CHF 600
    Young adults (19–25 years) and adults (26 years or older):
    • CHF 500
    • CHF 1000
    • CHF 1500
    • CHF 2000
    • CHF 2500

    Before selecting a higher deductible, you should be aware of the financial risks of a serious illness. The optimised deductible calculator helps with making this decision. 

  • TIP 3: Basic and supplemental insurance can be kept separate

    Basic and supplemental insurance can be taken out with different health insurance companies. The benefits and coverage of basic health insurance are clearly defined and consistent among all providers. There are therefore only few reasons why you should not switch to the least expensive health insurance provider. All providers are obligated to accept every applicant for basic health insurance.

  • TIP 4: Limit hospital coverage to the canton of residence

    This restriction can make sense particularly for residents of larger cantons that have a correspondingly large and extensive offering of medical services. If emergency medical services are required in another canton, the resulting costs will still be covered by the insurance.

    By the way: basic health insurance is sufficient for general coverage worldwide (with the exceptions of the USA, Canada, Australia and Japan), as the maximum covered amount for emergency treatment abroad is twice that for the same treatment in Switzerland.

  • TIP 5: Health insurance without accident coverage

    Persons working at least 8 hours per week with the same employer are automatically insured through this employer against accidents (Accident Insurance Act – UVG) and can therefore exclude accident coverage from health insurance without hesitation. This leads to a premium discount of up to 10 percent depending on the provider. As soon as you are no longer covered for accidents by your employer, the health insurance provider must be notified. Accident coverage according to the Health Insurance Act (KVG) then comes into effect with a resulting rise in premiums. UVG accident insurance covers treatment costs for work-related as well as non-work-related accidents, that is, those occurring in your free time. Those receiving unemployment benefits are insured from SUVA against accidents.

    By the way: accident coverage from an employer-provided insurance (UVG) offers much better protection than accident insurance taken out in conjunction with basic insurance (KVG). Benefits covered by UVG accident insurance are not subject to a deductible or coinsurance. Furthermore, UVG accident insurance provides additional coverage for serious accidents, such as daily allowances, pensions or other reimbursements.

  • TIP 6: Suspend basic health insurance during military service.

    Insured individuals in military service for more than 60 continuous days may suspend their basic health insurance during this time as long as they provide proof of this period of military service. The proof must be presented to the health insurance provider prior to the military service.

  • TIP 7: Individual premium reduction (IPR)

    If your annual taxable income lies below a certain limit, you are entitled to a premium reduction from your canton of residence.

  • TIP 8: Premium payment for whole year

    Some health insurance providers offer a discount if the premiums are paid once for the whole year instead of monthly payments. Please check directly with your provider if this is an option.

Profitieren in der Grundversicherung


So können Sie in der Grundversicherung Geld sparen:

  • TIPP 1: Verschiedene Sparmodelle

    Mit alternativen Versicherungsmodellen wie dem HMO-, Hausarzt-, Telmed- oder anderen Modellen können bis zu 25 Prozent Prämien eingespart werden. Klären Sie ab, ob Ihre Krankenkasse eines dieser Versicherungsmodelle in Ihrer Region anbietet.

  • TIPP 2: Wahlfranchisen

    Wer eine höhere Franchise wählt, beteiligt sich stärker an den Kosten bei Krankheit und/oder Unfall. Andererseits können so aber auch substanzielle Prämieneinsparungen realisiert werden. Den Krankenkassen steht es frei, folgende Franchisen zur Verfügung zu stellen:

    Kinder (bis 18 Jahre):

    • CHF 100
    • CHF 200
    • CHF 300
    • CHF 400
    • CHF 500
    • CHF 600
    Junge Erwachsene (19-25 Jahre) und Erwachsene (ab 26 Jahre):
    • CHF 500
    • CHF 1000
    • CHF 1500
    • CHF 2000
    • CHF 2500

    Bevor man sich für eine höhere Franchise entscheidet, sollte man sich der finanziellen Risiken im Fall einer schweren Krankheit bewusst sein. Der optimierte Franchisenrechner hilft Ihnen bei dieser Entscheidung. 

  • TIPP 3: Grund- und Zusatzversicherung können getrennt werden

    Sie können die Grund- und Zusatzversicherung bei verschiedenen Krankenkassen abschliessen. Die Leistungen für die Grundversicherung sind klar definiert und bei jeder Krankenkasse gleich. Es gibt folglich nur wenige Gründe, weshalb man für die Grundversicherung nicht zur billigsten Krankenkasse wechseln sollte. Jede Krankenkasse muss Sie in die Grundversicherung aufnehmen.

  • TIPP 4: Spitaldeckung auf den Wohnkanton beschränken

    Besonders für die Einwohner grosser Kantone mit einem entsprechend grossen und umfassenden medizinischen Dienstleistungsangebot kann sich diese Einschränkung lohnen. Kommt es zu einer Notfallbehandlung ausserhalb des Wohnkantons, werden die Spitaltaxen von der Krankenkasse übernommen.

    Übrigens: Die Grundversicherung reicht als Deckungsvariante allgemeiner Klasse weltweit (ausgenommen USA, Kanada, Australien, Japan), denn bei notfallmässigen Behandlungen im Ausland ist maximal der doppelte Betrag gedeckt, den die gleiche Behandlung in der Schweiz gekostet hätte.

  • TIPP 5: Krankenversicherung ohne Unfalldeckung abschliessen

    Wer mindestens 8 Stunden pro Woche bei einem einzelnen Arbeitgeber angestellt ist, wird von diesem automatisch gegen Unfall versichert (UVG-versichert) und kann die Krankenversicherung bedenkenlos ohne Unfalldeckung abschliessen. Dies führt je nach Krankenkasse zu einem Prämienrabatt von bis zu 10 Prozent. Sobald Sie nicht mehr durch den Arbeitgeber gegen Unfall versichert sind, müssen Sie dies Ihrer Krankenkasse melden. Die Unfalldeckung nach KVG tritt dann in Kraft, was eine Prämienerhöhung zur Folge hat. Die UVG-Versicherung deckt die Heilungskosten sowohl bei Berufs- als auch bei Nichtberufsunfällen, d.h. bei Unfällen in der Freizeit. Wer Arbeitslosengeld bezieht, ist von der SUVA gegen Unfall versichert.

    Übrigens: Die Unfallversicherung nach UVG bietet einen weitaus besseren Schutz als die Unfallversicherung nach KVG. Die UVG-Versicherten müssen sich weder mit einer Franchise noch mit einem Selbstbehalt an den Heilungskosten beteiligen. Ausserdem sieht das UVG bei schlimmen Unfällen weitere Leistungen wie Taggelder, Renten oder Entschädigungen vor.

  • TIPP 6: Die Grundversicherung während des Militärdienstes sistieren.

    Versicherte, die an mehr als 60 aufeinanderfolgenden Tagen Militärdienst leisten, können die Grundversicherung gegen einen entsprechenden Nachweis während der Dienstzeit sistieren. Der Nachweis muss vor dem Dienst bei der Krankenkasse eingereicht werden.

  • TIPP 7: Individuelle Prämienverbilligung (IPV)

    Liegt Ihr jährliches steuerbares Einkommen unterhalb einer bestimmten Höhe, haben Sie Anspruch auf Prämienverbilligung durch Ihren Wohnkanton.

  • TIPP 8: Jährliche Prämienbezahlung

    Einige Krankenkassen gewähren Rabatte, wenn die Prämien einmal jährlich statt monatlich bezahlt werden. Bitte informieren Sie sich direkt bei Ihrer Krankenkasse, ob sie dies anbietet.

Das könnte Sie interessieren

Krankenkasse: Grundversicherung

Jetzt Prämien vergleichen und sparen!