Pensions

How to read your pension statement

TIPS
| By Leo Hug |
Source: iStock / Antonio_Diaz

At the beginning of every year, employees receive a pension statement from their pension provider. It is peppered with figures and technical jargon. Comparis explains what it all means.

If you are employed and earn at least 21,510 francs per year from one employer, you are required to be insured with an occupational pension fund. Your pension statement contains, amongst other things, a forecast of the annual pension you could expect to receive.

You will find the following information on your pension statement:

  • Declared OASI annual salary

    The declared OASI (old age and survivors’ insurance, AHV/AVS) annual salary is your gross salary and forms the basis for the pension calculations. This is also the salary that is stated on the salary certificate that you use for your tax return.
  • Insured annual salary

    A specific amount is deducted from the OASI annual salary. It is called the “coordination deduction” and is currently 25,059 francs. The gross salary minus the coordination deduction gives you the insured annual salary. This amount is used as the basis for calculating the pension fund contributions.
  • Existing pension savings

    The amount of pensions savings you have is your accumulated retirement capital. It is made up of any transferred vested benefits, the employer and employee contributions and interest.
  • Benefits

    A projection shows how much pension capital you will have accumulated by the time you retire. The pension fund assumes that you will continue to earn the same amount of money and that the appropriate interest is applied. The projected retirement capital is multiplied by what’s called the “conversion rate”. This produces the annual pension you can expect to receive. In the “benefits” section, you will also find details of the benefits paid to survivors in the event of your death, or to you in the event of disability due to illness. You can use the Comparis pension calculator to find out what your financial situation could look like when you retire.
  • Financing

    The financing section shows how much money the employee and employer pay into the pension fund, with each contributing half the total amount. The money is used for two different things: the savings contributions are used to accumulate retirement capital, while the risk contributions function as insurance premiums for death and disability benefits.
  • Maximum possible purchase

    Did you earn less in the past? If so, you can top up the savings in your pension fund. Any voluntary pension contributions can be deducted from your taxable income.
  • Maximum advance withdrawal to purchase a home

    Are you thinking of buying a property? Any property that you will permanently occupy yourself can be financed using retirement savings. If you are under 50 years old, you can withdraw all your pension savings ahead of time. If you are over 50 years old, you can withdraw half your current capital, but no more than the amount you had accumulated by age 50.
  • Cover ratio

    The cover ratio shows the extent to which the pension liabilities are covered by the pension assets. If the cover ratio is 100%, the pension fund can cover your current and future liabilities exactly. If the cover ratio falls below 90%, you are considered to have a significant shortfall in cover. In such cases, the pension fund usually has to introduce restructuring measures. This generally means you need to make extra contributions. Contact your pension fund if the cover ratio is not specified on your pension statement.

The company pension is only part of your overall retirement provision. It should be considered in conjunction with the anticipated OASI (AHV/AVS) pension and any third pillar savings. You can review your overall pension situation with the help of our pension experts at Optimatis. They are familiar with possible gaps and risks associated with pensions and, thanks to its cooperation with numerous partners, can identify an appropriate solution. The consultation is free of charge and there is no obligation.

Find out more and arrange a consultation

Comparis
Newsletter
de

Versicherungen

Auto & Motorrad

Immobilien

Kredit & Hypotheken

Preisvergleich

Gesundheit & Altersvorsorge

Weitere Services

Comparis

Menü

Gesundheit & AltersvorsorgeSäule 3aWas genau steht im PK-Ausweis?
Vorsorge

Was genau steht im PK-Ausweis?

von Leo Hug

13.01.2021

Bild: iStock / Antonio_Diaz

Jeweils Anfang Jahr bekommen Arbeitnehmende von ihrer Pensionskasse den Pensionskassenausweis zugestellt. Er enthält einige Zahlen und Fachausdrücke. Comparis erklärt, was es damit auf sich hat.

Sie sind angestellt und verdienen bei einem Arbeitgeber jährlich mindestens 21’510 Franken? Dann sind Sie obligatorisch bei einer Pensionskasse (PK) versichert. Im PK-Ausweis steht unter anderem, wie gross dereinst Ihre voraussichtliche Rente pro Jahr ausfallen wird.

Folgende Angaben finden Sie in Ihrem PK-Ausweis wieder:

  • Gemeldeter AHV-Jahreslohn

    Der gemeldete AHV-Jahreslohn entspricht Ihrem Bruttolohn und stellt die Basis der Berechnungen dar. Diesen finden Sie ebenfalls auf dem Lohnausweis für Ihre Steuererklärung.
  • Versicherter Jahreslohn

    Vom AHV-Jahreslohn wird ein bestimmter Betrag abgezogen, der sogenannte Koordinationsabzug. Dieser beträgt aktuell 25’095 Franken. Der Bruttolohn abzüglich des Koordinationsabzugs ergibt den versicherten Jahreslohn. Von dieser Basis aus werden die Pensionskassenbeiträge berechnet.
  • Vorhandenes Altersguthaben

    Der Betrag Ihres vorhandenen Altersguthabens entspricht Ihrem bisher angesparten Alterskapital. Darin enthalten sind die eingebrachten Freizügigkeitsleistungen, die Sparbeiträge von Arbeitgeber und Arbeitnehmenden sowie die Verzinsung.
  • Leistungen

    Eine Hochrechnung zeigt, wie hoch Ihr Alterskapital bei der Pensionierung ausfallen wird. Die Kasse geht davon aus, dass Sie weiterhin gleich viel verdienen und das Geld angemessen verzinst ist. Das hochgerechnete Alterskapital wird mit dem sogenannten Umwandlungssatz multipliziert. Daraus resultiert die zu erwartende künftige Jahresrente. Unter den Abschnitt «Leistungen» finden Sie auch Angaben zu Renten an Hinterbliebene im Todesfall oder bei Invalidität infolge von Krankheit. Berechnen Sie Ihre voraussichtliche finanzielle Lage im Alter mit dem Comparis-Vorsorgerechner.
  • Finanzierung

    Die Finanzierung zeigt, wie viel Geld Arbeitnehmende und Arbeitgeber je hälftig in die Pensionskasse einzahlen. Die Gelder werden für zwei verschiedene Dinge verwendet: Der Sparbeitrag fliesst ins Altersguthaben. Die Risikobeiträge sind die Versicherungsprämien für Invaliden- und Todesfallrenten.
  • Maximal möglicher Einkauf

    Haben Sie früher weniger verdient? Dann können Sie Ihre Ersparnisse aus der Pensionskasse aufstocken. Den freiwillig einbezahlten Betrag können Sie vom steuerbaren Einkommen abziehen.
  • Maximaler Vorbezug für Wohneigentumsförderung

    Sie denken über eine eigene Liegenschaft nach? Dauernd selbst bewohntes Wohneigentum kann mit Pensionskassengeldern finanziert werden. Wer jünger als 50 ist, darf das ganze Pensionskassenguthaben vorbeziehen. Ältere erhalten noch die Hälfte des aktuellen PK-Kapitals, höchstens aber den Betrag, den sie mit 50 in der Pensionskasse hatten.
  • Deckungsgrad

    Der Deckungsgrad zeigt das Verhältnis von vorhandenem Vorsorgevermögen zu den Verpflichtungen Ihrer Pensionskasse. Liegt der Deckungsgrad bei 100 Prozent, kann die Pensionskasse gerade noch ihren heutigen und künftigen Verpflichtungen nachkommen. Sinkt der Deckungsgrad unter 90 Prozent, spricht man von einer erheblichen Unterdeckung. Die Pensionskassen müssen dann in der Regel Sanierungsmassnahmen einleiten. Das kostet Sie in der Regel Beiträge. Fragen Sie bei Ihrer Pensionskasse nach, falls der Deckungsgrad im PK-Ausweis nicht aufgeführt ist.

Die Pensionskassenleistungen sind nur ein Teil der Vorsorge. Sie müssen zusammen mit der zu erwartenden AHV-Rente und den Ersparnissen in der dritten Säule gesehen werden. Überprüfen Sie darum Ihre gesamte Vorsorgesituation mit unseren Vorsorgeexperten von Optimatis. Sie kennen mögliche Lücken und Risiken in der Vorsorge und zeigen Ihnen dank einer grossen Auswahl an Partnern die passende Lösung. Das Beratungsgespräch ist unverbindlich und kostenlos.

Jetzt informieren und sich beraten lassen

Autor

Leo Hug

Experte Gebühren und Vorsorge

media@comparis.ch

Verwandte Beiträge

Schaffen Sie sich einen Überblick über Ihre finanzielle Lage von morgen.

Jetzt loslegen

Nach oben

Newsletter

Immer aktuell informiert über Sparmöglichkeiten sowie Experten-Tipps rund um die Themen Gesundheit, Finanzen und Steuern.

Mit der Anmeldung stimme ich der Bearbeitung meiner Daten entsprechend der Datenschutzerklärung von comparis.ch zu.

comparis.ch
  • Über Comparis

  • Medien

  • Karriere

Folgen Sie uns
Sprache
  • DE
  • FR
  • IT
  • EN
  • Kontakt
  • Datenschutz
  • Rechtliche Informationen
  • Impressum

© 1996–2021 comparis.ch AG, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zürich, +41 44 360 52 62