Compare, cancel and switch health insurance


In Switzerland it is possible to change your health insurance after cancelling your previous policy. Different terms apply to the changing of basic insurance and supplemental insurance. Basic insurance may be cancelled every year by the end of November. Read on to find out how it's done.

How to cancel basic insurance
When is it possible to change supplemental insurance?
Compare and change health insurance

How do I go about changing my basic insurance for 2017?

  • Changing health insurance is easy and uncomplicated 
  • Send your notice of cancellation to your health insurer until 30 November 2017
  • Draw up a cancellation letter online for free
  • Compare health insurance products, models and deductibles with the free Health Insurance Comparison of comparis.ch
  • You have until 30/12/2017 to take out a new basic insurance policy
  • The new basic insurance policy takes effect on 01/01/2018

Cancelling basic insurance

Changing insurance with effect from 1 January: The insurance companies must communicate their new premiums by 31 October. In that letter, they must also inform policyholders of their right to cancel. The existing policy may be cancelled until 30 November. Example: If you wish to cancel your basic insurance policy, your notice of cancellation must be received by your current insurer by 30 November at the latest. It doesn’t matter whether the premium is being raised or whether you hold a special form of insurance (healthcare network, HMO, family doctor model, medical helpline, optional deductible level, bonus insurance). What is important is that your health insurer communicates the new premium as approved by the Federal Office of Public Health by 31 October. Note: The cancellation letter must reach your insurer before the cancellation deadline is over. It is the date on which the insurer receives the letter that counts, and not the one on the postmark. The cancellation deadline is met if the notice is received by the insurer by the last day of the statutory period (31 March, 30 November) during regular office hours. Registered mail deposited in the P.O. box is considered as delivered in the moment in which it is picked up at the post office. Since delays cannot be ruled out, we recommend sending the cancellation letter by registered mail until mid-March or mid-November, respectively, so that you can prove that you have given notice in due time.

Changing insurance with effect from 1 July: Holders of a basic insurance policy with a regular deductible (adults 300 francs/children 0 francs per calendar year) and free choice of care providers may cancel their health insurance with effect from 30 June with three months’ notice. This means that your previous insurance provider must receive your notice of cancellation by 31 March. Cancelling insurance mid-year is not possible in case of a basic insurance policy with a higher deductible (adults 500 to 2500 francs/children 100 to 600 francs per calendar year) or with a limited choice of care providers (healthcare network, HMO, family doctor model, medical helpline) or with bonus insurance.

Policyholders whose premiums are increasing mid-year must be informed by their insurance provider by the end of April. In this case, you have until the end of May to cancel the contract and switch to another insurance provider to commence on 1 July.

If you have a bonus insurance policy with your current provider:
You may cancel a bonus policy only 5 years after the start of the contract and for the end of a calendar year with three months' notice. Should premiums rise, the cancellation period is reduced to only one month, though the 5-year rule for contract length still applies.

Please note: Outstanding monthly premiums may prevent you from being allowed to change insurance.

Click here to use our cancellation letter template: basic insurance.

Cancelling supplemental insurance

Cancellation periods if premiums rise:

The terms stated in the General Conditions of Insurance apply (e.g. one month from notification of higher premiums or per year end). It also possible to cancel your policy if your premiums increase because you enter a higher age group.

Cancellation periods in case of unchanged premiums:

The cancellation periods for supplemental insurance vary. Some supplemental insurance policies have a minimum duration of several years and six months’ notice. The cancellation periods are stated in the General Terms and Conditions of the supplemental insurance policies: list of all cancellation periods of supplemental insurance.

Tips:
  • Do not cancel your current supplemental insurance before having received confirmation of unconditional acceptance from your new insurance provider. Otherwise it is recommended to cancel only your basic insurance.
  • Health insurance providers can place a temporary or permanent qualification (i.e. restriction) on supplemental insurance if they consider an applicant's state of health to be an unfavourable risk. This means that the policyholder will not be covered for treatment for an illness addressed in the qualification.
  • Answer the questions in the application form accurately and completely. Health insurance providers have the right to make retroactive qualifications if it is later determined that false or incomplete information was provided on the application form.

Compare and change health insurance

  • In a first step, compare the health insurance premiums in our Health Insurance Comparison and check out your potential savings per year.
  • Find out whether choosing a different deductible would pay off for you and whether an alternative insurance model might be an option. Plenty of money can be saved by choosing the right deductible or an alternative insurance model.
  • Request one or several quotes from the health insurance providers of your choice. Retrieving quotes is easy and can be done directly online in our health insurance premium comparison.
  • Check the quotes received and apply with a new insurer using the enclosed application form. The health insurers are obliged to accept you for basic insurance without any restrictions.

 » Compare health insurance premiums

Please note that your existing insurer must receive your notice of cancellation until 30 November. You can also give notice on your basic insurance before having received the confirmation of acceptance from your new provider. Your state of health doesn't matter for basic insurance – you may even change your insurance if you are already receiving medical treatment.

The insurance companies are free in determining the cancellation periods for supplemental insurance. The cancellation periods are often longer than for basic insurance (e.g. 3 months before the end of the year, i.e. the deadline is the end of September). If you wish to take out supplemental insurance with a cheaper provider, make sure you wait until your new provider confirms your acceptance, as insurers are not obliged to accept all applicants for supplemental insurance. If you cancel your basic insurance policy, but wish to keep your supplemental insurance with your existing provider, you must point this out very clearly. The best way to do this is to make a note in your cancellation letter: “This cancellation only applies to my basic insurance policy. My supplemental insurance shall remain with your company.”

This might interest you

Basic health insurance

Compare premiums here and save!

Krankenkasse kündigen, vergleichen und wechseln


In der Schweiz kann die Krankenkasse nach der Kündigung der bisherigen Krankenversicherung gewechselt werden. Für den Wechsel der Grundversicherung und Zusatzversicherung gelten verschiedene Bestimmungen. Die Grundversicherung kann jedes Jahr bis Ende November gekündigt werden. Lesen Sie im Detail, wie Sie vorgehen müssen.

Wie wechsle ich die Grundversicherung 2017?

  • Die Krankenkasse wechseln ist einfach und unkompliziert 
  • Kündigungsschreiben bis 30. November 2017 bei der Krankenversicherung einreichen
  • Kündigungsschreiben kostenlos online erstellen
  • Krankenversicherung, Modelle und Franchisen vergleichen mit dem gratis Krankenkassenvergleich von comparis.ch
  • Sie können bis 30.12.2017 eine neue Grundversicherung abschliessen
  • Die neue Grundversicherung wird auf den 01.01.2018 gewechselt

 

Wie kündige ich die Grundversicherung?
Wann kann die Zusatzversicherung gewechselt werden?
Krankenkasse vergleichen und wechseln

Grundversicherung kündigen

Versicherungswechsel per 1. Januar: Der Versicherer muss die neue Prämie spätestens bis zum 31. Oktober mitteilen. Im Schreiben muss er zudem auf Ihr Kündigungsrecht aufmerksam machen. Die Versicherung kann bis am 30. November gekündigt werden. Beispiel: Wenn Sie beim bisherigen Versicherer die Grundversicherung wechseln möchten, muss der Versicherer die Kündigung bis spätestens am 30. November erhalten haben. Dabei spielt es keine Rolle, ob die Prämie erhöht wurde oder eine besondere Versicherungsform (Gesundheitsnetzwerk, HMO, Hausarztmodell, telemedizinische Beratung, wählbare Franchise, Bonusversicherung) abgeschlossen wurde. Ausschlaggebend hierbei ist, dass der Krankenversicherer die neue, vom BAG genehmigte Prämie vor dem 31. Oktober mitgeteilt hat. Wichtig: Die Kündigung muss beim Versicherer vor Ablauf der Kündigungsfrist eingehen. Nicht der Poststempel der Kündigung ist massgebend, sondern das Datum, an welchem der Versicherer die Kündigung erhält. Die Kündigungsfrist ist eingehalten, wenn die Kündigung am letzten Tag der gesetzlichen Frist (31. März, 30. November) beim Versicherer zur gewöhnlichen Geschäftszeit eingegangen ist. Eine ins Postfach gelegte eingeschriebene Sendung gilt in jenem Zeitpunkt als zugestellt, in welchem sie auf der Post abgeholt wird. Da Verzögerungen nicht ausgeschlossen sind, wird empfohlen, die Kündigung bis spätestens Mitte März bzw. Mitte November eingeschrieben zu senden, damit ein Beweis für die rechtzeitige Kündigung vorliegt.

Versicherungswechsel per 1. Juli: Wer über eine Grundversicherung mit einer ordentlichen Franchise (Erwachsene 300 Franken/Kinder 0 Franken pro Kalenderjahr) und freier Wahl des Leistungserbringers verfügt, kann seine Krankenversicherung auf den 30. Juni unter Einhaltung einer dreimonatigen Kündigungsfrist kündigen. Das heisst, der bisherige Versicherer muss Ihre Kündigung bis spätestens am 31. März erhalten haben. Ein Versicherungswechsel in der Jahresmitte ist nicht möglich, wer über eine Grundversicherung mit einer höheren Franchise (Erwachsene 500 - 2500 Franken/Kinder 100 - 600 Franken pro Kalenderjahr), oder mit einer eingeschränkten Wahl des Leistungserbringers (Gesundheitsnetzwerk, HMO, Hausarztmodell, telemedizinische Beratung) oder mit einer Bonusversicherung verfügt.

Versicherte, deren Prämien trotzdem auf Mitte Jahr aufschlagen, müssen von ihrer Krankenkasse bis Ende April informiert werden. Sie können in diesem Fall bis Ende Mai den Vertrag kündigen und per 1. Juli zu einer anderen Kasse wechseln.

Wenn Sie bei der bisherigen Krankenkasse eine Bonusversicherung abgeschlossen haben:
Diese Versicherungen können erst fünf Jahre nach Abschluss auf das Ende eines Kalenderjahres unter Einhaltung einer dreimonatigen Frist gekündigt werden. Bei angekündigter Prämienerhöhung gilt die verkürzte Kündigungsfrist von einem Monat, allerdings geht die 5-jährige Vertragsdauer dieser Regelung vor.

Achtung: Ausstehende Monatsprämien können dazu führen, dass Ihnen ein Krankenkassenwechsel verweigert wird.

Hier klicken für das vorbereitete Kündigungsschreiben: Grundversicherung.

 

Zusatzversicherung kündigen

Kündigungsfristen bei einer Prämienerhöhung:

Es gelten die Bestimmungen in den Versicherungsbedingungen (z.B. ab Mitteilung ein Monat oder bis Ende Jahr). Bei einer Prämienerhöhung infolge eines Wechsels in eine höhere Altersgruppe ist eine Kündigung ebenfalls möglich.

Kündigungsfristen bei einer unveränderten Prämie:

Die Kündigungsfristen für die Zusatzversicherungen sind verschieden. Gewisse Zusatzversicherungen haben eine mehrjährige Mindestlaufzeit und eine Kündigungsfrist von sechs Monaten. Die Kündigungsfristen sind in den Allgemeinen Versicherungsbedingungen für die Zusatzversicherungen aufgeführt: Auflistung der Kündigungsfristen Zusatzversicherung.

Tipps:
  • Kündigen Sie Ihre alte Zusatzversicherung erst, wenn von der neuen Kasse eine vorbehaltlose Aufnahmebestätigung vorliegt. Ansonsten wird empfohlen, nur die Grundversicherung zu kündigen.
  • Die Krankenkassen können bei Anträgen auf Zusatzversicherungen einen zeitlich befristeten oder unbefristeten Vorbehalt anbringen, wenn sie den Antragssteller in gesundheitlicher Hinsicht als ungünstiges Risiko beurteilen. Dies bedeutet für den Versicherten, dass er keinen Anspruch auf Leistungen für die Behandlung der im Vorbehalt aufgeführten Krankheit hat.
  • Beantworten Sie die Fragen im Versicherungsantrag korrekt und vollständig. Die Krankenkassen haben das Recht, auch nachträglich Vorbehalte anzubringen, wenn sich herausstellt, dass jemand beim Ausfüllen des Versicherungsantrags unwahre oder unvollständige Angaben gemacht hat.

 

Krankenkasse vergleichen und wechseln

  • Vergleichen Sie in einem ersten Schritt die Krankenkassen-Prämien in unserem Krankenkassenvergleich und prüfen Sie, wie gross Ihr jährliches Einsparpotenzial ist.
  • Überprüfen Sie, ob sich auch ein Wechsel der Franchise lohnt und ob für Sie allenfalls alternative Versicherungsmodelle in Frage kommen. Sowohl bei der Franchise wie auch beim Versicherungsmodell sind hohe Prämienersparnisse möglich.
  • Fordern Sie eine oder mehrere Offerten von den von Ihnen ausgewählten Krankenkassen an. Die Offerten können einfach und online direkt in unserem Krankenkassenprämien-Vergleich angefordert werden.
  • Prüfen Sie die erhaltenen Offerten und melden Sie sich bei einer Krankenkasse mit dem beigelegten Formular an. Die Krankenkassen sind verpflichtet, Sie in der Grundversicherung ohne Einschränkungen aufzunehmen.

 

Beachten Sie, dass die Kündigung bis zum 30. November bei Ihrer bestehenden Krankenkasse eintreffen muss. Sie können die Grundversicherung auch kündigen, bevor Sie die Aufnahmebestätigung der neuen Krankenversicherung erhalten haben. Ihr Gesundheitszustand spielt bei der Grundversicherung keine Rolle – Sie können die Krankenkasse auch wechseln, wenn Sie bereits in ärztlicher Behandlung sind.

Bei den Zusatzversicherungen sind die Krankenkassen in der Festlegung der Kündigungsfrist frei. Oftmals ist die Kündigungsfrist länger als bei der Grundversicherung (z.B. 3 Monate auf Jahresende, d.h. Ende September). Kündigen Sie Zusatzversicherungen, welche Sie bei einer günstigeren Krankenkasse weiterführen wollen, erst, wenn Sie die Aufnahmebestätigung der neuen Kasse erhalten haben, da bei den Zusatzversicherungen keine Aufnahmepflicht besteht. Wenn Sie die Grundversicherung kündigen, Ihre Zusatzversicherungen aber bei der alten Krankenkasse belassen wollen, müssen Sie dies mit aller Deutlichkeit mitteilen. Am besten bringen Sie im Kündigungsschreiben einen Vermerk an: «Diese Kündigung gilt nur für die Grundversicherung. Meine Zusatzversicherung bleibt bei Ihrer Krankenkasse.»

Das könnte Sie interessieren

Krankenkasse: Grundversicherung

Jetzt Prämien vergleichen und sparen!