Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

InsuranceHealth insuranceCoronavirus sparks Telmed boom
Health insurers

Coronavirus sparks Telmed boom

06.07.2020

Source: iStock / M_a_y_a

Demand for telemedicine services surged during lockdown. This analysis by Comparis reveals that many non-Telmed policyholders also contacted doctors via telephone or the Internet.

During the lockdown from 16 March to 27 April 2020, non-urgent operations were banned and many medical establishments closed. In addition, many patients were so afraid of becoming infected that the waiting rooms of many doctors, therapists and hospitals stood empty. Medical consultations via telephone or the Internet became more popular instead. During this time, medical helpline consultations rose by 20-650%.

“Many patients, out of fear of catching coronavirus while visiting a doctor's surgery, overcame their scepticism towards obtaining medical advice on the phone or online,” explains Comparis health insurance expert Felix Schneuwly.

Sharp increase in demand from non-Telmed policyholders

Figures provided by telemedicine providers back up this theory. During lockdown, it was mainly people without Telmed basic insurance who sought medical advice remotely. Unlike Telmed policyholders, these patients are not obliged to contact a Telmed provider first if they have any health issues.

On the other hand, according to industry leaders Medgate and Santé24, consultations with Telmed policyholders actually decreased, as non-critical doctor's appointments were postponed during lockdown and therefore there was no need for a remote pre-consultation.

Telemedicine consultations often require no follow-up appointment

The boom in telemedicine appointments during coronavirus also made it clear that many medical complaints can be treated via telephone or online without an additional in-person visit to a doctor. At onlinedoctor.ch, the rate is 87% and this was maintained during lockdown. At medi24.ch, 70% of cases were treated without a follow-up in-person consultation with a doctor.

Customer satisfaction surveys show that not only are telemedicine consultations cheaper, they are also good-quality. Soignez-moi.ch, for example, surveys patients after their consultation and again a week after treatment is completed. According to Romain Boichat, founder of Soignez-moi, 91% of customers are satisfied with their treatment.

“We can assume that these positive experiences with Telmed, particularly with non-Telmed policyholders, will boost the popularity of the Telmed model in the long term,” says Scheuwly. He anticipates that when people next switch health insurance in the autumn, many more basic insurance policyholders – particularly senior citizens – will opt for a Telmed model.

At the moment, some 15% of basic insurance policyholders are insured under a Telmed model. People opting for a Telmed model pay around 15-20% less than those choosing the standard basic insurance model.

Related articles

Krankenkassen

Telmed-Boom wegen Corona

ANALYSE
|
Bild: iStock / M_a_y_a

Während des Lockdowns ist die Nachfrage nach Telemedizin massiv angestiegen. Die Analyse von Comparis zeigt: Auch viele nicht Telmed-Versicherte haben Ärzte via Telefon oder Internet kontaktiert.

Während des Lockdowns vom 16. März bis zum 27. April 2020 waren nicht dringliche medizinische Eingriffe verboten und viele medizinische Einrichtungen geschlossen. Daneben war bei vielen Patienten die Angst vor einer Ansteckung so gross, dass die Wartezimmer vieler Ärzte, Therapeuten und Spitäler leer blieben. Davon profitiert haben die medizinischen Beratungen via Telefon oder Internet. Zwischen 20 und 650 Prozent sind in dieser Zeit die Konsultationen bei den telemedizinischen Anbietern gestiegen.

«Viele Patienten haben aus Furcht vor einer Corona-Ansteckung beim Besuch einer Arztpraxis ihre Skepsis gegenüber einer Sprechstunde via Telefon oder Internet überwunden», erklärt Comparis-Krankenkassen-Experte Felix Schneuwly.

Starker Nachfrageanstieg von nicht Telmed-Versicherten

Diese These wird durch Zahlen der Telemedizin-Anbieter gestützt. Während des Lockdowns haben sich vor allem Personen ohne Telmed-Grundversicherung telemedizinisch beraten lassen. Im Gegensatz zu Telmed-Versicherten sind diese Patienten nicht dazu verpflichtet, bei Gesundheitsproblemen als erste Anlaufstelle einen Telmed-Anbieter zu kontaktieren.

Bei den Telmed-Versicherten hingegen gab es laut den Branchenführern Medgate und Santé24 eine Abnahme, da unkritische Arztbesuche während des Lockdowns verschoben wurden und somit nicht mit der virtuellen Beratung vorbesprochen werden mussten.

Telemedizinische Konsultationen erfordern oft keine weiteren Arztbesuche

Der Boom während der Corona-Krise hat zudem verdeutlicht: Eine Vielzahl von gesundheitlichen Beschwerden lassen sich direkt am Telefon oder bei einer Online-Konsultation und ohne zusätzliche Arztkonsultation behandeln. Bei Onlinedoctor.ch liegt die Quote bei 87 Prozent. Sie konnte auch während des Lockdowns gehalten werden. Bei Medi24.ch konnten während des Lockdowns 70 Prozent der Fälle ohne nachgelagerte physische Arztkonsultationen behandelt werden.

Dass telemedizinische Konsultationen nicht nur günstiger, sondern auch gut sind, zeigt die Zufriedenheit. Soignez-moi.ch, zum Beispiel, befragt die Patienten jeweils mit einem Follow-up sowie eine Woche nach Beendigung des Falles. 91 Prozent der Kunden sind zufrieden mit der Behandlung, so Romain Boichat, Gründer von Soignez-moi.

«Es ist davon auszugehen, dass die positiven Erfahrungen besonders bei bisher nicht Telmed-Versicherten dazu führen wird, dass das Telmed-Modell nachhaltig an Beliebtheit gewinnt», so Schneuwly. Er vermutet, dass sich beim nächsten Krankenkassenwechsel im Herbst noch deutlich mehr Grundversicherte – darunter auch vor allem Senioren – für ein Telmed-Modell entscheiden.

Aktuell haben rund 15 Prozent aller Grundversicherten ein Telmed-Modell gewählt. Versicherte in einem Telmed-Modell erhalten einen Prämienrabatt von rund 15 bis 20 Prozent im Vergleich zur Standard-Grundversicherung.