Health insurance

Deductible (franchise)


Insured persons are required to bear a portion of the costs of treatment (doctor, hospital, medication, etc.) themselves. These out-of-pocket expenses include the deductible (referred to as franchise in Switzerland) as well as an additional coinsurance of 10 per cent. The composition of the out-of-pocket expenses is specified in the Health Insurance Act (KVG, Art. 64).

The deductible must only be paid once per calendar year if any compensation is claimed, and is at least 300 francs for adults (CHF 0 for children). If you switch insurers during the year, your new insurer will take into account both the deductible and the coinsurance already paid in the same year. 

Since 1 March 2014, women who fall ill during or after pregnancy (e.g. in case of complications) have no longer been subject to any out-of-pocket payments starting from the 13th week of pregnancy until 8 weeks after birth. Other events that are not subject to cost sharing are accidents (including non-occupational accidents) if the employee is insured against accidents by his/her employer (Accident Insurance Act).

Lowering the deductible
It is possible to switch to a lower deductible with effect from the beginning of each calendar year. The health insurance provider must be notified in writing of the desired lower deductible by 30 November or by the last business day in November (the day the insurance company receives the letter is relevant).

Raising the deductible
It is possible to choose a higher deductible with effect from the beginning of each calendar year. The health insurance provider must be notified in writing of the desired higher deductible by 31 December (check holidays) or by the last business day in December (the day the insurance company receives the letter is relevant).

Statutory deductible
The regular or statutory deductible for adults is 300 francs, for children 0 francs.

Optional deductible
Policyholders are entitled to raise the deductible in order to benefit from a premium reduction. In any case, the reduced premium may not be less than 50% of the basic premium (deductible 300/0, with accident cover). This also applies to alternative insurance models.

The following deductible levels are admissible:

Children (up to age 18):
  • CHF 0 
  • CHF 100
  • CHF 200
  • CHF 300
  • CHF 400
  • CHF 500
  • CHF 600
Young adults (19–25 years) and adults (26 years or older):
  • CHF 300 
  • CHF 500
  • CHF 1000
  • CHF 1500
  • CHF 2000
  • CHF 2500

It is up to the individual health insurance company whether or not they offer all levels of deductibles. It is therefore possible that not all deductible levels are offered by every insurance company.

Example:
Company A offers all levels of deductibles (300, 500, 1000, 1500, 2000, 2500).
Company B only offers the basic deductible (300) and two optional deductibles (1,000, 2,500).

Franchise


Wenn Leistungen für Arzt, Spital oder Medikamente erbracht werden, müssen sich Versicherte an diesen Kosten beteiligen. Die Kostenbeteiligung besteht aus der Franchise sowie einem zusätzlichen Selbstbehalt von 10 Prozent. Die Zusammensetzung der Kostenbeteiligung ist im Krankenversicherungsgesetz (KVG Art. 64) geregelt.

Die Franchise muss bei Leistungsbezug pro Kalenderjahr nur einmal bezahlt werden und beträgt für Erwachsene mindestens 300 Franken (CHF 0.- für Kinder). Beim unterjährigen Wechsel des Versicherers rechnet der neue Versicherer die in diesem Jahr bereits bezahlte Franchise und auch den Selbstbehalt an. 

Ab dem 1. März 2014 müssen Frauen bei Krankheit während Mutterschaft (z.B. Komplikationen) ab der 13. Schwangerschaftswoche bis 8 Wochen nach der Geburt keine Kostenbeteiligung mehr bezahlen. Kostenbeteiligungsfrei sind ausserdem Leistungen bei Unfällen (Nichtberufsunfälle eingeschlossen), wenn der Arbeitnehmer beim Arbeitgeber gegen Unfall (UVG) versichert ist.

Senkung der Franchise
Der Wechsel zu einer tieferen Franchise ist jeweils auf Beginn eines Kalenderjahres möglich. Die gewünschte tiefere Franchise muss der Krankenkasse bis zum 30. November bzw. bis zum letzten Arbeitstag im November schriftlich mitgeteilt werden (massgeblich ist der Tag, an dem der Brief beim Versicherer eintrifft).

Erhöhung der Franchise
Die Wahl einer höheren Franchise kann jeweils auf den Beginn eines Kalenderjahres erfolgen. Die gewünschte höhere Franchise muss der Krankenkasse bis zum 31. Dezember (Feiertage beachten) bzw. bis zum letzten Arbeitstag im Dezember schriftlich mitgeteilt werden (massgeblich ist der Tag, an dem der Brief beim Versicherer eintrifft).

Gesetzliche Franchise
Für Erwachsene beträgt die ordentliche bzw. gesetzliche Franchise 300 Franken, für Kinder 0 Franken.

Wählbare Franchise
Die Franchise kann von den Versicherten freiwillig erhöht werden, um in den Genuss eines Prämienrabatts zu kommen. In jedem Fall darf die reduzierte Prämie nicht kleiner sein als 50 Prozent der Grundprämie (Franchise 300/0 mit Unfalldeckung). Dies gilt auch für alternative Versicherungsmodelle.

Folgende Franchisenstufen sind möglich:

Kinder (bis 18 Jahre):
  • CHF 0 
  • CHF 100
  • CHF 200
  • CHF 300
  • CHF 400
  • CHF 500
  • CHF 600
Junge Erwachsene (19-25 Jahre) und Erwachsene (ab 26 Jahren):
  • CHF 300 
  • CHF 500
  • CHF 1000
  • CHF 1500
  • CHF 2000
  • CHF 2500

Es liegt im Ermessen der einzelnen Kassen, ob sie alle Franchisenstufen anbieten. Es ist daher möglich, dass Sie nicht bei allen Kassen alle Franchisenstufen im Angebot finden.

Beispiel:
Kasse A bietet alle Franchisenstufen an (300, 500, 1000, 1500, 2000, 2500 Franken).
Kasse B bietet nur die Grundfranchise (300 Franken) und zwei Wahlfranchisen (1000, 2500 Franken) an.

Das könnte Sie interessieren

Krankenkasse: Grundversicherung

Jetzt Prämien vergleichen und sparen!