Contents and personal liability

Contents insurance – key questions and answers

INFORMATION
|
Who pays for water damage? Contents insurance is one insurance product you cannot do without.

If you are moving home, renting a new apartment or setting up an apartment share, it's a good idea to take out home contents insurance. The cost of water or fire damage can soon add up – and if you're not insured, you’ll have to cover the costs yourself. Comparis explains what you need to know about contents insurance.

Why do I need contents insurance?

Although home contents insurance is not compulsory in Switzerland, it is strongly recommended. Let's say your bath overflows. Any resulting damage to your furniture is usually covered by home contents insurance. Or what if your home is burgled? Your TV, 10,000 francs’ worth of jewellery and an expensive designer bag have all gone. If you have contents insurance, you can claim for these losses.

What does contents insurance cover?

Contents insurance covers damage that occurs to household goods. This includes furniture, clothes and appliances such as TVs. You are covered for any damage to household goods caused by fire, water, burglary and vandalism. Household goods are usually insured for their replacement value (what you would pay if you were to buy the same, new product now). Your insurer will usually also pay out for any disruption and inconvenience caused by the damage, including the cost of replacing locks, an overnight stay in a hotel, or furniture cleaning, for example.

How high is the deductible?

The deductible ranges from 200 to 500 francs. It is deducted from the cost of the damage and must be paid by the policyholder.

How high is the sum insured?

The sum insured is calculated based on the approximate value of your household goods.

  • Avoid under-insuring your items: you are under-insured if the value of your household goods is higher than the sum insured. In the event of a claim, your insurance company may considerably reduce its pay-out.
  • Avoid over-insuring your items: you are over-insured if the sum insured is higher than the original value of the household contents. You can never claim more than the original value in the event of loss. So if you are over-insured, you pay excessive premiums and will not be entitled to the equivalent cover. 

Check your sum insured regularly, in particular after the following events: buying new furniture, moving in with someone, moving out of the parental home (adult children). 

Does taking out contents insurance automatically cover me against theft?

In contents insurance, a distinction is made between the following types of theft cover:  

  • Burglary: this is always included in the insurance policy and covers all thefts from a room, apartment or house due to a break-in. In theory, it can also apply if only a container is forced open.
  • Robbery: this includes thefts made under threat or through use of violence.
  • Simple theft away from home: this supplement covers theft that is not caused by burglary or robbery, and must be added to your contents insurance separately. Important: lost or mislaid items are not usually replaced.

Is cycle theft covered?

Cycle theft outside the home is only covered if you add “simple theft away from home” to your contents insurance policy. This also applies to any other items you might carry around with you, such as a handbag or laptop. In the event of a theft, the insurance company will pay out the value of replacing the items as new. You are therefore always advised to include “simple theft away from home” in your policy.

How expensive is contents insurance?

The cost of your premium depends on various factors, such as the value of your household effects, the size of your home and the standard of furnishings. Most insurers offer a combination of home contents and personal liability insurance. Contents insurance for an average sum insured costs between 150 and 300 francs. 

 

The most important tips in a nutshell:

  • Check your contents insurance policy if you move home or move in with your partner: contents insurance is based partly on the value of the household goods and on the number of persons mentioned in the policy.
  • Check your sum insured regularly to avoid under- or over-insurance: creating a list of all your household effects will give you a clear overview of your insurance needs. 
  • Check to see if the policy includes “simple theft away from home”: most thefts take place outside the home.

Hausrat & Haftpflicht

Hausratversicherung: Die wichtigsten Fragen & Antworten

INFO
|
Wer zahlt bei einem Wasserschaden? Eine Hausratversicherung gehört zur Grundausstattung bei den Versicherungen.

Wer von zuhause auszieht, eine neue Wohnung mietet oder eine Wohngemeinschaft gründet, schliesst mit Vorteil eine Hausratversicherung ab. Ein Wasser- oder Feuerschaden kann schnell teuer werden – ohne Hausratversicherung bleiben Sie auf den Kosten sitzen. Comparis erklärt die wichtigsten Punkte zur Hausratversicherung.

Warum eine Hausratversicherung abschliessen?

Die Hausratversicherung ist in der Schweiz zwar nicht obligatorisch, aber unbedingt zu empfehlen. Ein Beispiel: Läuft die Badewanne über, werden dadurch entstehende Schäden am Mobiliar üblicherweise durch die Hausratversicherung gedeckt. Oder: Sie sind Opfer eines Einbruchs. Fernseher, Schmuck im Wert von 10'000 Franken und die teure Designertasche sind weg. Mit einer Hausratversicherung wird Ihnen der Schaden zurückerstattet.

Was deckt die Hausratversicherung alles ab?

Durch eine Hausratversicherung sind Schäden am Hausrat versichert. Als Hausrat gelten zum Beispiel Möbel, Elektronikgeräte wie der Fernseher oder auch Kleider. Schäden am Hausrat durch Feuer, Wasser, Einbruchdiebstahl und Vandalismus sind abgedeckt. Der Hausrat ist normalerweise zum Neuwert (Preis beim Kauf eines neuen, gleichwertigen Produktes) versichert. Entschädigt werden Sie in der Regel auch für weitere Kosten und Umtriebe, die bei einem Schadensfall entstehen können. Dazu zählen zum Beispiel: Kosten für den Ersatz der Schlösser, Hotelübernachtungen oder Reinigung der Möbel.

Wie hoch ist der Selbstbehalt?

Die Spanne des Selbstbehalts reicht von 200 bis 500 Franken. Der Selbstbehalt wird von der Schadenssumme abgezogen und muss selbst bezahlt werden.

Wie hoch ist die Versicherungssumme?

Die Höhe der Versicherungssumme bemisst sich am ungefähren Wert des Hausrats.

  • Vorsicht vor Unterversicherung: Eine Unterversicherung entsteht, wenn der Wert des Hausrats höher ist als die Versicherungssumme. Im Schadenfall drohen empfindliche Kürzungen durch die Versicherung.
  • Überversicherung lohnt sich nicht: Eine Überversicherung liegt dann vor, wenn die Versicherungssumme höher ist als der Neuwert des Hausrats. Der Versicherungsnehmer erhält im Schadenfall immer höchstens den Neuwert. In einem solchen Fall bezahlt der Versicherungsnehmer zu viel Prämie und erhält dafür keinen Leistungs-Gegenwert. 

Prüfen Sie die Versicherungssumme regelmässig und insbesondere nach folgenden Ereignissen: Kauf neuer Möbel, Gründung eines gemeinsamen Haushalts, Auszug der erwachsenen Kinder aus dem Elternhaus. 

Ist man mit Abschluss einer Hausratversicherung auch automatisch gegen Diebstahl versichert?

Die Hausratversicherung unterscheidet bei der Diebstahldeckung folgende Arten:  

  • Einbruchdiebstahl: Ist in der Versicherung immer inbegriffen und umfasst alle Diebstähle, für die ein Täter in einen Raum, eine Wohnung oder ein Haus einbrechen muss. Es kann theoretisch auch nur ein Behältnis aufgebrochen werden.
  • Raub: Darunter fallen Diebstähle, die unter Androhung oder Anwendung von Gewalt verübt werden.
  • Einfacher Diebstahl auswärts: Dieser Zusatz muss separat in die Hausratversicherung integriert werden und deckt Diebstähle ab, die weder Einbruch noch Raub sind. Achtung: Verlorene oder verlegte Gegenstände werden in der Regel nicht ersetzt.

Ist der Diebstahl eines Velos auch versichert?

Der Diebstahl eines Velos ausserhalb des Hauses ist nur versichert, wenn der Zusatz «einfacher Diebstahl auswärts» in die Hausratversicherung eingeschlossen wurde. Dies gilt auch für andere Gegenstände, die man mit sich führt (zum Beispiel Handtasche oder Laptop). Diese Gegenstände werden bei Diebstahl zum Neuwert von der Versicherung erstattet. Es empfiehlt sich deshalb, den Zusatz «einfacher Diebstahl auswärts» immer einzuschliessen.

Wie teuer ist eine Hausratversicherung?

Die Prämienhöhe bemisst sich anhand verschiedener Faktoren wie Wert des Hausrats, Grösse der Wohnung oder Einrichtungsstandard. Die meisten Versicherer bieten Kombinationen aus Hausrat- und Privathaftpflichtversicherungen an. Eine Hausratversicherung mit einer durchschnittlichen Versicherungssumme kostet zwischen 150 und 300 Franken. 

 

Die wichtigsten Tipps zusammengefasst:

  • Police der Hausratversicherung bei einem Umzug oder Zusammenzug mit dem Partner überprüfen: Die Hausratversicherung orientiert sich unter anderem am Wert des Hausrates oder an der Anzahl Personen, die in der Police erwähnt sind.
  • Regelmässige Überprüfung der Versicherungssumme, um eine Unter- bzw. Überversicherung zu vermeiden: Verschaffen Sie sich einen Überblick durch die Erstellung einer Liste mit allen im Hausrat vorhandenen Gegenständen. 
  • Überprüfung der Police auf den Zusatz «einfacher Diebstahl auswärts»: Die meisten Diebstähle finden ausserhalb des Hauses statt.