Loans

9 clever tips to help you avoid excessive debt

TIPS
|
Flat broke, but piles of unpaid bills in your letterbox? Source: Thinkstock

More than 1.3 million Swiss residents are heavily indebted. Even here, an increasing number of people fall into the so-called debt trap. They risk debt collection, seizure and – in the worst case – personal bankruptcy.

It happens so quickly: one pays a few books online by credit card here, buys a TV under an instalment plan there, and finally gets a new car by taking out a personal loan. But beware! Before you know it, you have more expenses to cover than income on your account.

Some cantons, such as Zurich, report a record number of debt collection proceedings. The Swiss debt counselling service estimates that there are 1.3 million over-indebted people in Switzerland and considers this a "danger to society". For years it has been observed that an increasing number of people incur excessive debts.

It does not have to come to that, though. With our 9 helpful tips you can avoid the debt shock.

  • Get an overview of all your income and expenditure. The most frequent cause of excessive debt is that the persons affected ignore or overlook the fact that their expenditure exceeds their income. Define your monthly fixed expenses: rent, incidental expenses, insurance, cost of living, membership fees, car and fuel costs, etc. In fact, petty expenses such as membership or subscription fees can add up to more than one would think.

    Tip: There are apps that can help you not to lose track of your expenses. Check out this top ten list.
  • Draw up a realistic budget. Aside from your current fixed costs, you should also consider the charges that could accrue in the medium and even the long term. Especially young adults often do not take into account that their cost of living is rather likely to rise in future. Online help can be found on the Forbes website, for instance.
  • Be careful when using credit cards. We recommend that you arrange with your bank to automatically pay the balance via direct debit at the end of each month. Getting into debt on a credit card is very expensive. The interest rates are usually higher than with consumer credits. 
  • Pay cash for a change if possible. This is a tip that may sound rather simplistic, but is very effective. For this, you should withdraw larger amounts from your account on a regular basis and spend this money in a selective manner. This helps to get your expenses under control and keep an overview.
  • Build up reserves. Put aside some money early on to be able to cover expenses that you will sooner or later incur: taxes, dentist's bills, servicing/repairing your car, etc. It is advisable to open up a separate account or a savings account and pay in a fixed amount each month.
  • Loans for durable things only: loans are suited for durable consumer goods that you can benefit from while paying them off; i.e. a car or pieces of furniture, for example. You should avoid taking out a loan to finance products used on a short-term basis, which you then will have to pay off long after using them.
  • Pay back loans quickly. Once the excitement over something new wears off, the monthly instalments quickly become a burden. We generally recommend never to buy anything that you would not be able to save up for over the duration of the loan.
  • Think before spending money. Do you really need the expensive car model with all the gadgets and gizmos or would a cheaper option suffice?  It is sometimes advisable to deny oneself expensive purchases and lead a debt-free life instead.
  • Don't be afraid to ask for help. If you are already knee-deep in debt, do not hesitate to contact the Swiss debt counselling service Schuldnerberatung Schweiz (website in German and French only). It is represented in 37 locations throughout Switzerland.

Kredit

9 schlaue Tipps, wie Sie eine Überschuldung vermeiden

TIPPS
|
Ebbe im Portemonnaie, aber ein Flut unbezahlter Rechnungen im Briefkasten. Bild: Thinkstock

Mehr als 1,3 Millionen Schweizer sind überschuldet: Auch hierzulande tappen zunehmend mehr Menschen in die Schuldenfalle. Ihnen drohen Betreibungen, Pfändungen und schlimmstenfalls Privatinsolvenz.

Es geht ja so einfach und schnell: Hier ein paar Bücher online per Kreditkarte bezahlt, dort einen Fernseher mit Ratenzahlung gekauft und schliesslich noch das neue Auto mit Hilfe eines Privatkredits angeschafft. Doch obacht, ehe man sich versieht, hat man mehr Kosten am Hals als Einnahmen auf dem Konto.

Manche Kantone wie zum Beispiel Zürich melden Rekordzahlen bei den Betreibungen. Die Schuldnerberatung Schweiz spricht von 1,3 Millionen überschuldeten Schweizern und von einer «Gefahr für die Gesellschaft. Seit Jahren stelle man fest, dass immer mehr Menschen sich übermässig überschulden.

Dabei muss es erst gar nicht so weit kommen. Mit unseren 9 hilfreichen Tipps vermeiden Sie den Schulden-Schock.

  • Überblick über die gesamten Ein- und Ausgaben verschaffen: Die Überschuldung hat ihre Ursache oft darin, dass man übersieht, dass die Ausgaben die Einnahmen übersteigen. Machen Sie sich ihre monatlichen Fixkosten klar: Miete, Nebenkosten, Versicherungen, Lebenshaltungskosten, Mitgliedsbeiträge, Auto- und Spritkosten. Denn die kleinen Ausgaben wie Mitglieds- oder Abobeiträge können in der Summe mehr ausmachen, als man denkt.

    Tipp: Apps können einem helfen, den Überblick nicht zu verlieren, zum Beispiel Qontis oder eny Budget.
  • Realistisches Budget erstellen: Neben den aktuellen Fixkosten sollten Sie auch berücksichtigen, welche Belastungen in mittlerer, aber auch ferner Zukunft hinzukommen könnten. Vor allem junge Erwachsene denken oft nicht daran, dass Lebenshaltungskosten in Zukunft eher ansteigen werden. Hilfestellung im Netz bietet zum Beispiel die Internetseite firstbudget.ch.
  • Mit Kreditkarten vorsichtig umgehen: Vereinbaren Sie am besten mit der Bank, dass der Saldo am Ende jedes Monats automatisch per Lastschriftverfahren ausgeglichen wird. Verschulden über Kreditkarten ist sehr teuer. Im Normalfall sind die Zinsen höher als bei den Konsumkrediten. 
  • Wenn möglich mal bar zahlen: Ein Tipp, der geradezu simpel klingt und sehr hilfreich ist. Dazu in regelmässigen Abständen grössere Beträge vom Konto abheben und gezielt mit diesem Geld haushalten. Das hilft, die Ausgaben zu zügeln und den Überblick zur behalten.
  • Rückstellungen bilden: Legen Sie zeitig Geld beiseite für Kosten, die früher oder später auf sie zukommen werden: Steuern, Zahnarzt, Service/Reparaturen am Auto. Ratsam ist es, ein Extrakonto oder ein Sparkonto einzurichten und darauf einen monatlichen Fixbetrag zu überweisen.
  • Kredite für Dauerhaftes: Kredite eignen sich für dauerhafte Konsumgüter, von denen man auch etwas hat, solange man sie abbezahlt, also zum Beispiel für ein Auto oder für Möbel. Nicht mit Kredit finanziert werden sollten kurzfristig genutzte Produkte, die man über die Nutzung hinaus abbezahlen muss.
  • Kredite rasch zurückzahlen: Wenn der Reiz des Neuen verblasst, wird die monatliche Rate schnell zur Last. Generell ist zu raten: Man sollte nichts kaufen, das man sich über die Laufzeit des Kredites nicht auch selber ansparen könnte.
  • Ausgaben gut überdenken: Muss es wirklich das teure Automodell mit allem Schnickschnack sein, oder würde eine günstigere Variante reichen?  Manchmal ist es ratsamer, auf teure Anschaffungen zu verzichten und dafür ein schuldenfreies Leben zu führen.
  • Keine Scheu vor der Schuldnerberatung: Sollten Sie bereits knietief in den Schulden stecken, zögern Sie nicht, sich an die Schuldnerberatung Schweiz zu wenden. Landesweit ist sie in 37 Orten vertreten.