Benefits

Children's glasses: how much is covered by health insurance?

INFORMATION
|
Good news for parents: health insurance companies will contribute towards the cost of children's glasses. Source: iStock / grinvalds

Many children need corrective eyewear. But glasses and contact lenses can be expensive. It is a good thing that health insurance companies are contributing towards the cost – and this includes contact lenses for image-conscious teenagers.

Short-sightedness is increasing dramatically worldwide. The number of affected children is also rising in Switzerland. Comparis answers the most important questions on children's glasses and health insurance:

Do health insurance companies contribute towards the cost of children's glasses?

Yes. Visual aids for children and adolescents up to the age of 18 are covered by basic insurance.

Disability Insurance (IV) covers most medical benefits, without coinsurance, related to birth defects for as long as they exist, but only until the age of 20. This also applies to visual impairments.

How much will health insurance companies contribute towards children's glasses?

Children and adolescents who need glasses are entitled to 180 francs a year for glasses or contact lenses under basic health insurance. An ophthalmologist's prescription is required once a year in order for the costs to be charged to the health insurance company. The insurance company pays this amount up to the age of 18.

In the case of very severe sight defects or illnesses, basic insurance pays higher contributions towards glasses and contact lenses – irrespective of the age of the insured person. This applies, for example, to changes in refraction due to illness, adjustments after surgery or corneal diseases. For more information, contact your health insurance company or ophthalmologist.

Comparis tip: Parents should keep an eye out for signs of sight problems in their children. Most visual defects must be treated in childhood to prevent further sight deterioration.

Is there a coinsurance for visual aids?

Yes, out-of-pocket expenses apply to glasses and contact lenses just like other benefits covered by basic insurance. If you have chosen a deductible for the child that is higher than zero francs, you pay the chosen deductible amount and, in addition, the coinsurance of 10 per cent yourself.

Which deductible makes sense for children?

It's worth choosing a deductible of zero francs for children and adolescents. The reason for this is that the discount for a higher deductible is negligible. Children also need to see a doctor fairly regularly.

Is it worth taking out supplemental glasses insurance for children?

Corrective glasses and contact lenses usually cost more than 180 francs. A supplemental insurance policy may therefore be well worth considering. Make sure you compare health insurance products, as supplemental insurance benefits vary from company to company.

Do health insurance companies contribute towards the cost of adults' glasses?

You can read up on that in our article Glasses – when is it worth taking out supplemental insurance?

Leistungen

Kinderbrille: Was zahlt die Krankenkasse?

INFO
|
Gute Nachrichten für Eltern: Krankenkassen beteiligen sich an den Kosten für Kinderbrillen. Bild: iStock / grinvalds

Viele Kinder brauchen eine Sehhilfe. Doch Brillen und Kontaktlinsen können teuer sein. Gut, dass sich die Krankenkassen an der Finanzierung beteiligen – selbst bei Kontaktlinsen für eitle Teenager.

Die Kurzsichtigkeit nimmt weltweit stark zu. Auch in der Schweiz steigt die Zahl der betroffenen Kinder an. Comparis beantwortet die wichtigsten Fragen zum Thema Kinderbrille und Krankenkasse:

Beteiligt sich die Krankenkasse an den Kosten für Kinderbrillen?

Ja. Sehhilfen für Kinder und Jugendliche bis zum vollendeten 18. Lebensjahr sind in der Grundversicherung abgesichert.

Die Invalidenversicherung (IV) bezahlt ohne Selbstbehalt die meisten medizinischen Leistungen im Zusammenhang mit dem Geburtsgebrechen, solange dies besteht. Längstens aber bis zum 20. Altersjahr. Das gilt auch für Sehbehinderungen.

Wie hoch ist der Zuschuss der Krankenkasse für Kinderbrillen?

Kinder und Jugendliche, die eine Sehhilfe benötigen, erhalten von der Krankenkassen-Grundversicherung jährlich 180 Franken für eine Brille oder Kontaktlinsen. Um die Kosten bei der Kasse abzurechnen, ist jährlich ein augenärztliches Rezept nötig. Die Versicherung zahlt diesen Betrag bis zur Vollendung des 18. Lebensjahres.

Bei sehr starken Sehfehlern oder bei Erkrankungen zahlt die Grundversicherung – unabhängig vom Alter der versicherten Person – höhere Beiträge an Brillengläser und Kontaktlinsen. Das gilt beispielsweise bei krankheitsbedingten Refraktionsänderungen, Anpassungen nach Operationen oder Hornhauterkrankungen. Erkundigen Sie sich bei Ihrer Krankenkasse oder dem zuständigen Augenarzt.

Comparis Tipp: Eltern sollten unbedingt eine mögliche Fehlsichtigkeit ihrer Kinder im Auge behalten. Die meisten Sehfehler müssen im Kindesalter behandelt werden, um eine weitere Verminderung der Sehschärfe zu verhindern.

Fällt bei Sehhilfen ein Selbstbehalt an?

Ja, die Leistungen für Brillengläser und Kontaktlinsen unterliegen wie die übrigen Leistungen der Grundversicherung der Kostenbeteiligung. Haben Sie für das Kind eine Franchise gewählt, die höher als null Franken ist, zahlen Sie den gewählten Franchisenbetrag und darüber hinaus den Selbstbehalt von 10 Prozent selbst.

Welche Franchise ist für Kinder sinnvoll?

Für Kinder und Jugendliche lohnt sich eine Franchise von null Franken. Der Grund: Der Rabatt auf eine höhere Franchise ist gering. Ausserdem gehen sie vergleichsweise häufig zum Arzt.

Lohnt sich eine Brillen-Zusatzversicherung für Kinder?

Korrigierte Brillen und auch Kontaktlinsen kosten in der Regel mehr als 180 Franken. Daher kann eine Zusatzversicherung durchaus Sinn machen. Vergleichen Sie unbedingt Krankenkassen, da die Leistungen in der Zusatzversicherung von Kasse zu Kasse variieren.

Beteiligt sich die Krankenkasse auch an den Brillenkosten für Erwachsene?

Das lesen in unserem Artikel «Brille: Wann lohnt sich eine Zusatzversicherung?».