Coinsurance in basic insurance


Application
Coinsurance is the percentage the policyholder has to pay out of his/her pocket when claiming benefits for medical treatment, hospital treatment and medication. This amount cannot be chosen freely as is the case with the deductible. Coinsurance means that the policyholder has to bear a percentage of the costs whereas the deductible is charged in full.

Calculation: 10 percent of medical costs minus deductible
Medical costs are the cost of medical treatment, hospital treatment and medication. As soon as the health care costs exceed the amount of the deductible, the policyholder has to pay coinsurance of 10 percent, up to a maximum of CHF 700 (please note the exception for medication), i.e. coinsurance only comes into effect once the deductible has been paid off (see sample calculation).

Coinsurance for children and families
The maximum coinsurance for children is CHF 350. If more than two children of the same family are insured with the same health insurance provider, the total coinsurance is limited to CHF 700 for all children together.

Exception: medication
With effect from 1 January 2006, the coinsurance for proprietary drugs is 20 instead of 10 percent if a generic product is available. The coinsurance for the generic drug remains at 10 percent.

Exceptions:

  • If there is a medical reason for not using the generic product.
  • If the price difference between the proprietary and the generic drug is less than 20 percent, the coinsurance stays at 10 percent.

Maternity
For maternity, neither deductible nor coinsurance are due if the course of pregnancy is "normal".

Sample calculations
You can find sample calculations for out-of-pocket expenses here.

Accident coverage according to the Accident Insurance Act (UVG)
Employees working for the same employer for more than 8 hours per week are insured against accidents through their employer. Accident insurance according to the UVG is not subject to a deductible or coinsurance.

This might interest you

Basic health insurance

Compare premiums here and save!

Selbstbehalt in der Grundversicherung


Anwendung

Der Selbstbehalt ist der Betrag, den der Versicherte bei Leistungsbeanspruchung von Arzt, Spital und Medikamenten selber tragen muss. Im Gegensatz zur Franchise ist dieser Betrag nicht wählbar. Der Selbstbehalt ist eine prozentuale Übernahme der Kosten, während die Franchise voll angerechnet wird.

Berechnung: 10 Prozent der Gesundheitskosten minus Franchise

Die Gesundheitskosten sind die Kosten für Arzt, Spital und Medikamente. Sobald die Gesundheitskosten den Betrag der Franchise erreicht haben, übernimmt der Versicherte einen Selbstbehalt von 10 Prozent bis zu einem Betrag von maximal 700 Franken (beachten Sie die Ausnahme bei Medikamenten). Das heisst: Der Selbstbehalt kommt erst dann zur Anwendung, wenn die Franchise aufgebraucht ist (siehe Rechenbeispiele).

Selbstbehalt Kinder und Familien

Der maximale Selbstbehalt für Kinder beträgt 350 Franken. Sind mehr als zwei Kinder einer Familie bei der gleichen Krankenkasse versichert, ist der Selbstbehalt für alle Kinder zusammen auf 700 Franken beschränkt.

Ausnahme Medikamente

Der Selbstbehalt für Originalmedikamente, von denen ein Generikum erhältlich ist, ist 20 Prozent. Der Selbstbehalt auf das Generikum ist bei 10 Prozent.

Ausnahmen:

  • Ein medizinischer Grund, der gegen den Konsum des Generikums spricht.
  • Wenn die Preisdifferenz zwischen dem Originalmedikament und dem Generikum unter 20 Prozent liegt, bleibt der Selbstbehalt bei 10 Prozent.
Mutterschaft

Frauen müssen bei Krankheit (z.b. Komplikationen) ab der 13. Schwangerschaftswoche bis 8 Wochen nach der Geburt keine Kostenbeteiligung bezahlen.

Rechenbeispiele

Rechenbeispiele für die Kostenbeteiligung finden Sie hier.

Unfallversicherung nach UVG

Arbeitnehmer, die mehr als 8 Stunden in der Woche beim selben Arbeitgeber arbeiten, sind über den Arbeitgeber gegen Unfälle versichert. Die Unfall-Versicherung nach UVG unterliegt weder einer Franchise noch einem Selbstbehalt.

Das könnte Sie interessieren

Krankenkasse: Grundversicherung

Jetzt Prämien vergleichen und sparen!