Rules and regulations

Household budgets: how to keep your finances under control

INFORMATION
|
Keep an eye on your spending – your wallet will thank you. Source: iStock.com/monkeybusinessimages

Insurance, rent, tax... What fixed expenses will you have this year? And how much will be left over for clothes and holidays? If you want to make sure you don't accidentally get into debt, then you should draw up a household budget. comparis.ch tells you how to do this. 

Have you ever found that your money has run out but the end of the month is still miles away? A spontaneous weekend trip here, a new TV there and in between a cool pair of trainers: with the current trend toward paying in instalments, cheap credit and cashless payment, the temptation to spend money is high. Before you know it, your bank balance is down to zero, then if you get an insurance or tax bill, you suddenly find yourself in financial difficulty. In the last decade alone, household debt in Switzerland has risen by 40 percent, and this figure is rising. Yet there are ways of making sure you don't get into debt. Setting a realistic household budget will make sure you don't have any unpleasant surprises. The beginning of the year is a good time to do your budget. 

Step 1: What are your main fixed expenses?

To be on the safe side, you need to work out what outgoings are unavoidable. For most people in Switzerland these will include insurance, accommodation costs and tax. These alone will make up around half your household expenses. Only once you have take these into account can you budget for clothes, food and holidays. 

According to the budget advice organization “Budgetberatung Schweiz”, a family with two children and a net monthly income of 7000 Swiss francs will have the following main expenses:

Accommodation costs (incl. electricity) = 1820 francs (should make up around ¼ of income)

Health insurance = around 1100 francs (compulsory insurance and accident insurance for children; plus annual deductible (franchise) of 100 francs minimum and co-insurance)

Food = 1050 francs (for young persons 12 and older you should add on up to 100 francs)

Tax = approximately 600 francs (depends on domicile; see your last tax bill)

Step 2: Variable expenses

Variable expenses include clothing, transport, education, childcare, communications, holidays and reserves (for unexpected items such as repairs). They depend on your living situation (renting/homeowner), the number and ages of your children (childcare/education), how far you live from your work (car/public transport), personal lifestyle (travel/hobbies) etc. You will have to draw these up for yourself, ideally based on old receipts. Make sure you don't forget cash payments for cinema trips, meals out, dry cleaning, etc.

Step 3: Do your income and expenses match up?

Next compare your total monthly expenses with your expected income (salaries and other income). If your expenses already exceed your income, you need to go back to your budget planner and see which items you might have allocated too much to. Where could you make savings? If your budget balances, you have a solid basis to work from. Then you can compare your forecast expenses with your actual expenses at the end of each month, and potential issues will stand out straight away.

Tips: ways of saving money

Is there a massive hole in your budget? Then it's a good idea to look very carefully at all your outgoings as there are always ways of making little savings here and there. Here are a few useful tips:

Shopping

  • Always make a shopping list
  • Never shop on an empty stomach
  • Don't be tempted by (supposed) bargains
  • Think carefully about what you want to buy
  • Compare prices online

Telecommunications

  • If your mobile phone bills are high, then consider changing to a flat rate, which gives you unlimited calls and texts. 
  • Do you go online a lot or do you mainly use your mobile phone to make calls? You might be able to swap to a cheaper plan. Compare mobile phone costs at comparis.ch.

Health insurance

  • Although basic health insurance plans from all health insurers provide the same benefits, the premiums differ, so it can be worth changing health insurer. This could easily reduce family outgoings by a thousand francs or more. But which health insurer is cheapest? Click here for an up-to-date overview of what's on offer.
  • Depending on the age and health of household members you may also be able to save money by increasing your deductible.

Transport

  • A bicycle is by far the cheapest and most eco-friendly means of transport. And it keeps you fit.
  • If you can't do without a car, however, perhaps you could save money on your car insurance. At comparis.ch you can compare car insurance.

 

For your information: digital budget planners

Traditional budget books which you use to keep track of your income and outgoings are available from stationers and department stores, but digital budget planners are even more practical. The advantage of these is that they not only help you to plan your budget, but also reveal hidden costs. There is a range of planners to choose from including Excel templates, online budget planners such as the one from Budgetberatung Schweiz (DE, FR, IT) and apps such as “My Budget Book” or  “Budgetalarm K-Tipp”(DE, FR).

Recht & Gesetz

Haushaltsbudget: So behalten Sie Ihre Finanzen im Griff

INFO
|
Behalten Sie Ihre Ausgaben im Auge. Ihr Portemonnaie wird es Ihnen verdanken. Bild: iStock.com/monkeybusinessimages

Versicherungen, Miete, Steuern... Welche Fixkosten kommen in diesem Jahr auf Sie zu? Und wie viel Geld bleibt für Klamotten und Urlaub? Wer nicht unverhofft in die roten Zahlen rutschen will, legt ein Haushaltsbudget an. comparis.ch erklärt, worauf es dabei ankommt. 

So mancher kennt das Phänomen, wenn am Ende des Geldes noch so viel Monat übrig ist. Hier ein spontaner Wochenendtrip, dort ein neuer Fernseher und zwischendurch ein paar coole Sneaker: Dank Ratenzahlungen, günstiger Kredite und bargeldloser Bestellungen ist es heutzutage verlockend einfach, Geld auszugeben. Schneller als erwartet, ist das Konto bei null. Flattern dann noch Rechnungen für Versicherungen und Steuern ins Haus, kann es finanziell heikel werden. Allein in den letzten zehn Jahren sind die Schulden der privaten Haushalte in der Schweiz um 40 Prozent gestiegen. Tendenz steigend. Dabei ist es keinesfalls unmöglich, sich gegen Überschuldung zu schützen. Wer ein realistisches Haushaltsbudget aufsetzt, schützt sich vor unliebsamen Überraschungen. Ein guter Zeitpunkt dafür ist der Jahresbeginn. 

Schritt 1: Was sind die grössten Fix-Positionen?

Um auf Nummer Sicher zu gehen, sollte man zuerst die Ausgaben einkalkulieren, die auf jeden Fall auf einen zukommen. Dazu zählen bei den meisten Schweizern Versicherungen, Wohnkosten sowie Steuern. Sie alleine machen schon rund die Hälfte der Haushaltskosten aus. Erst danach kommen Bekleidung, Verpflegung oder auch Urlaub. 

Gemäss «Budgetberatung Schweiz» kommen auf einen Haushalt mit zwei Kindern und einem Netto-Einkommen von monatlich 7000 Franken folgende grossen Posten zu:

Wohnen (inkl. Strom) = 1820 Franken (sollte ca. ¼ der Einnahmen ausmachen)

Krankenkasse = rund 1100 Franken (GV und UV Kinder; zzgl. Jahresfranchise Minimum 100 Franken und Selbstbehalt)

Verpflegung = 1050 Franken (bei Jugendlichen ab 12 J. sollte man bis zu 100 Franken ergänzen)

Steuern = ca. 600 Franken (wohnsitzabhängig; siehe letzte Steuerrechnung)

Schritt 2: Variable Ausgaben

Zu variablen Ausgaben gehören u.a. Kleidung, Mobilität, Weiterbildung, Kinderbetreuung, Kommunikation sowie Urlaub und Rückstellungen (für Unvorhergesehenes wie Reparaturen etc.). Diese Posten unterscheiden sich je nach Wohnsituation (Miete/Eigentum), Anzahl und Alter der Kinder (Betreuung/Ausbildung), Entfernung zur Arbeit (Auto/ÖV), persönlichem Lebensstil (Reisen/Hobbys) etc. Sie werden individuell und am besten auf Basis alter Belege ermittelt. Nicht vergessen sollte man auch Barzahlungen für Kino, Restaurant, Reinigung etc.

Schritt 3: Ausgaben gleich Einnahmen?

Nun vergleicht man die addierten monatlichen Ausgaben mit den zu erwartenden Einnahmen (Löhne und andere Einkünfte). Zeigt sich schon jetzt ein Minus, muss der Haushaltsplan nochmals revidiert werden. Welcher Posten ist vielleicht zu grosszügig kalkuliert? Wo kann man sparen? Ist der Haushaltsplan ausgeglichen, hat man eine solide Grundlage. Nun kann man an jedem Monatsende die budgetierten Ausgaben mit den tatsächlichen Ausgaben vergleichen. Mögliche Ausreisser stechen sofort ins Auge.

Tipps: So kann man Geld sparen

Im Budget klafft ein fettes Haushaltsloch? Dann sollte man vielleicht mal alle Ausgaben genau überdenken. Es gibt immer Möglichkeiten, an der einen oder anderen Stelle etwas einzusparen. Hier ein paar nützliche Tipps:

Shopping

  • niemals ohne Einkaufsliste
  • niemals hungrig in den Supermarkt
  • nicht von (vermeintlichen) Sonderangeboten verleiten lassen
  • gewünschte Anschaffung gut überdenken
  • im Internet Preise vergleichen

Telekommunikation

  • Bei hohen Mobilfunk-Rechnungen auf eine Flatrate wechseln. Damit kann man soviel telefonieren oder SMS-Nachrichten verschicken, wie man möchte. 
  • Gehen Sie oft ins Internet oder benötigen Sie das Handy vor allem zum Telefonieren? Dann gibt es für Ihr Profil vielleicht ein günstigeres Angebot. Machen Sie den Mobilfunk-Vergleich bei comparis.ch.

Krankenkasse

  • Obwohl alle Krankenkassen in der Grundversicherung die gleichen Leistungen abdecken, unterscheiden sich die Prämien. Der Wechsel der Krankenkasse kann sich daher lohnen. So kann eine Familie locker einen vierstelligen Betrag sparen. Doch welche Krankenkasse ist am günstigsten? Hier können Sie sich einen aktuellen Überblick verschaffen.
  • Je nach Alter und Gesundheitszustand lässt sich ggf. auch über eine Erhöhung der Franchise Geld sparen.

Mobilität

  • Das Fahrrad ist das günstigste und zugleich sauberste Transportmittel. Ausserdem hält es fit.
  • Wer partout nicht ohne Auto auskommt: Vielleicht gibt es ja eine günstigere KFZ-Versicherung? Bei comparis.ch können Sie Autoversicherungen vergleichen.

 

Zur Info: Digitale Haushaltsbücher

Klassische Haushaltsbücher, in die man die Ausgaben und Einnahmen händisch einträgt, gibt es in Papeterien und Warenhäusern. Noch praktischer sind digitale Haushaltsbücher. Ihr Vorteil: Sie helfen nicht nur, das Budget zu planen, sondern entlarven auch versteckte Kosten. Das Angebot reicht von Vorlagen für Excel, über Online-Budgetrechner wie den der Budgetberatung Schweiz  bis hin zu Apps, wie «Mein Haushaltsbuch» oder  «Budgetalarm K-Tipp».