Mortgages

Mortgage Barometer Q3 2019 – benchmark rates for 10-year fixed-rate mortgages fall below “magic” 1% mark

ANALYSIS
| By Frédéric Papp |
The latest mortgage rates and how they have changed in recent quarters. Source: iStock / in4mal

Benchmark rates for 10-year fixed-rate mortgages dropped again in comparison with the previous quarter. They even fell briefly below the “magic” 1% mark for the first time. This is revealed by the latest Mortgage Barometer from comparis.ch.

In mid-August, benchmark rates slipped to 0.99% – and thus below the “magic” 1% mark – for the first time. At the end of September, the average rate achieved on a 10-year fixed-rate mortgage was 1.05%. This is 5 basis points less than at the end of June 2019.

 

 

 

Rates of less than 1% negotiable on 10-year fixes

Within a period of one year, the average benchmark rate fell by some 0.6 percentage points. What’s more, there are now just 14 basis points separating 10-year and 5-year mortgages, and 18 between 10-year and 2-year mortgages.

“For a negligible increase in interest, borrowers can lock in low rates for the long term,” says Comparis financial expert Frédéric Papp.

Q3 2019 Q2 2019 Q1 2019 Q4 2018 Q3 2018
10-year fixed-rate mortgage
1.05%
1.10%
1.20%
1.46%
1.62%
Difference between 5-year and 10-year mortgage*
14
15 23 42 49
5-year mortgage
0.91%
0.95%
0.97%
1.04%
1.13%
Difference between 2-year and 10-year mortgage*
18 22 28 51 66
2-year mortgage
0.87%
0.88%
0.92%
0.95%
0.96%
Difference between 2-year and 5-year mortgage*
4 7 5 9 17

* in basis points

However, these benchmark rates are just headline rates. If you compare quotes and negotiate well, you can usually obtain a much lower mortgage rate.

Rock bottom in sight for mortgage rates

According to Papp, various signs point towards mortgage rates stabilizing at a low level. Swap rate trends are one indication of this. For example, the 10-year swap rate hit a record low of -0.7% in mid-August, and at -0.4% was still significantly below the values of the previous quarter at the end of September. However, the average benchmark rate for a 10-year mortgage was only marginally less than that recorded for the second quarter. A similar trend can be observed for 2-year and 5-year swap rates. This indicates that the minimum rate set by mortgage lenders has more or less been reached.

Swiss National Bank relieves pressure

The recent decision by the Swiss National Bank (SNB) should also exert a calming influence on mortgage rates. The SNB has decided to increase the exemption thresholds up to which the owners of sight deposits at the SNB are not required to pay negative interest. This reduces the pressure on banks to pass on negative interest rates to savers.

“Mortgage rates cannot remain in free fall as long as all the banks refrain from charging negative interest on savings,” explains Papp.

However, the banks are unlikely to pass on negative interest rates because they are afraid of triggering the withdrawal of billions of francs’ worth of savings. Applying negative interest rates to savings also represents a social time bomb, as the Comparis financial expert explained in an earlier press release (in German only).

Papp expects negative interest rates to continue or even become the norm on the Swiss capital market. This means that mortgages should remain competitive.

Data sources

The interest rate information in the Comparis Mortgage Barometer is based on the benchmark rates of over 50 lenders. They are updated daily and published in the mortgage rate overview. Experience shows that interest rates offered in mortgage quotes are usually below the official benchmark rates. The next Mortgage Barometer will appear at the beginning of January 2020.

Compare lenders

Mortgage Barometers from previous quarters

2nd quarter 2019 – 10-year mortgages nearly as cheap as 5-year deals

At slightly over 1%, benchmark rates for ten-year fixed-rate mortgages were lower than ever in the second quarter of 2019, and within touching distance of the rates for five-year and two-year fixes. This is revealed by the Mortgage Barometer from comparis.ch.

1st quarter 2019 – benchmark rates below 1% for the first time

In the first quarter of 2019, benchmark rates for five-year fixed-rate mortgages slipped below 1% for the first time. Ten-year fixes now also cost less. This is revealed by the Mortgage Barometer from comparis.ch.

4th quarter 2018 – significant change in benchmark rates

Some benchmark interest rates for fixed-rate mortgages dropped significantly in the fourth quarter of 2018. Ten-year fixes witnessed the biggest decrease. Demand for short-term mortgages is surprisingly high. This is revealed by the Mortgage Barometer from comparis.ch.

3rd quarter 2018 – shift to medium-term mortgages

Interest rates for fixed-rate mortgages increased slightly in the third quarter of 2018, with the steepest climb occurring in September. Coinciding with this rise, demand for long repayment terms eased off for the first time since the end of 2017 – with demand for medium-term mortgages surging in its place. This is revealed by the Mortgage Barometer from comparis.ch.

2nd quarter 2018 – interest rate increase has not yet come about

There were virtually no changes to interest rates for fixed-rate mortgages during the second quarter of 2018. The economic and political developments of recent months suggest that interest rates in Switzerland will continue to remain low. Demand for long repayment terms has further increased. 

1st quarter 2018 – mortgage rates have risen appreciably

Interest rates for fixed-rate mortgages increased during the first quarter of 2018. For medium and long repayment terms, rates even reached a two-year high in mid-February. As borrowers generally expected rates to rise further, demand for long-term mortgages grew and has now returned to the level it was the previous year.

4th quarter 2017 – signs point to an increase

At the beginning of the year, rates for fixed mortgages remained steady at around the level of the previous quarter. Since then, signs that rates are set to rise have been multiplying. This is confirmed by the interest rate swap for ten-year fixes. It has been rising sharply since mid-December, which indicates that hedging costs are continuing to go up. Demand for medium-term mortgage terms grew appreciably in the last quarter.

3rd quarter 2017 – mortgage rates stay low

Interest rates for fixed-rate mortgages remained more or less the same during the third quarter of 2017. Surprisingly, despite rates remaining at an all-time low, demand for very short terms increased at the expense of medium terms.

2nd quarter 2017 – mortgage rates have dropped

The benchmark interest rates for fixed-rate mortgages dropped slightly during the second quarter of this year. Nevertheless, demand for fixed-rate mortgages with long terms was still comparatively low. In contrast, demand for medium terms rose appreciably, even though the interest rates for this segment witnessed the smallest reduction.

1st quarter 2017 – mortgage rates show little movement

The mortgage rates for fixed-rate mortgages in Switzerland changed only slightly during the first quarter of 2017. After the historic low that was reached in the autumn of 2016, the situation now appears to be settling down. However, with the forthcoming elections in France, continuing Brexit developments and the still vague status of US economic policy, there is cause for some uncertainty.

4th quarter 2016 – mortgage rates rise again

After interest rates for fixed-rate mortgages hit an all-time low last autumn, it seems that the tipping point has been reached on the mortgage market. Rates for fixed-rate mortgages rose in the fourth quarter of 2016 and have now returned to the level recorded in early 2015.

Hypothek

Hypobarometer Q3 2019: Richtzinsen für 10-jährige Festhypotheken unterschreiten «magische» 1-Prozent-Marke

ANALYSE
| von Frédéric Papp |
Aktueller Stand der Hypothekarzinsen und deren Entwicklung über die letzten Quartale. Bild: iStock / in4mal

Die Richtzinsen zehnjähriger Festhypotheken sind im Vergleich zum Vorquartal weiter gesunken. Sie sind kurzzeitig sogar erstmals unter die «magische» 1-Prozent-Marke gerutscht. Das zeigt das aktuelle Hypobarometer von comparis.ch.

Mitte August sind die Richtzinsen erstmals auf 0.99 Prozent gerutscht und damit unter die «magische» 1-Prozent-Marke. Per Ende September 2019 kostete eine 10-jährige Festhypothek im Schnitt 1.05 Prozent. Das sind 5 Basispunkte weniger als noch Ende Juni 2019.

 

 

Faktisch 10-jährige Hypotheken unter 1 Prozent verhandelbar

Innert Jahresfrist sackte der Richtzins um rund 0,6 Prozentpunkte ab. Und: Zehnjährige Hypotheken trennen nur noch 14 Basispunkte von fünfjährigen und 18 Basispunkte von zweijährigen Hypotheken.

«Hypothekarnehmer können sich für einen geringen Aufschlag günstige Zinskonditionen langfristig sichern», sagt Comparis-Finanzexperte Frédéric Papp.

Q3 2019 Q2 2019 Q1 2019 Q4 2018 Q3 2018
10-jährige Festhypothek
1,05%
1,10%
1,20%
1,46%
1,62%
Differenz 5- und 10-jähriger Festhypothek (in Basispunkten)
14
15 23 42 49
5-jährige Festhypothek
0,91%
0,95%
0,97%
1,04%
1,13%
Differenz 2- und 10- jähriger Festhypothek (in Basispunkten)
18 22 28 51 66
2-jährige Festhypothek
0,87%
0,88%
0,92%
0,95%
0,96%
Differenz 2- und 5-jähriger Festhypothek (in Basispunkten)
4 7 5 9 17

Die Richtzinsen sind allerdings Schaufensterpreise. Wer Offerten vergleicht und gut verhandelt, bekommt in der Regel deutlich tiefere Hypothekarzinsen.

Boden bei Hypothekarzinsen in Sicht

Diverse Anzeichen deuten laut Papp auf ein Einpendeln der Hypothekarzinsen auf tiefem Niveau hin. Das zeigt sich unter anderem an der Entwicklung der Swap-Sätze. Der zehnjährige Swap-Satz beispielsweise markierte Mitte August mit -0.7 Prozent ein Rekordtief und liegt mit -0.4 Prozent per Ende September immer noch deutlich unter den Werten des Vorquartals. Der Richtsatz einer zehnjährigen Hypothek verbilligte sich im Vergleich zum zweiten Quartal aber minimal. Ein ähnliches Bild zeigt sich auch bei den zwei- und fünfjährigen Swap-Sätzen. Das deutet darauf hin, dass der von Hypothekargebern festgelegte Mindestzins in etwa erreicht ist.

Entlastung seitens der Schweizerischen Nationalbank

Der Beschluss der Schweizerischen Nationalbank (SNB) dürfte auch eine beruhigende Wirkung auf die Hypothekarzinsen ausüben. Die SNB hat beschlossen, die Freibeträge – auf denen die Inhaber von Sichtguthaben bei der SNB keine Negativzinsen bezahlen müssen – zu erhöhen. Der Druck der Banken, Negativzinsen den Sparern weiterzugeben, nimmt somit ab.

«Die Hypothekarzinsen können nicht ins Bodenlose sinken, solange die Banken flächendeckend keine Negativzinsen auf Sparguthaben erheben», erklärt Papp.

Die Weitergabe von Negativzinsen sei aber unwahrscheinlich, weil Banken sich vor einem Abzug von Spargeldern in Milliardenhöhe fürchteten. Negativzinsen für Sparer bergen zudem sozialpolitischen Sprengstoff, wie der Comparis-Finanzexperte in einer früheren Medienmitteilung erklärte.

Papp geht davon aus, dass Negativzinsen im Schweizer Kapitalmarkt noch länger bestehen bleiben oder gar zum Normalfall werden. Hypotheken sollten somit günstig bleiben.

Datengrundlage

Die Angaben zu den Zinssätzen des Comparis-Hypothekenbarometers basieren auf den Richtzinssätzen von über 50 Kreditinstituten. Sie werden täglich aktualisiert und im Zinsüberblick publiziert. Die Erfahrung zeigt, dass die Zinsen der Hypothekarofferten in den meisten Fällen unter den offiziellen Richtsätzen liegen. Das nächste Hypotheken-Barometer erscheint Anfang Januar 2020.

Zum Anbietervergleich

Hypotheken-Barometer vergangener Quartale

2. Quartal 2019: 10-jährige Hypotheken fast so günstig wie 5-jährige Hypotheken

Im zweiten Quartal 2019 liegen die Richtzinsen zehnjähriger Festhypotheken mit etwas über einem Prozent so tief wie noch nie. Sie sind in Griffnähe der Richtzinsen fünf- oder zweijähriger Festhypotheken. Das zeigt das Hypobarometer von comparis.ch.

Finden Sie hier ausführlichere Informationen: Hypotheken-Barometer 2. Quartal 2019.

1. Quartal 2019 – Richtzinsen erstmals unter 1%

Im ersten Quartal 2019 sind die Richtzinsen für fünfjährige Festhypotheken erstmals unter 1% gerutscht. Auch die zehnjährigen Festhypotheken sind erneut günstiger geworden. Das zeigt das Hypobarometer von comparis.ch.

Finden Sie hier ausführlichere Informationen: Hypotheken-Barometer 1. Quartal 2019.

4. Quartal 2018 – deutliche Korrektur der Richtzinsen

Die Richtzinsen für Festhypotheken sind im vierten Quartal 2018 teils deutlich gesunken. Am stärksten ist die Abwärtsbewegung bei den zehnjährigen Festhypotheken. Überraschend stark ist die Nachfrage nach kurzlaufenden Hypotheken. Das zeigt das Hypobarometer von comparis.ch.

Finden Sie hier ausführlichere Informationen: Hypotheken-Barometer 4. Quartal 2018.

3. Quartal 2018 – Verlagerung zu mittelfristigen Hypotheken

Die Zinsen für Festhypotheken haben im dritten Quartal 2018 leicht angezogen. Am stärksten war die Aufwärtsbewegung im September. Die Nachfrage nach langen Laufzeiten hat dabei erstmals seit Ende 2017 nachgelassen – zugunsten eines massiven Anstiegs der Nachfrage nach Mittelfristhypotheken. Das zeigt das Hypobarometer von comparis.ch.

Finden Sie hier ausführlichere Informationen: Hypotheken-Barometer 3. Quartal 2018.

2. Quartal 2018 – Zinsanstieg lässt auf sich warten

Im zweiten Quartal des Jahres 2018 haben sich die Zinsen für Festhypotheken kaum bewegt. Die wirtschaftlichen und politischen Entwicklungen der letzten Monate lassen darauf schliessen, dass die Zinsen in der Schweiz auch weiterhin tief bleiben. Weiter angezogen hat die Nachfrage nach langen Laufzeiten. 

Finden Sie hier ausführlichere Informationen: Hypotheken-Barometer 2. Quartal 2018.

1. Quartal 2018 – Hypothekarzinsen haben spürbar angezogen

Im ersten Quartal 2018 haben die Zinsen für Festhypotheken zugelegt. Die Zinsen für mittlere und lange Laufzeiten erreichten Mitte Februar sogar ein Zweijahreshoch. Die Folge der allgemeinen Erwartung eines weiteren Zinsanstiegs: Die Nachfrage nach langen Laufzeiten hat angezogen und liegt wieder auf Vorjahresniveau.

Finden Sie hier ausführlichere Informationen: Hypotheken-Barometer 1. Quartal 2018.

4. Quartal 2017 – Zeichen stehen auf Anstieg

Zu Jahresbeginn bewegen sich die Zinsen für Festhypotheken ungefähr auf Niveau des Vorquartals. Derweil vervielfältigen sich Anzeichen für einen Zinsanstieg. Dies zeigt der Interest Rate Swap für 10-jährige Festhypotheken. Seit Mitte Dezember ist dieser stark angestiegen und kündigt an, dass die Absicherungskosten weiter wachsen. Spürbar angezogen hat im vergangenen Quartal die Nachfrage nach mittleren Laufzeiten.

Finden Sie hier ausführlichere Informationen: Hypotheken-Barometer 4. Quartal 2017.

3. Quartal 2017 – Zinsen verharren auf tiefem Niveau

Auch im dritten Quartal 2017 bewegen sich die Zinsen für Festhypotheken kaum. Überraschenderweise hat die Nachfrage nach sehr kurzen Laufzeiten auf Kosten der mittleren Laufzeiten zugelegt – und das trotz der nach wie vor historisch tiefen Zinsen.

Finden Sie hier ausführlichere Informationen: Hypotheken-Barometer 3. Quartal 2017.

2. Quartal 2017 – Zinsen für Hypotheken sind gesunken

Die Richtzinsen für Festhypotheken sind im letzten Quartal dieses Jahres leicht zurückgegangen. Und trotzdem: Festhypotheken mit langen Laufzeiten waren vergleichsweise weniger gefragt. Spürbar angezogen hat hingegen die Nachfrage nach mittleren Laufzeiten – obwohl die Zinsen in diesem Segment am wenigsten gesunken sind.

Finden Sie hier ausführlichere Informationen: Hypotheken-Barometer 2. Quartal 2017.

1. Quartal 2017 – Wenig Bewegung am Hypothekarmarkt

Hypothekarzinsen für Festhypotheken in der Schweiz veränderten sich im ersten Quartal 2017 nur wenig. Nach dem historischen Tiefststand im Herbst 2016 scheint erst einmal Ruhe eingekehrt zu sein. Zu Unsicherheiten führen jedoch die anstehenden Wahlen in Frankreich, der Brexit und die noch vage US-Wirtschaftspolitik.

Finden Sie hier ausführlichere Informationen: Hypotheken-Barometer 1. Quartal 2017.

4. Quartal 2016 – Hypozinsen haben wieder angezogen

Die Trendwende auf dem Hypothekarmarkt scheint nach historischem Tiefststand der Zinsen für Festhypotheken im vergangenen Herbst erreicht. Die Hypothekarzinsen für Festhypotheken sind im vierten Quartal des Jahres 2016 angestiegen und liegen erneut auf dem Niveau vom Frühjahr 2015.

Finden Sie hier ausführlichere Informationen: Hypotheken-Barometer 4. Quartal 2016.