Health insurers

Health insurance comparisons – how does Comparis work?

COMPARIS
| By Felix Schneuwly |
Source: iStock.com / hapecharge

Comparis is an independent online comparison service. It finances its health insurance comparison service by charging health insurers for quote requests submitted by users, as well as by selling advertising space, such as banners, on its website. No health insurer can buy itself a good position in the results table.

Consumers often wonder how Comparis finances its health insurance comparison service and whether insurers can buy themselves a prominent position in the results list. Depending on the area, the quote request service provided by Comparis costs at least 30 francs per request and is the same for all providers in the same industry sector.

How much does Comparis earn from its health insurance comparison service?

In 2018, Comparis generated sales revenues of some 7.6 million francs from its health insurance comparison service. The quote request system that Comparis offers is considerably cheaper for health insurers than telephone marketing and direct client consultations. Insurers can expect to pay a call centre around 100 francs for an appointment with a prospective client. The actual consultation with an agent, broker or member of the insurer's sales team costs another 100 francs, and that’s without a full comparison of all premiums.

How are the health insurance comparison results displayed?

Depending on how users sort the results page, either the insurer offering the lowest premium or the one with the best customer satisfaction rating appears at the top. Users can also choose between a standard and a full view:

  • The full view displays all the health insurers along with all the premiums that have been approved by the Federal Office of Public Health.
  • The standard view displays the health insurer with the lowest premium as well as other premiums from insurers who accept online quote requests from Comparis.

By providing these two options, Comparis meets different user needs: the full view is for those who want all the details, while the standard view is for users who like the convenience of being able to switch insurance at the touch of a button. Compare basic health insurance here.

Does the Comparis service push up costs in the system?

The quote request system offered by Comparis is efficient and fully automated, which reduces administration costs for the health insurer. The health insurance companies pay Comparis for the use of this quote request system. Being compared in this way puts them under greater pressure to offer cheaper premiums and maintain a high level of customer satisfaction, which Comparis also compares – not just premiums. It also forces insurers to focus on increasing the efficiency of their administrative activities, for example, without compromising on quality of service.

How does Comparis differ from a broker?

Comparis provides a passive source of information for people who are interested in it, and does not make anyone switch health insurance unless they actively wish to do so. Comparis does not do home consultations. Unlike a broker, Comparis is not restricted to particular insurance companies. Instead, it endeavours to provide a complete overview of the market. The users themselves then decide which deal best fits their requirements. Comparis also provides a neutrality guarantee.

How legitimate are other online premium comparison tools?

Websites promising fast health insurance comparisons crop up on a regular basis. These websites often have only one aim: to gather the address details of people seeking to switch insurance and then pass them on to brokers. So before divulging any personal details, you are advised to check the legal notice on the website.

Can a health insurer reject me?

Insurers are obliged to accept all applications for mandatory basic health insurance. No insurer can reject you, even if you frequently switch provider. They must accept you irrespective of your age or state of health. If you wish to switch to an insurer that does not accept online quote requests via Comparis, you can notify the respective insurers of your intentions in writing by registered post – one letter cancelling with your current insurer and one applying to the new insurer. The insurers must receive their letter by 30 November at the latest. All insurers must offer the same cover for mandatory basic health insurance. You can find out more here: Basic insurance – benefits under mandatory health insurance (KVG/LAMal).

Unlike with basic insurance, health insurers are not obliged to accept applications for supplemental insurance.

How can I combine basic and supplemental insurance in one comparison?

It is possible to take out basic and supplemental insurance with different providers. Comparis recommends choosing an affordable provider for basic insurance at least, because all insurers offer the same medical cover. You should therefore choose your basic insurance provider based primarily on the premium and level of customer satisfaction.

Since supplemental insurance policies vary considerably with respect to the medical services covered by individual products, it is especially important to check the details. At comparis.ch, you can carry out a combined comparison of basic and supplemental health insurance here.

Does frequently switching health insurance lead to increased healthcare costs?

No. Since the process of switching insurance at comparis.ch is automated and electronic, insurance companies save on advertising, marketing, personnel, paper and postage costs. In any case, administration costs only constitute some 5% of the premium volume. Factors that do drive up costs are increased consumption of medical services, the rising cost of bureaucracy owing to misguided government incentives with respect to financing, and medical progress itself.

Which is better – competitive or national health insurance?

The broader question of whether competitive health insurance is ultimately cheaper than a monopoly has been posed many times. Swiss voters have answered yes to this question three times already, thereby rejecting national health insurance. A fourth attempt failed to reach the 100,000 signatures required for a popular initiative to be put to the vote. However, as the question keeps being asked and will no doubt be voted on a fourth time at some juncture, Comparis favours conducting a national health insurance test in a large canton first. This would then be compared with the competitive health insurance market in the rest of Switzerland. This shows that Comparis is clearly placing the interests of consumers before its own business interests.

Krankenkassen

Krankenkassenvergleich: Wie arbeitet Comparis?

COMPARIS
| von Felix Schneuwly |
Bild: iStock.com / hapecharge

Comparis ist ein unabhängiger Internet-Vergleichsdienst. Comparis finanziert den Krankenkassenvergleich mit Gebühren für Offertenanfragen der Versicherten an die Krankenkassen, sowie durch den Verkauf von Werbeplätzen – zum Beispiel Bannern – auf der Webseite. Kein Anbieter kann sich einen guten Platz auf der Resultattabelle beim Krankenkassenvergleich kaufen.

Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten stellen immer wieder die Frage, wie Comparis seinen Krankenkassenvergleich finanziert und ob Versicherungen eine gute Platzierung kaufen können. Der Offertservice von Comparis kostet je nach Bereich ab 30 Franken pro Anfrage und ist für alle Anbieter der jeweiligen Branche gleich.

Wie viel verdient Comparis mit dem Krankenkassenvergleich?

Mit dem Krankenkassenvergleich hat Comparis im Jahr 2018 einen Umsatz von rund 7,6 Millionen Franken erzielt. Die Offertbestellung beim Comparis-Onlinevergleichsdienst ist deutlich günstiger als Telefonwerbung und direkte Beratung von Krankenkassen. Für einen Beratungstermin bezahlen die Kassen einem Call-Center um die 100 Franken. Die Beratung durch einen Makler, einen Broker oder einen Aussendienstmitarbeiter der Kasse kostet ohne vollständigen Prämienvergleich noch einmal 100 Franken.

Wie werden die Resultate beim Krankenkassenvergleich angezeigt?

Je nachdem, wie die Nutzer die Resultatseite sortieren, ist die Kasse mit der tiefsten Prämie oder mit der besten Kundenzufriedenheit zuoberst. Die Nutzer können auch zwischen der Standard- und der Vollansicht wählen:

  • In der Vollansicht werden alle Krankenkassen und alle vom Bundesamt für Gesundheit genehmigten Prämien angezeigt.
  • In der Standardansicht wird die Krankenkasse mit der tiefsten Prämie und werden die weiteren Prämien der Anbieter angezeigt, die von Comparis Onlineofferten entgegennehmen.

Mit den beiden Ansichten wird Comparis den unterschiedlichen Bedürfnissen der Nutzer gerecht: Die Vollansicht ist für diejenigen, die es genau wissen möchten. Die Standardansicht ist für Nutzer, die möglichst bequem mit einem Knopfdruck wechseln möchten. Hier geht es direkt zum Grundversicherungsvergleich der Krankenkassen.

Erhöht Comparis mit seinem Angebot die Kosten im System?

Der Offertenprozess von Comparis ist effizient und voll automatisiert. Dadurch reduzieren sich die Verwaltungskosten der Krankenversicherer. Comparis wird nur für die Nutzung dieser Offertenprozesse von den Krankenversicherungen entschädigt. Durch die Vergleichbarkeit sind die Krankenkassen einem stärkeren Druck ausgesetzt, möglichst günstige Prämien anzubieten und die Kundenzufriedenheit hoch zu halten, weil Comparis auch diese vergleicht – und nicht bloss die Prämien. Das zwingt sie beispielsweise auch dazu, ihre Verwaltung besonders effizient zu organisieren, ohne bei der Servicequalität zu sparen.

Was unterscheidet Comparis von Maklern?

Comparis ist ein passives Informationsangebot für interessierte Personen. Comparis bewegt niemanden zum Wechsel, der nicht selbst aktiv diesen Wunsch hat. Comparis macht keine Hausbesuche. Anders als Makler ist Comparis nicht auf bestimmte Versicherungsanbieter beschränkt, sondern ist bestrebt, einen kompletten Marktüberblick zu liefern. Der Versicherte selbst entscheidet dann, welches Angebot für ihn passt. Comparis gibt zudem eine Neutralitätsgarantie.

Wie seriös sind andere Vergleichsrechner für Prämien im Internet?

Regelmässig tauchen Internetseiten auf, die einen schnellen Krankenkassen-Vergleich versprechen. Häufig haben diese Angebote vor allem ein Ziel: Adressdaten von wechselwilligen Personen zu sammeln, die dann an Makler weitergereicht werden. Es empfiehlt sich deshalb immer ein Blick ins Impressum des jeweiligen Angebots, bevor Sie Ihre Daten preisgeben.

Kann mich eine Krankenkasse ablehnen?

In der obligatorischen Grundversicherung besteht eine Aufnahmepflicht, niemand darf Sie ablehnen. Die Krankenkassen dürfen niemanden ablehnen, auch wenn die Person oft den Anbieter wechselt. Jede Krankenkasse muss Sie aufnehmen, ungeachtet Ihres Alters oder Gesundheitszustandes. Wenn sie zu einer Kasse wechseln wollen, die via Comparis keine Onlineoffertenanfragen entgegennimmt, können sie bei der alten Kasse mit einem eingeschriebenen Brief kündigen und bei der gewünschten Kasse mit einem zweiten eingeschriebenen Brief beitreten. Beide Briefe müssen spätestens am 30. November bei der jeweiligen Kasse ankommen. In der Grundversicherung müssen alle Kassen dieselbe Versicherungsdeckung anbieten. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie hier: Grundversicherung – Leistungen aus der obligatorischen Krankenpflege-Versicherung (KVG).

Im Gegensatz zu der Grundversicherung, besteht bei der Zusatzversicherung keine Aufnahmepflicht.

Wie kann ich Grundversicherung und Zusatzversicherung in einem Vergleich kombinieren?

Grundversicherung und Zusatzversicherung(en) können Sie bei unterschiedlichen Krankenkassen abschliessen. Comparis empfiehlt zumindest für die Grundversicherung eine günstige Krankenkasse zu wählen. Die Vergütung der medizinischen Leistungen ist nämlich bei allen Kassen gleich. Darum ist bei der Grundversicherung vor allem die Prämienhöhe und die Kundenzufriedenheit für die Wahl der Krankenkasse entscheidend.

Bei den Zusatzversicherungen gibt es grosse Unterschiede bei den versicherten medizinischen Leistungen der einzelnen Produkte, weshalb hier ein Blick auf die Details besonders wichtig ist. Sie können auf comparis.ch hier einen kombinierten Vergleich von Grund- und Zusatzversicherung(en) machen.

Treiben häufige Krankenkassenwechsel die Gesundheitskosten in die Höhe?

Nein, denn mit dem digitalen, automatisierten Kassenwechsel via comparis.ch sparen die Versicherungen Werbe-, Marketing-, Personal-, Papier- und Portokosten. Zudem betragen die Verwaltungskosten nur rund 5 Prozent des Prämienvolumens. Die Kostentreiber sind hingegen der Mehrkonsum, zunehmende Bürokratiekosten wegen staatlichen Fehlanreizen bei der Finanzierung sowie der medizinische Fortschritt an sich.

Krankenkassenwettbewerb oder Einheitskasse?

Die übergeordnete Frage, ob der Kassenwettbewerb unter dem Strich günstiger ist als ein Monopol, wird immer wieder gestellt. Das Stimmvolk hat diese Frage schon drei Mal mit Ja beantwortet und eine Einheitskasse abgelehnt. Ein vierter Versuch ist an den 100'000 Unterschriften gescheitert, die es für eine Volksinitiative braucht. Weil die Frage trotzdem immer wieder gestellt wird, befürwortet Comparis einen Einheitskassentest in einem grossen Kanton als Vergleich zum Kassenwettbewerb im Rest der Schweiz, bevor ein viertes Mal darüber abgestimmt wird. Damit stellt Comparis die Interessen der Konsumenten klar vor die eigenen Geschäftsinteressen.