About us

comparis.ch – a successful idea


comparis.ch is the leading Swiss Internet comparison service. On www.comparis.ch, consumers can easily and quickly compare the rates and services of health insurance providers, other insurers, banks, telecommunications providers and healthcare services, and also the prices of properties, cars, motorcycles and various consumer goods. Thanks to the comparisons and ratings from comparis.ch, consumers can directly switch to the provider with the best price-performance ratio. comparis.ch was founded in 1996 by Richard Eisler, economist.

Since June of 2000, comparis.ch has been a public limited company based in Zurich and currently employs over 180 persons. comparis.ch also has an advisory board. Every quarter, comparis.ch publishes the Konsumentenstimme (in German and French only) with facts, figures and background information on current consumer issues.

Independence is the highest principle

comparis.ch's only commitment is to the consumers' interests and we do not mince matters if our experts detect unfair rates which might deceive consumers. Many providers already had to revise their offers after public criticism from comparis.ch.

The comparisons from comparis.ch are comprehensive and take into consideration all significant providers of an industrial sector who make their rates available online. No provider is associated with comparis.ch. Furthermore, all of the comparisons are permanently online. No provider could be privileged by comparis.ch, as its competitors would discover this straight away and object accordingly. This guarantees the neutrality of our comparisons and ratings.

Millions of users trust comparis.ch

In 2017 comparis.ch had almost 80 million visits and thus counts among the most widely used Swiss websites. Four out of five Internet users know the independent comparison service. They appreciate the transparency of the comparisons and the opportunities to save money. comparis.ch sees this sign of confidence as a great mission to constantly offer reliable and neutral comparisons that are independent from the providers.

Revenues and expenditures of comparis.ch

If you have ever tried to compare offers for a certain product and find the right provider, you will know how difficult and time-consuming this is. Which provider is selling the product at what price? What are the conditions? Are the products really comparable or are they actually different products? comparis.ch employs more than 180 people whose mission it is to answer these questions for consumers. Each comparison – whether between insurance products, banks or mobile plans – is based on constant market observation and complex analyses.

comparis.ch finances the comparisons through advertising sales as well as the forwarding of clicks and the registering and processing of quote requests to the providers who wish to make use of these services. Depending on the area, the quotation service costs at least CHF 30 per request and is the same for all providers of the same sector. In return, the insurance companies and other providers are able to strongly reduce their expenses for customer acquisition, marketing, advertising, sales, call centres and administrative processes. Whether providers are included in the comparison and in what order they are displayed in the full view is independent of whether they make use of the comparis.ch services or not.

Benefits and revenues in the basic health insurance sector

comparis.ch is the pioneer of health insurance premium comparisons. The Health Insurance Act (KVG) guarantees policyholders free choice of basic health insurance. Since 1996, policyholders have been able to compare their health insurance premiums on comparis.ch They exercise their right in light of premium increases and change their health insurance model or their insurance provider.

3.5 million premium comparisons: comparis.ch is the leading Swiss Internet comparison service. In 2017, internet users in Switzerland performed over 3.5 million comparisons of health insurance premiums on comparis.ch for 4.9 million individuals*. This information service is free to the public and to health insurance companies and allows the insurers to save resources and money on information and advertising.

Compensation for premium comparisons and quote requests: Anyone wishing to change their provider after a comparison can request quotes through comparis.ch. The quoting process is efficient, fully automated and reduces the insurance companies' administrative costs. The health insurance companies pay comparis.ch only for the use of these quoting processes. In 2017, comparis.ch charged its partner companies roughly 9.6 million francs for these services related to social basic insurance. The annual costs for the premium comparisons were 1.90 francs per person.

The cost of telephone advertising and consultation services for comparison: Insurance providers pay a call centre around 100 francs for a consultation appointment. A consultation with an agent, a broker or a member of the provider's sales force costs another 100 francs without a full premium comparison. If, in addition to the 3.5 million premium comparisons on comparis.ch, it had been necessary to arrange an appointment plus a consultation, the insurance companies would have incurred costs of around 700 million francs. That is more than half what the insurers spend on their own administration. Administrative costs in 2016 amounted to a total of 1.3 billion francs, which is 4.7 percent of premiums.

* Comparisons can be made for more than one individual at a time (i.e. family members).

The role of comparis.ch on the insurance market

On 4 December 1994, the Swiss voters decided on a reform of the Health Insurance Act (KVG). This stipulated that policyholders should be able to choose and change their insurance companies freely. Therefore, since 1996, the health insurance companies have been in a competitive situation. comparis.ch has an important function in this competition:

  • Since 1996, the Comparis comparison has been making the complex premium jungle transparent, clear and comparable. This is the only way to guarantee that the policyholders are able to properly exercise their freedom of choice based on full transparency and with a reasonable amount of effort.
  • Thanks to the comparability, the insurance companies are under a greater pressure to offer cheaper premiums and maintain a high level of customer satisfaction, which is also compared at comparis.ch besides premiums. This also forces them to organise their administration in a particularly efficient manner, for example, without skimping on their service quality.
  • If the policyholders were not able to compare the premiums online and request offers, they would have to pick up the phone and make the effort to obtain the information from numerous insurers. One telephone enquiry and its processing generate costs of about 100 francs for the insurer.
  • The IT processes at comparis.ch are significantly more cost efficient. Calculations show that, due to the automatised Comparis processes alone, the health insurance companies can save up to CHF 500 million in administration costs.
  • comparis.ch points out the financial advantages that come with alternative insurance models and optional deductibles. Thereby, these models are promoted, which is entirely in the spirit of the KVG (Health Insurance Act). They cause the policyholders to take up more personal responsibility with regard to health care and curb the rise in health care costs. Nowadays, over 60 per cent of policyholders have an alternative insurance model. 

What is the difference between comparis.ch and brokers/agents?

  • comparis.ch does not make any home calls. It is a passive information service for anyone who is interested.
  • The policyholder needs to have the wish to change insurance. comparis.ch does not actively persuade anyone to switch.
  • On comparis.ch, policyholders themselves decide which insurance suits them best.
  • Everyone can compare their premiums with comparis.ch, no matter what age or health situation. If the preferred insurer does not offer the possibility to request quotes online, you may contact them directly by telephone, e-mail or letter. The insurers are obliged to accept all applicants. This obligation only applies to basic insurance, however.
  • comparis.ch screens and rates the insurance offerings critically and advises against taking out unnecessary insurance.
  • comparis.ch includes all health insurance companies in the comparison.
  • Thanks to the automatised quote request feature on comparis.ch, the insurance companies need significantly fewer telephone agents and administrators – which reduces the processing costs. Most other providers are not yet able to handle new customer applications up to the signing of the contract with a fully automated online process.

Current services offered by comparis.ch

The users of the Comparis website can make comparisons on price-performance ratios in the following sections:

Health insurance
Other insurance
Finance
Telecommunication

Principles governing the compilation of the comparisons

  1. The goal of comparis.ch is to offer comprehensive price-performance ratio comparisons in all business sections. comparis.ch therefore relies on the providers to make the according data available. Where this is not possible, comparis.ch at least tries to include all market-relevant providers in the comparisons.
  2. In the interest of market transparency, comparis.ch also supplies data of those providers who do not request it.
  3. In order to be included in a Comparis comparison, the providers' data need to be processed in such a way that they can be directly compared with the other providers' data. comparis.ch reserves the right not to include data in the comparisons if they do not meet this criterion.
  4. It is the aim of comparis.ch that at least 80 percent of all users be able to compare the products of their current provider with the competing offers.
  5. For all price-performance ratio comparisons, the Comparis neutrality guarantee applies.

 

Contact

comparis.ch
Birmensdorferstrasse 108
CH-8003 Zurich
Phone: +41 (0)44 360 52 62
Fax: +41 (0)44 360 52 72

Wir über uns

comparis.ch – eine Idee mit Erfolg


comparis.ch ist der führende Internet-Vergleichsdienst der Schweiz. Konsumenten können auf www.comparis.ch einfach und schnell Tarife und Leistungen bzw. Preise von Krankenkassen, anderen Versicherungen, Banken, Telecom-Anbietern, Immobilien, Autos, Motorrädern, diversen Konsumgütern und Gesundheitsdienstleistungen vergleichen. Dank der Comparis-Vergleiche und -Bewertungen können die Konsumenten direkt zum Anbieter mit dem besten Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis wechseln. comparis.ch wurde 1996 vom Ökonomen Richard Eisler gegründet.

Seit Juni 2000 ist comparis.ch eine Aktiengesellschaft mit Sitz in Zürich und beschäftigt heute mehr als 180 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter. comparis.ch verfügt zudem über einen Beirat. Zusätzlich liefert comparis.ch in der viermal jährlich erscheinenden Konsumentenstimme Zahlen, Fakten und Hintergründe zu aktuellen Konsumthemen.

Unabhängigkeit ist oberster Grundsatz

comparis.ch ist nur den Interessen der Konsumenten verpflichtet und nimmt auch kein Blatt vor den Mund, wenn die Experten unfaire Tarife entdecken, die Konsumenten in die Irre führen könnten. Schon mancher Anbieter musste nach öffentlicher Comparis-Kritik sein Angebot überarbeiten.

Die Comparis-Vergleiche sind umfassend und berücksichtigen alle marktrelevanten Anbieter einer Branche, die online Tarife zur Verfügung stellen. Kein Anbieter ist an comparis.ch beteiligt. Zudem sind die Vergleiche permanent online. Keiner kann von comparis.ch bevorzugt behandelt werden, da seine Konkurrenz dies unverzüglich feststellen und entsprechend beanstanden würde. Dies garantiert die Neutralität der Vergleiche und Bewertungen.

Millionen Nutzer vertrauen comparis.ch

comparis.ch zählt mit knapp 80 Millionen Besuchen im Jahr 2017 zu den meistgenutzten Schweizer Websites. Vier von fünf Internet-Nutzern kennen den unabhängigen Vergleichsdienst. Sie schätzen die Transparenz der Vergleiche und die Sparmöglichkeiten. Für comparis.ch ist dieser Vertrauensbeweis ein grosser Auftrag, ständig verlässliche, von den Anbietern unabhängige und neutrale Vergleiche zu bieten.

Die Einnahmen und Ausgaben von comparis.ch

Wer sich selber schon einmal die Mühe gemacht hat, die Angebote für ein bestimmtes Produkt miteinander zu vergleichen und den passenden Anbieter zu finden, weiss, wie schwierig und zeitaufwändig ein solches Unterfangen ist. Welcher Anbieter verkauft das Produkt zu welchem Preis? Was sind die jeweiligen Konditionen? Lassen sich die Angebote wirklich vergleichen oder handelt es sich um verschiedene Produkte? Bei comparis.ch arbeiten über 180 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter, um diese Fragen für Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten zu beantworten. Ob Versicherungen, Banken oder Handyverträge – hinter jedem einzelnen Vergleich stecken ständige Marktbeobachtungen und aufwändige Analysen.

Die Vergleiche finanziert comparis.ch durch den Verkauf von Werbung sowie die Weiterleitung von Klicks und die Erfassung und Aufbereitung von Offertanfragen für die Anbieter, die diese Dienstleistungen in Anspruch nehmen wollen. Der Offertservice kostet je nach Bereich ab 30 Franken pro Anfrage und ist für alle Anbieter der jeweiligen Branche gleich. Im Gegenzug können die Versicherungen und andere Anbieter ihre Ausgaben für Kundengewinnung, Marketing, Werbung, Verkauf, Callcenter sowie interne Verwaltungsabläufe deutlich reduzieren. Die Aufnahme und die Reihenfolge der Anbieter im Comparis-Vergleich in der jeweiligen Vollansicht erfolgt unabhängig davon, ob sie die Dienstleistungen von comparis.ch in Anspruch nehmen oder nicht.

Nutzen und Umsatz im Bereich der Krankenkassen-Grundversicherung

comparis.ch ist der Pionier für Krankenkassen-Prämienvergleiche. Das Krankenversicherungsgesetz (KVG) garantiert den Versicherten die freie Wahl der Grundversicherung. Seit 1996 können Versicherte ihre Krankenkassenprämien auf comparis.ch vergleichen. Je nach Prämienerhöhung machen die Versicherten von diesem Recht Gebrauch und wechseln ihr Versicherungsmodell oder ihre Krankenkasse.

3,5 Millionen Prämienvergleiche: comparis.ch ist der führende Internet-Vergleichsdienst der Schweiz. 2017 führten die Schweizer über 3,5 Millionen Krankenkassen-Prämienvergleiche für 4,9 Millionen Personen* auf comparis.ch durch. Diese Informationsleistung ist sowohl für Versicherte als auch für die Krankenkassen kostenlos und spart den Krankenkassen Aufwände für Information und Werbung.

Entschädigung für Prämienvergleiche und Offertanfragen: Wer nach einem Vergleich wechseln möchte, kann über comparis.ch Offerten bestellen. Der Offertprozess ist effizient sowie voll automatisiert und reduziert die Verwaltungskosten der Krankenversicherer. comparis.ch wird nur für die Nutzung dieser Offertprozesse von den Krankenversicherungen entschädigt. Für diese Dienstleistungen in der sozialen Grundversicherung hat comparis.ch den Partner-Krankenkassen im Jahr 2017 rund 9,6 Millionen Franken in Rechnung gestellt. Auf die Prämienvergleiche pro Person umgerechnet lagen die Kosten bei 1.90 Franken pro Jahr.

Zum Vergleich die Kosten für Telefonwerbung und Beratung: Für einen Beratungstermin bezahlen die Kassen einem Call-Center um die 100 Franken. Die Beratung durch einen Makler, einen Broker oder einen Aussendienstmitarbeiter der Kasse kostet ohne vollständigen Prämienvergleich noch einmal 100 Franken. Wären für die 3,5 Millionen Prämienvergleiche bei comparis.ch jeweils eine Terminvermittlung und eine Beratung nötig gewesen, wären den Kassen Kosten von rund 700 Millionen Franken entstanden. Das ist mehr als die Hälfte dessen, was die Krankenkassen für ihre eigene Verwaltung ausgeben. Im Jahr 2016 beliefen sich die Verwaltungskosten auf insgesamt 1,3 Milliarden Franken bzw. 4,7 Prozent der Prämien.

* Pro Vergleich können mehrere Personen (Familienmitglieder) aufgeführt werden.

Die Rolle von comparis.ch im Versicherungsmarkt

Das Schweizer Stimmvolk entschied am 4. Dezember 1994 über eine Reform des Krankenversicherungsgesetzes (KVG). Neu sollten die Versicherten ihre Kasse frei wählen und wechseln können. Seit 1996 befinden sich die Krankenkassen daher in einer Konkurrenzsituation. comparis.ch hat im Wettbewerb eine wichtige Funktion:

  • Der Comparis-Vergleich macht seit 1996 die komplexe Prämienlandschaft transparent, verständlich und vergleichbar. Nur so können die Versicherten von ihrer Wahlfreiheit überhaupt mit einem vernünftigen Aufwand und auf der Basis voller Transparenz Gebrauch machen.
  • Durch die Vergleichbarkeit sind die Krankenkassen einem stärkeren Druck ausgesetzt, möglichst günstige Prämien anzubieten und die Kundenzufriedenheit hoch zu halten, weil comparis.chauch diese vergleicht – und nicht bloss die Prämien. Das zwingt sie beispielsweise auch dazu, ihre Verwaltung besonders effizient zu organisieren, ohne bei der Servicequalität zu sparen.
  • Könnten die Versicherten die Prämien nicht online vergleichen und Offerten anfordern, müssten sie zum Telefonhörer greifen und sich bei vielen Krankenkassen aufwändig erkundigen. Eine telefonische Anfrage und deren Bearbeitung verursacht bei den Krankenkassen Kosten von rund 100 Franken.
  • Die IT-Prozesse von comparis.chsind deutlich kosteneffizienter. Berechnungen zeigen, dass die Krankenkassen allein aufgrund der automatisierten Comparis-Prozesse bis zu 500 Millionen Franken Verwaltungskosten sparen können.
  • comparis.chzeigt die finanziellen Vorteile von alternativen Versicherungsmodellen (AVM) und Wahlfranchisen auf. Damit werden diese Modelle ganz im Sinne des KVG gefördert. Sie sorgen für mehr gesundheitliche Eigenverantwortung der Versicherten und dämpfen den Anstieg der Gesundheitskosten. Mittlerweile haben über 60 Prozent der Versicherten ein AVM. 

Was comparis.ch von Maklern unterscheidet

  • comparis.ch macht keine Hausbesuche, sondern ist ein passives Informationsangebot für jeden, der sich dafür interessiert.
  • Der Wunsch zu wechseln muss vom Versicherten selbst kommen. comparis.ch bewegt niemanden aktiv zu einem Wechsel.
  • Bei comparis.ch entscheidet der Versicherte selbst, welche Versicherung für ihn passt.
  • Mit comparis.ch kann jeder seine Prämien vergleichen, unabhängig von seinem Alter und seinem Gesundheitszustand. Wer bei der gewünschten Kasse keine Online-Offerte bestellen kann, darf sich via Telefon, E-Mail oder Brief direkt bei ihr melden und muss auf Wunsch aufgenommen werden. Dieser Aufnahmezwang gilt nur für die Grundversicherung.
  • comparis.ch durchleuchtet und bewertet die Versicherungsangebote kritisch und rät von unnötigen Versicherungen ab.
  • comparis.ch hat alle Krankenkassen im Vergleich.
  • Dank der automatisierten Offertanfrage auf comparis.ch benötigen die Versicherungen deutlich weniger Telefonagenten und Sachbearbeiter, was die Prozesskosten senkt. Andere Anbieter sind in der Regel noch nicht in der Lage, Neukunden mit einem vollautomatisierten Onlineverfahren bis zur Vertragsunterzeichnung aufzunehmen.

Das aktuelle Angebot vom comparis.ch

Die Besucher der Website von comparis.ch können in folgenden Bereichen Preis-/Leistungsvergleiche durchführen:

Krankenkassen
Versicherungen
Banken
Telekommunikation

Die Grundsätze für die Zusammenstellung der Vergleiche

  1. Ziel von comparis.ch ist es, in allen Geschäftsfeldern umfassende Preis-/Leistungsvergleiche anzubieten. comparis.ch ist darauf angewiesen, dass die Anbieter die entsprechenden Daten zur Verfügung stellen. Wo dies nicht möglich ist, versucht comparis.ch, zumindest alle marktrelevanten Anbieter in die Vergleiche aufzunehmen.
  2. Im Interesse der Markttransparenz beschafft comparis.ch auch Daten von solchen Anbietern, die dies nicht wünschen.
  3. Für die Aufnahme in einen Comparis-Vergleich müssen die Daten der Anbieter so aufbereitet sein, dass sie mit denjenigen der anderen Anbieter direkt vergleichbar sind. comparis.ch behält sich vor, Daten, die diesem Kriterium nicht genügen, nicht in die Vergleiche aufzunehmen.
  4. Ziel von comparis.ch ist es, dass mindestens 80 Prozent der Besucher die Produkte ihres aktuellen Anbieters mit den Konkurrenzangeboten vergleichen können.
  5. Für alle Preis-/Leistungsvergleiche gilt die Comparis-Neutralitätsgarantie.

 

Kontakt

comparis.ch
Birmensdorferstrasse 108
CH-8003 Zürich
Telefon: +41 (0)44 360 52 62
Fax: +41 (0)44 360 52 72