Pensions

Pillar 3a: bank or insurance company?

ANALYSIS
|
Banks and insurance companies offer good retirement planning solutions.

Would you be better off going to a bank or an insurance company for your third-pillar solution? Those planning for their retirement will find good solutions in both systems, and bank accounts and insurance policies are equally effective when it comes to saving tax. It is very important to make the right decision if you plan major changes, however, such as buying your own home, becoming self-employed or leaving Switzerland.

Bank account or insurance: the advantages and disadvantages at a glance

Where bank accounts and insurance policies are equally effective

Both banks and insurance companies offer many third-pillar products. One thing they all have in common is that they are equally good as a means of saving tax.

Tax savings: full potential with both

Anyone who works in Switzerland can deduct contributions to their pension provision from their income, up to a statutory maximum limit. If the word “entitled” makes it sound like a privilege, that is because it is. Every franc that you invest in your private pension can be deducted from your income, meaning that you do not pay any income tax on this money. The government wants you to save privately, and rewards you for doing so.

With the help of the third pillar, most employees in Switzerland can save over 1,000 francs per year in income tax, depending on their salary and the tax rates at their place of residence. How much could you save? Here’s an easy way to find out.

Returns: same options with both

Your money should also grow in the third pillar. For that reason, the choice between a bank and an insurance company is not the only one you have to make; you must also decide how the provider is going to grow your capital. The two options here are an interest-bearing investment or an investment in securities, such as equities. In addition to profit distributions from dividends, securities also offer a chance of price gains, albeit alongside the risk of price losses.

Both types of providers offer the same possibilities for generating returns on the markets, but the finer details of the solutions they construct for doing this can differ markedly.

Interest-bearing investments at banks and insurance companies

Regardless of how imaginatively your bank names its pillar 3a account, it is basically an interest account. With an account of this kind, you deposit your money, and interest is paid on it like on a savings account, usually at a somewhat better rate than is offered for savings accounts at the same bank. The interest rate changes, however; the bank can adjust it at its own discretion and will do so regularly.

Insurance companies generally make somewhat longer commitments when it comes to interest rates. Many of them offer a guaranteed interest rate. Unfortunately, however, these guaranteed interest rates are usually extremely low, especially in the current environment of low interest rates. What is most interesting with insurance companies, therefore, is the second part of the interest payment, known as the “surplus participation”. This is not guaranteed, however. The insurance company reports each year on how well its investments have performed. It does so according to clear rules and only retrospectively.

So where are interest-bearing investments more profitable – at banks or insurance companies?

The banks’ current interest rates are easy to compare. If you want, you can do so right away by clicking here.

Securities should always be in investment funds

How well investments in securities will perform is even harder to predict. Both systems use investment funds with a securities component that includes equities. Funds like this give you the chance to generate higher returns, but you also have to accept the risk of possible price losses. Whether you opt for a bank or an insurance company, the return will depend on the performance of the stock markets.

The higher the equity component, the higher the possible price gains. The risk of price losses increases in equal measure, however. Until a few years ago, a maximum of 50 per cent equities was permitted in all third-pillar accounts and policies. You can agree this equity component at all banks and insurance companies. Lately, a few companies from both third-pillar systems have begun offering equity weightings of up to 75 per cent.

The method for generating returns and their amount are therefore the same in both systems. Tax can be saved equally effectively with banks and insurance companies. If you pay the same amount into both until you retire, you will get the same amount back. So where are the differences?

Bank account or insurance: these are the differences

During the period in which you accumulate your savings, bank solutions are fully flexible. Insurance policies, by contrast, require discipline, but in return they offer risk protection in addition to pure capital investment.

Insurance compels discipline

If you take out a third-pillar policy with an insurance company, you have to pay in regularly. As a result, you are compelled to save. For many people, this is a psychological advantage – it forces them to contribute towards their retirement planning every single month. (Some insurance policies offer something called a premium exemption. This permits you, as an exception, to stop making payments when times are hard – for instance if you become unemployed.)

Banks offer flexibility

From gaps of several years in your payments to not paying in the full maximum amount in one year, banks let you choose how much you want to invest in your third-pillar pension provision. Whether this is an advantage or a disadvantage for you personally is something you have to decide for yourself.

You can change the investment method from time to time in both systems: for instance from an interest-bearing investment to an investment fund and back again. With banks, such changes can usually be made quickly (albeit not as quickly as with online trading). In the case of some insurance policies, a change of investment method means switching to a different policy and complying with the associated waiting periods.

Banks more suitable for short-term investments

Short-term investments? Hang on, aren’t we talking about retirement planning here? Aren’t all pillar 3a savings basically long-term investments? Essentially, yes, but in addition to private retirement planning, the law also grants favourable tax treatment to other objectives. The capital you pay into your pillar 3a account can also be withdrawn early – as, incidentally, can the assets in your pension fund. Early withdrawals are possible if you emigrate from Switzerland, become self-employed or buy your own home.

Anyone dreaming of taking one of these big steps is therefore better off with a bank. Banks pay out the full capital at all times, even in the event of an early withdrawal.

Early termination of insurance policies, on the other hand, can have unpleasant consequences. Many insurance companies only refund the surrender value, which for many years is actually less than the amount you paid in. This is because the insurers finance the sales commission and the premiums for your insurance cover first.

Insurance against major risks

Insurance policies score highly in terms of risk protection. In the event of incapacity for work or death, they pay the full benefits. This cover is important for everyone who already owns a home as, if the worst comes to the worst, they can use the insurance benefits to cover their mortgage payments. In this way, the insured person’s partner and children can remain living in the home even if the main earner is sidelined. Self-employed people without pension funds often need additional protection, too – perhaps not for themselves but for their family.

Risk insurance is often cheaper in a third-pillar package than when bought individually. It definitely pays off making a comparison, however.

Bank first, insurance later

“Savings and insurance should be kept separate. You save money with a bank, and you get insurance from an insurance company.” Statements to this effect are common, but in fact they are incorrect. 

If you are young and still have big dreams such as buying your own home, becoming self-employed or leaving Switzerland, then you need flexibility. The best place to find this in the third pillar is with a bank. If you are already self-employed, you may not have any risk protection from your pension fund. If you have bought your own home, you need more risk protection than a tenant. So if you have already taken one of these big steps, insurance policies are often better suited as a pillar-three solution.

When it comes to the actual purpose of pillar 3a – retirement planning – banks and insurance companies are equally suitable. The decision is then a question of personal preferences. And of meticulous comparisons of individual providers from both systems.

Vorsorge

Säule 3a: Bank oder Versicherung?

ANALYSE
|
Banken und Versicherungen bieten gute Vorsorgelösungen an. Video: comparis.ch

Gehen Sie mit Ihrer dritten Säule besser zu einer Bank oder einer Versicherung? Wer fürs Alter vorsorgt, findet in beiden Systemen gute Lösungen. Steuern sparen kann man ebenfalls bei Banken und Versicherungen gleich gut. Sehr wichtig ist die richtige Entscheidung allerdings, wenn Sie grosse Veränderungen planen: Eigenheim, Selbständigkeit oder Auswanderung.

Bank oder Versicherung: Alle Vor- und Nachteile im Überblick

Das können Banken und Versicherungen gleich gut

Bei Banken gibt es genau wie bei Versicherungen viele Produkte für die dritte Säule. Allen ist gemeinsam: Mit ihnen kann man gleich gut Steuern sparen.

Steuern sparen: volles Potenzial bei beiden

Wer in der Schweiz arbeitet, darf Beiträge für die Altersvorsorge von seinem Einkommen abziehen – bis zu einer gesetzlichen Höchstgrenze. Darf. Das klingt nach einem Privileg. Und das ist es auch. Denn jeden Franken, den Sie in Ihre private Altersvorsorge stecken, können Sie vom Einkommen abziehen. Auf dieses Geld zahlen Sie anschliessend keine Einkommenssteuer. Der Staat will, dass Sie privat vorsorgen – und das belohnt er auch.

Die meisten Angestellten in der Schweiz können pro Jahr mit der dritten Säule über 1’000 Franken Einkommenssteuer sparen, je nach Höhe des Lohns und dem Steuersatz an ihrem Wohnort. Wie viel ist das bei Ihnen? Hier können Sie es leicht ausrechnen.

Rendite: gleiche Möglichkeiten bei beiden

In der dritten Säule soll sich Ihr Geld vermehren. Deswegen müssen Sie sich nicht nur für eine Lösung entscheiden – eben eine Bank oder eine Versicherung. Sondern auch dafür, wie der Anbieter Ihr Kapital vermehren soll. Das geht entweder über eine Anlage mit Zinsen. Oder über eine Anlage in Wertschriften, wie zum Beispiel Aktien. Bei Wertschriften kommt zu Gewinnausschüttungen aus Dividenden ausserdem eine Chance auf Kursgewinne – allerdings auch das Risiko von Kursverlusten.

Beide Arten von Anbietern haben die gleichen Möglichkeiten, am Markt Rendite zu erwirtschaften. Banken und Versicherungen bauen daraus allerdings Lösungen, die sich im Detail durchaus unterscheiden.

Zinssparen bei Banken und Versicherungen

Ganz gleich, wie fantasievoll eine Bank das Konto für die Säule 3a nennt: Im Wesentlichen ist es ein Zinskonto. Auf so einem Konto legen Sie Ihr Geld an. Dort wird es verzinst wie auf einem Sparkonto. Meist mit einem etwas besseren Zins als auf Sparkonten derselben Bank. Der Zins aber wechselt, die Bank kann ihn nach eigenem Ermessen anpassen und tut das auch regelmässig.

Versicherungen legen sich beim Zinssparen in der Regel etwas länger fest. Viele von ihnen bieten einen Garantiezins. Leider liegt der garantierte Zins meist ausserordentlich tief – besonders im aktuellen Tiefzinsumfeld. Interessant ist darum bei Versicherungen vor allem der zweite Teil der Verzinsung: die sogenannte Überschussbeteiligung. Diese aber ist eben nicht garantiert. Die Versicherung erklärt jedes Jahr, wie gut sie angelegt hat. Nach klaren Regeln. Allerdings erst im Nachhinein.

Und wo rentieren Zinsanlagen nun besser – bei Banken oder Versicherungen?

Die aktuellen Zinsen der Banken kann man untereinander gut vergleichen. Wenn Sie wollen, können Sie das gleich hier tun.

Wertschriften immer in Anlagefonds

Wie gut die Rendite wird, wenn Sie in Wertschriften anlegen, lässt sich erst recht nicht im Voraus sagen. Beide Systeme setzen hier auf Anlagefonds mit einem Anteil an Wertschriften, darunter auch Aktien. Mit solchen Fonds sichern Sie sich die Chance auf mehr Gewinn – müssen dafür allerdings auch das Risiko von allfälligen Kursverlusten übernehmen. Ob Bank oder Versicherung: Das Ergebnis hängt vom Verlauf der Börsen ab.

Je höher der Aktienanteil, desto höher liegt der mögliche Kursgewinn. In gleichem Mass steigt aber auch das Risiko von Kursverlusten. Bis vor wenigen Jahren waren überall in der dritten Säule höchstens 50 Prozent Aktien zulässig. Diese Aktienquote können Sie bei allen Banken und Versicherungen vereinbaren. Neuerdings sind bei einzelnen Gesellschaften aus beiden Systemen in der dritten Säule auch Aktienanteile von bis zu 75 Prozent möglich.

Wie sie Rendite erzielen und wie viel, das ist also in beiden Systemen gleich. Steuern sparen Sie genauso gut bei Banken und Versicherungen. Zahlen Sie bei beiden bis zur Rente das Gleiche ein, kommt bei beiden das Gleiche heraus. Wo liegen jetzt die Unterschiede?

Bank oder Versicherung: Hier liegen die Unterschiede

Während der Ansparzeit setzen Banken voll auf Flexibilität. Versicherungen verlangen von ihren Anlegern Disziplin. Dafür bieten sie neben der reinen Kapitalanlage auch einen Risikoschutz.

Versicherung zwingt zur Disziplin

Schliessen Sie für die dritte Säule einen Vertrag mit einer Versicherung, dann müssen Sie regelmässig einzahlen. So werden Sie zum Sparen gezwungen. Psychologisch ist das für viele ein Vorteil – sie tun dann wirklich Monat für Monat etwas für die Altersvorsorge. (Manche Versicherungsverträge bieten eine sogenannte Prämienbefreiung. Dann dürfen Sie ausnahmsweise mit den Zahlungen aussetzen, wenn es gerade schlecht läuft – etwa bei Arbeitslosigkeit.)

Banken bieten Flexibilität

Mit den Zahlungen mehrere Jahre aussetzen, auch für einmal nicht den gesamten Maximalbetrag einzahlen: Bei Banken haben Sie die Wahl, wie viel Sie in der dritten Säule für Ihre Altersvorsorge anlegen wollen. Ob das für Sie persönlich ein Vorteil oder ein Nachteil ist, müssen Sie selber entscheiden.

In beiden Systemen können Sie die Anlagemethode von Zeit zu Zeit ändern: Etwa von einer Zinsanlage in Anlagefonds wechseln – und wieder zurück. Bei Banken geht das in der Regel schnell (wenn auch nicht ganz so schnell wie im Online-Trading). Bei manchen Versicherungen bedeutet ein Wechsel der Anlagemethode einen Wechsel in einen anderen Vertrag – dann sind Wartefristen einzuhalten.

Kurzfristig anlegen besser bei Banken

Kurzfristig anlegen? Halt, halt, wir reden doch hier über Vorsorge? Ist nicht jede Anlage in der Säule 3a prinzipiell langfristig? Im Kern schon. Aber ausser der privaten Vorsorge fürs Alter hat der Gesetzgeber auch andere Ziele steuerlich begünstigt. Das Kapital aus der Säule 3a dürfen Sie – wie übrigens auch die Gelder aus der Pensionskasse – auch vorbeziehen. So ein Vorbezug ist beispielsweise möglich, wenn Sie auswandern, sich selbstständig machen oder wenn Sie ein Eigenheim kaufen.

Wer von einem dieser grossen Schritte träumt, der ist bei einer Bank besser bedient. Banken zahlen zu jeder Zeit das volle Kapital aus, auch beim Vorbezug.

Wenn Sie bei einer Versicherung früher aus dem Vertrag wollen, kann das unangenehme Folgen haben. Versicherungen erstatten dann oft nur den sogenannten Rückkaufwert. Der liegt viele Jahre lang sogar unter der Summe Ihrer Einzahlungen. Die Versicherer finanzieren nämlich zuerst die Abschlussprovision und die Prämien für den Versicherungsschutz.

Versicherung gegen grosse Risiken

Im Risikoschutz punkten die Versicherungen. Bei Erwerbsunfähigkeit oder Tod richten sie die volle Leistung aus. Diese Absicherung ist wichtig für alle, die bereits ein Eigenheim besitzen. Mit der Versicherungssumme amortisieren sie im Fall der Fälle die Hypothek. Partner und Kinder können so oft im Eigenheim wohnen bleiben, selbst wenn der Hauptverdiener ausfällt. Auch Selbstständige ohne Pensionskasse brauchen oft zusätzlichen Schutz – vielleicht nicht für sich selbst, aber für ihre Familie.

Im Paket mit der dritten Säule sind Risikoversicherungen oft günstiger als einzeln. Ein Vergleich lohnt sich aber auf jeden Fall. Unser Partner-Service Optimatis berät Sie gern.

Erst zur Bank, später zur Versicherung

«Sparen und Versichern sollte man trennen. Zum Sparen geht man zur Bank, für Versicherungen zur Versicherung.» Diese Aussage hört man oft. Sie stimmt aber so nicht. 

Wenn Sie jung sind und in Ihrem Leben noch grosse Träume haben wie ein Eigenheim, Selbständigkeit oder eine Auswanderung, dann brauchen Sie Flexibilität. Die finden Sie in der dritten Säule vor allem bei Banken. Wenn Sie heute bereits selbstständig sind, fehlt Ihnen möglicherweise der Risikoschutz aus der Pensionskasse. Wenn Sie ein Eigenheim haben, brauchen Sie mehr Risikoschutz als ein Mieter. Falls Sie also einen dieser grossen Schritte gegangen sind, dann finden Sie oft bei Versicherungen die passendere dritte Säule.

Wenn es um den eigentlichen Zweck der Säule 3a geht – die Altersvorsorge – liegen Banken und Versicherungen gleichauf. Die Entscheidung ist dann eine Frage der persönlichen Vorlieben. Und des minutiösen Vergleichs einzelner Anbieter aus beiden Systemen.