Supplemental health insurance

Supplemental dental insurance in Switzerland: 8 key questions and answers

INFORMATION
|
Source: iStock / andresr

The cost of dental and orthodontic treatment can soon add up to tens of thousands of francs. Basic insurance only covers the cost if the treatment is required as a result of an illness and is medically necessary. It can therefore be useful to take out supplemental dental insurance.

Comparis answers the most important questions on the subject of supplemental dental insurance.

The best way to avoid high dental bills is to practise good oral hygiene. Although supplemental dental insurance can provide some protection, there are a few things to watch out for. Comparis answers the most important questions on the subject of supplemental dental insurance.

1. What is supplemental dental insurance?

Supplemental dental insurance pays a contribution towards dental costs not covered by compulsory basic insurance, disability insurance or accident insurance. Basic insurance only covers dental costs in the following cases:

  • Accidents
  • Serious, unavoidable diseases of the masticatory system
  • Serious general medical conditions (e.g. leukaemia)

2. What does supplemental dental insurance cover?

Supplemental insurance covers some of the cost of dental treatment caused by illness or accident when it is not covered by another type of insurance. Such treatment includes:

  • Preventive (prophylactic) treatment and dental hygiene
  • Conservative dental treatment
  • Tooth extractions
  • Dental protheses such as crowns, pivot teeth, bridges and dentures
  • Correction of misaligned teeth
  • X-ray diagnostics

3. For whom is supplemental dental insurance useful?

Parents should definitely consider taking out supplement dental insurance for their offspring. Many children and adolescents need braces to correct misaligned teeth. Such orthodontic treatment can quickly add up to 10,000 francs or more.

4. When should I take out supplemental dental insurance?

Any supplemental insurance product should be taken out as early as possible. Health insurers will only contribute towards the cost of orthodontic treatment if the need is diagnosed after the insurance has been taken out. Some health insurers stipulate a qualifying period (waiting period), which can be anything from six months to three years.

However, like with many other supplemental insurance products, health insurers can reject your application. Before you can take out a supplemental insurance policy for dental treatment, insurers establish your state of health by means of a “health declaration”. You also need to enclose a certificate from a dentist with your application for supplemental dental insurance. This makes it difficult for adults to take out such a policy.

5. Dental insurance for children: what do I need to know?

You should take out supplemental dental insurance for children as early as possible – ideally before they need a dentist's certificate. Please note: some insurers require a dentist's certificate for children as young as 3 years old. If there is any misalignment, cover may be partially or completely refused.

6. How much does supplemental dental insurance cost?

For children, premiums vary between 5 and 20 francs per month. Adults pay around 25 to 40 francs per month.

Comparis tip: some health insurers require you to take out this supplemental insurance separately. This can be more expensive than choosing a package containing other supplemental outpatient insurance products as well.

7. How much will supplemental dental insurance pay out?

The benefits payable under supplemental insurance depend on the scope of cover. Some health insurers focus on orthodontic treatment, others on prosthetics. The proportion of the cost covered also varies. Some insurance companies only cover a percentage of the cost of particular treatment, such as braces. The limit on the benefits payable per year is another factor that differs from insurer to insurer. Given the relatively high costs involved, it should be no less than 5,000 francs.

Supplemental health insurance benefits vary considerably. It is therefore particularly important to compare products carefully:

8. Is supplemental dental insurance valid abroad?

Private supplement dental insurance is usually only valid for treatment in Switzerland. Some insurers will also cover the cost of cheaper treatment in neighbouring countries.

Zusatzversicherung

Zahnzusatzversicherung in der Schweiz: Die 8 wichtigsten Fragen und Antworten

INFO
|
Bild: iStock / andresr

Zahnbehandlungen und kieferorthopädische Eingriffe kosten schnell zehntausende von Franken. Die Grundversicherung zahlt nur, wenn die Behandlung eine Folge einer Erkrankung und medizinisch notwendig ist. Eine Zahnzusatzversicherung kann hier helfen.

Comparis beantwortet die wichtigsten Fragen zum Thema Zahnzusatzversicherungen:

Der beste Schutz vor hohen Zahnarztrechnungen ist eine gute Mundpflege. Eine Zahnzusatzversicherung kann zwar ebenfalls einen gewissen Schutz darstellen – doch es gibt einiges dabei zu beachten. Comparis beantwortet die wichtigsten Fragen zum Thema Zahnzusatzversicherungen.

1. Was ist eine Zahnzusatzversicherung?

Eine Zahnzusatzversicherung beteiligt sich an zahnmedizinischen Kosten, die nicht von der obligatorischen Grundversicherung und auch nicht von der Invaliden- oder Unfallversicherung übernommen werden. Die Grundversicherung übernimmt nur Zahnarztkosten in den folgenden Fällen:

  • Unfall
  • Schwere, nicht vermeidbare Krankheit des Kausystems
  • Schwere Allgemeinerkrankungen (z.B. Leukämie)

2. Was beinhaltet die Zahnzusatzversicherung?

Eine Zusatzversicherung beteiligt sich an krankheits- und unfallbedingten Zahnbehandlungen, die nicht von einer anderen Versicherung gedeckt werden, wie zum Beispiel:

  • Prophylaxe und Dentalhygiene
  • Konservierende Zahnbehandlungen
  • Zahnextraktionen
  • Zahnersatz wie Kronen, Stiftzähne, Brücken und Prothesen
  • Korrekturen von Zahnfehlstellungen
  • Röntgendiagnostik

3. Für wen lohnt sich eine Zahnzusatzversicherung?

Eine Zahnzusatzversicherung lohnt sich besonders für Eltern. Viele Kinder und Jugendliche korrigieren Zahnfehlstellungen mittels Zahnspangen. Solche kieferorthopädischen Behandlungen kosten schnell 10’000 Franken oder mehr.

4. Wann sollte man eine Zahnzusatzversicherung abschliessen?

Eine Zusatzversicherung sollte möglichst frühzeitig abgeschlossen werden. Die Krankenkassen beteiligen sich nur dann an den Kosten einer Zahnstellungskorrektur, wenn diese nach Versicherungsabschluss diagnostiziert wird. Manche Versicherer verlangen eine Karenzfrist (Wartezeit) von sechs Monaten bis zu drei Jahren.

Wie bei vielen anderen Zusatzversicherungen können die Krankenkassen Ihren Antrag jedoch ablehnen. Vor Abschluss einer Zusatzversicherung für Zahnbehandlungen wird Ihr Gesundheitszustand mit einer sogenannten Gesundheitsdeklaration definiert. Auch ein zahnärztliches Attest muss dem Antrag auf Abschluss einer Zahnzusatzversicherung beigelegt werden. Das macht den Abschluss einer Zahnzusatzversicherung für Erwachsene schwierig.

5. Zahnversicherung für Kinder: Was ist zu beachten?

Zahnzusatzversicherungen für Kinder sollten möglich früh abgeschlossen werden, am besten, bevor sie ein ärztliches Attest benötigen. Achtung: Manche Versicherungen verlangen schon ab 3 Jahren ein Attest. Liegt eine Fehlstellung vor, kann der Versicherungsschutz teilweise oder komplett verweigert werden.

6. Was kostet eine Zahnzusatzversicherung?

Bei Kindern bewegen sich die Prämien zwischen 5 und 20 Franken im Monat. Erwachsene zahlen rund 25 bis 40 Franken monatlich.

Comparis-Tipp: Bei einigen Krankenkassen muss die Zusatzversicherung separat abgeschlossen werden. Dies kann u.U. teurer sein als eine Paketlösung mit anderen ambulanten Zusatzversicherungen.

7. Wie viel zahlt eine Zahnzusatzversicherung?

Die Leistungen der Zusatzversicherungen hängen vom Versicherungsumfang ab. Manche Krankenversicherer konzentrieren sich eher auf Zahnstellungskorrekturen, andere auf Zahnersatz. Auch der Anteil, mit dem sie sich an den Kosten beteiligen, ist unterschiedlich. Einige Versicherungen übernehmen die Kosten für bestimmte Behandlungen wie z.B. Zahnspangen nur zu einem bestimmten Prozentsatz. Auch das Limit für die jährlichen Leistungen variiert von Kasse zu Kasse. Mit Blick auf die relativ hohen Kosten sollte es 5’000 Franken nicht unterschreiten.

Die Leistungen der Zusatzversicherungen variieren stark. Umso wichtiger ist es, die Angebote sehr genau miteinander zu vergleichen:

8. Gilt die Zahnzusatzversicherung auch im Ausland?

Eine private Zahnzusatzversicherung gilt in der Regel nur für Behandlungen in der Schweiz. Einige Anbieter übernehmen auch günstigere Eingriffe in Nachbarländern.