Maternity


According to the law (Art. 5 of the General Part of the Social Insurance Act ATSG), maternity includes pregnancy and delivery as well as the subsequent recovery period of the mother. Maternity benefits under basic insurance are not subject to any out-of-pocket payment. This applies to benefits that are specifically listed in the Health Insurance Act. These are the following:

Before birth:
  • 7 check-ups
  • 2 ultrasonic check-ups (11th to 14th and 20th to 23rd week of pregnancy)
  • Prenatal care: Insurers will contribute 150 francs towards antenatal classes led by a midwife on a one-to-one basis or in a group, or towards a consultation with a midwife covering the birth, the planning and organization of postnatal care at home and breastfeeding advice.
During birth:
  • Full coverage in the general ward of a hospital or in a birthing centre according to the hospital list of the canton of residence. The same applies in case of a home birth.
After birth:
  • Care at home by a midwife up to 56 days after birth. Unless prescribed otherwise by a doctor, 10 home visits are included. 
  • 3 breastfeeding consultations with a midwife or a lactation consultant
  • 1 check-up (6–10 weeks after delivery)

The amendment to the law, which was decreed by the Federal Council, entered into force on 1 March 2014. It stipulates that women who fall ill during or after pregnancy (e.g. in case of complications) are no longer liable to any out-of-pocket payments starting from the 13th week of pregnancy until eight weeks after birth. This encompasses, for example, hospitalization to avoid premature birth, treatment of gestational diabetes and infections or psychotherapy due to post-natal depression.

According to the Federal Social Insurance Office, there is no clear-cut jurisdiction regarding caesarean delivery on maternal request. If you are planning a pregnancy and want to be on the safe side, opt for the lowest possible deductible of 300 francs in order to keep costs as low as possible should an elective C-section not be fully covered by your health insurance provider.

Often it is not obvious to the health insurance company whether expenses are due to maternity. It is therefore advisable to mention the fact that you are pregnant on the invoices you submit.

Krankenkasse

Mutterschaft


Mutterschaft

Der Begriff Mutterschaft umfasst gemäss Gesetz (ATSG Art. 5) Schwangerschaft, Niederkunft sowie die nachfolgende Erholungszeit der Mutter. Auf Leistungen bei Mutterschaft muss in der obligatorischen Grundversicherung keine Kostenbeteiligung bezahlt werden. Dies gilt für Leistungen, die im Krankenversicherungsgesetz konkret aufgezählt sind. Diese sind:

Vor der Geburt:
  • 7 Kontrolluntersuchungen
  • 2 Ultraschallkontrollen (11. bis 14. und 20. bis 23. Schwangerschaftswoche)
  • Geburtsvorbereitung: Die Versicherung übernimmt einen Beitrag von 150 Franken für die Geburtsvorbereitung in Kursen, welche die Hebamme einzeln oder in Gruppen durchführt oder für ein Beratungsgespräch mit der Hebamme im Hinblick auf die Geburt, die Planung und Organisation des Wochenbetts zu Hause und die Stillvorbereitung.
Bei der Geburt:
  • Volle Deckung in der allgemeinen Abteilung eines Spitals oder eines Geburtshauses gemäss Spitalliste des Wohnkantons. Das Gleiche gilt für eine Hausgeburt.
Nach der Geburt:
  • Betreuung zu Hause durch eine Hebamme bis 56 Tage nach der Geburt. Ohne ärztliche Verordnung sind 10 Besuche vorgesehen. 
  • 3 Stillberatungen durch eine Hebamme oder Stillberaterin
  • 1 Kontrolluntersuchung (6 bis 10 Wochen nach der Entbindung)

Per 1. März 2014 tritt die Gesetzesänderung, welche der Bundesrat erlassen hat, in Kraft. Sie besagt, dass Frauen bei Krankheit (z.B. Komplikationen) ab der 13. Schwangerschaftswoche bis 8 Wochen nach der Geburt keine Kostenbeteiligung mehr bezahlen müssen. Das betrifft z.B. die Hospitalisation zur Vermeidung einer Frühgeburt, die Behandlung von Schwangerschaftsdiabetes und Infektionen oder eine psychotherapeutische Behandlung von Depressionen nach der Geburt.

Nach Angaben des Bundesamtes für Sozialversicherung existiert keine eindeutige Rechtsprechung für den Fall von gewünschtem Kaiserschnitt. Wenn Sie auf Nummer sicher gehen wollen und eine Schwangerschaft planen, können Sie die tiefste Franchise (300 Franken) wählen, um die Kosten möglichst gering zu halten, falls ein Wunschkaiserschnitt von der Krankenkasse nicht vollständig übernommen würde.

Für die Krankenkassen ist oft nicht ersichtlich, ob es sich um Aufwendungen im Zusammenhang mit einer Mutterschaft handelt. Ein Vermerk auf den Rechnungen, dass eine Mutterschaft vorliegt, ist daher empfehlenswert.