Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

Healthcare and pensionsPensionsGlossary
Pensions

Withdrawal and advance withdrawal of pillar 3a

  • Pillar 3a withdrawal options
  • Standard withdrawal of pillar 3a
  • Advance withdrawal of pillar 3a
  • When is advance withdrawal of pillar 3a savings possible?
  • Staggered withdrawal of pillar 3a
  • Advance withdrawal of pillar 3a to buy a home

Pillar 3a withdrawal options

Payments into pillar 3a accounts are tax-deductible. However, your options for withdrawing the 3a pension capital are limited. A distinction is made between standard and advance withdrawals.

Standard withdrawal of pillar 3a

The retirement savings accumulated in a pillar 3a account may be withdrawn no earlier than five years before the statutory retirement age (64 years for women, 65 years for men). The pension capital is payable when the beneficiary reaches this age. It is still possible to defer drawing your pension assets if you continue to work after this age. You must withdraw the pension capital when you stop working, but this must be within 5 years (i.e. by the age of 69 or 70 respectively).

Advance withdrawal of pillar 3a

Advance withdrawal is when you withdraw your pension savings prior to retirement. With standard withdrawal, the accumulated retirement savings may be withdrawn no earlier than five years before statutory retirement age (64 years for women, 65 years for men).

When is advance withdrawal of pillar 3a savings possible?

It is possible to withdraw savings early in the following cases:

While banks do not usually charge any fees for an advance withdrawal, early termination of a pension or life insurance policy from an insurance company is often very costly.

Staggered withdrawal of pillar 3a

To avoid paying too much tax when you withdraw the capital, it is advisable to spread your 3a assets across multiple accounts to enable staggered withdrawals. The balance of each pillar 3a account must be withdrawn in its entirety. Because these withdrawals are subject to a progressive tax system, it is worth having multiple accounts and closing them in different tax years to avoid paying excessive tax.

Advance withdrawal of pillar 3a to buy a home

You can finance a home that you will live in using money from pillar 3a. The following options are available:

1. Financing a home you will live in through advance withdrawal or pledging

Advance withdrawal: you can withdraw pillar 3 assets ahead of time to purchase or build a home you will live in (house, condominium, share in a housing cooperative). There is no minimum amount. Such early withdrawals are possible every five years. The benefit of this option is that you pay less interest on your mortgage – your larger deposit means a smaller mortgage amount.

Pledging: you can also pledge pension assets to your mortgage lender. In this case, the pension capital is not paid out but serves simply as collateral for the lender. As a result, some lenders may offer you a larger mortgage amount or lower mortgage rate. The advantage of this option is that the money remains in your account and can accumulate tax-free.

2. Withdrawing pillar 3a savings to repay an existing mortgage

You can also use capital from your third pillar to amortize a mortgage. A distinction is made between direct and indirect amortization:

Direct amortization: with direct amortization, the borrower withdraws the money from the third pillar and pays it straight to the lender. This reduces the mortgage amount and thus the monthly payments. This also means that the tax-deductible mortgage interest is lower. Withdrawals are possible every five years.

Indirect amortization: here, the borrower transfers no money to the lender but pays regularly into the (pledged) pillar 3a account. The advantage of this option is that the money remains in the account and can accumulate tax-free.

3. Withdrawing pillar 3a savings for renovations and conversions

You are allowed to use pillar 3a pension assets for certain types of renovations and conversions if you live in the property in question. However, there are no clear guidelines on this. You should therefore discuss withdrawals for this purpose with your pension provider in advance.

Independent pension advice

Have you started to save privately for retirement?

The earlier the better.
Request no-obligation advice

Back to top

Newsletter

Stay up-to-date with the latest savings deals as well as expert tips on health, money and tax.

By registering, I agree to my data being processed in accordance with the data privacy statement of comparis.ch.

comparis.ch
  • About Comparis

  • Career

Social Media
Language
  • DE
  • FR
  • IT
  • EN
  • Contact
  • Data privacy protection
  • Legal information
  • Credits

© 1996–2021 comparis.ch AG, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zurich, +41 44 360 52 62

Comparis
Newsletter
de

Versicherungen

Auto & Motorrad

Immobilien

Kredit & Hypotheken

Preisvergleich

Gesundheit & Altersvorsorge

Weitere Services

Comparis

Menü

Gesundheit & AltersvorsorgeAltersvorsorgeGlossar
Altersvorsorge

Bezug und Vorbezug der Säule 3a

  • Möglichkeiten zum Bezug der Säule 3a
  • Ordentlicher Bezug der Säule 3a
  • Vorbezug der Säule 3a
  • Wann ist ein vorzeitiger Bezug der Säule 3a möglich?
  • Gestaffelter Bezug der Säule 3a
  • Vorbezug der Säule 3a für Wohneigentum

Möglichkeiten zum Bezug der Säule 3a

Anlagen in die Säule 3a sind steuerlich privilegiert. Dafür sind die Bezugsmöglichkeiten des 3a-Vorsorgekapitals eingeschränkt. Man unterscheidet zwischen ordentlichem Bezug und dem Vorbezug.

Tipps zur Auszahlung der Säule 3a

Ordentlicher Bezug der Säule 3a

Das in der Säule 3a angesparte Vermögen darf frühestens fünf Jahre vor Erreichen des ordentlichen Rentenalters der AHV (64 Jahre für Frauen, 65 Jahre für Männer) bezogen werden. Mit Erreichen des AHV-Alters wird das Kapital fällig. Weiterhin Berufstätige dürfen den Bezug des Kapitals aufschieben. Mit Aufgabe der Berufstätigkeit, spätestens aber nach 5 Jahren (mit 69 resp. 70 Jahren), müssen Sie das Kapital beziehen.

Vorbezug der Säule 3a

Unter Vorbezug versteht man die Entnahme des Vorsorgekapitals vor der eigentlichen Pensionierung. Beim ordentlichen Bezug dürfen die angesparten Vorsorgegelder frühestens fünf Jahre vor Erreichen des ordentlichen Rentenalters der AHV (64 Jahre für Frauen, 65 Jahre für Männer) ausbezahlt werden.

Wann ist ein vorzeitiger Bezug der Säule 3a möglich?

In folgenden Fällen ist ein Vorbezug des Guthabens möglich:

  • Finanzierung von selbstbewohntem Wohneigentum oder Rückzahlung von Hypothekendarlehen
  • Einkauf in eine Pensionskasse (2. Säule)
  • Aufnahme einer selbständigen Erwerbstätigkeit oder Wechsel der bisherigen selbständigen Erwerbstätigkeit
  • Endgültiges Verlassen der Schweiz
  • Bezug einer ganzen Invalidenrente der eidgenössischen Invalidenversicherung (IV) bei nicht versichertem Invaliditätsrisiko
  • Tod des Vorsorgenehmers

Während ein Vorbezug bei Banken generell ohne Kostenfolge getätigt werden kann, entstehen bei der vorzeitigen Auflösung einer Vorsorgepolice/Lebensversicherung bei einer Versicherung meist hohe Kosten.

Gestaffelter Bezug der Säule 3a

Damit der Bezug zu einer weniger hohen Steuerprogression führt, ist es ratsam, das 3a-Vermögen auf mehrere Konten aufzuteilen und sie gestaffelt zu beziehen. Säule 3a-Guthaben dürfen nur vollständig ausbezahlt werden. Aufgrund der progressiven Besteuerung lohnt es sich deshalb, parallel mehrere Vorsorgebeziehungen zu haben. So kann man diese später in verschiedenen Steuerjahren auflösen und entgeht so einer allzu hohen progressiven Besteuerung.

Vorbezug der Säule 3a für Wohneigentum

Selbstbewohntes Wohneigentum kann man mit Geld aus der Säule 3a finanzieren. Es bestehen folgende Möglichkeiten:

1. Finanzierung von selbstbewohntem Wohneigentum durch Vorbezug oder Verpfändung

Vorbezug: Zum Kauf oder Bau von selbstbewohntem Wohneigentum (Haus, Stockwerkeigentum, Anteilschein an einer Wohnbaugenossenschaft) dürfen Guthaben aus der 3. Säule vorzeitig bezogen werden. Einen Mindestbetrag gibt es dabei nicht. Ein solcher Vorbezug ist alle fünf Jahre erlaubt. Vorteil dieser Variante ist die geringere Zinsbelastung der Hypothek, da sich so der Hypothekenbetrag verringert und das Eigenkapital erhöht.

Verpfändung: Vorsorgegelder kann man zugunsten einer Hypothek auch verpfänden. In diesem Fall dient das Vorsorgekapital lediglich als Sicherheit für den Kreditgeber und wird nicht ausbezahlt. Dies ermöglicht je nach Kreditgeber eine höhere Hypothek oder einen tieferen Hypothekarzinssatz. Vorteil dieser Variante ist, dass das Geld auf dem Konto bleibt und weiterhin steuerfrei arbeiten kann.

2. Säule-3a-Bezug für Rückzahlung einer bestehenden Hypothek

Kapital aus der 3. Säule darf man auch zur Amortisation der Hypothek verwenden. Man unterscheidet zwischen direkter und indirekter Amortisation:

Direkte Amortisation: Bei der direkten Amortisation bezieht der Kreditnehmer das Geld aus der 3. Säule und zahlt es direkt an den Kreditgeber. Damit verringert sich der Hypothekenbetrag und somit sinken die Wohnkosten. Der steuerlich abzugsfähige Hypothekarzins nimmt dabei allerdings auch ab. Ein Bezug ist alle fünf Jahre möglich.

Indirekte Amortisation: Hier zahlt der Kreditnehmer kein Geld an den Kreditgeber, sondern investiert regelmässig in die (verpfändete) Säule 3a. Der Vorteil dieser Variante ist, dass das Geld auf dem Konto bleibt und weiterhin steuerfrei arbeiten kann.

3. Bezug der Säule 3a für Renovation und Umbau

Es ist erlaubt, Vorsorgegelder aus der Säule 3a für bestimmte Renovationen und Umbauten von selbstbewohntem Wohneigentum zu verwenden. Es fehlen allerdings ganz klare Richtlinien. Deshalb ist es empfehlenswert, einen Vorbezug vorgängig mit dem Vorsorgeträger abzuklären.

Unabhängige Vorsorgeberatung

Haben Sie für die Zukunft privat vorgesorgt?

Je früher desto besser.
Unverbindlich beraten lassen

Nach oben

Newsletter

Immer aktuell informiert über Sparmöglichkeiten sowie Experten-Tipps rund um die Themen Gesundheit, Finanzen und Steuern.

Mit der Anmeldung stimme ich der Bearbeitung meiner Daten entsprechend der Datenschutzerklärung von comparis.ch zu.

comparis.ch
  • Über Comparis

  • Medien

  • Karriere

Folgen Sie uns
Sprache
  • DE
  • FR
  • IT
  • EN
  • Kontakt
  • Datenschutz
  • Rechtliche Informationen
  • Impressum

© 1996–2021 comparis.ch AG, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zürich, +41 44 360 52 62