Welcome to Switzerland

How to set up your own business in Switzerland as a non-Swiss citizen

INFORMATION
|
Source: iStock / gpointstudio

Citizens from EU and EFTA countries enjoy freedom of movement rights in Switzerland. Anyone from other countries wishing to set up their own business will only be permitted to do so in certain circumstances.

Up to 90 days’ self-employment in Switzerland

If you are from an EU/EFTA country and wish to pursue a self-employed activity for no more than 90 working days per year in Switzerland, you are required to register first. You just need to complete this online form, which must usually be submitted eight days before starting work at the latest.

Long-term self-employment in Switzerland

To pursue a longer-term business activity in Switzerland, nationals from EU and EFTA countries must file an application for self-employed activity with their Cantonal Migration Office. Once you have obtained evidence of self-employment, you are entitled to a B residence permit (EU/EFTA countries) or a C residence permit (all other countries). You will receive this when you have successfully registered with your municipality of residence.

If you wish to set up a public limited company (AG/SA) or a limited liability company (GmbH/SARL), you must be represented by someone resident in Switzerland. This person can be a board member or director.

Do you already live in Switzerland and have a B (EU/EFTA) permit? If so, you can take up self-employed activity at any time. However, you must notify your residents’ registration office of the change in your employment status.

Nationals of non-EU/EFTA countries require a C permit to become self-employed.

Obligations of self-employed persons

Old-age and survivors’ insurance (OASI) / disability insurance (DI)

Self-employed individuals (i.e. without AG/SA or GmbH/SARL) must register for OASI (AHV/AVS). Unlike employees, self-employed persons are responsible for paying all their social insurance contributions themselves. If you are dependent on a single client, the OASI may refuse to recognize you as self-employed.

Requirements for those earning more than 100,000 francs

Self-employed people with an income of more than 100,000 francs are required to pay VAT. Individuals not registered as an AG/SA or GmbH/SARL need to be registered as a sole proprietor in the commercial register if they earn more than 100,000 francs.

Insurance for self-employed persons

In Switzerland, people who are self-employed must decide themselves how they wish to handle risk with regard to most pension and insurance matters. The only exceptions are OASI (AHV/AVS) and health insurance.

Old-age and survivors’ insurance (OASI) / disability insurance (DI)

Self-employed people are required to take out OASI (AHV/ARS) and DI (IV/AI) and pay into the income replacement scheme (EO/APG). The scheme provides compensation for any loss of earnings arising as a result of maternity leave or military service.

Illness

The second type of compulsory insurance is health insurance. Everyone resident in Switzerland must take out a basic health insurance policy with a health insurance company. They are free to choose the health insurance company themselves. The cover offered under basic insurance is the same irrespective of insurer. As premiums vary, however, it's worth comparing them beforehand.

Compare premiums now

Accident cover

Self-employed people must also consider accident cover. They can decide whether to take out accident insurance for themselves and any family members working for them who are not already insured. Insurance can be taken out with the Swiss National Accident Insurance Fund (Suva) or with a private accident insurer. These insurance policies cover not only hospital and treatment costs but also pay out a daily accident benefit of 80% of the insured salary as well as a lifelong disability pension in the event of disability.

Daily sickness allowance

Although basic health insurance covers treatment costs in the event of illness, self-employed people are responsible for organizing their own cover for continuation of pay. Daily sickness allowance insurance provides this cover. The allowance is paid from the start of your illness until you are eligible for disability insurance payments after a period of two years.

Liability insurance

Self-employed people are liable for damages arising in connection with their professional activity. That’s why it is important to take out business liability insurance. You can also opt for business legal expenses insurance to protect yourself against the financial impact of unjustified claims.

 

Property insurance

If your business has its own premises, you will need insurance cover against theft, glass breakage and fire and water damage. Damage to buildings or equipment could also force you to stop trading temporarily. To protect yourself against such events, you could consider taking out a business interruption insurance policy.

Pension

If you are self-employed, you are responsible for arranging your own pension. The state pension is only enough to keep you out of poverty. To maintain a comfortable standard of living, you will need additional retirement savings. As a self-employed person, you can make voluntary contributions to a second pillar pension plan, provided your income is at least 21,330 francs (as of 2019). As an alternative to the second pillar, you have the option of paying up to 20% of your income per year (or a maximum of 34,128 francs as of 2019) into a tax-efficient restricted pillar 3a account.

Neu in der Schweiz

Wie werden Sie als Ausländer selbstständig in der Schweiz?

INFO
| von Leo Hug |
Bild: iStock / gpointstudio

Personen aus der EU oder einem EFTA-Land profitieren in der Schweiz von der Personenfreizügigkeit. Ausländische Firmengründer aus anderen Staaten werden nur beschränkt zugelassen.

Bis zu maximal 90 Tagen in der Schweiz aktiv

Selbstständige Dienstleister aus der EU / EFTA unterliegen dem Meldeverfahren, sofern sie nicht länger als 90 Arbeitstage pro Jahr in der Schweiz tätig sind. Für die Aufnahme der Arbeit genügt eine Meldung mit einem Online-Formular in der Regel bis spätestens acht Tage vor Arbeitsbeginn.

Langfristige geschäftliche Tätigkeit in der Schweiz

Bei einer längerfristigen geschäftlichen Tätigkeit in der Schweiz müssen Staatsangehörige von EU und EFTA-Staaten bei einem kantonalen Migrationsamt ein Gesuch für eine selbstständige Tätigkeit stellen. Mit dem Nachweis einer selbstständigen Tätigkeit haben Sie Anspruch auf eine Aufenthalts- (EU- bzw. EFTA-Staaten) bzw. Niederlassungsbewilligung (alle anderen Staaten). Diese erhalten Sie nach erfolgter Anmeldung bei der Wohngemeinde.

Für das Betreiben einer Aktiengesellschaft oder eine Gesellschaft mit beschränkter Haftung (GmbH) gilt dabei: Sie muss durch eine Person mit Wohnsitz in der Schweiz vertreten werden. Die Vertretung kann auch durch einen Verwaltungsrat oder Direktor erfolgen.

Wohnen Sie bereits in der Schweiz und haben sie eine B-EU/EFTA-Bewilligung? Dann dürfen Sie jederzeit eine selbstständige Tätigkeit aufnehmen. Sie müssen jedoch den Wechsel vom Angestelltenverhältnis zur Selbstständigkeit der zuständigen Einwohnerkontrolle melden.

Angehörige von Nicht-EU/EFTA-Staaten benötigen für eine selbstständige Tätigkeit eine Niederlassungsbewilligung C.

Verpflichtungen von Selbstständigerwerbenden

AHV/IV

Selbstständig erwerbende Einzelpersonen (d. h. ohne AG oder GmbH) müssen sich bei der AHV anmelden. Im Unterschied zu Angestellten bezahlen selbstständig Erwerbende ihre Sozialversicherungsbeträge vollständig selber. Sind Sie nur von einem einzigen Auftraggeber abhängig? Dann kann die AHV die Anerkennung als Selbstständiger verweigern.

Auflagen ab 100'000 Franken Umsatz

Selbstständige mit 100'000 Franken Umsatz und mehr sind mehrwertsteuerpflichtig. Selbstständige Einzelpersonen ohne AG oder GmbH benötigen ab 100'000 Franken Umsatz einen Eintrag als Einzelfirma im Handelsregister.

Versicherungen für Selbstständigerwerbende

In der Schweiz müssen selbstständig Erwerbende in den meisten Vorsorge- und Versicherungsfragen selbst entscheiden, wie sie mit diesem Risiko umgehen. Einzige Ausnahme sind AHV und Krankenversicherung.

AHV/IV

Selbstständige sind verpflichtet, sich bei der Alters- und Hinterlassenenversicherung (AHV) und der Invalidenversicherung (IV) zu versichern sowie Beiträge an die Erwerbsersatzordnung (EO) zu leisten. Die EO finanziert unter anderem Mutterschaftsentschädigungen und Erwerbsausfälle von Militärdienstleistenden.

Krankheit

Der zweite obligatorische Versicherungsbereich ist das Gesundheitswesen. Alle in der Schweiz wohnhaften Personen müssen eine Grundversicherung bei einer Krankenkasse abschliessen. Dabei können sie zwischen unterschiedlichen Krankenkassen wählen. In der Grundversicherung ist das Angebot bei allen Krankenkassen gleich. Die Prämien sind jedoch unterschiedlich. Ein vorgängiger Prämienvergleich lohnt sich.

Jetzt Prämien vergleichen

Unfallrisiko

Im Weiteren müssen selbstständig Erwerbende sich um das Unfallrisiko kümmern. Selbstständigerwerbende und ihre nicht obligatorisch versicherten mitarbeitenden Familienmitglieder können sich freiwillig gegen Unfälle versichern. Der Abschluss kann bei der Schweizerischen Unfallversicherungsanstalt SUVA oder einem privaten Unfallversicherer erfolgen. Mit diesen Versicherungspolicen werden nicht nur Spital- und Heilungskosten sondern auch ein Unfalltaggeld von 80 Prozent des versicherten Lohnes und im Invaliditätsfall eine lebenslange Invalidenrente abgedeckt.

Krankentaggeld

Bei Krankheit übernimmt die Grundversicherung der Krankenkasse zwar die Heilungskosten. Doch für Lohnfortzahlungen müssen sich Selbstständigerwerbende selbst organisieren. Den entsprechenden Versicherungsschutz bietet die Krankentaggeldversicherung. Sie stellt die Lohnfortzahlung von der Zeit des Ausbruchs der Krankheit bis zu den Zahlungen der Invalidenversicherung nach zwei Jahren sicher.

Haftpflichtversicherung

Selbstständig Erwerbende haften für Schäden aus ihrer Berufstätigkeit. Darum drängt sich eine Betriebshaftpflichtversicherung auf. Ergänzend dazu kann eine Betriebsrechtsschutzversicherung zur Abwehr von unberechtigten Forderungen abgeschlossen werden.

Sachversicherungen

Falls Sie für die Ausübung Ihrer Tätigkeit eigene Arbeitsräume brauchen, benötigen sie eine Versicherung zur Deckung von Diebstahl, Glasbruch oder von Feuer- und Wasserschäden. Schäden an Gebäuden oder Anlagen können zu Zwangspausen in der Produktion führen. Für solche Fälle kann der Abschluss einer Betriebsunterbrechungsversicherung erwogen werden.

Altersvorsorge

Selbstständige müssen selbst für ihre Finanzierung im Alter sorgen. Die AHV-Rente sichert nur die Existenz. Für die Fortführung der gewohnten Lebenshaltung benötigen Sie zusätzliche Vorsorgegelder. Als Selbstständigerwerbender können Sie sich freiwillig einer Vorsorgeeinrichtung der 2. Säule anschliessen, sofern Ihr Einkommen mindestens 21'330 Franken beträgt (Stand 2019). Als Alternative zur 2. Säule haben Sie die Möglichkeit, jährlich bis zu 20 Prozent Ihres Einkommens bzw. maximal 34'128 Franken (Stand 2019) in die steuerlich begünstigte gebundene Vorsorge 3a einzuzahlen.