Tyres

When should I fit winter tyres?

TIPS
| By Andrea Auer |
Source: iStock / imagedepotpro

In Switzerland, you are not required by law to fit winter tyres. But if you want to avoid hassle with your insurance company, make sure you're using the right tyres. Comparis explains when you should switch to winter tyres and what else to watch out for.

In Switzerland, the October-to-Easter rule reminds motorists when it is advisable to drive on winter tyres and when it’s time to change them. However, this is not set in stone. The ideal time varies from region to region. If you live in the mountains, you will need to change them sooner than if you live in an urban area.

You can also use the weather as your guide: if the outdoor temperature falls below seven degrees Celsius, it's time to switch to winter tyres.

Our tip: Book an appointment at your garage or tyre centre in good time. If you leave it until the first snowfall, you may have to wait a long time before they can fit you in.

Are winter tyres compulsory?

In Switzerland, there is no legal requirement to fit winter tyres. However, according to the Swiss Road Traffic Act (Art. 29) (not available in English), all vehicles on Swiss roads must be in a roadworthy condition. This is the responsibility of the car drivers themselves.

During the cold season, winter tyres are the safest choice. They are made of a rubber compound specially designed for winter driving. Their tread also ensures increased driving stability and greater safety when braking in wintry conditions.

Find new tyres now

Are all-season tyres permitted in Switzerland?

All-weather or all-season tyres are allowed in Switzerland. However, for safety reasons, you should think carefully before purchasing a set. Even though the quality of products developed in recent years has greatly improved, all-season tyres are still considered a compromise solution. Tyres with excellent summer characteristics underperform in winter, and vice versa.

Our tip: Only buy all-season tyres if you know you can do without your car if weather conditions dictate.

What is the legal minimum tread depth?

In Switzerland, the legal minimum tread depth for car tyres is 1.6 millimetres. However, Touring Club Switzerland (TCS) and other experts recommend a tread of at least 4 millimetres for winter tyres. The recommended depth for summer tyres is 3 millimetres. The recommendations are the same for all-season tyres – 4 millimetres in winter and 3 millimetres in summer.

Our tip: Not sure if the tread depth on your winter tyres is sufficient? You can easily check it using a two-franc coin. Place the coin in the groove of the tyre. If you can see the base of Helvetia, it’s time to purchase new tyres.

Will my insurance pay out if I have an accident on summer tyres?

If you cause an accident when driving on unsuitable tyres, the insurance company may reduce the payout or recover the loss from you. You may also be fined or even have your driving licence suspended. The relevant authority decides on the extent of the penalty based on the police report.

Good to know: Tyres that are very unevenly worn are not considered roadworthy and may not be accepted by the police or – in the event of a claim – your insurance company.

Compare car insurance now

Are winter tyres legally required in neighbouring countries?

Different rules apply in the countries bordering Switzerland. As a general rule, winter tyres are not compulsory in France. However, the French authorities can sometimes require you to fit them, and this is indicated by road signs. The situation is somewhat different in Germany and Austria: if there is snow, slush or ice on the roads, winter tyres are required by law.

In Italy, winter tyres are generally compulsory, but each province sets its own rules individually.

Our tip: If you intend to travel to a neighbouring country between October and April, you are advised to fit winter tyres to your vehicle. This will save you any hassle with foreign authorities and is ultimately safer for you.

Reifen

Wann sind Winterreifen sinnvoll?

TIPPS
| von Andrea Auer |
Bild: iStock / imagedepotpro

Winterpneus sind in der Schweiz von Gesetzes wegen nicht vorgeschrieben. Wer mit seiner Versicherung jedoch keinen Ärger will, fährt mit den richtigen Reifen. Comparis erklärt, wann ein Wechsel der Autoreifen angezeigt ist und worauf es ausserdem zu achten gilt.

Zwischen Oktober und Ostern setzen Autofahrer am besten auf Winterreifen. Die Eselsbrücke «von O bis O» erinnert zur gegebenen Zeit an den anstehenden Reifenwechsel. Diese ist allerdings nicht in Stein gemeisselt. Der optimale Zeitpunkt variiert je nach Region. Wohnen Sie in den Bergen, ist ein Wechsel früher angezeigt als für Einwohner aus städtischen Gebieten.

Alternativ zur O-bis-O-Regel können Sie sich auch am Wetter orientieren: Fällt die Aussentemperatur unter sieben Grad Celsius, ist der Wechsel auf Winterreifen angezeigt.

Unser Tipp: Kümmern sich frühzeitig um einen Termin beim Garagisten. Wer bis zum ersten Schneefall wartet, der muss möglicherweise weit hinten anstehen.

Sind Winterreifen Pflicht?

In der Schweiz herrscht keine Winterreifenpflicht. Doch gemäss Schweizer Strasseverkehrsgesetz (Art. 29) dürfen Fahrzeuge nur in betriebssicherem Zustand verkehren. Dafür tragen Sie als Lenker die Verantwortung.

In der kalten Jahreszeit sind Winterreifen die sicherste Lösung. Winterpneus verfügen über eine speziell auf den Winter ausgerichtete Gummimischung. Das Reifenprofil sorgt ausserdem für ein stabileres Fahrverhalten und für mehr Sicherheit bei Bremsvorgängen im winterlichen Strassenverkehr.

Jetzt neue Reifen finden

Sind Ganzjahresreifen in der Schweiz zugelassen?

Allwetter- oder Ganzjahresreifen sind in der Schweiz erlaubt. Allerdings soll ein Kauf aus Sicherheitsgründen gut überlegt sein. Ganzjahresreifen gelten noch immer als Kompromisslösung – auch wenn Neuentwicklungen in den letzten Jahren an Qualität gewonnen haben. Reifen mit überzeugenden Sommer-Eigenschaften schwächeln im Winter und umgekehrt.

Unser Tipp: Kaufen Sie nur Ganzjahresreifen, wenn Sie je nach Wettersituation aufs Fahrzeug verzichten können.

Wie viel beträgt die gesetzliche Mindestprofiltiefe?

Die vorgeschriebene Mindestprofiltiefe für Autoreifen liegt in der Schweiz bei 1,6 Millimetern. Fachpersonen oder der TCS empfehlen für Winterreifen jedoch ein Profil von mindestens 4 Millimetern. Bei Sommerreifen werden 3 Millimeter empfohlen. Für Autos mit Ganzjahresreifen gilt die gleiche Emfehlung – 4 Millimeter im Winter, 3 Millimeter im Sommer.

Unser Tipp: Sind Sie unsicher, ob das Profil Ihrer Winterreifen noch ausreicht? Mit einem Zweifränkler lässt sich das ganz einfach kontrollieren. Halten Sie das Geldstück in die Reifenrille. Ist die untere Bodenlinie der Helvetia sichtbar, sollten Sie sich neue Reifen anschaffen.

Zahlt die Versicherung bei einem Unfall mit Sommerreifen?

Verursachen Sie mit ungenügender Bereifung einen Unfall, müssen Sie mit einer Leistungskürzung oder einem Regress Ihrer Versicherung rechnen. Ausserdem riskieren Sie eine Busse oder gar Führerausweisentzug. Über das Ausmass der Bestrafung entscheidet die zuständige Behörde aufgrund des Polizeirapports.

Gut zu wissen: Übermässig ungleich abgenützte Reifen gelten als nicht betriebssicher und können von der Polizei oder im Schadenfall von der Versicherung beanstandet werden.

Jetzt Autoversichherung vergleichen

Sind Winterreifen in den Nachbarländern gesetzlich vorgeschrieben?

Im benachbarten Ausland gelten teilweise andere Gesetze: In Frankreich herrscht zwar kein generelles Winterreifenobligatorium. Die französischen Behörden können Winterpneus jedoch mittels Beschilderung kurzfristig verlangen. Etwas differenziert ist die Lage in Deutschland und Österreich: Ist die Strasse mit Schnee, Matsch oder Eis bedeckst, sind Winterpneus von Gesetzes wegen ein Muss.

Eine generell gültige Winterreifenpflicht gibt es in Italien. Allerdings wird diese von den Provinzen autonom geregelt.

Unser Tipp: Wer von Oktober bis April ins benachbarte Ausland reist, fährt am besten mit Winterreifen – damit ersparen Sie sich Ärger mit den ausländischen Behörden und sind vor allem sicherer unterwegs.