Price comparison

Electric toothbrushes: considerable savings possible on replacement brush heads

TIPS
|
Replacement brush heads for electric toothbrushes are expensive, so it is often worth opting for imitation brands. Source: iStock

Electric toothbrushes are both easy to use and thorough, whether you are an adult or a kid. So it is all the more pleasing to see them becoming increasingly affordable. Still annoying, though, are the high subsequent costs of replacement brush heads. comparis.ch provides its readers with tips on maintaining good oral hygiene while saving costs.

Developed in Switzerland over 60 years ago, electric toothbrushes are now found in almost every second Swiss household. This success is thanks both to their ease of use and to their particular thoroughness. Indeed, they are considered by dentists to be the ultimate means of preventive care. Because, as evidence shows, removing bacterial plaque greatly reduces the risk of caries and periodontitis – the two main causes of tooth loss.

Used correctly, electric toothbrushes are an especially gentle means of cleaning teeth. Some devices vibrate as soon as they are pressed too hard against the teeth. Others emit a signal when the recommended brushing time expires. The most recent devices can even be controlled via an app and provide users with personalized teeth brushing feedback. The sonic electric toothbrush Sonicare DiamondClean Smart by Philips is one such device. 

Use of electric toothbrushes among children is also on the increase, with many devices equipped with playful and encouraging technical features (e.g. music) that promote better cleaning results.

An overview of the pros and cons of using electric toothbrushes

Pros Cons
Comfortable, easy to use Acquisition costs and, in particular, follow-up costs
Facilitate more thorough teeth cleaning Noise
Can be used by all family members thanks to interchangeable brush heads Dependent on electricity supply
Suitable for and encouraging to children Vibrations in the mouth cavity
Measures brushing time (timer) and pressure (e.g. vibration)  Incorrect use can cause damage to gums and teeth
Higher hygienic standard Ecological impact (rechargeable batteries, electricity)

Different systems

Electric toothbrushes tend to be based on one of two systems.

Oscillating-rotating toothbrushes: These toothbrushes have round brush heads that oscillate back and forth about 70 times per second while simultaneously rotating. The small brush heads can reach areas otherwise difficult to access. Brushing involves moving the brush head slowly from tooth to tooth, using little pressure. 

Sonic electric toothbrushes: Sonic electric toothbrushes have a longer brush head that can clean several teeth at once. The brush head removes plaque by oscillating at a rate of 250 strokes per second. Sonic electric toothbrushes are moved up and down in the mouth, as with standard toothbrushes. Ultrasonic toothbrushes oscillate at a higher rate (16,000 strokes per second) and require a special toothpaste.

Oscillating-rotating or sonic toothbrushes: which is the better of the two systems depends on personal preferences and medical requirements. People unsure about which system to opt for should consult their dentist or dental hygienist. 

Imitation brush heads are up to 50 per cent cheaper

No matter which system you decide on, the brush heads will invariably need replacing after two to three months. This can be costly, with prices for original brush heads often ending up higher that for the devices themselves.

For example, low-cost rotating electric toothbrushes are available for between 20 and 40 francs (Oral-B Vitality Cross Action) according to Comparis’s Price Comparison, around the same amount you would have to pay for five original brush heads (4 to 8 francs per brush head).

Manufacturers such as Procter & Gamble (Oral-B) have so far stuck rigidly to their pricing models, justifying these on the basis of research and development costs. Today, however, the emergence of imitation brush heads has begun to shake up the market. Amazon and Shavemaster.ch are among the companies to now offer brush heads compatible with original-brand toothbrushes. Here, an imitation brush head for the toothbrush mentioned above (Vitality Cross Action) only costs around 2 francs. Drug stores and retailers, too, have begun to stock imitation brush heads. According to the packaging, these are compatible with most Oral-B electric toothbrushes. Drogerie Müller’s SensiDent brand now also has its own range of universal replacement brush heads starting from 3.30 francs per piece. Larger Coop branches also stock universal brush heads under their own Qualité & Prix brand at 3.17 francs per piece.

What about their quality?

In tests conducted by the German product testing foundation Stiftung Warentest, the cloned brush heads were found to be almost as good as the originals. Some may not sit quite as snugly on the toothbrush, but this in no way compromises their functionality. It is therefore only a matter of time before other suppliers of imitation brush heads take aim at the Swiss market, in doing so putting additional pressure on the major manufacturers.

People who still prefer cleaning their teeth with original brush heads should at least compare prices on the Internet, where they can achieve savings of up to 50 per cent.

Preisvergleich

Elektrozahnbürsten: viel Sparpotenzial bei Aufsätzen

TIPPS
|
Aufsätze für elektrische Zahnbürsten sind teuer – auf Imitate zurückgreifen lohnt sich. Bild: iStock

Ob für Erwachsene oder Kinder: Elektrisches Zähneputzen ist bequem und gründlich. Umso erfreulicher, dass die Geräte immer günstiger werden. Was allerdings immer noch nervt, sind die hohen Folgekosten durch die Zahnbürstenaufsätze. comparis.ch gibt Tipps, wie man für eine gute Mundhygiene sorgt und dabei noch Geld spart.

Vor rund 60 Jahren in der Schweiz entwickelt, steht die Elektrozahnbürste heute in fast jedem zweiten Schweizer Haushalt. Grund für den Erfolg: Die elektrische Reinigung der Zähne ist nicht nur komfortabel, sondern auch besonders gründlich. Für Zahnärzte gilt sie daher schon lange als das Nonplusultra der Zahnprophylaxe. Denn wenn der bakterielle Belag (Plaque) entfernt ist, haben Zahnerkrankungen wie Karies und Parodontitis nachweislich weniger Chancen. Beide gelten als die Hauptursachen für Zahnverlust.

Wer die Elektrozahnbürste korrekt anwendet, reinigt seine Zähne besonders schonend. Manche Geräte vibrieren, wenn man sie zu stark auf die Zähne drückt. Bei anderen signalisiert ein Timer, wann die empfohlene Putzdauer erreicht ist. Neueste Geräte lassen sich sogar über eine App steuern und geben ein personalisiertes Putzfeedback, so die elektrische Schallzahnbürste Sonicare DiamondClean Smart von Philips. 

Auch Kinder putzen ihre Zähne immer häufiger mit einer elektrischen Zahnbürste. Der Umgang mit ihr ist aufgrund von technischen Features (Musik etc.) spielerischer und motivierender, was sich wiederum positiv auf das Putzergebnis auswirkt.

Überblick Vor- und Nachteile einer Elektrozahnbürste

Vorteile Nachteile
Komfortable, einfache Benutzung Anschaffungs- und v.a. Folgekosten
Gründlichere Zahnreinigung Lautstärke
Von allen Familienmitgliedern nutzbar dank auswechselbaren Bürstenköpfen Abhängigkeit von Stromnetz
Für Kinder einsetzbar und motivierend Vibrationen in Mundhöhle
Messbarkeit von Putzdauer (Timer) und Druck (z.B. Vibration)  Bei falscher Anwendung Schäden an Zahnfleisch und Zahnsubstanz
Besseres Hygieneempfinden Ökobilanz (Akkus, Strom)

Verschiedene Systeme

Grundsätzlich gibt es bei Elektrozahnbürsten zwei unterschiedliche Systeme.

Oszillierende-rotierende Zahnbürsten: Sie haben runde Bürstenköpfe, die sich mit rund 70 Schwingungen pro Sekunde hin und her sowie im Kreis bewegen. Dank des kleineren Bürstenkopfes erreichen rotierende Modelle auch schlecht zugängliche Stellen. Beim Putzen wird der Bürstenkopf langsam und mit wenig Druck von Zahn zu Zahn bewegt. 

Schallzahnbürsten: Schallaktive Zahnbürsten verfügen über einen länglichen Bürstenkopf, der mehrere Zähne gleichzeitig reinigt. Der Borstenkopf bewegt sich mit rund 250 Schwingungen pro Sekunde und entfernt so den Zahnbelag. Die Schallzahnbürste wird im Mund auf und ab bewegt wie eine Handzahnbürste. Ultraschallzahnbürsten arbeiten mit noch mehr Schwingungen (16'000 Schwingungen pro Sekunde) und benötigen eine Spezialzahnpasta.

Ob oszillierend-rotierend oder schallaktiv: Welche der beiden Varianten besser ist, richtet sich nach den individuellen Vorlieben und medizinischen Anforderungen. Wer unschlüssig ist, welche Technik für ihn die beste ist, sollte sich bei seinem Zahnarzt oder Dentalhygieniker erkundigen. 

Imitat-Aufsätze bis zu 50 Prozent günstiger

Für welches System man sich auch entscheidet: Nach spätestens zwei bis drei Monaten müssen die Bürstenköpfe ausgewechselt werden. Das kann ins Geld gehen und die Preise der Original-Ersatzbürsten sind schnell teurer als das Gerät selbst.

Beispiel: Während die günstigste rotierende Elektrozahnbürste im Comparis-Preisvergleich für 20 bis 40 Franken zu haben ist («Oral-B Vitality Cross Action»), liegt der Preis von fünf passenden Original-Aufsätzen in der gleichen Spanne. (4 bis 8 Franken pro Aufsatz)

Hersteller wie Procter & Gamble (Oral-B) halten bisher beharrlich an ihrem Pricing fest und rechtfertigen sich mit den Entwicklungs- und Forschungskosten. Nun gerät der Markt allerdings aufgrund von Imitat-Aufsätzen langsam in Bewegung. Über Amazon oder auch Shavemaster.ch kann man nachgebaute Bürstenköpfe bestellen, die mit den Original-Zahnbürsten kompatibel sind. Ein Aufsatz für die oben erwähnte Zahnbürste («Vitality Cross Action») kostet hier nur noch rund 2 Franken. Auch Drogerien und Detailhändler haben inzwischen erste Imitat-Aufsätze in ihr Sortiment aufgenommen. Sie sind laut Verpackung mit den meisten Elektrozahnbürsten von Oral-B kompatibel. Drogerie Müller bietet unter der Eigenmarke «Sensident» Universal-Wechselköpfe ab 3.30 Franken das Stück. In grossen Coop-Filialen findet man Allround-Aufsätze der Eigenmarke «Qualité & Prix» für 3.17 Franken das Stück.

Und die Qualität?

In Tests der deutschen Stiftung Warentest schnitten die Bürstenklone kaum schlechter ab als die Originale. Zum Teil sitzen sie etwas weniger gut auf der Zahnbürste, was aber nicht die Funktion beeinträchtigt. Es scheint also nur eine Frage der Zeit, bis weitere Anbieter mit Bürstenimitaten auf den Schweizer Markt kommen und die grossen Hersteller unter Druck bringen.

Wer seine Zähne trotzdem lieber mit Originalbürsten reinigt, sollte – bei einem Sparpotenzial von bis zu 50 Prozent – zumindest im Netz vergleichen, wo die Produkte am günstigsten sind.