Online shopping

Online shopping: Switzerland’s top-selling shops

STUDY
|
Clothing, shoes, gadgets: the Swiss buy from online retailers several times a week or even daily. Source: iStock / Petar Chernaev

It’s not only 15-year-old fashion victims who like to shop online in their spare time. The trend is far more widespread. Read here about the most recent developments and Switzerland’s top-selling online retailers.

Online shopping in Switzerland is flourishing. No matter what the occasion, all Internet users buy the products they need from online retailers. Many hit the “buy” button several times a week, some even daily. The reason for this is the convenient home delivery service and the round-the-clock availability of the shops. (Source: Futurecom, in German only)

Which are the most popular platforms in Switzerland?

The top-selling online shops

Position Online shop E-commerce sales 2017
1
digitec.ch *
690.0
2
zalando.ch *
685.0
3
amazon.de * (incl. marketplace sales)
575.0
4
nespresso.com/ch/ *
350.0
5
brack.ch *
283.0
6
aliexpress.com *
280.0
7
microspot.ch *
212.0
8
leshop.ch
181.0
9
galaxus.ch (*) (incl. marketplace sales)
144.0
10
coopathome.ch
142.0

All data according to company information, public information or estimates (marked with an *). The figures represent the shops’ net online sales of the financial year 2017 in million CHF, adjusted for returns. Source (in German only): Carpathia AG

Digitec.ch, a retailer for multimedia and electronics, is clearly in the lead, followed by the online fashion shop Zalando, and in third place by Amazon with a wide range of products.

A Comparis survey from December 2017 already showed that the World Wide Web appeals to young and old alike. Every year, an average of between 500 and 2,000 francs are spent on online shopping per person and age group.

Clothing and accessories are the most popular items

Many online buyers order mainly clothing, accessories and shoes. Some also purchase entertainment media and electronics on the Internet. Toys and food are currently lagging behind in comparison. This indicates a lack of suitable offers. “Amazon’s anticipated entry onto the Swiss market is set to fundamentally change this situation,” believes Jean-Claude Frick, Comparis Digital Expert.

Online shopping tendencies confirm established clichés: women buy more clothing and beauty products than men; men buy more electronics, although since last year they have been exhibiting a growing tendency to purchase clothing online. Indeed, clothing now ranks as the most frequently purchased product category among men too.

Men spend more money

Men tend to spend more money online than women. 40 per cent of them “invest” between 500 and 2,000 francs per year in online purchases, with 16 per cent spending between 2,000 and 5,000 francs per year. Only 8 per cent of women fall into the latter spending category.

Security not a concern

Customers tend to have a lot of trust in the online retail sector. 76 per cent believe that online shopping is safe. Only 8 per cent feel it to be unsafe. Even though most claim to have no concerns about security, they tend to prefer payment by invoice (46 per cent). Interestingly, women request payment by invoice more often than men (55 per cent versus 36 per cent). Payment by credit card is the second most popular payment method overall (36 per cent) and the most popular payment method among men (45 per cent). 

As a rule, “people who use the Internet also buy on the Internet,” explains Jean-Claude Frick.

Online-Shopping

Online-Shopping: Die umsatzstärksten Shops der Schweiz

STUDIE
|
Ob Bekleidung, Schuhe oder Technik: Mehrmals wöchentlich oder sogar täglich schlagen die Schweizer in Online-Shops zu. Bild: iStock / Petar Chernaev

Online-Shopping ist nicht nur ein beliebtes Hobby 15-jähriger modebegeisterter Teenies, sondern reicht viel weiter. Lesen Sie hier, wie sich der Trend entwickelt hat und welche Online-Shops die umsatzstärksten der Schweiz sind.

Online-Shopping in der Schweiz floriert. Egal für welchen Anlass – alle, die im Internet unterwegs sind, bestellen ihre Wunschartikel online. Mehrmals wöchentlich oder sogar täglich schlagen sie zu. Der Grund: die bequeme Lieferung nach Hause und ständige Verfügbarkeit des Shops. (Quelle: Futurecom)

Doch auf welchen Plattformen füllen die Schweizer ihre Warenkörbe?

Die umsatzstärksten Online-Shops

Rang Online-Shop E-Commerce Umsatz 2017
1
digitec.ch *
690,0
2
zalando.ch *
685,0
3
amazon.de * (inkl. Marktplatzanteil)
575,0
4
nespresso.com/ch/ *
350,0
5
brack.ch *
283,0
6
aliexpress.com *
280,0
7
microspot.ch *
212,0
8
leshop.ch
181,0
9
galaxus.ch (*) (inkl. Marktplatzanteil)
144,0
10
coopathome.ch
142,0

Alle Angaben sind Unternehmensinformationen, öffentliche Angaben oder Schätzungen (mit einem * gekennzeichnet) und stellen die reinen Onlineumsätze in Mio. CHF des Geschäftsjahres 2017 dar, bereinigt um Retouren. Weitere Informationen & Quelle: Carpathia AG

Der Multimedia- und Elektrogerätemarkt digitec.ch ist klarer Anführer, gefolgt vom Fashion-Online-Shop Zalando und Amazon mit breit gefächertem Angebot.

Eine Comparis-Studie aus Dezember 2017 zeigte bereits: Das Einkaufen im World Wide Web ist für Jung und Alt ein Thema. Jährlich werden im Durchschnitt pro Person und Altersgruppe zwischen 500 und 2'000 Franken für Online-Shopping ausgegeben.

Kleidung und Accessoires am beliebtesten

Viele Online-Käufer bestellen vor allem Bekleidung, Accessoires oder Schuhe. Einige kaufen online Unterhaltungsmedien oder Elektronikartikel. Spielwaren und Essen sowie Lebensmittel haben hingegen noch Nachholbedarf. Hier fehlen bisher noch passende Angebote. «Der erwartete Markteinstieg von Amazon in der Schweiz wird das nachhaltig ändern», meint Jean-Claude Frick, Digital-Experte von Comparis.

Gängige Klischees werden beim Online-Shopping bestätigt: Damen kaufen mehr Bekleidung und Beautyprodukte als Männer ein, während Herren häufiger Elektronikartikel in ihren Warenkorb legen. Was bei Männern allerdings seit dem letzten Jahr vermehrt auf der Bestellliste steht, ist Bekleidung. Damit stehen Klamotten auch bei Männern auf Platz 1 der online gekauften Waren.

Männer geben mehr Geld aus

Männer geben im Internet grundsätzlich mehr Geld aus als Frauen. 40 Prozent von ihnen «investieren» jährlich zwischen 500 und 2'000 Franken im Web, 16 Prozent sogar zwischen 2'000 und 5'000 Franken. In dieser Preiskategorie geben gerade mal 8 Prozent der Frauen ihr Geld aus.

Keine Bedenken in puncto Sicherheit

Der Online-Handel geniesst grosses Vertrauen: 76 Prozent sind der Meinung, dass Online-Shopping sicher ist. Nur rund 8 Prozent denken, es sei unsicher. Auch wenn die meisten keine Bedenken hinsichtlich der Sicherheit haben, so zahlen die Käufer am liebsten per Rechnung (46 Prozent). Interessanterweise fragen Frauen (55 vs. 36 Prozent) lieber nach einer Rechnung als Männer. Erst dann folgt mit 36 Prozent die Kreditkarte, die besonders von Männern als Zahlungsmittel bevorzugt wird (45 Prozent). 

Allgemein lässt sich sagen, «dass, wer das Internet nutzt, dort auch online einkauft», sagt Jean-Claude Frick.