Tips for successfull online shopping


Successful online shopping

Since consumer protection for Internet users is still being developed, there are certain guidelines to follow when ordering online. comparis.ch has put together the most important tips and guidelines for successful online shopping.

What needs to be paid attention to when paying with a credit card in online shops?

  1. Provide credit card information only when the Internet connection is secured with SSL. A 128 bit SSL connection is recommended.
  2. Use 'Print Screen' to document purchases and payment confirmations.
  3. Do not make credit card payments from publicly accessible computers. Data in the cache of a computer/browser can be accessed at a later time. After placing an order, delete the history/cache of the computer.
  4. Do not answer any requests for credit card information on the telephone.
  5. Use virus protection and a firewall to protect against incursions by third parties. Firewalls integrated into modems and routers also provide protection against unauthorised access.
  6. Activate the private browsing mode in the browser. This ensures that no trace of activity is left on the computer. History, cookies or temporary Internet data are not saved. Anonymous surfing modes are supported by the browsers Chrome, Internet ExplorerSafari and Firefox.

Types of payment in online shops

  • Payment by invoice: a type of payment rather seldom used with online shops. The invoice is paid after receipt of the goods.
  • Credit card payments: widely used type of payment in online shops. If the tips on credit card transactions are followed, this payment method is safe and uncomplicated. Thanks to the increasingly prevalent use of the '3-D Secure' security standard, paying by credit card is becoming even safer. When paying, a personal password has to be entered in addition to the credit card information. 3-D Secure is called "SecureCode" with Mastercard and "Verified by Visa" with Visa. However, transaction costs of 1.5 to 2 percent for credit card payments can be added on, which the merchant should indicate during the checkout process. Credit card payments can be cancelled under certain conditions. Check with the credit card company for more information.
  • Collect on delivery: a type of payment used by few online shops. Payment is made to the postman or post office on receipt of the goods. Note: there is always an extra fee for collect on delivery orders, which is typically paid by the customer. This is added to the purchase price at the conclusion of an order. Online shops show the collect on delivery charge along with shipping costs on their website. In most cases the collect on delivery charge is paid by the customer. Advantage: there is no exchange of account information and payment occurs only on receipt of the goods. Disadvantage: if returning the goods, it may take a while for the paid amount to be refunded. Moreover, payments with collect on delivery are expensive (surcharge is about 10 - 20 francs depending on the package and merchant).
  • PSP (payment service provider): PSP services are offered, for example, by PostFinance, Datatrans and SIX. They act as an intermediary between an online merchant and various financial institutions and provide a secure connection for forwarding and processing a customer's sensitive credit card information.
  • Prepayment: after placing an order, the customer receives a written or electronic confirmation along with payment information. As soon as the payment has been received, the online shop begins the shipping process. Note: never send cash in an envelope. In general, one should be cautious about prepaying for an Internet order. If the merchant does not follow through with his obligations, the customer must generally take legal action in order to obtain a refund. If, in the worst case, the online merchant goes bankrupt, the danger exists that the money is lost.

 


Purchase agreements with online merchants

Generally a purchase agreement comes into effect only after the merchant has made a binding offer and the purchaser accepts this offer. From this point on, a purchase agreement is binding and cannot easily be retracted.

Details on purchase agreements with online merchants:

  1. The offer from the merchant on the Internet is not yet binding. That is, the customer is not yet entitled to a particular price listed on the merchant's website.
  2. Using the order form on the website of the merchant. The customer makes a commitment to accept the offer as seen on the website. The customer is obligated to purchase the ordered product if it is delivered within the given delivery time and at the stated price.
  3. If the price or delivery time changes after the order has been placed, the customer is no longer obligated to purchase the item. The merchant must inform the customer about any such changes. Only once the customer has agreed to the new price and/or delivery time is there a purchase obligation.
  4. The merchant is obligated to deliver the ordered item once the customer has approved the order. The customer will usually receive an e-mail with the order confirmation. If no changes to the price or delivery time are stated, it can be presumed that the item will be delivered under the terms shown on the website. The merchant can also accept an order by charging the purchase price for the item to the customer's credit card. An order can be considered to be accepted if the customer does not hear from the merchant within a "reasonable" amount of time (about one week).

 


Online shopping tips

Tip 1: Check the shopping basket
For an online order, the electronic shopping basket should be carefully checked. Is it really the desired item at the indicated price? The details on the website of the online merchant are applicable.

Tip 2: Indicate special requests in the comments field
If an item is needed by a certain time, this should be indicated in the comments field on the order form (e.g. "order valid only if the item can be delivered by 15 August"). The merchant is obligated to take the comments on the order form into consideration if possible. If not informed otherwise, it can be assumed that the merchant has agreed to the request.

Tip 3: Get written confirmation of verbal agreements
Obtain and keep written confirmation of verbal agreements with a merchant (also see Tip 4).

Tip 4: Keep all documentation
Keep all documents having to do with the order (order, confirmation and other communication from the merchant). In case of a dispute, these documents can be used as proof of agreements.

Tip 5: Pay attention to the general terms and conditions (T&Cs)
By all means pay attention to the general terms and conditions of the merchant. The T&Cs generally define the extent to which a merchant must provide a guarantee or assume liability and whether the customer is entitled to return or exchange items. The T&Cs are effective:

  • if they are agreed to before an order has been sent, for example if the customer confirms on the order form that he has read and agrees to the T&Cs by clicking a check box "I accept the general terms and conditions").
  • if the effectiveness of the T&Cs is indicated, for example if it is noted on the order form that the order is "subject to the general terms and conditions".

Important: If not in agreement with the T&Cs, this must be communicated to the merchant before placing an order. This can also be indicated in the comments field on the order form. If not informed otherwise, it can be assumed that the merchant has accepted the request. If no comments field is available, one should contact the merchant directly. In case a verbal agreement is made, this should be confirmed in writing. Should subsequent agreements be made with the merchant, these take effect over the T&Cs.

Tip 6: Contact the merchant with warranty issues
In general, electronics are covered by a statutory warranty from the producer. In Switzerland a warranty is normally for one year, though it can be longer depending on the producer and product. In a warranty case, the merchant must send the defective item to the producer or importer.

In general, the customer must personally bring or send the item to a service centre. The websites of most online merchants direct customers to the producer or a service centre. The customer is responsible for shipping costs. Return costs are handled differently. A large television weighing 30 kilograms can cost up to 50 francs to ship in one direction.

Although not obligated, the producer often assumes these costs out of good will.

Tip 7: Right of return
There exists no legal right for a customer to return an item. However, many merchants are accommodating and accept returned items under certain conditions. Details on the possibility of a return are outlined in a merchant's T&Cs. If nothing is indicated, then there is no right of return.

Tip 8: Pay attention to the time period for the exchange of defective products
If a merchant delivers a defective or the wrong product, the customer has the right to an exchange. Be sure that the product is exchanged as quickly as possible, no later than within a week, with a written explanation of the reason for the exchange. The merchant is obligated to replace or repair the item if it is defective or incorrect. If the merchant does not meet this obligation, the customer can back out of the purchase agreement and request reimbursement of already made payments.

Tip 9: Insure the shipment
The customer generally carries responsibility for the shipment of an item. Responsibility begins as soon as an item has been handed over to a shipper (transfer of risk). From this moment on, the customer bears liability for the shipment. Here too, the merchant often shows good will by insuring the shipment. If this is not the case, contact the merchant and take out shipping insurance if necessary.

Back

Tipps zum Online-Shopping


Erfolgreich Online-Shoppen

Weil das Konsumentenrecht für Internetnutzer wenig ausgereift ist, sind bei Online-Bestellungen einige Hinweise zu berücksichtigen. comparis.ch hat die wichtigsten Informationen und Tipps für erfolgreiches Online-Shopping zusammengestellt.

Was muss bei der Kreditkartenzahlung in Online-Shops beachten werden?
  1. Kartendaten nur dann online eingeben, wenn die Internetverbindung mit SSL gesichert ist. Als Empfehlung sollte eine 128-Bit SSL-Verbindungen vorhanden sein.
  2. Einkäufe/Zahlungsbestätigung mit einem Print-Screen dokumentieren und ablegen.
  3. Bestellungen per Kreditkarte nicht von öffentlich zugänglichen Computern durchführen. Die Daten im Zwischenspeicher des Rechners/Browsers können zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt ausgelesen werden. Nach der Bestellung den Verlauf/Cache oder Zwischenspeicher des Computers löschen
  4. Am Telefon keine Fragen zu Kartendaten beantworten.
  5. Virenschutz und Firewall verwenden, um sich zusätzlich gegen Angriffe Dritter zu schützen. Auch die in Modems und Routern integrierte Firewall eignet sich als Schutz gegen unberechtigte Zugriffe.
  6. Privaten Surfmodus im Browser aktivieren. Dabei werden keine Spuren auf dem PC hinterlassen. Verlauf, Cookies oder temporäre Internetdateien im Cache werden nicht gespeichert. Modi zum anonymen Surfen unterstützen die Browser Chrome, Internet ExplorerSafari und Firefox.

Zahlungsarten in Online-Shops
  • Bezahlung per Rechnung: eher seltene Zahlungsvariante in Online-Shops. Die Rechnung wird nach Erhalt der Ware bezahlt.
  • Kreditkartenzahlung: verbreitete Zahlungsvariante bei Online-Shops. Werden die Tipps zu Transaktionen per Kreditkarte befolgt, ist diese Zahlungsmethode sicher und unkompliziert. Zudem sind Kreditkartenzahlungen durch die vermehrte Verbreitung des Sicherheitsstandards 3-D Secure noch sicherer: Zusätzlich zu den Kreditkartendaten muss bei der Zahlung ein persönliches Passwort eingegeben werden. 3-D Secure heisst bei Mastercard "SecureCode", bei VISA "Verified by Visa". Allerdings können bei Kreditkartenzahlungen noch Transaktionskosten von 1.5 bis 2 Prozent hinzukommen, die der Shop aber beim Bezahlvorgang im Warenkorb ausweisen sollte. Kreditkartenzahlungen können unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen storniert werden. Informationen dazu beim jeweiligen Kreditkartenanbieter.
  • Versand per Nachnahme: Zahlungsvariante einzelner Online-Shops. Die Ware wird bei Erhalt direkt beim Postboten oder auf der Poststelle beglichen. Achtung: Bei Nachnahmebestellungen fällt immer eine Nachnahmegebühr an – in der Regel zu Lasten des Kunden. Diese wird beim Bestellabschluss in Online-Shops zum Verkaufspreis addiert. Die Online-Shops weisen diese Nachnahmegebühr unter den Versandkosten auf ihrer Homepage aus. Die Nachnahmegebühr wird in den meisten Fällen den Kunden belastet. Vorteil: Keine Übermittlung von Kontodaten und Bezahlung erst bei Erhalt der Ware. Nachteil: Bei einer Rücksendung der Ware dauert es eine gewisse Zeit, bis der bereits bezahlte Betrag wieder beim Kunden ist. Zahlungen per Nachnahme sind ausserdem teuer (Aufpreis: ca. 10 bis 20 Franken je Sendung und Shop).
  • PSP (Payment Servic Provider): PSP gibt es beispielsweise von PostFinance, Datatrans oder SIX. Sie fungieren als Schnittstelle zwischen dem Online Händler und den verschiedenen Finanzinstituten und sorgen für eine gesicherte Verbindung für die Weiterleitung und Weiterverarbeitung der heiklen Kreditkartendaten des Kunden.
  • Vorausbezahlung: Nach abgeschlossener Bestellung bekommt der Kunde schriftlich oder elektronisch eine Bestätigung sowie die Zahlungsinformationen. Sobald der Online-Shop die Transaktion bekommen hat, löst er den Versandprozess der Ware aus. Achtung: Niemals Bargeld in einem Couvert versenden. Grundsätzlich ist bei Internetbestellungen gegen Vorauszahlung Vorsicht geboten. Kommt der Anbieter seinen Verpflichtungen nicht nach, muss der Kunde in der Regel den Rechtsweg beschreiten, um den bereits bezahlten Betrag wieder einzufordern. Wird der Online-Shop im schlimmsten Fall noch insolvent, besteht zudem die Gefahr, dass das Geld verloren ist.

Kaufverträge mit Online-Shops

Grundsätzlich kommt ein Kaufvertrag erst dann zustande, wenn der Verkäufer ein verbindliches Angebot macht und der Käufer das Angebot annimmt. Ein Kaufvertrag ist ab diesem Zeitpunkt verbindlich und kann nicht einfach rückgängig gemacht werden.

Details zu Kaufverträgen mit Online-Shops:

  1. Das Angebot der Händler auf dem Internet ist noch nicht verbindlich. Das heisst, es besteht noch kein Anspruch seitens des Kunden auf das zu einem bestimmten Preis angebotene Produkt auf der Homepage des Anbieters.
  2. Bestellung über das Bestellformular auf der Homepage des Anbieters. Der Kunde verpflichtet sich, das Angebot wie auf der Homepage gesehen, anzunehmen. Liefert der Händler das bestellte Produkt zum angegebenen Preis und innerhalb der genannten Lieferfrist, verpflichtet sich der Kunde zum Kauf des Produkts.
  3. Ändern sich nach Eingang der Bestellung Preis und/oder Lieferfrist, ist der Kunde nicht zum Kauf des Produkts verpflichtet. Der Händler muss über die Änderungen informieren. Erst wenn der Kunde dem neuen Preis und/oder der geänderten Lieferfrist zustimmt, besteht eine Kaufverpflichtung.
  4. Der Händler ist nach Annahme der Bestellung durch den Kunden zur Lieferung des bestellten Produkts verpflichtet. In der Regel erhält der Kunde ein E-Mail als Bestätigung für die Bestellung. Wenn keine Preis- oder Lieferfriständerungen angegeben werden, kann davon ausgegangen werden, dass das Produkt zu den Bedingungen wie auf der Homepage gesehen geliefert wird. Der Händler kann eine Bestellung auch annehmen, indem er den Betrag für das Produkt von der Kreditkarte des Kunden abbucht. Eine Bestellung kann als akzeptiert angenommen werden, wenn der Kunde innerhalb «angemessener» Frist (ca. eine Woche) nichts vom Händler hört resp. liest.

Tipps zum Online-Shopping

Tipp 1: Warenkorb kontrollieren
Bei einer Online-Bestellung ist der elektronische Warenkorb genau zu kontrollieren. Handelt es sich tatsächlich um das gewünschte Produkt zum abgebildeten Preis? Es gelten die jeweiligen Angaben auf der Homepage des Online-Shop-Betreibers.

Tipp 2: Spezialwünsche im Kommentarfeld eingeben
Braucht der Kunde ein Produkt innerhalb einer bestimmten Frist, vermerkt er das im Kommentarfeld beim Bestellformular (z.B. «Bestellung nur gültig, wenn das Produkt bis zum 15. August bei mir eintrifft»). Der Händler ist verpflichtet, die Kommentare auf dem Bestellformular nach Möglichkeit zu berücksichtigen. Wenn der Händler nicht anders informiert, ist er mit dem Wunsch einverstanden.)

Tipp 3: Mündliche Abmachungen schriftlich bestätigen lassen
Mündliche Abmachungen mit dem Händler schriftlich bestätigen lassen und aufbewahren (vgl. Tipp 4).

Tipp 4: Beweismittel aufbewahren
Alles rund um die Bestellung (Bestellung, Bestätigung sowie weitere E-Mails und/oder Briefe des Händlers) aufbewahren. Im Fall eines Rechtsstreits können diese Dokumente als Beweismittel verwendet werden.

Tipp 5: Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen (AGB) beachten
Unbedingt die Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen des Händlers beachten. In den AGB ist in der Regel erläutert, in welchem Umfang ein Händler Garantieleistungen und Haftung übernehmen muss, und ob seitens des Kunden Rückgabe- und Umtauschrechte bestehen. Die AGBs gelten,
  • wenn diesen zugestimmt wird, bevor die Bestellung abgeschickt wird. Konkret: Der Kunde bestätigt auf dem Bestellformular, dass er die AGB gelesen hat und Ihnen zustimmt (z.B. durch Ankreuzen einer Checkbox «Ich akzeptiere die Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen»).
  • wenn auf das Gelten der AGB hingewiesen wird. Konkret: Auf dem Bestellformular ist z.B. der Hinweis «Es gelten die Bestimmungen der Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen» vermerkt.

Wichtig: Wer mit den Regelungen in den AGB nicht einverstanden ist, muss das dem Händler vor der Bestellung mitteilen. Das kann auch im Kommentarfeld auf dem Bestellformular vermerkt werden. Wenn der Händler nicht anders informiert, ist er mit dem Wunsch einverstanden. Ist kein Kommentarfeld auf dem Bestellformular vorhanden, ist direkt mit dem Händler Kontakt aufzunehmen. Werden dabei mündliche Abmachungen getroffen, diese immer schriftlich bestätigen lassen. Werden zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt mit dem Händler noch andere Vereinbarungen getroffen, gelten diese und nicht die AGB.

Tipp 6: In Garantiefällen an den Händler wenden
Allgemein gilt für Elektronikartikel eine gesetzliche Herstellergarantie. In der Schweiz beträgt sie meistens ein Jahr, je nach Hersteller und Produkt sind auch längere Garantiefristen möglich. In einem Garantiefall muss der Händler das schadhafte Produkt an den Hersteller oder Importeur weiterleiten.

In der Regel muss der Kunde das Produkt selbständig in die Servicestelle bringen oder einsenden. Die meisten Online-Shops verweisen die Kunden auf Ihrer Internetseite direkt an den Hersteller oder die Servicestelle. Die Kosten für den Versand trägt der Kunde. Die Rückführungskosten sind unterschiedlich geregelt. Bei einem grossen Fernseher mit einem Gewicht von über 30 Kilogramm können Speditionskosten von bis zu 50 Franken pro Weg anfallen.

Obwohl zwar nicht dazu verpflichtet, nehmen Hersteller aus Kulanz auch diese Garantiefälle an.

Tipp 7: Rückgaberecht
Für den Kunden besteht kein gesetzliches Rückgaberecht. Viele Händler sind allerdings kulant und nehmen ein Produkt unter bestimmten Umständen zurück. Details zu einem allfälligen Rückgaberecht sind in den AGB des jeweiligen Händlers geregelt. Ist dort nichts dazu vermerkt, besteht auch kein Rückgaberecht.

Tipp 8: Bei Umtausch aufgrund von Mängeln Frist beachten
Liefert der Händler ein mangelhaftes oder falsches Produkt, besteht kundenseitig ein Recht auf Umtausch. Dabei unbedingt beachten, dass das Produkt so schnell wie möglich – spätestens aber innerhalb einer Woche – und unter schriftlicher Angabe des Umtauschgrunds umgetauscht wird. Der Händler ist verpflichtet, das Produkt umzutauschen oder nachzubessern, wenn es mangelhaft oder falsch ist. Kommt er dieser Verpflichtung nicht nach, kann der Kunde vom Vertrag zurücktreten und bereits geleistete Zahlungen zurückverlangen.

Tipp 9: Transport versichern lassen
Grundsätzlich haftet der Kunde für den Versand des Produkts. Die Haftung beginnt, sobald der Händler das Produkt zum Versand aufgegeben hat (Gefahrenübergang). Von diesem Moment an trägt der Kunde das Risiko. Häufig zeigen sich Händler auch hier kulant, indem sie etwa den Transport versichern. Ist das nicht der Fall, den Händler kontaktieren und allenfalls eine Transportversicherung abschliessen.
Zurück