Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

InsuranceHealth insurancePremiums 2020
Health insurance information and news

Health insurance premiums 2021

The Federal Office of Public Health announced the health insurance premiums for 2021 on 22 September 2020. Premiums are set to rise by 0.5% on average. Despite the small increase, around one million Swiss residents could save 40% or more next year. You can find all the new health insurance premiums and deals on the Comparis website.

Calculate current premiums

Health insurance news

Post-lockdown telemedicine boom fails to materialize

Update of 02/11/2020

Despite lockdown and social distancing in the coronavirus pandemic, Telmed models have not increased in popularity. In fact, among the younger members of the population, demand for these models has even reduced slightly. Instead, the trend appears to be moving towards HMO models and the maximum deductible of 2,500 francs. You can find out more in this press release on the Comparis analysis (in German, French and Italian only).

Health insurance in times of coronavirus – what’s the best option?

Update of 29/10/2020

Despite losses of income and a fragile economic outlook, the average premium increase of 0.5% is deterring people from comparing health insurance and trying to save money. Nevertheless, it would be well worth them taking a close look at their current health insurance model. Those in high-risk groups with a maximum deductible of 2,500 francs should consider switching to the minimum 300 francs. Ultimately, a low deductible works out cheaper if hospitalization due to coronavirus is necessary.

Here's why: if you choose the maximum deductible, you will pay a maximum of 3,200 francs in the event of illness (deductible of 2,500 francs plus coinsurance of 700 francs). This does not include the contribution of 15 francs per day in hospital for meals. If you choose the minimum deductible, the maximum you will pay is 1,000 francs (deductible of 300 francs and coinsurance of 700 francs). As a rule of thumb, it's worth choosing the maximum deductible if your annual medical costs are less than 2,000 francs per year. If your annual expenses for doctor’s appointments, medicine and hospital stays and so on exceed this amount, you should choose the minimum deductible of 300 francs.

Blacklist for people who fail to pay premiums

Update of 05/10/2020

If you fail to pay your health insurance premiums or medical bills, some cantons may blacklist you. Parliament now wants to abolish these lists. If you are blacklisted, insurers will reimburse the cost of emergency medical treatment only. The cantons of Thurgau, Schaffhausen, St. Gallen, Zug, Lucerne, Aargau and Ticino use such lists.

Around one million policyholders can make huge savings in 2021

Update of 22/09/2020

Although basic health insurance premiums are only set to rise by 0.5% on average in 2021, around one million Swiss residents could save 40% or more next year. You can find out more in the Comparis press release (in German, French and Italian only).

Health insurers should pay for coronavirus vaccinations

Update of 17/09/2020

According to a survey by Comparis (in German, French and Italian only), around half of the Swiss population would like any coronavirus vaccination to be voluntary and covered by basic insurance. Unlike for other vaccinations like the flu vaccination, basic insurance should cover the cost for everyone, not just high-risk groups.

Short-time work increases burden of health insurance premiums

Update of 08/09/2020

The income of Swiss households is being significantly curtailed owing to short-time working and higher unemployment. This increases the burden of health insurance premiums. At the very worst, the proportion of the household budget spent on basic insurance premiums could be 16%, as a Comparis analysis of the premium burden shows (in German, French and Italian only).

Federal Council wants to end free choice of doctor

Update of 19/08/2020

The Federal Council wants to reduce healthcare costs by introducing cost targets and ending free choice of doctor. Basic health insurance already supports both these measures, but optionally, and with a premium discount. Learn more in the Comparis assessment of compulsory measures in the healthcare system (in German only).

Customer satisfaction with health insurers 2020

Update of 13/07/2020

In 2020, six health insurers received the highest rating of 5.4 for their compulsory basic health insurance services. They are Swica (same as in the previous year), KPT and the Helsana subsidiary Progrès (5.3 in the previous year), and Helsana, ÖKK and Sanitas (5.2 in the previous year). The maximum rating thus remains the same as in 2019. Find out more in the overview of customer satisfaction ratings for health insurers.

Premium forecast for 2021

Update of 15/06/2020

Comparis health insurance expert Felix Schnewly expects basic health insurance premiums to increase by around 3% in 2021. Many people who are less well off because of the coronavirus crisis will not be able to afford a 3% increase. For this reason, Comparis is calling for reserves to be used so that health insurers have more leeway when setting premium prices. You can read more in the press release on the premium forecast for 2021.

The coronavirus crisis should not be an excuse for increasing health insurance premiums

Update of 16/03/2020

Felix Schneuwly, health insurance expert at Comparis, says: “Until last week, the Federal Council, the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) and the cantonal authorities did almost everything right, the exception being the decision by the Federal Council to make health insurers pay for coronavirus tests. However, given the reserve cushion of 8 billion francs, the warning by health insurance association Santésuisse that the coronavirus pandemic would lead to extra premium increases is untenable.”

Insurers that reduce premiums are not always the cheapest

Update of 30/10/2019

Health insurers will only moderately increase basic health insurance premiums in 2020. Some – mainly the larger health insurance providers – have even announced premium reductions. However, a Comparis analysis has now shown that customers should not be misled by lower premiums. The insurers offering the biggest premium reductions are often still considerably more expensive than the cheapest providers. Find out more in our article

Save money by paying in advance

Update of 23/10/2019

It can be worth paying health insurance premiums in advance, either for six months or a whole year, particularly when interest rates are negative. Some health insurers will reward you with a discount of up to 2%. You can find an overview of discounts in this table.

How much do young people know about health insurance?

Update of 17/10/2019

What is the level of health insurance knowledge like in Switzerland? YouTuber Lionel from Basel canvassed young people on this topic on behalf of Comparis. You can watch the video here (in German only). 

Health insurance comparisons – how does Comparis work?

Update of 24/09/2019

Comparis users frequently ask about how the Comparis business model is designed. How does the largest comparison service in Switzerland guarantee its impartiality? How does Comparis contribute to cost increases or decreases in the healthcare system? These questions and more are answered in this article

Shortcomings in the basic health insurance system: policyholders with alternative models are paying over the odds

Update of 23/09/2019

Comparis invited experts from the healthcare industry to take part in a mini-conference. Health economist Pius Gyger presented the results of a study focusing on the options for premium pricing in basic health insurance. The report concluded that the current premium pricing rules are a hindrance to integrated care. Read more here (in German, French and Italian only). 

Increase your deductible now and save on premiums

Update of 18/09/2019

Switching insurance provider and selecting an alternative insurance model are not the only ways for policyholders to save in 2020. The choice of deductible is also a factor. For example, young policyholders or those anticipating low medical expenses in the coming year are better off opting for the maximum deductible of 2500 francs, as Comparis expert Felix Schneuwly explains. Read more here on the subject of increasing your deductible.

Average premium increase from 372 to 383 francs in 2020

Update of 25/06/2019

Comparis predicts that basic health insurance premiums will increase by 2-3% in 2020. As ever, it is primarily the quantity of medical products and services consumed that is driving up costs and premiums – not the prices.

More information on health insurance

Compare premiums and save money

Health insurance premiums constitute a considerable proportion of a household's budget. It’s therefore well worth comparing premiums again this year. Those who are affected by a significant premium increase can respond by changing their insurance provider or choosing a cheaper insurance model. All health insurance companies offer identical basic health insurance cover.

Cancellation notice periods

Find out here by when you need to cancel your basic insurance and what you should watch out for when cancelling your supplemental insurance.

Cancellation letter template

The quick and easy way to write a cancellation letter – with the convenient template provided by comparis.ch. Create the cancellation letter for your health insurance provider now.

Stay up-to-date

Get regular updates on the subject of health insurance by signing up for our newsletter.

Health insurance glossary

Do you find some of the terminology confusing? We have put together an A-to-Z list of key health insurance terms with explanations, which you can find in our health insurance glossary.

Whether basic or supplemental insurance...

...find the health insurer that's best for you
Compare now

Back to top

Newsletter

Stay up-to-date with the latest savings deals as well as expert tips on health, money and tax.

By registering, I agree to my data being processed in accordance with the data privacy statement of comparis.ch.

comparis.ch
  • About Comparis

  • Career

Social Media
Language
  • DE
  • FR
  • IT
  • EN
  • Contact
  • Data privacy protection
  • Legal information
  • Credits

© 1996–2020 comparis.ch AG, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zurich, +41 44 360 52 62

Comparis
Newsletter
de

Versicherungen

Auto & Motorrad

Immobilien

Kredit & Hypotheken

Preisvergleich

Gesundheit & Altersvorsorge

Weitere Services

Comparis

Menü

VersicherungenKrankenkassePrämien 2020
Infos und News zum Thema Krankenkasse

Krankenkassenprämien 2021

Das Bundesamt für Gesundheit hat am 22.09.2020 die Krankenkassenprämien für 2021 bekannt gegeben. Die Prämien steigen im Durchschnitt um 0,5 Prozent. Trotzdem können rund eine Million Schweizer im nächsten Jahr 40 Prozent oder mehr sparen. Auf Comparis finden Sie alle neuen Prämien und Angebote der Krankenkassen.

Aktuelle Prämien berechnen

News aus dem Bereich Krankenkasse

Einfluss von Verwaltungskosten auf Krankenkassenprämien

Update vom 12.11.2020

Die Verwaltungskosten der Krankenversicherungen betragen im Schnitt 4,6 Prozent der Krankenkassenprämien. Obwohl die gesetzlichen Rahmenbedingungen für Grundversicherungen für alle Krankenversicherer gleich sind, bleibt der Unterschied der Verwaltungskosten pro versicherter Person gross. Krankenkassen mit tiefen Verwaltungskosten haben allerdings nicht automatisch auch tiefe Prämien. Mehr dazu finden Sie in der Medienmitteilung zu den Verwaltungskosten.

Telemedizinboom nach Lockdown verpufft

Update vom 02.11.2020

Trotz Lockdowns und Social Distancing in Zeiten von Corona sind Telmed-Modelle nicht beliebter wie sonst. Bei der jungen Bevölkerung ist die Nachfrage nach Telmed-Modelle sogar leicht rückläufig. Der Trend scheint eher in Richtung HMO-Modell und der Maximalfranchise von 2'500 Franken zu gehen. Mehr dazu finden Sie in der Medienmitteilung zur Trendanalyse.

Krankenversicherung in Coronazeiten – was lohnt sich?

Update vom 29.10.2020

Der durchschnittliche Prämienanstieg von 0,5 Prozent hält zwar viele trotz brüchigen wirtschaftlichen Perspektiven und Einkommenseinbussen davon ab, Krankenversicherungen zu vergleichen und das individuelle Sparpotential zu prüfen. Herr und Frau Schweizer tun aber gut daran, ihr bestehendes Krankenversicherungsmodell genau unter die Lupe zu nehmen. Risikogruppen mit einer Maximalfranchise von 2’500 Franken sollten eine Reduktion auf das Minimum von 300 Franken prüfen. Eine tiefe Franchise kommt unter dem Strich günstiger, wenn eine coronabedingte Einlieferung ins Spital notwendig wird.

Hierzu folgende Berechnung: Mit der maximalen Franchise müssen die Versicherten im Krankheitsfall maximal 3’200 Franken bezahlen (2’500 Franken Franchise plus 700 Franken Selbstbehalt). Nicht enthalten sind die 15 Franken pro Spitaltag für die Verpflegung. Mit der Mindestfranchise liegt die Kostenbeteiligung bei 1’000 Franken (300 Franken Franchise plus 700 Franken Selbstbehalt). Die Faustregel lautet: Die Maximalfranchise lohnt sich bei jährlichen Kosten für medizinische Leistungen von weniger als 2’000 Franken pro Jahr. Übersteigen die jährlichen Ausgaben für Arzt, Medikamente, Spital etc. diesen Wert, sollte die Mindestfranchise von 300 Franken gewählt werden.

Schwarze Liste für säumige Prämienzahler

Update vom 5.10.2020

Wer seine Krankenkassenprämien oder Arztrechnungen nicht bezahlt, kann von gewissen Kantonen auf eine schwarze Liste gesetzt werden. Das Parlament möchte solche Listen nun aber abschaffen. Wer auf eine solchen schwarzen Liste ist, kann nur im Notfall behandelt werden. Solche Listen führen die Kantone Thurgau, Schaffhausen, St. Gallen, Zug, Luzern, Aargau und Tessin.

Rund eine Million Versicherte können 2021 massiv sparen

Update vom 22.9.2020

Obwohl die Grundversicherungsprämien per 2021 durchschnittlich nur 0,5 Prozent steigen, könnten rund eine Million Schweizer nächstes Jahr 40 Prozent oder mehr sparen. Mehr dazu finden Sie in der Medienmitteilung von Comparis.

Krankenkassen sollen Corona-Impfungen zahlen

Update vom 17.9.2020

Gemäss einer Umfrage von Comparis wünschen sich rund die Hälfte der Schweizer Bevölkerung eine freiwillige, von der Grundversicherung gedeckte Impfung. Anders als etwa bei der Grippeimpfung soll die Grundversicherung die Kosten dafür nicht nur für Risikogruppen tragen, sondern für alle.

Wegen Kurzarbeit nimmt die Belastung der Krankenkassenprämien zu

Update vom 8.9.2020

Wegen Kurzarbeit und steigender Arbeitslosigkeit schmälert sich das Einkommen vieler Schweizer Haushalte deutlich. Dadurch steigt die Belastung der Krankenkassenprämien. Im ungünstigsten Fall ist der Anteil Grundversicherungsprämien am Haushaltsbudget bis zu 16 Prozent, wie eine Analyse der Prämienbelastung von Comparis zeigt.

Bundesrat will freie Arztwahl aufheben

Update vom 19.8.2020

Der Bundesrat will die Gesundheitskosten senken, indem er Kostenziele einführt und die freie Arztwahl aufhebt. Beides gibt es in der Grundversicherung bereits, freiwillig und mit einem Prämienrabatt. Mehr dazu in der Comparis-Einschätzung zu Zwangsmassnahmen im Gesundheitswesen

Kundenzufriedenheit der Krankenkassen 2020

Update vom 13.7.2020

2020 haben sechs Krankenkassen für ihre obligatorische Grundversicherung die Höchstbewertung von 5,4 erhalten, nämlich Swica (wie schon im Vorjahr), KPT und die Helsana-Tochter Progrès (Vorjahr je 5,3) sowie Helsana, ÖKK und Sanitas (Vorjahr je 5,2). Die Höchstnote ist damit gegenüber 2019 gleichgeblieben. Erfahren Sie mehr dazu in der Übersicht der Krankenkassen-Kundenzufriedenheit.

Prämienprognose für 2021

Update vom 15.6.2020

Comparis-Krankenkassenexperte Felix Schneuwly rechnet für 2021 mit einem effektiven Anstieg der Grundversicherungsprämien von rund 3 Prozent. Für viele Menschen, die wegen der Corona-Krise weniger Geld haben, liegt eine Prämienerhöhung um 3 Prozent nicht drin. Deshalb fordert Comparis den Abbau der Reserven, um den Kassen mehr Spielraum für die Prämiengestaltung zu geben. Mehr dazu in der Medienmitteilung zur Prämienprognose 2021

Die Corona-Krise darf keine Ausrede für höhere Krankenkassenprämien sein

Update vom 16.3.2020

Felix Schneuwly, Krankenkassenexperte vom Comparis sagt: «Bis zur letzten Woche haben Bundesrat und Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) sowie die kantonalen Behörden fast alles richtig gemacht. Einzig der Entscheid des Bundesrats, dass die Krankenkassen die Corona-Tests bezahlen müssen, ist falsch. Unhaltbar ist aber angesichts eines Reservepolsters von 8 Milliarden Franken die Warnung des Krankenkassenverbandes Santésuisse, die Corona-Pandemie führe zu einer Extraprämienerhöhung.»

Kassen, die Prämien senken, sind oft nicht die günstigsten

Update vom 30.10.2019

Die Prämien der Krankenkassen in der Grundversicherung steigen 2020 nur moderat. Einige –vor allem auch grössere Krankenkassen –haben sogar Prämiensenkungen angekündigt. Eine Comparis-Analyse zeigt jetzt jedoch, dass man sich von gesunkenen Prämien nicht blenden lassen sollte. Oft sind gerade die Kassen mit hohen Prämiensenkungen noch immer deutlich teurer als die günstigsten Anbieter. Mehr dazu hier in unserem Artikel

Wer im Voraus zahlt, kann sparen

Update vom 23.10.2019

Gerade in Zeiten von Negativzinsen kann es sich lohnen, Krankenkassenprämien im Voraus für ein halbes oder auch ein ganzes Jahr zu bezahlen. Einige Krankenkassen belohnen dies mit einem Abschlag von bis zu 2 Prozent. Die Übersicht der Abschläge gibt es hier in unserer Tabelle.

Was weiss die Jugend über das Thema Krankenkasse

Update vom 17.10.2019

Wie ist es um das Krankenkassenwissen in der Schweiz bestellt? Der Basler Youtuber Lionel befragte im Auftrag von Comparis junge Schweizerinnen und Schweizer zu diesem Thema. Hier gibt es das Video zu sehen und hier die Antworten auf die Fragen aus dem Video

Krankenkassenvergleich: Wie arbeitet Comparis?

Update vom 24.09.2019

Nutzer und Nutzerinnen von Comparis sind immer wieder daran interessiert, wie das Geschäftsmodell von Comparis gestaltet ist. Wie ist die Unabhängigkeit des grössten Vergleichsdienstes der Schweiz gewährleistet? Wie trägt Comparis zu Kostensteigerungen oder Kostensenkungen im Gesundheitssystem bei? Diese und viele weitere Fragen werden hier in einem eigenen Artikel beantwortet. 

Systemmängel in der Grundversicherung: Versicherte in alternativen Modellen zahlen zu viel

Update vom 23.09.2019

An einer Kurztagung trafen sich auf Einladung von Comparis Experten aus der Gesundheitsbranche. Gesundheitsökonom Pius Gyger präsentierte Ergebnisse einer Untersuchung, bei der die Möglichkeiten der Prämiengestaltung in der Grundversicherung im Fokus standen. Das Fazit des Reports: Die derzeit gültigen Prämienregeln bremsen die integrierte Versorgung. Mehr dazu hier

Jetzt Franchise erhöhen und Prämien sparen

Update vom 18.09.2019

Versicherte können 2020 nicht nur mit dem Wechsel der Krankenkasse oder der Wahl eines alternativen Versicherungsmodells sparen. Viel Potenzial liegt auch in der Wahl der Höhe der Franchise. So fahren jüngere Versicherte oder solche, die von geringen Arztkosten im kommenden Jahr ausgehen, mit der Maximalfranchise von 2500 Franken am günstigsten, wie Comparis-Experte Felix Schneuwly informiert. Lesen Sie mehr zum Thema Franchise erhöhen.

Durchschnittlicher Prämienanstieg 2020 von 372 auf 383 Franken

Update vom 25.06.2019

Comparis prognostiziert für 2020 einen Anstieg der Grundversicherungsprämien von 2 bis 3 Prozent. Nach wie vor treiben primär die konsumierten Mengen der medizinischen Leistungen die Kosten und Prämien in die Höhe – und nicht die Preise.

Weitere Informationen zur Krankenkasse

Prämien vergleichen und Geld sparen

Die Krankenkassenprämien sind ein bedeutender Posten im Haushaltsbudget. Es lohnt sich daher auch für dieses Jahr die Prämien zu vergleichen. Wer von einer beträchtlichen Prämienerhöhung betroffen ist, kann mit einem Versicherungswechsel oder dem Wechsel zu einem günstigeren Versicherungsmodell reagieren. Die Leistungen in der Grundversicherung sind bei allen Kassen identisch.

Kündigungsfristen

Erfahren Sie hier, bis wann Sie Ihre Grundversicherung kündigen müssen und was Sie bei der Kündigung der Zusatzversicherung beachten sollten.

Vorlage Kündigungsschreiben

Einfach und schnell die Kündigung schreiben – mit der Vorlage vom comparis.ch kein Problem. Erstellen Sie jetzt das Kündigungsschreiben für Ihre Krankenkasse.

Informiert bleiben

Wir halten Sie gerne mit unserem Newsletter rund um das Thema Krankenkassen auf dem Laufenden.

Krankenkassen-Glossar

Von Abredeversicherung bis Zweitmeinung: Die wichtigsten Krankenkassen-Begriffe von A bis Z haben wir für Sie in unserem Krankenkassen-Glossar zusammengetragen und erklärt.

Ob Grund- oder Zusatzversicherung

Finden Sie die optimale Krankenkasse
Jetzt vergleichen

Nach oben

Newsletter

Immer aktuell informiert über Sparmöglichkeiten sowie Experten-Tipps rund um die Themen Gesundheit, Finanzen und Steuern.

Mit der Anmeldung stimme ich der Bearbeitung meiner Daten entsprechend der Datenschutzerklärung von comparis.ch zu.

comparis.ch
  • Über Comparis

  • Medien

  • Karriere

Folgen Sie uns
Sprache
  • DE
  • FR
  • IT
  • EN
  • Kontakt
  • Datenschutz
  • Rechtliche Informationen
  • Impressum

© 1996–2020 comparis.ch AG, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zürich, +41 44 360 52 62