Record of debt collection


What is a record of debt collection?

A record of debt collection provides information on the current or past debt obligations of individuals or a legal entity. A debt obligation is registered by the debt enforcement office at the place of residence of the person or where the company is headquartered. Not every political municipality has its own debt enforcement office; often several municipalities merge to a debt enforcement district.

Why and when is a record of debt collection required?

Generally, this is the case when you have to provide proof of your solvency. A record of debt collection usually needs to be presented if a decision has to be made concerning creditworthiness of the person or company. This can be in the following situations:

  • House-hunting
  • Job search
  • Loan application
  • Larger orders on credit
  • Application for credit card or customer card

In the case of house-hunting, the record of debt collection allows the landlord to find out if a person or a company has been subject to debt collection in the past and if the proceedings are still ongoing or if they have already been closed. The landlord can also find out if the debt collection was appealed against and if it even resulted in garnishment or a loss certificate.

An individual or company does not have any legal obligation towards the landlord to present a record of debt collection – because the landlord can request a record of debt collection from the last place of residence with the help of proof of interest for a flat. However, it is recommended to add a record of debt collection to the application.

Where do I order a record of debt collection?

A record of debt collection can be requested from the debt enforcement office at your place of residence. An extract usually costs about 17 francs.

You can find further information plus an online order form here (not available in English).

Information on debt collection cannot be provided over the telephone for reasons of data security as it cannot be verified if the person calling has the proper authorisation. Therefore the record of debt collection has to be ordered in person or by written request.

Back

Betreibungsauszug


Was ist ein Betreibungsauszug?

Ein Betreibungsauszug gibt Auskunft über das aktuelle oder vergangene Schuldverhältnis einer natürlichen oder juristischen Person. Dieses Schuldverhältnis wird von einem Betreibungsamt im Betreibungsregister erfasst und zwar jeweils am Wohnort oder Hauptsitz der Person oder Firma. Dabei ist zu beachten, dass nicht jede politische Gemeinde über ein eigenes Betreibungsamt verfügt; oft haben sich mehrere Gemeinden zu einem Betreibungskreis zusammengeschlossen.

Weshalb und wann braucht es einen Betreibungsauszug?

Konkret geht es um die Frage der Zahlungs(un)fähigkeit. Ein Betreibungsauszug muss meist dann vorgelegt werden, wenn es um einen Entscheid über die Kreditwürdigkeit der angefragten Person oder Firma geht. Dies ist beispielsweise der Fall bei:

  • Wohnungssuche
  • Stellensuche
  • Kreditanträgen
  • grösseren Bestellungen auf Kredit
  • Anträgen auf Kredit- oder Kundenkarten

Bei der Wohnungssuche erfährt ein Vermieter durch einen Betreibungsauszug, ob es bei einer Person oder Firma in der Vergangenheit zu Betreibungen gekommen ist und ob sie hoch hängig oder bereits erledigt sind. Auch erfährt der Vermieter, ob eine Betreibung bestritten wurde und ob es gar zu Pfändungen oder Verlustscheinen gekommen ist.

Rechtlich besteht auf Seiten der Person oder Firma gegenüber einem Vermieter aber keine Pflicht, einen Betreibungsauszug vorzulegen, denn mit dem Interessensnachweis zu einer Wohnung kann der Vermieter selbst einen Betreibungsauszug vom letzten Wohnort anfordern. Es wird dennoch empfohlen, einer Bewerbung einen Betreibungsauszug beizulegen.

Wo erhält man einen Betreibungsauszug?

Ein Betreibungsauszug kann beim zuständigen Betreibungsamt des Wohnortes bestellt werden. In der Regel kostet ein Auszug etwa 17.- Franken.

Weitere Infos und ein Online-Bestellformular finden Sie unter:

https://www.e-service.admin.ch/eschkg/app/wizard/navigate.do

Aus Datenschutzgründen wird eine Betreibungsauskunft nicht telefonisch erteilt. Schliesslich kann nicht überprüft werden, ob es sich auch um eine berechtigte Person handelt. Der Betreibungsauszug muss deshalb entweder persönlich oder mit einem schriftlichen Gesuch bestellt werden.

Zurück