Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

Loans & mortgagesMortgagesGlossary
Mortgages

Saron mortgage

The Libor will be discontinued at the end of 2021 and the Saron will take its place. The Saron is significant for private individuals, as it also determines the price of “money market” mortgages. Currently, most mortgage lenders are still selling money market mortgages under the name of “Libor mortgage”. In future, Libor mortgages will be called Saron mortgages. Some banks are already offering Saron mortgages. 

Why is the Libor being phased out?
The Libor has been discredited due to its susceptibility to manipulation. In 2011, for instance, it was revealed that various banks had been charging excessive interest rates in collusion with each other in order to rig the benchmark rate. The Swiss National Bank (SNB) tasked the National Working Group on Swiss Franc Reference Rates (NWG) with finding a replacement for the Libor. It had already advised banks to use the Saron as the new reference interest rate at the end of 2018. 

What is the Saron?
Saron stands for Swiss Average Rate Overnight. It is the interest rate charged by the SNB to banks and insurance companies for investments of excess liquidity or for short-term borrowing. Compared to the Libor, the Saron is more transparent because it is based on actual transactions. It is also considered more robust than its predecessor as, unlike the Libor, the loans to which it applies have securities deposited as collateral.

How is the Saron calculated?
Unlike the Libor, the Saron is purely an overnight rate. However, money market mortgages require rates for longer terms such as one, three or six months. For this scenario, the NWG devised the Saron Compound rate. SIX publishes the current interest rate on a daily basis.

Will my existing Libor mortgage automatically become a Saron mortgage?
Some current Libor mortgages will automatically be converted to Saron mortgages. This depends on your mortgage agreement. Some banks have an automatic conversion process in place. Others have stopped issuing Libor mortgages with terms going beyond the end of the Libor.

What is the difference between a Saron mortgage and a Libor mortgage?
In the current low interest rate environment, both Libor and Saron rates are well below zero. Banks are holding their interest rates at zero. This means that customers are currently only paying the bank's margin on both Libor and Saron mortgages. It can be assumed that the Saron will have to fall lower than the Libor because it is backed by securities as collateral against the risk of default in times of crisis. Historically, the Libor has also proven much more volatile than the Saron. SIX, the benchmark administrator of the Saron rate, has listed five more differences.

Can I take out a Saron mortgage now?
Yes, some banks, such as Raiffeisen and UBS, are already offering Saron mortgages. Almost all the other banks will follow in the summer or autumn. The transition will be complete by the end of the yearCompare your interest rates and request a quote now.

Personal consultation

Do you need advice tailored to your specific situation? The experts at HypoPlus compare the mortgage deals offered by a range of lenders and establish the best solution for your needs.
Request consultation

Back to top

Newsletter

Stay up-to-date with the latest savings deals as well as expert tips on health, money and tax.

By registering, I agree to my data being processed in accordance with the data privacy statement of comparis.ch.

comparis.ch
  • About Comparis

  • Career

Social Media
Language
  • DE
  • FR
  • IT
  • EN
  • Contact
  • Data privacy protection
  • Legal information
  • Credits

© 1996–2021 comparis.ch AG, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zurich, +41 44 360 52 62

Comparis
Newsletter
de

Versicherungen

Auto & Motorrad

Immobilien

Kredit & Hypotheken

Preisvergleich

Gesundheit & Vorsorge

Weitere Services

Comparis

Menü

Kredit & HypothekenHypothekenGlossar
Hypotheken

Saron-Hypothek

Ende 2021 wird der Libor abgeschafft und der Saron tritt an seine Stelle. Für Privatpersonen ist er von hoher Bedeutung, weil er auch den Preis der Geldmarkt-Hypothek bestimmt. Derzeit führen die meisten Hypothekarinstitute die Geldmarkt-Hypothek noch unter der Bezeichnung Libor-Hypothek. Künftig wird die Libor-Hypothek zur Saron-Hypothek umbenannt. Einzelne Banken haben bereits Saron-Hypotheken im Angebot. 

Weshalb wird der Libor abgeschafft?
Der Libor ist aufgrund von Manipulationen in Verruf geraten. So wurde 2011 bekannt, dass verschiedene Banken zu hohe Zinssätze verlangten, da sie durch Absprachen den Zins lenken konnten. Die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) hat die Nationale Arbeitsgruppe für Referenzzinssätze in Franken (NAG) mit der Suche eines Libor-Ersatzes beauftragt. Sie hat den Kreditinstituten bereits Ende 2018 empfohlen, den Saron als neuen Referenzzins anzuwenden. 

Was ist der Saron?
Saron steht für «Swiss Average Rate Overnight». Der Saron ist der Zinssatz, zu dem die Banken und Versicherungen bei der SNB ihre überschüssige Liquidität anlegen oder kurzfristig Geld aufnehmen können. Der Saron ist im Unterschied zum Libor transparenter, weil er auf tatsächlich getätigten Transaktionen beruht. Er gilt auch als robuster als sein Vorgänger, da es sich, im Gegensatz zum Libor, um einen Zinssatz für mit Wertpapieren besicherten Krediten handelt.

Wie wird der Saron berechnet?
Der Saron ist im Unterschied zu Libor ein reiner Übernachtzins. Für Geldmarkthypotheken sind jedoch längerfristige Sätze wie beispielsweise ein, drei oder sechs Monate notwendig. Die NAG hat zu diesem Zweck den Compound Saron ausgearbeitet. Der aktuelle Zinssatz wird also täglich von der SIX kommuniziert.

Wird meine aktive Libor-Hypothek automatisch zur Saron-Hypothek?
Je nach Hypothekarvertrag werden laufende Libor-Hypotheken automatisch zu Saron-Hypotheken umgewandelt. Einige Banken haben eine automatische Umwandlung festgelegt. Andere Banken haben keine Libor-Hypotheken mehr vergeben, deren Laufzeiten über das Ende des Libors hinausgehen.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen einer Saron-Hypothek und einer Libor-Hypothek?
Im gegenwärtigen Tiefzinsumfeld notieren Libor und Saron deutlich unter null. Banken halten die Zinssätze bei Null. Kunden zahlen somit bei Libor- oder Saron-Hypotheken derzeit nur die Marge der Bank. Es ist davon auszugehen, dass der Saron aufgrund der unterlegten Wertpapiere als Sicherheiten gegen Ausfallrisiken in Krisenzeiten tiefer notieren muss als der Libor. Die historische Entwicklung zeigt denn auch, dass der Libor deutlich volatiler ist als der Saron. Fünf weitere Unterschiede hat die SIX als der Herausgeber des Saron-Zinses aufgelistet.

Kann ich jetzt schon eine Saron-Hypothek abschliessen?
Ja, einige Banken, beispielsweise die Raiffeisen Bank oder die UBS, bieten das Produkt bereits an. Fast alle Banken werden im Sommer oder Herbst nachziehen. Die Umstellung wird bis Ende des Jahres abgeschlossen seinVergleichen Sie jetzt Ihre Zinsen und fordern Sie eine Offerte an. 

Persönliche Beratung

Benötigen Sie eine individuelle Beratung? Die Experten von HypoPlus vergleichen Angebote verschiedener Anbieter und stellen die beste Lösung für Sie zusammen.
Angebot anfordern