Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

Loans & mortgagesMortgagesGlossary
Mortgages

LIBOR mortgage

Like a variable-rate mortgage, a LIBOR mortgage is a mortgage whose interest rate can change during the repayment term. The interest rate of a LIBOR mortgage, also known as a money market mortgage, is adjusted to reflect market conditions every three to six months, as defined in the mortgage agreement. In addition, the repayment term of a LIBOR mortgage is fixed – usually at three to five years.

LIBOR stands for London Interbank Offered Rate. This is the interest rate banks charge when they lend each other money for the short term. A LIBOR mortgage comprises just two components: the LIBOR interest rate and the margin set by the bank. It is therefore very transparent.

How a LIBOR mortgage works

The interest rate for a LIBOR mortgage is calculated using the LIBOR and the margin applied by the lender. Although the LIBOR is recalculated every day, a LIBOR mortgage offers a bit more stability. Borrowers can choose at what intervals the interest rate should be adjusted. Lenders usually let borrowers choose between a 3, 6 or 12-month LIBOR. The repayment term is usually three to five years.

Pros

When interest rates are low, a LIBOR mortgage is the cheapest option. It has generally been the cheapest type of mortgage for the past ten years.

When interest rates fall, borrowers feel the benefits straight away. Since the LIBOR can fluctuate strongly and therefore rise dramatically, this mortgage type is only suitable for borrowers who have the funds to cope with a sharp rise in rates.

Cons

Who knows what the interest rate will be in, say, four years’ time? No one. Even the savviest experts can only speculate. To take out a LIBOR mortgage, you need to have a financial cushion against risk, as the LIBOR mortgage clearly involves a certain level of risk in a climate of rising interest rates.

Protection against fluctuations

Some lenders offer protection against interest rate fluctuations, in the form of a cap. This is an upper limit above which the interest rate may not rise during the entire term of the mortgage. But this interest rate ceiling comes at a price. Usually, the charge for this type of agreement must be paid at the beginning of the mortgage term.

Saron mortgage set to replace LIBOR mortgage

The Saron mortgage will replace the LIBOR mortgage at the end of 2021.

About the Saron mortgage

Personal consultation

Do you need advice tailored to your specific situation? The experts at HypoPlus compare the mortgage deals offered by a range of lenders and establish the best solution for your needs.
Request consultation

Comparis
Newsletter
de

Versicherungen

Auto & Motorrad

Immobilien

Kredit & Hypotheken

Preisvergleich

Gesundheit & Altersvorsorge

Weitere Services

Comparis

Menü

Kredit & HypothekenHypothekenGlossar
Hypotheken

LIBOR-Hypothek

Bei der LIBOR-Hypothek handelt es sich wie bei der variablen Hypothek um eine Hypothek, bei der sich der Zinssatz während der Laufzeit anpasst. Der Zinssatz der LIBOR-Hypothek, auch Geldmarkthypothek genannt, wird alle drei bis sechs Monate den Marktgegebenheiten angeglichen, je nach vertraglicher Regelung. Fixiert wird zudem die Laufzeit der Libor-Hypothek – in der Regel drei bis fünf Jahre.

Beim Libor handelt es sich um die London Interbank Offered Rate. Dies ist der Zinssatz, zu dem sich die Banken – kurzfristig – untereinander Geld ausleihen. Die Libor-Hypothek besteht aus nur zwei Komponenten: dem Libor-Zinssatz und der Marge der Bank. Damit ist sie sehr transparent.

So funktioniert die LIBOR-Hypothek

Der Zinssatz der LIBOR-Hypothek wird aus dem LIBOR und einer vom jeweiligen Hypothekaranbieter festgelegten Marge berechnet. Während die Höhe des LIBOR jeden Tag neu bestimmt wird, wird bei der LIBOR-Hypothek etwas mehr Stabilität geboten. Die Kunden können wählen, in welchen Abständen der Zinssatz angepasst werden soll. Meist gibt das Finanzinstitut die Option zwischen einem 3-, 6- oder 12-Monats-LIBOR. Die Laufzeit ist in der Regel drei bis fünf Jahre.

So funktioniert die Libor-Hypothek

Vorteile

In einem Tiefzinsumfeld ist die LIBOR-Hypothek die preiswerteste Variante. In den letzten zehn Jahren war die LIBOR-Hypothek meistens die günstigste Finanzierungsart.

Bei sinkenden Zinsen profitiert man rasch und unmittelbar von diesen Zinssenkungen. Da der LIBOR stark schwanken und somit auch enorm ansteigen kann, ist diese Form für Personen geeignet, die stark steigende Zinsen finanziell verkraften können.

Nachteile

Wer weiss schon, wie der Zinssatz beispielsweise in vier Jahren aussehen wird? Niemand. Auch die besten Experten können höchstens spekulieren. Der Abschluss einer LIBOR-Hypothek setzt eine gewisse Risikofähigkeit, also ein finanzielles Polster, voraus, denn die LIBOR-Hypothek birgt in einem Umfeld von steigenden Zinsen ganz klar Risiken.

Schutz gegen Zinsschwankungen

Einige Banken bieten auch einen Schutz gegen Zinsschwankungen an, einen sogenannten Cap. Damit wird eine Zinsobergrenze fixiert, über die der Zins während der gesamten Laufzeit der Hypothek nicht steigen darf. Eine solche Zinsobergrenze kostet aber etwas. Meist werden die Kosten für eine solche Vereinbarung zu Beginn der Laufzeit der Hypothek fällig.

Ablösung LIBOR-Hypothek durch Saron-Hypothek

Per Ende 2021 wird die LIBOR-Hypothek durch die Saron-Hypothek abgelöst.

Zur Saron-Hypothek

Persönliche Beratung

Benötigen Sie eine individuelle Beratung? Die Experten von HypoPlus vergleichen Angebote verschiedener Anbieter und stellen die beste Lösung für Sie zusammen.
Angebot anfordern