Questions about Spitex and care services

  • What is Spitex and how does it work?

    Spitex is not a protected term. It is derived from the German “spital-extern” and refers to services provided outside the hospital, such as home care and day-to-day help and support. There are 577 public Spitex organizations, 289 private ones and 1,015 self-employed nursing professionals (Federal Statistical Office, as at 2017, in German and French only) in Switzerland, which are recognized by health insurers. They promote, support and enable living at home for people of all age groups who depend on help to do so.

    Spitex for children provides intensive, all-round care and support for seriously ill, disabled or dying children at home, and is offered by only few care providers. The cost of services covered by basic health insurance is paid for by the child's basic insurance.

  • What is the difference between a private and public Spitex organization?

    As a rule, public organizations have an obligation to provide care for the municipality or canton and are therefore obliged to accept all assignments, even if it is not cost-effective to do so. Private organizations have no obligation to provide care. They can define minimum assignment hours and turn down requests for care services.

    Both public and private Spitex providers require a cantonal operating licence, for which they must fulfil certain criteria in relation to staff and service range, and can therefore bill health insurers for their services.

    At comparis.ch, public organizations are described as providers "with a service contract" and private organizations as "private organizations".

  • Are Spitex services covered by (basic) health insurance?

    The health insurer only pays for services that are prescribed by a doctor, listed in the Health Insurance Benefits Ordinance (KLV) and provided by the qualified personnel of approved Spitex providers.

    The services covered by the health insurer are split into three categories: a) needs assessment / advice / coordination (e.g. with the doctor and relatives); b) examination and medical treatment (e.g. preparing and administering medication) and c) basic care (e.g. showering / bathing / washing, dressing and undressing, eating and drinking, going to the toilet, getting up / lying down / walking or dental care). The costs are covered by compulsory basic insurance minus the annual deductible and the coinsurance. More information can be found in the care cost calculator.

    Services not covered by health insurance are day-to-day help and support, such as shopping, preparing meals, cleaning, washing, ironing, etc. Certain tasks can be covered by a private supplemental insurance policy. Under certain circumstances, supplementary benefits and/or helplessness allowances may also be applied for.

  • How much do home care and support services cost?

    The rates for home care services are uniformly set by the federal government; the rates for support services are not, which is why they vary. It is worthwhile comparing the various providers and their services. The rates are usually published on the website of the respective provider. Support from relatives may also be an option.

  • Who pays for Spitex care and support?

    The costs for prescribed home care services are paid by three parties: the health insurer (54.60, 65.40 or 79.80 francs per hour), the Spitex clients (maximum 15.95 francs per day) and the public authorities (canton or municipality). The amount to be paid by the Spitex clients themselves depends on the canton, the chosen deductible and the age (younger or older than 18 years) and can be calculated using the care cost calculator.

    The costs for support services and domestic help must be borne by the clients themselves, but contributions may be received through supplemental insurance, helplessness allowances and/or supplementary benefits.

  • Am I entitled to financial support?

    Anyone who needs help over a longer period of time for day-to-day life activities such as getting up, dressing, going to the toilet, eating, personal hygiene, etc. is entitled to a helplessness allowance based on whether the incapacity is slight, moderate or severe, but regardless of age, income and assets.

    Anyone whose income (incl. pension) and assets mean that they are living below subsistence level is entitled to supplementary benefits (EL/PC). Supplementary benefits are part of the Swiss social security system and are not welfare or social assistance benefits. EL/PC can be applied for from the cantonal AHV/AVS compensation office. Asset and income limits for EL/PC vary from canton to canton. For example, supplementary benefits can be used to cover the deductible and coinsurance for mandatory basic insurance, domestic help and transport.

    Anyone who has taken out supplemental insurance should verify whether it contributes to care or domestic help costs. Contributions can amount to up to 100 francs per day, but are usually limited to 30 days per year.

    If the above benefits are not sufficient to allow you to live above subsistence level, you can apply for social assistance at the municipality where you live.

    As a carer of a relative in need of care, you can claim care credits from the cantonal AHV/AVS compensation office in the canton of residence of the person requiring care. Only great-grandparents, grandparents, parents, parents-in-law, spouse, siblings, children, stepchildren and grandchildren are considered “relatives”. “In need of care” means that the relative receives a helplessness allowance from the AHV/IV or AVS/AI due to a moderate or severe incapacity. To be eligible for care credits, carers must be easy to reach for the person in need of care. “Easy to reach” means that the carer does not live more than 1 hour's journey or 30 km away from the person in need of care for at least 180 days per calendar year.

Ask a question

If you have not found an answer to your question on this page, you can ask it here.

Fragen zur Spitex und Pflege

  • Was ist die Spitex und wie funktioniert sie?

    Spitex ist kein geschützter Begriff, sondern steht für spital-externe Leistungen wie Pflege zu Hause, Betreuung und Hilfe im Alltag. In der Schweiz gibt es 577 öffentliche Organisationen, 289 private Organisationen und 1’015 freischaffende Pflegefachpersonen (BFS, Stand 2017), die von der Krankenkasse anerkannt sind. Sie fördern, unterstützen und ermöglichen damit das Wohnen und Leben zu Hause für Menschen aller Altersgruppen, die auf Hilfe angewiesen sind.

    Die Kinderspitex ist eine intensive ganzheitliche Pflege und Betreuung von schwerkranken, behinderten oder sterbenden Kindern zu Hause, die nur von wenigen Leistungserbringern angeboten wird. Die Kosten für kassenpflichtige Leistungen werden von der Grundversicherung des Kindes übernommen.

  • Was ist der Unterschied zwischen einer privaten und einer öffentlichen Spitex?

    Die öffentlichen Organisationen haben in der Regel eine Versorgungspflicht gegenüber der Gemeinde oder dem Kanton und sind deshalb verpflichtet, alle Aufträge wahrzunehmen, auch wenn diese nicht kostendeckend sind. Private Organisationen haben keine Versorgungspflicht. Sie können eine Mindesteinsatzdauer festlegen und Aufträge ablehnen.

    Sowohl die öffentlichen als auch privaten Spitex-Anbieter benötigen eine kantonale Betriebsbewilligung, für die sie gewissen Kriterien in Bezug auf Personal und Leistungsangebot erfüllen müssen, und können daher über die Krankenkasse abrechnen.

    Bei comparis.ch werden die öffentlichen Organisationen als Anbieter «Mit Versorgungsauftrag» und die privaten Organisationen als «Private Organisation» gekennzeichnet. 

  • Zahlt die Krankenkasse/Grundversicherung für Spitexleistungen?

    Die Krankenkasse zahlt nur vom Arzt verordnete Leistungen, die in der Krankenpflege-Leistungsverordnung (KLV) aufgelistet sind und von qualifiziertem Personal der krankenkassen-anerkannten Spitex-Anbieter erbracht werden.

    Die kassenpflichtigen Leistungen werden in drei Kategorien aufgeteilt: a) Bedarfsabklärung/Beratung/Koordination (z.B. mit dem Arzt und den Angehörigen); b) Untersuchung und medizinische Behandlung (z.B. Richten und Verabreichen von Medikamenten) und c) Grundpflege (z.B. Duschen/Baden/Waschen, beim An- und Auskleiden, beim Essen und Trinken, beim Toilettengang, beim Aufstehen/Hinlegen/Gehen oder bei der Zahnpflege). Die Kosten werden abzüglich Jahresfranchise und Selbstbehalt von der obligatorischen Grundversicherung übernommen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie im Pflegekostenrechner.

    Nicht-kassenpflichtige Leistungen sind Betreuung und Hilfe im Alltag, wie z.B. Einkaufen, Zubereiten der Mahlzeit, Putzen, Waschen, Bügeln usw. Gewisse Bereiche können durch eine private Zusatzversicherung abgedeckt werden. Unter Umständen können auch Ergänzungsleistungen und/oder Hilflosenentschädigungen beantragt werden.

  • Wie viel kosten Pflege und Betreuungen zu Hause?

    Die Tarife für Pflegeleistungen sind durch den Bund einheitlich festgelegt, die Betreuungstarife nicht, weshalb diese variieren. Es lohnt sich, die verschiedenen Anbieter und Leistungen zu vergleichen. Die Tarife werden in der Regel auf der Webseite des jeweiligen Anbieters publiziert. Allenfalls kommt auch eine Unterstützung durch Angehörige in Frage.

  • Wer zahlt Pflege und Betreuung der Spitex?

    Die Kosten für ärztlich verschriebene Pflege zu Hause werden von drei Parteien bezahlt: Der Krankenkasse (54.60, 65.40 oder 79.80 Franken pro Stunde), den Spitex-Klienten (maximal 15.95 Franken pro Tag) und durch die öffentliche Hand (Kanton bzw. Gemeinde). Der von den Spitex-Klienten selbst zu tragende Betrag hängt vom Kanton, der gewählten Franchise und dem Alter (jünger oder älter als 18 Jahre) ab und kann im Pflegekostenrechner berechnet werden.

    Die Kosten für Betreuung und Hilfe im Haushalt müssen die Klienten grundsätzlich selbst bezahlen, können aber ggf. durch eine Zusatzversicherung, Hilflosenentschädigung und/oder Ergänzungsleistungen unterstützt werden.

  • Habe ich Anspruch auf finanzielle Unterstützung?

    Wer für alltägliche Lebensverrichtungen wie Aufstehen, Ankleiden, Toilette, Essen, Körperpflege etc. über eine längere Zeit Hilfe benötigt, hat unabhängig von Alter, Einkommen und Vermögen ein Anrecht auf Hilflosenentschädigung leichten, mittleren oder schweren Grades.

    Wer das Existenzminimum nicht durch das eigene Einkommen (inkl. Rente) oder Vermögen decken kann, hat Anspruch auf Ergänzungsleistungen (EL). Ergänzungsleistungen sind Teil des schweizerischen Sozialversicherungssystems und keine Fürsorge oder Sozialhilfe. EL können bei der kantonalen AHV-Ausgleichskasse beantragt werden. Vermögens- und Einkommensgrenzen für EL sind von Kanton zu Kanton verschieden. Zum Beispiel werden mit Ergänzungsleistungen Franchise und Selbstbehalt der obligatorischen Grundversicherung, Haushaltshilfe und Transporte abgedeckt.

    Wer eine Zusatzversicherung abgeschlossen hat, sollte prüfen, ob sich diese an Pflege- oder Haushilfekosten beteiligt. Die Beteiligungen können bis zu 100 Franken pro Tag betragen, sind jedoch meistens auf 30 Tage pro Jahr beschränkt.

    Falls die oben genannten Leistungen nicht ausreichen, um die Existenz zu sichern, kann man bei der Wohngemeinde Sozialhilfe beantragen.

    Als Betreuer/in eines pflegebedürftigen Verwandten, können Sie bei der kantonalen AHV-Ausgleichskasse des Wohnsitzkantons der betreuten Person Betreuungsgutschriften geltend machen. Als «Verwandte» gelten ausschliesslich Urgrosseltern, Grosseltern, Eltern, Schwiegereltern, Ehegatte, Geschwister, Kinder, Stiefkinder und Enkelkinder. «Pflegebedürftig» heisst, dass der/die Verwandte eine Hilflosenentschädigung mittleren oder schweren Grades von der AHV/IV bezieht. Damit eine Betreuungsgutschrift geltend gemacht wird, müssen Sie für den Verwandten leicht erreichbar sein. «Leicht erreichbar» heisst, dass die betreuende Person mindestens 180 Tage pro Kalenderjahr nicht mehr als 1 Stunde Wegzeit oder 30 km von der pflegebedürftigen Person entfernt wohnt.

Frage stellen

Konnten Sie auf dieser Seite keine Antwort auf Ihre Frage finden, stellen Sie Ihre Frage hier.