Rules and regulations

What should I watch out for when changing vehicle or keeper?

TIPS
|
Source: iStock / courtneyk

Found a new car and want to get behind the wheel as soon as possible? Comparis explains how to painlessly complete the formalities for registering and re-registering a car – and save money at the same time.

What do I need to register a change of vehicle or keeper?

Take the following documents to the Road Traffic Office or send them by post – the latter will save you time and is often cheaper, as it does not incur a counter processing fee.

  • Original vehicle registration certificate for the vehicle you are replacing (if you are changing vehicle)
  • Original vehicle registration certificate for the new vehicle or form 13.20A for brand new cars (available from the dealer)
  • By post: “temporary road permit” form. This enables the vehicle to be driven on the roads from the posting date until the vehicle registration certificate arrives (max. 30 days).
  • Some cantons also require you to submit an additional road permit application for the vehicle. Find out more from your local Road Traffic Office.
  • You should also request electronic proof of compulsory vehicle liability insurance from your insurance company. Your insurance company will send this directly to the Road Traffic Office. Ensure that it is valid on the date of registration (the document must not be more than 30 days old). If you have not yet taken out car insurance, you can find a suitable car insurance deal quickly and easily on the Comparis website.

Good to know: when you register a vehicle for the first time, you usually need a copy of one of the following forms of ID to obtain the number plates: identity card, residence permit or Swiss driving licence. The Road Traffic Office also requires a certificate of residence from you. For company cars, you need an extract from the commercial register.

Changing vehicle: how does this affect my car insurance?

Changes of vehicle or keeper are opportunities to switch car insurance early and with no loss of premiums.

If you are a new keeper, you can take out a new insurance policy with your existing insurer or with a new insurer of your choice. This insurer will then issue proof of insurance for the Road Traffic Office in your name. When it has received this, the Road Traffic Office will transfer the vehicle to the new keeper.

If you are a previous keeper, you must inform your insurance company that your are no longer the keeper of that vehicle. The insurance policy is then cancelled and any premiums already paid will be refunded to you on a pro rata basis (by date).

When changing vehicle, you must always cancel your insurance in writing before you register the new car. You can use the Comparis cancellation letter template to cancel quickly and easily.

Our tip: if a vehicle is more than 10 years old, it must always undergo an inspection prior to a change of keeper. In most cantons this also applies to newer cars, if the last inspection took place more than one year ago. The new keeper must get the change recorded as soon as possible on the vehicle registration certificate.

Can I transfer my vehicle, including number plates, to another person?

Transferring a vehicle and its number plates to another person or company is only possible in certain cases:

  • To close family members (parents, grandparents, children, spouses, siblings)
  • To a cohabiting partner
  • To approved signatories within a company
  • From one company to another

Good to know: if a car and its number plates are transferred within a family, the new vehicle keeper must take over the insurance and cannot cancel it. The following documents are required for the transfer:

  • Original vehicle registration certificate
  • Proof of insurance
  • Surrender or transfer application form (available by post or at the counter)

I want to re-register my vehicle. What documents do I need?

If you want to re-register your vehicle, you should take or send the following documents to the Road Traffic Office:

  • Proof of insurance, which you request in advance from your insurer
  • Original vehicle registration certificate (only for change of address, insurance etc.)

The Road Traffic Office will send you the number plates by post. If you deposited them at the post office, you need to present the vehicle registration certificate when you collect them. For more information on addresses, forms, fees and so on, contact the Road Traffic Office for your canton.

Good to know: if you move to a different canton, you have 14 days in which to notify your new Road Traffic Office.

Recht & Gesetz

Worauf muss ich beim Fahrzeug- und Halterwechsel achten?

TIPPS
|
Bild: iStock / courtneyk

Sie haben ein neues Auto gefunden und möchten sich so schnell wie möglich hinters Steuer setzen? Comparis erklärt, wie Sie die Formalitäten der Autoanmeldung und -umschreibung reibungslos erledigen – und sogar noch Geld sparen können.

Auto ummelden: Was brauche ich für einen Fahrzeug- oder Halterwechsel?

Legen Sie dem Strassenverkehrsamt folgende Dokumente vor oder schicken Sie diese per Post – letzteres spart Zeit und ist oft günstiger, da die Bearbeitungsgebühr am Schalter entfällt.

  • Fahrzeugausweis im Original des zu ersetzenden Autos (gilt bei Fahrzeugwechsel)
  • Fahrzeugausweis im Original des neuen Fahrzeugs oder bei fabrikneuen Autos das Formular 13.20A (erhältlich beim Händler)
  • Bei Postabwicklung: Formular «Vorläufige Verkehrsberechtigung». Damit darf das Fahrzeug ab dem Postaufgabedatum bis zum Eintreffen des Fahrzeugausweises (max. 30 Tage) in Verkehr gesetzt sein.
  • Einige Kantone verlangen zudem ein Gesuch für die Verkehrszulassung des Fahrzeuges. Informieren Sie sich beim zuständigen Strassenverkehrsamt.
  • Bestellen Sie ausserdem bei Ihrer Versicherungsgesellschaft den elektronischen Nachweis der obligatorischen Autohaftpflichtversicherung. Die Versicherung schickt diesen direkt an das Strassenverkehrsamt. Beachten Sie, dass der Nachweis am Einlösedatum gültig ist (Nachweis darf nicht älter als 30 Tage sein). Wer noch keine Autoversicherung hat, kann bei Comparis einfach und schnell die passende Autoversicherung finden.

Gut zu wissen: Bei der erstmaligen Einlösung müssen Sie für den Schilderbezug in der Regel eine Kopie von einem der folgenden Ausweise vorlegen: Identitätskarte, Ausländerausweis oder schweizerischer Führerausweis. Ausserdem benötigt das Strassenverkehrsamt von Ihnen eine Wohnsitzbestätigung. Bei Firmenfahrzeugen braucht es einen Auszug aus dem Handelsregister.

Autowechsel: Was geschieht mit meiner Autoversicherung?

Fahrzeug- und Halterwechsel sind Gelegenheiten, bei denen Sie einen Versicherungswechsel ausserterminlich und ohne Prämienverlust machen dürfen.

Als neuer Halter können Sie einen neuen Versicherungsvertrag bei Ihrer bestehenden Versicherung oder einer neuen Versicherung nach Ihrer Wahl abschliessen. Diese Versicherung stellt dann für das Strassenverkehrsamt einen Versicherungsnachweis auf Sie aus. Das Strassenverkehrsamt schreibt nach Erhalt das Fahrzeug auf den neuen Halter um.

Als bisheriger Halter eines Fahrzeugs müssen Sie Ihre Versicherung informieren, dass Sie nicht mehr Halter dieses Fahrzeuges sind. Dann wird der Versicherungsvertrag aufgehoben und bereits bezahlte Prämien werden Ihnen anteilmässig (nach Datum) zurückerstattet.

Beim Fahrzeugwechsel muss die Kündigung in jedem Fall schriftlich und vor dem Einlösen des neuen Autos erfolgen. Kündigen Sie einfach und schnell mit dem Kündigungsbrief von Comparis.

Unser Tipp: Ist das Fahrzeug älter als 10 Jahre, muss es in jedem Fall vor einem Halterwechsel geprüft werden. In den meisten Kantonen gilt das auch für jüngere Autos, wenn die letzte Prüfung mehr als ein Jahr zurückliegt. Der neue Halter muss die Änderung im Fahrzeugausweis umgehend eintragen lassen.

Kann ich mein Auto samt Kontrollschild weitergeben?

Möchten Sie Ihr Fahrzeug samt Kontrollschild an eine andere Person oder Firma übertragen, ist dies nur in bestimmten Fällen möglich:

  • Im engeren Familienkreis (Eltern, Grosseltern, Kinder, Ehegatten, Geschwister)
  • Bei Konkubinatspaaren
  • Bei Firmen an unterschriftsberechtigte Personen
  • Von einer Firma an die andere

Gut zu wissen: Wird ein Auto samt Nummer familienintern weitergegeben, muss der neue Fahrzeughalter die Versicherung übernehmen und kann nicht kündigen. Für die Übertragung braucht es folgende Dokumente:

  • Fahrzeugausweis im Original
  • Versicherungsnachweis
  • Abtretungs- oder Übertragungsgesuch (erhältlich per Post oder am Schalter)

Ich möchte mein Fahrzeug wieder einlösen. Welche Dokumente brauche ich?

Möchten Sie Ihr Fahrzeug wieder einlösen, müssen Sie dem Strassenverkehrsamt folgende Unterlagen vorlegen oder zuschicken:

  • Versicherungsnachweis, den Sie vorab bei Ihrer Versicherung bestellen
  • Fahrzeugausweis im Original (gilt nur bei Änderungen von Adresse, Versicherung etc.)

Die Kontrollschilder werden vom Strassenverkehrsamt per Post zugeschickt. Wurden sie bei der Poststelle deponiert, legen Sie bei Abholung bitte den Fahrzeugausweis vor. Für nähere Details wie Adressen, Formulare, Gebühren etc. informieren Sie sich bitte beim Strassenverkehrsamt Ihres Kantons.

Gut zu wissen: Bei einem Kantonswechsel haben Sie 14 Tage Zeit, sich beim Strassenverkehrsamt Ihres neuen Wohnortes zu melden.