Rules and regulations

Incorrectly mounted sat nav: fine of up to 500 francs

INFORMATION
|
If you mount your sat nav display there, you might get into trouble with the police. Source: Thinkstock

A road traffic regulation that irritates Swiss drivers: those who attach the GPS device to their windscreen risk a report and a stiff fine – or even a suspension of their driving licence. Depending on the canton such infractions are punished more or less severely.

Last year alone, approximately 10,000 licences were suspended due to the illicit use of communication and multimedia devices such as telephones and navigation systems. And the number continues to grow according to the Federal Roads Office (FEDRO). This is not only the fault of those who use the phone when driving. Drivers mounting their sat nav in the middle of the windscreen also contribute to this increase.

In fact, this is prohibited by law. The reason for this is that the GPS device blocks the driver's view there.

How high is the fine?
Those who are caught by the police face a traffic fine of up to 500 francs. In addition, administrative charges are levied. Thus, the total cost can easily rise to 800 francs. Incidentally, the excuse that you did not know about the regulation does not prevent you from being fined.

This is what the law says
If the driver's eyes are 0.75 m above the seat, he or she must have an unrestricted view beyond a semi-circle with a radius of 12.0 m. These are the rules set out in the Road Traffic Act.

The driver's field of vision must be completely free except for objects that are explicitly permitted such as sun visors, the interior rear-view mirror and the motorway sticker.

The graphs from the Zurich City Police illustrate the safe use of mobile navigation devices. Open as PDF here (in German).

In practice, this means that the the GPS device should be mounted either at the upper or lower edge in the corner formed by the dashboard and the windscreen.

How to test your 12-meter field of vision
If you want to make sure that your sat nav is installed correctly, draw a radius of 12 metres in front of your car, attach the device to the windscreen and check whether your field of vision is free.

Sticking to this rule can be difficult depending on the car model. Just think about sports cars, for example, with their relatively small windows. In such a case, the driver can only hope that the police are tolerant.

How tolerant are the police in Valais and Zurich?
The punishment for an incorrectly mounted sat nav is not equally severe in all cantons. The canton of Valais is considered particularly tolerant. There the police do not issue any fines. Instead, they give advice on how to mount the GPS device properly and help the driver to attach it in a place where it does not restrict the view.

In other places, like Zurich, for instance, the police accept it if the device is installed at the upper or lower edge. As a reason for this they state that the navigation system improves road traffic safety.

Don't operate the sat nav while driving
By the way, aside from the incorrect installation of the device, it is also prohibited to operate it while driving. Likewise, pennants, air fresheners or plush toys dangling from the rear-view mirror are banned since they also restrict the driver's view – and thus put other road users at risk.

What do you think of the sat nav fine? Write us your comment below!

Make a quick free comparison of car insurance now.

Recht & Gesetz

Navi falsch montiert: |Bis zu 500 Franken Busse fällig

INFO
|
Wer sein Navi-Gerät an dieser Stelle befestigt, riskiert Ärger mit der Polizei. Bild: Thinkstock

Diese Regel sorgt für rote Köpfe bei Autofahrern:  Wer das Navigationsgerät an der Windschutzscheibe befestigt, riskiert eine Verzeigung mit saftiger Busse – oder gar den Entzug des Billetts. Je nach Kanton werden Verstösse mehr oder weniger streng geahndet.

Rund 10‘000 Ausweisentzüge wegen «unerlaubter Verwendung von Kommunikations- und Multimediaelektronik wie Telefon oder Navigationsgeräte allein im vergangenen Jahr. Und die Zahl steigt laut Bundesamt für Strassen (ASTRA). Schuld daran ist nicht nur alleine das Telefonieren während der Autofahrt. Hinzu kommen Autofahrer, die ihr Navi in der Mitte der Frontscheibe befestigen.

Genau das ist verboten! Der Grund: Das Navi-Gerät behindert dort die Sicht des Autofahrers. 

So hoch ist die Busse

Wer von der Polizei erwischt wird, muss sich auf eine Busse von bis zu 500 Franken gefasst machen. Zusätzlich fallen Verwaltungsgebühren an.  So kommen schnell 800 Franken zusammen. Ach ja, die Ausrede, man habe die Vorschrift nicht gekannt, schützt nicht vor Strafe.

So steht’s im Gesetz

«Der Führer oder die Führerin muss bei einer Augenhöhe von 0,75 m über der Sitzfläche, ausserhalb eines Halbkreises von 12,0 m Radius die Fahrbahn frei überblicken können. So regelt es das Strassenverkehrsgesetz.

Das Sichtfeld des Autofahrers muss frei sein. Ausnahmen sind ausdrücklich zugelassene Gegenstände wie die Sonnenblende, der Innenspiegel und die Autobahn-Vignette.

Schaubilder der Zürcher Stadtpolizei veranschaulichen «die sichere Verwendung mobiler Navigationsgeräte. Hier als PDF anschauen.

In der Praxis bedeutet das: Der digitale Wegweiser sollte entweder am oberen oder unteren Rand im Winkel von Armaturenbrett und Frontscheibe platziert werden.

So machen Sie den 12-Meter-Sichttest

Wer sicher gehen will, dass sein Navigationsgerät vorschriftsmässig montiert ist, markiert 12 Meter vor dem Auto den Sichtradius, befestigt das Navi an der Frontschutzscheibe und überprüft, ob das Sichtfeld frei ist.

Je nach Automodell kann die Umsetzung dieser Regel schwierig sein. Man denke da beispielsweise an Sportflitzer mit ihren recht kleinen Scheiben. Da bleibt dem Fahrer bloss, auf die Kulanz der Polizei zu hoffen.

So tolerant ist die Polizei im Wallis und in Zürich

Montage-Sünden werden nicht in allen Kantonen gleich strikt geahndet. Als besonders tolerant gilt das Wallis. Dort verteilt die Polizei keine Bussen. Stattdessen gibt sie Hinweise zur richtigen Montage des Navigationsgeräts und hilft, das Navi so zu befestigen, dass es die Sicht nicht behindert.

Andernorts, zum Beispiel in Zürich, toleriert die Polizei es, wenn das Navi-Gerät am oberen oder unteren Rand angebracht wird. Zur Begründung heisst es dort: Die digitalen Wegweiser erhöhen die Sicherheit im Strassenverkehr.

Navi nicht während der Fahrt bedienen

Übrigens: Nicht nur die falsche Montage des Geräts ist verboten, sondern auch dessen Bedienung während der Fahrt!  Auch verboten sind am Innenspiegel baumelnde Wimpel, Duftbäumchen oder Stofftierchen, weil diese ebenfalls die Sicht des Autofahrers beeinträchtigen – und somit andere Verkehrsteilnehmer gefährden.