Car insurance

Depositing number plates


If you deposit your number plates at the Road Traffic Office, your car insurance is suspended during this so-called suspension period until you use the plates again.

Some of the risks, e.g. theft from a garage, continue to be covered under certain circumstances, depending on the insurer, and mostly for a limited period of time. Some insurers grant a suspension discount not only on liability and full casco insurance (comprehensive and collision) but also on partial casco insurance (only comprehensive). You can find more detailed information in your General Insurance Conditions.

As soon as you use the number plates again, your insurer grants you a discount calculated pro rata temporis, deducting the administrative fees. Certain insurers already offer the discount when the number plates are deposited, thus enabling you to change insurers.

Motorcycle insurance
In order to save themselves and policyholders administrative work and expenses, most insurance companies offer whole-year premiums for motorcycle insurance; i.e. suspension is waived. This model makes it needless to deposit the number plates for a few weeks/months in winter.

Tip:
The effort of depositing number plates during the winter season hardly pays off with motorcycle insurance – in contrast to car insurance, where the suspension discount amounts to considerably more. Ask your insurance provider to find out how high your suspension discount would be and what administrative costs will be deducted. That way you can estimate if it is worth suspending your insurance for the desired period of time in your case.

Autoversicherung

Hinterlegung Kontrollschilder


Hinterlegen Sie die Kontrollschilder beim Strassenverkehrsamt, ruht die Versicherung während dieser sog. Sistierungszeit, bis Sie die Schilder wieder einlösen.

Einzelne der versicherten Risiken bleiben je nach Gesellschaft unter gewissen Bedingungen in Kraft, oft für eine begrenzte Dauer, so z.B. ein Diebstahl aus der Garage. Manche Versicherungen gewähren neben der Haftpflicht- und der Kollisionskaskoversicherung auch auf die Teilkaskoversicherung einen Sistierungsrabatt. Die jeweiligen Allgemeinen Versicherungsbedingungen (AVB) geben hierüber detailliert Auskunft.

Sobald Sie die Schilder wieder einlösen, gewährt Ihnen die Versicherung unter Abzug von administrativen Gebühren einen Rabatt, der sich pro rata temporis berechnet. Einzelne Versicherungen erstatten den Rabatt bereits bei Schilderdeponierung und ermöglichen somit den Versicherungswechsel.



Motorradversicherung

Um sich und den Versicherten den administrativen Aufwand zu ersparen, bieten die meisten Versicherungen in der Motorradversicherung die Möglichkeit von Ganzjahresprämien an, bei denen auf die Sistierung verzichtet wird. Bei diesem Modell erübrigt es sich, die Kontrollschilder in der Winterzeit für wenige Wochen / Monate zu hinterlegen.


Tipp
Der Aufwand bei der Kontrollschildhinterlegung in der Wintersaison lohnt sich bei der Motorradversicherung kaum - anders sieht es bei der Autoversicherung aus. Hier macht der Sistierungsrabatt deutlich mehr aus. Erkundigen Sie sich bei der Versicherung, wie hoch der Sistierungsrabatt und die administrativen Kosten, die davon abgezogen werden, sind. So können Sie abschätzen, ob sich die Sistierung in Ihrem Falle für die gewünschte Dauer lohnt.