TV and streaming

Netflix in Switzerland: 12 questions and answers on series, subscriptions and costs

INFORMATION
|
Thousands of films and series streamed via the Internet – made possible by Netflix. Source: iStock / kasinv

Flat rate for series junkies: Internet users in Switzerland have been able to watch Netflix since September 2014. The popular US streaming service is now used by over 130 million users in 190 countries. comparis.ch answers key questions on subscription plans, pricing and the series and films on offer.

With some 130 million subscribers in 190 countries, Netflix is enjoyed in almost every country in the world. The video platform has been available to consumers in Switzerland since 2014.

comparis.ch answers twelve key questions on the streaming giant:

What is Netflix?

Netflix is a US company that enables its customers to watch films and series via the Internet. It is extremely popular in the US. Indeed, one-third of US Internet traffic is attributable to Netflix users.

In which countries is Netflix available?

Netflix is now available in almost all countries worldwide – 190, to be precise. It is not available in China, the Crimea, North Korea or Syria.

How can I access the series and films (TV/online)?

Netflix is highly flexible. It can be used on modern television sets (smart TVs) with Internet connections. For example, Netflix offers an app for Samsung and Toshiba smart TVs, via which its series and films can be watched.

But you can also watch Netflix if you don't have a television set: the Netflix app is also available for iPad and iPhone and for all Android smartphones and tablets. And if you have an Apple TV box in your living room, you can also use that to access the streaming service. You can even watch Netflix shows via gaming consoles like PS4, Wii U, Wii and XBox 360.

A Netflix app has also been available for the UPC TV Box since December 2016. You can find out more information here.

What content does Netflix offer?

Netflix tends to focus on promoting its own productions, but it also offers other series and films too.

What are the most popular Netflix series?

Here is an overview of some of the most popular series on Netflix.

Popular comedy series on Netflix

  • Orange is the New Black (Netflix production)
  • BoJack Horseman (Netflix production)
  • Suits
  • Master of None (Netflix production)
  • The Kominsky Method (Netflix production)
  • Maniac (Netflix production)
  • The End of the F***ing World (Netflix production)
  • That ‘70s Show
  • Alex Strangelove

Popular thriller series on Netflix

  • Narcos (Netflix production)
  • Breaking Bad
  • Altered Carbon

Popular political series on Netflix

  • The Crown (Netflix production)
  • House of Cards (Netflix production)

Popular action series on Netflix

  • Marco Polo (Netflix production)
  • Daredevil (Netflix production)
  • Arrow

Popular mystery series on Netflix

  • Pretty Little Liars
  • Riverdale (Netflix production)

Popular crime series on Netflix

  • Sons of Anarchy

Popular horror series on Netflix

  • American Horror Story
  • The Haunting (Netflix production)

Popular fantasy series on Netflix

  • Stranger Things (Netflix production)
  • Black Mirror (Netflix production)

Popular documentary series on Netflix

  • The Horn
  • Dark Tourist (Netflix production)
  • Tidying Up with Marie Kondo (Netflix production)
  • FYRE: The Greatest Party That Never Happened (Netflix production)
  • Cowspiracy: The Sustainability Secret
  • Follow This (Netflix production)

What do you think?

Which Netflix series would you recommend? Let us know on Facebook.

Can the series and films be watched in their original languages too?

As a rule, Netflix offers all of its films in the respective original language version. Most of the content is also available dubbed into German or French. Netflix can also be set to play films or series in their original language with German or French subtitles.

How much does Netflix cost in Switzerland?

Netflix customers pay a monthly flat fee. They can then watch as many series and films as they want. Netflix offers different price categories depending on the required resolution and the number of devices on which you can simultaneously stream content.

Netflix subscription prices

Number of devices Resolution Price per month
1 device Standard resolution CHF 11.90
2 devices simultaneously HD resolution CHF 15.90
4 devices simultaneously UHD resolution CHF 19.90

Free one-month trial with Netflix

Netflix offers its customers a free trial month, during which they can test the service. If they decide to subscribe, they do not enter into a long-term contract, but can cancel their subscription at any time.

How do I pay for Netflix?

They can pay by credit card (Visa, MasterCard or American Express) or by PayPal.

What type of Internet connection do I need for Netflix?

As a rule, any Internet connection provided by Swiss companies Swisscom, UPC, Quickline or Sunrise will be suitable. To watch films and programmes in HD quality, customers need an Internet speed of at least 5 MBit/s.

For ultra-HD resolution, customers need an Internet speed of at least 25 MBit/s.

Can I download series and films from Netflix?

You can use Netflix even if you do not have an active Internet connection. At the beginning of December 2016, Netflix launched an offline mode for its Android and iOS apps. To use this service, you will need the latest version of the Netflix smartphone app. Once it is installed, you can download individual series and films onto your device before watching them. Currently, most of the films and series available for download are Netflix original productions. Netflix has however promised to make many more films and series available for download over the coming months.

What are the alternatives to Netflix?

The modern-day practice of downloading several series and films from various sources and download platforms is legal in Switzerland. Commercial alternatives to Netflix include the video-on-demand services offered by Apple TV, Swisscom TV and UPC digital TV. Here, however, users have to pay an individual fee per film.

In Switzerland, an alternative flat-rate plan for films and series, like that offered by Netflix, is available from UPC. Just before Netflix arrived on the Swiss market, UPC launched its MyPrime flat-rate deal. Swisscom’s Teleclub Play is a similar service, but does not yet include original productions.

In mid-December 2016, Amazon Prime Video  also became available for subscription in Switzerland.

What makes Netflix better than its competitors?

Netflix offers a wide range of top-quality original productions. Its political series House of Cards made the service world-famous. Netflix was able to repeat this success with Narcos at the end of 2016. Today, Netflix boasts not just an extensive range of films on demand, but also numerous exclusive original productions. In contrast to competitors such as Amazon Prime Video, Netflix will work on almost all end devices. So regardless of whether you want to watch your film or series on a smart TV, smartphone of any operating system, tablet or games console, Netflix will have an app for it.

Is there advertising on Netflix?

No. The series and films do not feature any advertising breaks and can be stopped and started at any time.

Summary

Netflix is great for film lovers and series junkies. But if you only watch a film or series every now and then, or are happy with what the regular TV channels offer, then it is probably not worth the price. Providers of replay TV such as Zattoo, Wilmaa, Swisscom, Sunrise and UPC also constitute strong competition for Netflix.

What remains strange is that the Netflix website does not inform its readers about the films and series it offers. Only once customers have entered their credit card number can they access this information. But the verdict of the Comparis editorial team? It's worth it.

TV & Streaming

Netflix in der Schweiz: 12 Fragen & Antworten zu Serien, Abo und Kosten

INFO
|
Tausende Filme und Serien über das Internet schauen – Netflix macht's möglich. Bild: iStock / kasinv

Flatrate für Serienjunkies: Seit September 2014 können Internetnutzer Netflix in der Schweiz schauen. Mittlerweile verzeichnet der beliebte US-Streamingdienst über 130 Millionen Nutzer in 190 Ländern. comparis.ch beantwortet wichtige Fragen zu Serienangebot, Abo und Kosten.

Netflix hat mittlerweile in fast allen Ländern der Welt – genauer gesagt in 190 – rund 130 Millionen Nutzer. Bereits seit 2014 können auch die Schweizer Konsumenten vom Angebot des Videoportals profitieren.

comparis.ch beantwortet Ihnen zwölf wichtige Fragen zum Serien-Giganten:

Was ist Netflix?

Netflix ist ein US-amerikanischer Anbieter, der es ermöglicht, über das Internet Filme und Serien zu schauen. In Amerika ist der Streamingdienst sehr populär: Ein Drittel des amerikanischen Datenvolumens geht auf Netflix-Nutzer zurück.

In welchen Ländern ist Netflix verfügbar?

Mittlerweile ist Netflix in fast allen Ländern dieser Welt verfügbar – genauer gesagt in 190. Nicht verfügbar ist Netflix in China, auf der Krim, in Nordkorea und Syrien.

Wie kann ich das Angebot nutzen (TV / online)?

Netflix bietet ein sehr flexibles Angebot. Es ist über moderne Fernsehgeräte (Smart-TV) mit Internetzugang nutzbar. Es gibt zum Beispiel für Smart-TVs von Samsung oder Toshiba eine App von Netflix, die das Anschauen der Serien und Filme erlaubt.

Aber auch ohne Fernsehgerät kann man das Netflix-Angebot nutzen: Für das iPad, das iPhone sowie Tablets und Smartphones mit Android ist die Netflix-App verfügbar. Wer eine Apple-TV-Box im Wohnzimmer hat, kann ebenfalls auf den Streamingdienst zugreifen. Selbst mit Spielkonsolen wie PS4, Wii U, Wii und XBox 360 lässt sich Netflix empfangen.

Seit Dezember 2016 gibt es auch für die Horizon-Box von UPC eine eigene Netflix-App. Hier geht es zur Anleitung.

Wie sieht das Netflix-Angebot aus?

Netflix stellt die selbst produzierten Serien und Filme in den Vordergrund. Aber auch andere Serien und Spielfilme werden angeboten.

Was sind beliebte Serien auf Netflix?

Machen Sie sich hier einen Überblick über die beliebtesten Serien auf Netflix.

Beliebte Comedy-Serien auf Netflix

  • Orange is the New Black (Netflix-Produktion)
  • BoJack Horseman (Netflix-Produktion)
  • Suits
  • Master of None (Netflix-Produktion)
  • The Kominsky Method (Netflix-Produktion)
  • Maniac (Netflix-Produktion)
  • The End of the F***ing World (Netflix-Produktion)
  • Die wilden Siebziger!
  • alex strangelove

Beliebte Thriller-Serien auf Netflix

  • Narcos (Netflix-Produktion)
  • Breaking Bad
  • Altered Carbon – das Unsterblichkeitsprogramm

Beliebte Polit-Serien auf Netflix

  • The Crown (Netflix-Produktion)
  • House of Cards (Netflix-Produktion)

Beliebte Action-Serien auf Netflix

  • Marco Polo (Netflix-Produktion)
  • Marvel's Daredevil (Netflix-Produktion)
  • Arrow

Beliebte Mysterie-Serien auf Netflix

  • Pretty Little Liars
  • Riverdale (Netflix-Produktion)

Beliebte Krimi-Serien auf Netflix

  • Sons of Anarchy

Beliebte Horror-Serien auf Netflix

  • American Horror Story
  • Spuk in Hill House (Netflix-Produktion)

Beliebte Fantasy-Serien auf Netflix

  • Stranger Things (Netflix-Produktion)
  • Black Mirror (Netflix-Produktion)

Beliebte Doku-Serien auf Netflix

  • Das Horn
  • Dark Tourist (Netflix-Produktion)
  • Aufräumen mit Marie Kondo (Netflix-Produktion)
  • FYRE – The greatest Party that never happened (Netflix-Produktion)
  • Cowspiracy: Das Geheimnis der Nachhaltigkeit
  • Follow this (Netflix-Produktion)

Ihre Meinung ist gefragt

Welche Netflix-Serien können Sie empfehlen? Schreiben Sie uns auf Facebook.

Können die Serien und Filme auf Netflix auch in Originalsprache geschaut werden?

Netflix bietet die Filme grundsätzlich in der Originalsprache an. Zudem gibt es viele Inhalte auch in einer deutsch synchronisierten Version. Es ist aber auch möglich, Netflix in Originalsprache mit deutschen Untertiteln zu nutzen.

Wie teuer ist Netflix in der Schweiz?

Das Spezielle bei Netflix: Kunden bezahlen einen monatlichen Pauschalpreis und können beliebig viele Serienfolgen und Filme konsumieren. Netflix unterscheidet die Preise nach Auflösung und Anzahl der Geräte, mit der gleichzeitig auf Netflix zugegriffen werden kann.

Netflix Abo-Preise

Anzahl Geräte Auflösung Preis pro Monat
1 Gerät Standardauflösung CHF 11.90
2 Geräte gleichzeitig HD-Auflösung CHF 15.90
4 Geräte gleichzeitig UHD-Auflösung CHF 19.90

Kostenloser Probemonat bei Netflix

Netflix bietet einen kostenlosen Probemonat an, damit die Konsumenten den Service testen können. Die Kunden gehen später keine langfristigen Verträge ein und können den Vertrag jederzeit kündigen.

Wie kann ich bei Netflix bezahlen?

Bezahlt wird mit einer Kreditkarte von Visa, Mastercard oder American Express oder über Paypal.

Welchen Internet-Anschluss brauche ich für Netflix?

Grundsätzlich reicht ein Internet-Anschluss von einem Schweizer Internet-Provider wie Swisscom, UPC, Quickline oder Sunrise aus. Um Filme in HD-Qualität ansehen zu können, sollte die Geschwindigkeit mindestens 5 MBit/s betragen.

Für Ultra-HD-Auflösung benötigen die Kunden einen Internetanschluss mit einer Geschwindigkeit von mindestens 25 MBit/s.

Kann ich Serien und Filme auf Netflix herunterladen?

Netflix kann seit Anfang Dezember 2016 auch ohne aktive Internet-Verbindung genutzt werden. In der Netflix-App für Android und iOS wurde der Offline-Modus aktiviert. Dazu benötigt man die aktuellste Version der Smartphone-App von Netflix. Dann können Sie einzelne Serien und Filme vor dem Anschauen auf das Gerät herunterladen. Aktuell können vor allem Eigenproduktionen von Netflix heruntergeladen werden. Netflix verspricht, den Offline-Zugang für viele weitere Filme in den kommenden Monaten freizuschalten.

Welche Alternativen gibt es zu Netflix?

Heute laden sich einige Nutzer Serien und Filme aus diversen Quellen und Download-Plattformen im Internet herunter. Dies ist in der Schweiz legal. Von den kommerziellen Angeboten gibt es Video-on-Demand-Dienste, so etwa Apple TV, Swisscom TV oder UPC Digital TV. Allerdings muss man dort für jeden Film einzeln zahlen.

Ein Flatrate-Angebot für Filme und Serien, wie es Netflix bietet, gibt es so in der Schweiz auch bei UPC. UPC lancierte kurz vor dem Schweizer Marktstart von Netflix die Flatrate MyPrime. Swisscom bietet mit Teleclub Play einen ähnlichen Dienst an, der aber bisher ohne Eigenproduktionen auskommen muss.

Amazon Prime Video kann seit Mitte Dezember 2016 auch in der Schweiz abonniert werden.

Was macht Netflix besser als die Konkurrenz ?

Netflix bietet viele hervorragend produzierte Eigenproduktionen. Mit der Polit-Serie «House of Cards» wurde der Dienst weltberühmt. Mit «Narcos» wurde der Erfolg 2016 wiederholt. Heute glänzt Netflix nicht nur mit einem umfassenden Angebot an Filmen, sondern vor allem mit exklusiven, eigenen Inhalten. Im Unterschied zur Konkurrenz, wie zum Beispiel Amazon Prime Video, funktioniert Netflix auf praktisch allen Endgeräten. Egal ob Smart-TV, Smartphones der unterschiedlichsten Plattformen, Tablets oder Game-Konsolen – Netflix hat überall eine eigene App.

Gibt es auf Netflix Werbung?

Nein. Die Serien und Filme laufen ohne Werbung und können vom Konsumenten jederzeit gestartet und unterbrochen werden.

Fazit

Für Filmliebhaber und Serienjunkies ist das Angebot interessant. Wer nur ab und zu einen Film oder eine Serie anschauen möchte, für den lohnt sich das Angebot wohl nicht. Ebensowenig für Personen, die mit dem Fernsehprogramm zufrieden sind. Auch Replay-TV, wie sie Zattoo, Wilmaa, Swisscom, Sunrise oder UPC anbieten, ist eine starke Konkurrenz zu Netflix.

Merkwürdig ist, dass Netflix auf der Website nicht über das Film- und Serienangebot informiert. Erst nach Eingabe der Kreditkartennummer erhalten Interessierte diese wichtige Information. Doch die Meinung der Comparis-Redaktion ist: Es lohnt sich.