Pensions

5 pension mistakes to avoid

TIPS
|
Do you know how much money you’ll need to retire on? Source: iStock / eranicle

With retirement benefits from state and occupational pensions declining steadily, the importance of private pension plans is increasing. Start saving as soon as possible, but don’t rush into signing any agreements. 

The benefits from state and occupational pensions are no longer sufficient for maintaining your standard of living after retirement. That’s why it’s essential to avoid the following 5 pension mistakes

Mistake no. 1: Overestimating pension benefits

With pension benefits at their current level, most people can only expect to achieve around 60 per cent of their employment income when they retire. It’s important to recognize this pension shortfall as soon as possible. Don't underestimate it – make arrangements in good time.

Mistake no. 2: Starting to save too late

Even if retirement is still a long way off, it’s worth starting to save as soon as you can because of the interest rate effect. Even what may seem like small amounts can add up over time. The higher the interest rate and the longer you save, the greater the interest rate effect.

Example

If you start saving 100 francs per month at the age of 25, you will have accumulated 48,000 francs after 40 years. If the interest rate remains steady at around 0.5 per cent, you will have accrued an additional 5,000 francs. 

Mistake no. 3: Not understanding your pension needs

The subject of pensions is complicated and the products offered by banks and insurance companies vary widely. Don't wait too long to address the subject of retirement and look into the products available from banks and insurance companies. Advice from a professional independent adviser may also help. They can propose a suitable solution based on a pension review. This thorough analysis covers your financial, professional and personal situation as well as your future financial requirements.

Mistake no. 4: Signing an agreement in haste

Request quotes from several providers and compare them, as they can vary considerably. Read the terms of the agreement carefully and ask about anything that’s unclear before you sign. 

Mistake no. 5: Failing to exploit tax advantages

Have you decided on pension plan? Then make the most of the tax benefits. Payments into pillar 3a can be deducted from your taxable income.

Important: If you are employed, you can pay in a maximum of 6,768 francs (6,826 in 2019) per year. Self-employed people with no occupational pension can pay in a maximum of 20% of their net income or 33,840 francs (34,128 francs in 2019). 

  

This article might also interest you:

Pillar 3a – when to pay in to save on tax

Vorsorge

5 Fehler bei Ihrer Altersvorsorge

TIPPS
|
Wissen Sie, wieviel Geld Sie im Alter brauchen? Bild: iStock / eranicle

Die Rentenleistungen aus der staatlichen und beruflichen Vorsorge nehmen stetig ab – die Wichtigkeit der privaten Vorsorge steigt. Beginnen Sie frühzeitig mit dem Sparen und schliessen Sie Verträge nicht voreilig ab. 

Mit den Leistungen aus der staatlichen und beruflichen Vorsorge können Sie den gewohnten Lebensstandard nach der Pensionierung nicht mehr erhalten. Vermeiden Sie deshalb diese 5 Fehler bei der Altersvorsorge: 

Fehler Nr. 1: Rentenleistungen überschätzen

In den meisten Fällen können mit den heutigen Rentenleistungen nur rund 60 Prozent des Erwerbseinkommens erzielt werden. Diese sogenannte Vorsorgelücke gilt es frühzeitig zu erkennen. Unterschätzen Sie diese Lücke nicht und ergreifen Sie rechtzeitig Massnahmen.

Fehler Nr. 2: Zu spät mit Sparen anfangen

Auch wenn Ihre Pensionierung noch weit weg ist: Dank dem Zinseszins-Effekt lohnt sich das frühe Sparen. Vermeintlich kleine Sparbeträge summieren sich über die Zeit. Je höher der Zins und je länger die Sparzeit, desto grösser der Zinseszins-Effekt.

Beispiel

Wenn Sie ab dem 25. Altersjahr monatlich 100 Franken zur Seite legen, haben Sie nach 40 Jahren 48'000 Franken gespart. Bei einem konstanten Zinssatz von etwa 0,5 Prozent kommen 5'000 Franken Zinsen hinzu. 

Fehler Nr. 3: Vorsorgebedarf nicht kennen

Das Thema Vorsorge ist kompliziert und die Angebote von Banken und Versicherungen sehr vielfältig. Befassen Sie sich frühzeitig mit dem Thema und den Produkten von Banken und Versicherungen. Eine kompetente und unabhängige Beratung kann Ihnen dabei helfen. Basierend auf einer Vorsorgeanalyse entwickelt Ihr Berater passende Vorschläge. Die fundierte Analyse umfasst Ihre finanzielle, berufliche und familiäre Situation sowie Ihre finanziellen Bedürfnisse.

Fehler Nr. 4: Verträge voreilig abschliessen

Holen Sie Offerten von mehreren Anbietern ein und vergleichen Sie die Angebote. Diese unterscheiden sich teilweise erheblich. Lesen Sie die Vertragsbestimmungen sorgfältig durch und klären Sie Unklarheiten vor Vertragsunterzeichnung. 

Fehler Nr. 5: Steuervorteile nicht nutzen

Haben Sie sich für eine Vorsorgelösung entschieden? Dann nutzen Sie die Steuervorteile. Einzahlungen in die Säule 3a dürfen Sie vom steuerbaren Einkommen abziehen.

Wichtig: Sie dürfen als Arbeitnehmer maximal 6'768 Franken (ab 2019: 6'826 Franken) im Jahr einzahlen. Bei Selbstständigerwerbenden ohne Pensionskasse liegt der Maximalbetrag bei 20% des Nettoeinkommens bzw. 33'840 Franken (ab 2019: 34'128 Franken ). 

  

Diese Artikel könnten Sie ebenfalls interessieren:

Säule 3a: Selbst kleine Beiträge lohnen sich
Säule 3a: Bis wann sollte ich einzahlen, um Steuern zu sparen?
Vorsorge bei Teilzeitarbeit: wichtige Tipps