Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

Loans & mortgagesPersonal loansLoan GuideEligibility criteria
Personal loans – conditions and risk factors

Personal loan eligibility criteria

How do banks and lenders rate their clients when it comes to personal loan applications? You must fulfil a range of requirements in order to be approved for a loan in Switzerland. Find out more about the most important criteria for having your loan application accepted and how you can improve your eligibility.

In this article:

  • The eligibility criteria applicable to loans
  • The factors influencing the rates and conditions offered
  • How to improve your chances of being approved for a loan

Know this already? Click here to submit a loan enquiry

Loan eligibility criteria in Switzerland

You are considering taking out a loan to finance a house move or car purchase, for instance, but are unsure of the requirements? The interest rate and conditions you will be offered depend on the lender’s own specific criteria. The main criteria include age, employment, debt collection orders, credit standing, residence permit and child maintenance / alimony payments. If a loan application is rejected, an entry is recorded in the database of the ZEK (Central Office for Credit Information), which can make it more difficult to be approved for a loan in the future. That’s why it's important to familiarize yourself with the key requirements for a successful loan application. Here's an overview of the most important criteria:

Credit capacity

The main criterion for being approved for a consumer loan is your credit capacity or credit rating, as defined in the Consumer Credit Act.

  • Definition of consumer loan: according to the Consumer Credit Act (KKG), a consumer loan is a loan of between CHF 550 and CHF 80,000 offered by commercial providers of financial services. Lower or higher amounts are not subject to the Consumer Credit Act.
  • Lenders subject to the Consumer Credit Act: providers of peer-to-peer loans have also been subject to the Consumer Credit Act since April 2019.
  • Legal requirements: the Consumer Credit Act stipulates that a borrower must be capable of paying back a loan. This means that a loan can only be approved if the borrower is in a position to repay the loan amount, including interest, within 36 months using the attachable portion of their income. This also applies if a longer loan term is chosen.

Age

You may not be approved for a loan if you are too old or too young.

  • Minors: persons under 18 years of age may not take out a loan in Switzerland.
  • Persons under 25 years of age: additional restrictions may apply to applicants under the age of 25, such as a higher interest rate or a limited loan amount. Lenders are generally more cautious with young applicants because their financial circumstances are usually less settled and the risk of default is deemed to be higher.
  • Pensioners: it is difficult to get a loan after retirement. This is because pensioners have no regular – and therefore no attachable – income. The OASI (AHV/AVS) pension is not attachable and therefore does not count as income here. Secured loans are a different matter and may be a feasible alternative for homeowners, for example. Older borrowers are also often required to repay their loan by a particular age. Conditions vary from lender to lender.

Employment status

Basically, a distinction is made between persons with and persons without a regular income. The latter include temporary employees, self-employed people and those employed on an hourly basis.

  • Employees with a permanent contract: you are only eligible for a loan if you have proof of income and have already successfully completed your trial period with your new employer. If you have only recently been hired as an employee, you may have to accept higher interest rates or less favourable conditions. If you have been working for the same employer for a long time and have a permanent contract, you will generally be offered lower interest rates.
  • Employees with a temporary contract: temporary employees can usually get a loan but can expect to pay higher interest rates.
  • Self-employed persons: in Switzerland, self-employed persons are those registered a sole proprietor, an AG/SA or a GmbH/SARL. It is not easy for self-employed people to obtain a loan but it is theoretically possible. For various reasons, lenders exercise caution when it comes to offering standard consumer loans to self-employed people. The main reason is that their income is irregular and less predictable than the salary of an employed person.
  • Those employed on an hourly basis: people employed on an hourly basis cannot usually obtain a loan if they cannot prove they have a regular income over a long period.

In short:

If you have a long-term, regular income, your chances of a positive response to your loan application are better than for those with highly irregular incomes.

A highly irregular income can also have a negative effect on the interest rates and conditions offered. The same applies to those receiving commission-based pay.

Calculate credit limit

Debt collection orders / bankruptcy

Anyone who has filed for bankruptcy will not be eligible for a loan. Even debt collection orders that have been settled will negatively affect loan applications.

  • Open debt collection orders: anyone with open debt collection orders has little chance of obtaining a loan. Debt collection orders signal a greater risk that the loan won't be repaid and therefore damage a person's creditworthiness. However, applicants with a single debt collection order may be considered by some lenders on a case-by-case basis.
  • Settled debt collection orders: lenders generally classify loan applicants with past debt collection orders as high-risk. This applies even if the orders have been settled, as the applicants are deemed to have a poor payment history. Nevertheless, a loan is not out of the question. It depends on the quantity, type and the amounts owed in each case, and when the orders were settled. In other words, settled debt collection orders are considered on a case-by-case basis, but tend to have a negative effect on the conditions offered.
  • Bankruptcy / seizure of assets: if you have filed for bankruptcy or had assets seized, you will not be able to get a loan.

Credit standing

If you are rated as financially trustworthy, you will be offered a lower interest rate.

  • Credit standing and creditworthiness:credit standing or creditworthiness refers to the likelihood of a customer repaying a loan. This requires an assessment of the customer's financial trustworthiness. To this end, lenders consider the customer’s payment history, including current and past lease agreements, outstanding debts and debt collection orders and proceedings.
  • Credit databases and agencies: lenders source their information from credit databases, the Central Office for Credit Information (ZEK), debt collection offices and residents' registration offices. In Switzerland, there are four major credit agencies that collect and provide credit data: CRIF, Intrum Justitia, Bisnode and Creditreform. Only those with a legitimate interest are entitled to request data from these agencies.
  • Interest amount: the default risk determines whether and under what conditions a loan will be offered. Generally speaking, if a lender rates a client as risky, the interest rate will be higher. If the default risk is low, the interest rate is usually also low.

Residence permit

If you do not have citizenship in Switzerland or Liechtenstein, the type of residence permit you have will affect your chances of getting a loan.

  • Settlement permit C: most lenders accept a C permit.
  • Residence permit B: if you have a B permit, you might only be approved for a loan after a certain time has elapsed since the date of issue. This varies from lender to lender. You may be offered a higher interest rate or a limited loan amount. This is because of the statistically higher probability that you will return to your home country. Some lenders require the loan to be repaid by the time the B permit expires.
  • Residence permits G & L: these permits are not usually accepted.

Child maintenance / alimony

Lenders also take into account the issue of whether you have children and pay or receive maintenance payments. How this affects your chances of a loan and the interest rate offered depends on other financial factors, especially your income.

  • Child maintenance paid: alimony or maintenance payments count as part of your monthly outgoings and must be taken into account by the lender when calculating your credit capacity.
  • Child maintenance received: lenders often don’t class receipt of maintenance payments as income, as these payments are usually not, or only partially, attachable.
  • Income and children: child maintenance payments are included as income or expenditure in the budget. But the children themselves also affect the income and expenditure situation of a household and are therefore also included in the detailed budget review.

How to improve your chances of being approved for a loan

Whether you will be offered a loan, and at what rates and conditions, depends on various factors. The most common have already been discussed in this article. In addition, lenders specify their own additional criteria, which are not necessarily communicated to customers or the general public for security reasons. It is therefore difficult for borrowers to gauge their personal chances of success and select the right lender to apply to. Simply sending off applications to one or more lenders on the off chance means you risk not being approved. Around half of all loan applications in Switzerland are rejected. Every rejected loan application is registered with the ZEK and can be viewed, along with the reason for rejection, by member lenders for a period of two years. This can negatively impact your chances of obtaining a loan in the future. However, the reason for the rejection is not usually communicated to the borrower. As open applications are also registered with ZEK, lenders will know if you have submitted multiple applications at the same time. This may also reduce your chances of success.

Caution advised: loan rejections are recorded with the ZEK and may reduce your chances of being approved in the future.

If you want to submit your application to the lender most likely to accept it, Credaris, a partner service of Comparis, would be pleased to help. The experts at Credaris will review your enquiry free of charge and with no obligation, and submit an application to a lender with your approval. This way, you benefit from specialist expertise and experience and receive recommendations on the loan that’s best for you. This increases your chances of a positive outcome and significantly reduces the risk of negative entries being recorded at the ZEK.

Find the best loan now


Personal loans – quickly, safely and with no obligation

Our experts can negotiate the best rates for you.
Find the best deal now

Privatkredit – Voraussetzungen und Risikofaktoren

Kriterien zur Aufnahme eines Privatkredites


Wie bewerten Banken und Kreditanbieter ihre Kunden, wenn es um einen Privatkredit geht? Verschiedene Voraussetzungen müssen erfüllt sein, um in der Schweiz einen Kredit zu erhalten. Erfahren Sie mehr über die wichtigsten Kriterien für die Kreditaufnahme und wie Sie Ihre Chancen auf eine Zusage erhöhen.

Lesen Sie hier:
  • Welche Voraussetzungen für einen Kredit gelten
  • Welche Aspekte Ihre Zinsen und Konditionen beeinflussen
  • Wie Sie Ihre Chancen auf einen Kredit verbessern

Bereits informiert? Hier geht's direkt zur Kreditanfrage

Voraussetzungen für einen Kredit in der Schweiz

Sie erwägen einen Kredit, um beispielsweise einen Umzug oder ein Auto zu finanzieren, kennen die Voraussetzungen jedoch nicht? Welchen Zins und welche Konditionen eine Bank Ihnen gibt, hängt von deren Anforderungen ab. Zu den wichtigsten Kriterien gehören Alter, Erwerbstätigkeit, Betreibungen, Bonität, Aufenthaltsbewilligung und Alimente. Wird ein Kreditantrag abgelehnt, führt dies zu einem Eintrag in der Datenbank der ZEK (Zentralstelle für Kreditinformation), was eine zukünftige Kreditaufnahme erschweren kann. Deshalb ist es wichtig, die entscheidenden Voraussetzungen für einen erfolgreichen Kreditantrag zu kennen. Hier eine Übersicht über die wichtigsten Vergabe-Kriterien:

Kreditfähigkeit

Voraussetzung für den Erhalt eines Kredits ist in erster Linie die Kreditfähigkeit gemäss Konsumkreditgesetz.

  • Konsumkredit Definition: Als Konsumkredit gelten gemäss Konsumkreditgesetz (KKG) Kredite von betrieblichen Anbietern und Finanzdienstleistungen, sofern die Kreditsumme mehr als CHF 500 und weniger als CHF 80'000 beträgt. Tiefere oder höhere Beträge fallen entsprechend nicht unter das KKG.
  • Anbieter gemäss KKG: Seit April 2019 sind auch Anbieter von Peer-to-Peer-Krediten dem KKG unterstellt.
  • Gesetzliche Voraussetzungen: Gemäss KKG muss ein Kreditnehmer kreditfähig sein. Das heisst, ein Kredit darf nur dann vergeben werden, wenn dieser in der Lage ist, den Kreditbetrag inklusive Zinsen mit dem pfändbaren Teil des Einkommens innert 36 Monaten inklusive Zinsen abzahlen kann. Dies gilt auch, wenn eine längere Laufzeit gewählt wird.

Alter

Wer zu alt oder zu jung ist, bekommt unter Umständen keinen Kredit.

  • Minderjährige: Personen unter 18 Jahren dürfen in der Schweiz keine Kredite vergeben werden.
  • Bis zu 25 Jahren: Für Antragssteller bis zum Alter von 25 Jahren gelten möglicherweise zusätzliche Restriktionen, zum Beispiel ein erhöhter Zins oder Limit des möglichen Kreditbetrags. Bei jungen Antragsstellern sind die Banken generell zurückhaltender, weil die finanziellen Verhältnisse in der Regel noch nicht so gefestigt sind und das Ausfallrisiko demnach höher bewertet wird.
  • Pensionierte: Nach der Pensionierung ist es schwierig, einen Kredit zu erhalten. Grund: Es gibt kein regelmässiges und damit kein pfändbares Einkommen. Die AHV-Rente ist nicht pfändbar und darf somit nicht als Einkommen angerechnet werden. Davon ausgenommen sind pfandgesicherte Kredite, welche beispielsweise für Eigenheimbesitzer eine Alternative sein können. Bei älteren Kreditnehmern wird zudem häufig die Rückzahlung des Kredites bis zu einem definierten Alter gefordert. Die Handhabung variiert von Anbieter zu Anbieter.

Erwerbstätigkeit

Grundsätzlich wird zwischen Personen mit regelmässigem oder ohne regelmässiges Einkommen unterschieden. Zu der zweiten Kategorie zählen temporär Angestellte, Selbstständige sowie Angestellte im Stundenlohn.

  • Unbefristet Angestellte: Einen Kredit bekommt nur, wer ein Einkommen nachweist und auch mindestens die Probezeit beim neuen Arbeitgeber bestanden hat. Wer erst seit Kurzem bei einem Arbeitgeber angestellt ist, muss unter Umständen mit höheren Zinsen bzw. ungünstigeren Konditionen rechnen. Wenn Sie längere Zeit beim gleichen Arbeitgeber beschäftigt und unbefristet angestellt sind, wirkt sich das tendenziell positiv auf den Zins aus.
  • Temporär & befristet Angestellte: Haben Chancen auf einen Kredit, müssen jedoch mit höheren Zinsen rechnen.
  • Selbstständige: Als Selbstständige gelten in der Schweiz Personen mit einer Einzelfirma sowie Gesellschafter einer AG oder einer Gesellschaft mit beschränkter Haftung (GmbH). Für Selbstständige ist es nicht einfach, eine Kreditzusage zu erhalten, aber grundsätzlich möglich. Die Finanzinstitute sind bei Selbstständigen mit der Vergabe regulärer Privatkredite aus verschiedenen Gründen zurückhaltend. Der wichtigste: Die Einkünfte schwanken und sind weniger planbar als das Gehalt von Angestellten.
  • Angestellte auf Stundenbasis: Erhalten in der Regel keinen Kredit, wenn kein konstantes Einkommen über längere Zeit nachweisbar ist.

Das Wichtigste in Kürze:

Wer über längere Zeit ein regelmässiges Einkommen bezieht, hat bessere Chancen auf einen positiven Kreditbescheid als Personen mit stark schwankenden Einkünften.

Ein stark schwankendes Einkommen kann sich auch negativ auf die Konditionen und die Höhe des Zinses auswirken; etwa bei Arbeit auf Provisionsbasis.

Kreditrahmen berechnen

Betreibungen / Konkurs

Wer schon Konkurs anmelden musste, erhält keinen Kredit. Auch bezahlte Betreibungen wirken sich negativ für die Antragssteller aus.

  • Offene Betreibungen: Mit offenen Betreibungen ist die Chance, einen Kredit zu erhalten, tief. Betreibungen beschädigen die Kreditwürdigkeit und steigern somit das Risiko, dass ein Kredit nicht zurückbezahlt wird. Im Falle einer einzelnen Betreibung prüfen einige Institute jedoch den konkreten Fall.
  • Bezahlte Betreibungen: Banken stufen Kreditantragsteller mit vergangenen Betreibungen allgemein als höheres Risiko ein. Auch, wenn diese bezahlt wurden, da die Zahlungsmoral als niedriger eingestuft wird. Eine Kreditzusage ist jedoch denkbar und hängt dann stark von Menge, Art und Höhe der Betreibungen sowie dem Zeitpunkt der Begleichung ab. Bezahlte Betreibungen werden also individuell bewertet, wirken sich auf die Konditionen aber nachteilig aus.
  • Konkurs / Pfändungen: Wenn Sie schon einmal gepfändet wurden oder Konkurs anmelden mussten, erhalten Sie keinen Kredit.

Bonität

Wer als finanziell vertrauenswürdig eingestuft wird, erhält einen tieferen Zins.

  • Bonität & Kreditwürdigkeit: Die Bonität oder Kreditwürdigkeit beschreibt die Wahrscheinlichkeit, mit der eine Kundin oder ein Kunde einen Kredit zurückzahlt. Dazu wird die finanzielle Vertrauenswürdigkeit des Kunden beurteilt. Dies umfasst das bisherige Zahlungsverhalten, auch bei laufenden oder abgeschlossenen Leasingverträgen, offene Verbindlichkeiten sowie Betreibungen und Inkassomassnahmen.
  • Bonitätsdatenbanken & Auskunfteien: Kreditanbieter holen diese Informationen bei Bonitätsdatenbanken, der Zentralstelle für Kreditinformation (ZEK) sowie Betreibungsämtern und Einwohnerkontrollen ein. In der Schweiz gibt es vier grosse Auskunfteien, die Bonitätsdaten sammeln und anbieten: CRIF, Intrum Justitia, Bisnode und Creditreform. Die dort gesammelten Daten werden nur bei berechtigtem Interesse abgefragt.
  • Zinshöhe: Das Ausfallrisiko bestimmt, ob und zu welchen Konditionen ein Kredit vergeben wird. Allgemein gilt: Stuft die Bank den Kunden als riskant ein, erhöht sich der Kreditzins. Wird das Ausfallrisiko als niedrig bewertet, ist auch der Zins in der Regel niedriger.

Aufenthaltsbewilligung

Wenn Sie keine Staatsbürgerschaft in der Schweiz oder Liechtenstein besitzen, hat Ihr Aufenthaltstitel Einfluss auf die Kreditvergabe.

  • Niederlassungsbewilligung C: Die meisten Kreditanbieter akzeptieren eine Niederlassungsbewilligung C.
  • Niederlassungsbewilligung B: Mit einem B-Ausweis ist eine Kreditvergabe oft nur nach einer bestimmten Frist nach Ausstellungsdatum möglich. Diese unterscheidet sich je nach Bank. Unter Umständen wird der Zins erhöht oder es gibt eine Einschränkung der Kredithöhe. Dies geschieht aufgrund der statistisch höheren Möglichkeit, dass die Antragstellerin oder der Antragssteller in das Ursprungsland zurückreist. Bei einzelnen Banken muss der Kredit bis zum Ablauf des B-Ausweises zurückbezahlt werden.
  • Niederlassungsbewilligungen G & L: Werden in der Regel nicht akzeptiert.

Alimente

Ob Sie Kinder haben und Alimente zahlen oder erhalten fliesst ebenfalls in die Beurteilung des Kreditanbieters ein. Wie sich dies auf Ihre Kreditchancen und den Zins auswirkt, hängt von Ihren weiteren finanziellen Rahmenbedingungen ab, insbesondere von Ihrem Einkommen.

  • Bezahlte Alimente: Alimente bzw. Unterhaltsbeiträge zählen zu den monatlichen Ausgaben und müssen vom Kreditinstitut zwingend für die Berechnung der Kreditfähigkeit berücksichtigt werden.
  • Empfangene Alimente: Werden von den Banken oft nicht als Einkommen anerkannt, da diese in der Regel nicht oder nur teilweise pfändbar sind.
  • Einkommen & Kinder: Alimente werden als Ausgaben und Einnahmen im Budget berücksichtigt. Aber auch Kinder beeinflussen die Einnahmen- und Ausgabensituation eines Haushalts und fliessen daher ebenfalls in die detaillierte Budget-Prüfung mit ein.

So verbessern Sie Ihre Chancen auf einen Kredit

Ob und zu welchen Konditionen und Zinsen Sie einen Kredit erhalten, hängt von diversen Kriterien ab. Die häufigsten davon wurden in diesem Artikel bereits erläutert. Darüber hinaus stellen Kreditanbieter und Banken zusätzliche, eigene Anforderungen, die aus Sicherheitsgründen nur teilweise an Kunden oder die Öffentlichkeit kommuniziert werden. Für Kreditnehmer ist es deshalb schwierig, die eigenen Chancen abzuschätzen und beim passenden Anbieter eine Antrag zu stellen. Aufs Geratewohl bei einem oder mehreren Anbietern einen Kredit zu beantragen birgt entsprechend das Risiko, diesen nicht zu erhalten. Denn: Etwa die Hälfte aller Kreditanträge in der Schweiz werden abgelehnt. Jeder abgelehnte Kreditantrag wird bei der ZEK gespeichert und ist während zwei Jahren für die angeschlossenen Institute inklusive Ablehnungsgrund sichtbar. Dies kann Ihre Chancen auf einen zukünftigen Kredit negativ beeinflussen. Dem Kreditnehmer selber wird der Grund für die Ablehnung jedoch meist nicht kommuniziert. Da auch laufende Anträge der ZEK gemeldet werden, ist für Kreditanbieter sichtbar, wenn Sie parallel mehrere Anträge stellen. Auch dies kann Ihre Chancen möglicherweise beeinträchtigen.

Vorsicht: Kreditabsagen werden bei der ZEK erfasst und können Ihre Chancen auf einen zukünftigen Kredit beeinträchtigen.

Wenn Sie Ihren Antrag bei dem Anbieter platzieren wollen, wo Sie die besten Chancen auf einen Kredit haben, unterstützt Sie dabei Credaris, ein Partner-Service von comparis.ch. Die Experten von Credaris prüfen Ihre Anfrage und Daten kostenlos und unverbindlich, bevor in Absprache mit Ihnen ein Kreditantrag bei einer Bank platziert wird. So profitieren Sie vom Know-how und der Erfahrung der Experten und erhalten Empfehlungen zum passenden Kredit. Dadurch werden Ihre Chancen auf einen positiven Bescheid gesteigert und das Risiko auf negative ZEK-Einträge deutlich verringert.

Jetzt besten Kredit finden


Fordern Sie Ihr persönliches Angebot an

Credaris, ein Partner-Service von comparis.ch, vergleicht alle Anbieter für Sie – unverbindlich und kostenlos.

Passendes Angebot finden


Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: