Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Insurance

Comparis

Menu

Loans & mortgagesPersonal loansWhat is a loan

What is a loan? Everything you need to know

What are the rules for personal loans in Switzerland? Who can issue loans? What organizations are involved? Comparis sheds light on the matter.

Overview:

  • What are the different types of loans?
  • Definition of a loan
  • Who can issue personal loans in Switzerland
  • How the loan process works

Loans – a brief description

Loans refer to a payment made by a creditor to a borrower: for personal loans, this involves lending out money. Loans are awarded based on predefined conditions (e.g. costs, repayment terms) and have to be paid back within a certain period of time. Loans can be either secured or unsecured.

Normally there are two parties involved in issuing a loan: the borrower who receives the money and therefore becomes the debtor, and the creditor who lends out the money. There are various types of creditors, usually banks or bank-like institutions.


What are the different types of loans?

The two most relevant factors for categorizing loans are:

  • Whether the borrower is a company or a private individual
  • Whether the loan is secured or unsecured

Business loans can be broken down into short-term operating loans and long-term investment loans.

The following are examples of loans for private individuals:

Personal loans can be distinguished as follows:

  • Consumer credit: personal loans regulated by the Consumer Credit Act
  • Small or payday loans: colloquial terms without a precise definition
  • Student loans: Splendit student loans (not regulated by the Consumer Credit Act)
  • For continuing education: Cashgate Career
  • Loans for renovating property

You may encounter the following marketing terms in the context of loans:

  • Online loans, for which (most of) the loan application process is completed online. These are normal personal loans/consumer loans.
  • Instant loans – usually a misleading advertising term. Instant loans are not available in Switzerland as lenders are required by law to run thorough checks on potential borrowers.

Personal loans: definition and basics

There will be different legal and formal requirements depending on the type of loan in question. Loan agreements between private individuals are valid even without a contract and are regulated by the Swiss Debt Collection and Bankruptcy Act (SchKG).

Consumer loans on the other hand, are subject to extensive legal and organizational requirements defined by various agencies:

  • Swiss Federal Act on Consumer Credit (Consumer Credit Act)
  • Based on Article 36a of the Consumer Credit Act, members of the Swiss Consumer Finance Association have agreed to self-regulate and have signed an agreement prohibiting aggressive advertisement.
  • The Ordinance to the Consumer Credit Act stipulates that the Swiss Federal Department of Justice and Police (FDJP) shall set the maximum interest rate for consumer loans.
  • Loan granting practices are also governed by the Unfair Competition Act (in German, French and Italian only).
  • As financial intermediaries, lenders are also subject to the provisions of the Anti-Money Laundering Act (AMLA).
  • The Information Centre for Consumer Credit (IKO), a federal body based on the Consumer Credit Act
  • Central Office for Credit Information (ZEK), which collects and provides information on the credit histories of private individuals and legal entities

Main components of a personal loan

  • Loan amount: this is the amount of money taken out by the borrower.
  • Effective annual interest rate: the effective annual interest rate must be stated in the consumer credit agreement. It expresses the loan costs for the personal loan in terms of an annual percentage, which must include all the loan costs. If this is not possible, these costs must be listed separately.
  • Repayment term: the agreed period within which a loan must be repaid. In Switzerland, repayment terms range from 6 to 120 months depending on the lender. The longer the repayment term, the more expensive the loan. Good to know: in Switzerland, borrowers always have the right to pay more than the agreed minimum instalment or to repay the loan in full before the end of the repayment term. This reduces the cost of the loan for the borrower.
  • Repayment/amortization: the total cost of a loan is based on the repayment term, interest rate and loan amount. These costs are divided into monthly instalments that are paid back over the agreed repayment term. Each monthly instalment consists of interest costs and amortization. The interest portion of your monthly instalments will be highest at the beginning of the repayment term.

When does it make sense to take out a loan?

People often take out loans due to changes in their life circumstances. What does this mean? It could mean making a necessary purchase like a car or fulfilling a long-held dream without clearing out your savings account.

Loans are basically appropriate for situations such as the following:

  • Getting through temporary financial difficulties
  • When you need additional funds quickly and don't have time to save
  • Making long-term purchases such as furniture or a car
  • Investing in your future, such as by taking a continuing education course
  • If you have stable income but need to preserve your savings

Loans should be avoided in these cases:

  • For ongoing financial difficulties that a loan would only postpone
  • For non-durable goods or leisure activities and holidays
  • For non-essential products that far exceed your means
Read more about car loans


Who can issue loans in Switzerland?

Swiss law distinguishes between commercial lending and non-commercial lending.

Financial institutions, credit institutions, banks: in Switzerland, banks are the most common commercial lenders issuing loans to private individuals, whether it's a full service bank, a separate business unit of a bank, a specialized lending bank or a dedicated credit institution.

Crowdlending institutions: with respect to personal, business and real estate loans, the total loan volume issued by crowdlenders has been growing sharply year by year. Crowdlending platforms act as brokers between lenders and borrowers. In this case, lenders are either private individuals or institutional investors (companies). Although crowdlending platforms do not issue loans themselves, they are still subject to the provisions of the Consumer Credit Act when handling personal loans.

Credit brokers: credit brokers are private individuals or legal entities that provide commercial brokerage services for personal loans. This means that they do not award loans themselves, but rather advise clients on their options and manage the lending process between the bank and the borrower. Credaris, a partner service of Comparis, is one example of a credit broker. Here you can find out more about the process and the benefits of using such a service.

Your next steps:

Calculate maximum loan amount
Find out how much you could borrow according to the Consumer Credit Act.

Get an overview of the lending market
Compare possible interest rates and lenders in Switzerland.

Apply for your loan
Once you've decided to take out a loan, click here to start your application.


Important criteria for consumer loans

How interest rates and loan costs are determined

Lenders carry out thorough credit checks to determine whether to extend credit and at what interest rate.

All the costs directly associated with the loan must be included in the effective annual interest rate. This means that there can be no additional costs beyond the monthly instalment agreed in the contract. This excludes extra, purely administrative expenses such as payment reminders and additional account statements. Costs associated with optional loan insurance are also usually listed separately.

Minimum and maximum loan amounts in Switzerland

In Switzerland, loans range from 1,000 to 250,000 francs – very occasionally more. Possible loan amounts vary from one lender to another. Loan amounts between 500 and 80,000 francs are considered to be consumer loans and are subject to the relevant provisions of the Consumer Credit Act.

Repayment terms

In Switzerland, repayment terms range from 6 to 120 months, with the maximum periods varying according to the lender. Loans with repayment terms of less than three months are not regulated by the Consumer Credit Act.

Credit check

All applicants will be checked thoroughly before being awarded a loan. This credit capacity check is mandated by law for consumer loans. Find out more about eligibility criteria and credit checks.

Right of withdrawal for consumer loans

The Consumer Credit Act aims to protect borrowers. Part of this protection is the 14-day cooling-off period in which they may withdraw from their personal loan agreement. This is why consumer loans are only paid out two weeks after the contract is signed, once the cooling-off period is over. Non-consumer loans can be paid out without this waiting period.

Considering taking out a loan?

Lending in Switzerland is governed by strict consumer protection regulations. Lenders have to adhere to strict guidelines when extending credit, and apply extensive eligibility and risk criteria of their own when evaluating loan applications. To guard against fraud, these criteria are not made known to the public. This means that it is not always possible to gauge your chances of being approved for a loan by a specific lender. Approximately 50% of all loan applications are rejected.

Credaris, a partner service of Comparis, will help you compare loan options and show you which lender is most likely to grant you a loan and at what conditions. By submitting a free, non-binding loan enquiry to Credaris, you can boost your chances of being approved for a loan by over 50% compared to applying directly to a lender.


Submit loan enquiry now

Approval of a loan is forbidden by law if it would lead to over-indebtedness (Art. 3 UWG).

Back to top

Newsletter

Stay up-to-date with the latest savings deals as well as expert tips on health, money and tax.

By registering, I agree to my data being processed in accordance with the data privacy statement of comparis.ch.

comparis.ch
  • About Comparis

  • Career

Social Media
Language
  • DE
  • FR
  • IT
  • EN
  • Contact
  • Data privacy protection
  • Legal information
  • Credits

© 1996–2021 comparis.ch AG, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zurich, +41 44 360 52 62

Comparis
Newsletter
de

Versicherungen

Auto & Motorrad

Immobilien

Kredit & Hypotheken

Preisvergleich

Gesundheit & Altersvorsorge

Weitere Services

Comparis

Menü

Kredit & HypothekenPrivatkreditWas ist ein Kredit

Was ist ein Kredit? Alles, was Sie wissen müssen

Wie sind Kredite für Privatpersonen in der Schweiz geregelt, wer vergibt Kredite und welche Organisationen spielen dabei eine Rolle? Comparis klärt auf.

Übersicht:

  • Welche Arten von Krediten gibt es?
  • Definition von Kredit
  • Wer in der Schweiz Kredite an Privatpersonen vergibt
  • Wie der Kreditprozess funktioniert

Kredit kurz erklärt

Ein Kredit bezeichnet eine Leistung eines Kreditgebers an einen Kreditnehmer. Bei Krediten an Privatpersonen handelt es sich dabei um die Verleihung von Geld. Kredite werden zu zuvor definierten Konditionen – Kosten und Bedingungen, beispielsweise für die Rückzahlung – vergeben und sind zeitlich begrenzt. Es wird zwischen pfandgesicherten und Blanko-Krediten (ungesichert) unterschieden.

Üblicherweise sind an einer Kreditvergabe zwei Parteien beteiligt: Der Kreditnehmer leiht den Betrag und ist somit der Schuldner. Der Gläubiger ist der Verleiher des Geldes. Es gibt verschiedene Arten von Kreditgebern. In den meisten Fällen handelt es sich dabei um banknahe Institute.


Welche Arten von Krediten gibt es?

Die wichtigsten beiden Unterscheidungen für die Kategorisierung von Krediten sind:

  • Der Kreditnehmer ist ein Unternehmen oder eine Privatperson
  • Der Kredit ist pfandgesichert oder ungesichert

Unternehmenskredite werden unterschieden nach kurzfristigen Betriebskrediten und langfristigen Investitionskrediten.

Zu den Kreditarten für Privatpersonen gehören:

  • Hypotheken (besichert mit Immobilie)
  • Lombardkredit: Belehnung von leicht verflüssigbaren Vermögenswerten; häufig Wertschriften (besichert)
  • Darlehen
  • Kontokorrentkredit (Überziehungslimite)
  • Kreditkarten und Kundenkarten
  • Peer-to-Peer-Kredit
  • Privatkredit

Im Zusammenhang mit Privatkrediten sind die folgenden Unterscheidungen zusätzlich relevant:

  • Konsumkredit: ein Privatkredit, der unter das Konsumkreditgesetz fällt
  • Kleinkredit als umgangssprachliche Bezeichnung ohne eigene Definition
  • Zweckgebundene Kredite für Aus- oder Weiterbildung: Splendit-Ausbildungskredite (fallen nicht unter das KKG)
  • Für Weiterbildungen: Cashgate Career
  • Die Renovation einer Immobilie

Um reine Marketingversprechungen handelt es sich bei folgenden Begriffen:

  • Online-Kredit, der eine (grösstenteils) digitale Abwicklung des Antragsprozesses bezeichnet. Es handelt sich dabei um einen normalen Privatkredit bzw. Konsumkredit.
  • Sofortkredit – ein meist unseriös eingesetzter Marketingausdruck. Aufgrund der Verpflichtung zur umfassenden Prüfung des Kreditnehmers gibt es in der Schweiz keine Sofortkredite.

Privatkredit: Definition und Grundlagen

Je nach Typ des Kredits gelten unterschiedliche gesetzliche Vorgaben und Formvorschriften. Ein Darlehensvertrag zwischen Privatpersonen ist formlos (ohne Vertrag) gültig und im Bundesgesetz über Schuldbetreibung und Konkurs (SchKG) geregelt.

Für die Vergabe und Bewilligung von Konsumkrediten gelten dagegen weitreichende gesetzliche Vorschriften oder organisatorische Vorgaben verschiedener Akteure:

  • Das Bundesgesetz über den Konsumkredit (Konsumkreditgesetz KKG)
  • Zur Konkretisierung von KKG-Artikel 36a: Die Werbekonvention als Grundlage der Selbstregulierung der Mitglieder des Verbands Konsumfinanzierung Schweiz
  • Die Verordnung zum Konsumkreditgesetz (VVKG), in der durch das Eidgenössische Justiz- und Polizeidepartement (EJPD) der jeweils gültige Maximalzinssatz für Konsumkredite festgelegt wird
  • Die Vergabe von Krediten wird ebenso im Gesetz gegen den unlauteren Wettbewerb UWG behandelt
  • Kreditgeber unterstehen zudem als Finanzintermediäre dem Geldwäschereigesetz GWG
  • Die vom Gesetzgeber vorgeschriebene schweizerische Informationsstelle für Konsumkredite (IKO)
  • Die Evidenzzentrale für Bonitätsinformationen aus Kreditgeschäften natürlicher und juristischer Personen Zentralstelle für Kreditinformation (ZEK)

Die Haupteigenschaften eines Privatkredites

  • Kreditbetrag: Das ist der als Kredit geliehenen Betrag.
  • Effektiver Jahreszins: Der effektive Jahreszins muss im Konsumkreditvertrag aufgeführt sein. Er weist die Kreditkosten des Privatkredits in Jahresprozent aus und muss alle Kosten des Kredits berücksichtigen. Ist dies nicht möglich, müssen diese Kosten separat aufgeführt sein.
  • Laufzeit: Die vereinbarte Frist, in der ein Kredit zurückbezahlt werden muss. In der Schweiz werden abhängig vom Kreditgeber Laufzeiten von 6 bis 120 Monaten angeboten. Je länger die Laufzeit, desto teurer wird ein Kredit. Gut zu wissen: In der Schweiz hat der Kreditnehmer das Recht, jederzeit mehr als vereinbart zu bezahlen oder den Kreditvertrag durch Begleichung des gesamten Betrags vorzeitig aufzulösen. Dies reduziert die Kosten.
  • Rückzahlung / Amortisation: Aus Laufzeit, Zins und Kreditbetrag ergeben sich die Kreditkosten. Zusammen mit dem Kreditbetrag ergibt dies die Gesamtkosten. Die Gesamtkosten werden auf die vereinbarte Laufzeit in Monatsraten aufgeteilt. Jede Monatsrate besteht aus Zinskosten und Amortisation. Zu Beginn der Laufzeit ist der Zinsanteil an der Monatsrate am höchsten.

Wann eignet sich ein Kredit – und wann nicht?

Kredite werden oft bei Änderungen der Lebensumstände aufgenommen. Was bedeutet das? Das kann eine notwendige oder gewünschte Anschaffung sein: das Auto ist kaputt oder man erfüllt sich einen lang gehegten Traum und möchte dafür nicht sein Erspartes verwenden.

Grundsätzlich eignen sich Kredite:

  • Für die Überbrückung kurzfristiger finanzieller Engpässe.
  • Wenn zeitnah zusätzliches Kapital benötigt wird und sparen deshalb nicht möglich ist.
  • Für langlebige Anschaffungen wie ein Auto oder Möbel.
  • Als Investition in die Zukunft, beispielsweise für eine Weiterbildung.
  • Bei stabiler Einkommenssituation, ohne sein erspartes Vermögen einzusetzen.

Weniger oder nicht geeignet sind Kredite:

  • Bei strukturellen finanziellen Schwierigkeiten, die durch einen Kredit nur aufgeschoben werden
  • Für kurzlebige Produkte oder Freizeitaktivitäten sowie Ferien
  • Um sich Produkte oder Konsum zu finanzieren, die die eigenen finanziellen Möglichkeiten deutlich übersteigen und auf die man auch verzichten kann.
Mehr zum Thema Autokredit

Mehr zum Thema Möbelkredit

Wer vergibt in der Schweiz Kredite?

In der Schweiz unterscheidet man zwischen gewerbsmässigem und nicht gewerbsmässigem Geldverleih.

Finanzinstitute / Kreditinstitute / Banken: Gewerbsmässige Kreditgeber an Privatpersonen in der Schweiz sind meistens Banken. Das heisst, es handelt sich entweder um Universalbanken, separate Geschäftseinheiten von Banken, spezialisierte Kreditbanken oder um reine Kreditinstitute.

Crowdlending-Institutionen: Im Bereich Privat-, Business- und Immobilien-Kredite wächst das durch Crowdlender vermittelte Kreditvolumen jährlich stark an. Crowdlending-Plattformen vermitteln zwischen Kreditgebern und Kreditnehmern. Kreditgeber sind dabei Privatpersonen oder institutionelle Anleger (Firmen). Crowdlending-Plattformen vergeben selber keine Kredite, sind für Privatkredite aber ebenfalls dem Konsumkreditgesetz unterstellt.

Kreditvermittler: Kreditvermittler sind natürliche oder juristische Personen (Privatpersonen oder Gesellschaften), die gewerbsmässig Privatkreditverträge vermitteln. Sie vergeben also keine Kredite, beraten aber Kundinnen und Kunden zu deren Möglichkeiten und wickeln den Kreditprozess zwischen Bank und Kreditnehmer ab. Das Beispiel des Comparis Partner-Service Credaris zeigt, wie das funktioniert und welche Vorteile die Services eines Kreditvermittlers haben.

Die nächsten Schritte:

Maximale Kreditlimite berechnen
Finden Sie heraus, wie viel Kredit Sie nach Konsumkreditgesetz ungefähr aufnehmen könnten.

Vergleichen Sie den Markt
Vergleichen Sie die Zinsspannen und Eigenschaften der Kreditanbieter in der Schweiz.

Kredit beantragen
Sie haben sich bereits entschieden, einen Kredit aufzunehmen? Zum Antrag.


Wichtige Kriterien bei Konsumkrediten

Bestimmung von Zinssätzen und Kreditkosten

Der Kreditgeber bestimmt durch eine umfassende Bonitätsprüfung, ob und zu welchem Zins Ihnen ein Kredit angeboten wird.

Alle direkt mit dem Kredit im Zusammenhang stehenden Kosten müssen im effektiven Jahreszins ausgewiesen sein. Zusätzlich zu den vertraglich festgelegten monatlichen Raten dürfen also keine weiteren Kosten entstehen. Davon ausgenommen sind rein administrative Zusatzaufwände, beispielsweise für Mahnungen oder zusätzliche Kontoauszüge. Optionale Kreditversicherungen sind ebenfalls meist separat aufgeführt.

Minimale und maximale Kredithöhe in der Schweiz

In der Schweiz beträgt die übliche Kredithöhe zwischen 1’000 und 250’000 Franken, in seltenen Fällen auch darüber. Die möglichen Beträge variieren je nach Anbieter. Kredite zwischen 500 und 80’000 Franken gelten als Konsumkredite und unterliegen den entsprechenden Vorschriften des Konsumkreditgesetzes.

Laufzeiten

Laufzeiten für Kredite in der Schweiz bewegen sich zwischen 6 und 120 Monaten. Kreditgeber bieten unterschiedliche maximale Laufzeiten an. Kredite unter 3 Monaten fallen nicht unter das Konsumkreditgesetz.

Bonitätsprüfung

Vor jeder Kreditvergabe findet eine umfassende Prüfung des Antragstellers statt. Bei Konsumkrediten ist die Kreditfähigkeitsprüfung gesetzlich vorgeschrieben. Mehr zu diesen Themen erfahren Sie unter Aufnahmekriterien und Bonitätsprüfung.

Das gesetzliche Widerrufsrecht bei Konsumkrediten

Das Konsumkreditgesetz dient dem Schutz des Kreditnehmers. Teil davon ist ein 14-tägiges Widerrufsrecht vom Vertrag. Deshalb werden Konsumkredite erst rund 14 Tage nach Vertragsabschluss überwiesen, wenn diese Wartefrist verstrichen ist. Kredite ausserhalb der Definition eines Konsumkredites können ohne Wartefrist ausbezahlt werden.

Ziehen Sie einen Kredit in Erwägung?

Die Kreditvergabe ist in der Schweiz zum Schutz der Konsumenten und Konsumentinnen stark reguliert. Kreditgeber müssen sich bei der Vergabe an strikte Regeln halten und wenden bei der Prüfung von Kreditanträgen ein umfassendes Regelset an eigenen Kriterien an. Diese sind zum Schutz vor Betrugsversuchen nicht öffentlich. Die eigenen Chancen auf eine Zusage bei einem bestimmten Anbieter einzuschätzen, ist deshalb nur teilweise möglich. Etwa 50 Prozent aller Kreditanträge werden abgelehnt.

Credaris, ein Partner-Service von Comparis, übernimmt den Kreditvergleich für Sie und zeigt Ihnen auf, wo und zu welchen Konditionen Sie die besten Chancen auf einen Kredit haben. Mit einer kostenlosen und unverbindlichen Kreditanfrage steigern Sie Ihre Chancen um über 50 Prozent im Vergleich zu einer Direktanfrage bei einem Kreditanbieter.


Jetzt Kreditanfrage senden

Die Kreditvergabe ist verboten, falls sie zur Überschuldung führt (Art. 3 UWG).

Nach oben

Newsletter

Immer aktuell informiert über Sparmöglichkeiten sowie Experten-Tipps rund um die Themen Gesundheit, Finanzen und Steuern.

Mit der Anmeldung stimme ich der Bearbeitung meiner Daten entsprechend der Datenschutzerklärung von comparis.ch zu.

comparis.ch
  • Über Comparis

  • Medien

  • Karriere

Folgen Sie uns
Sprache
  • DE
  • FR
  • IT
  • EN
  • Kontakt
  • Datenschutz
  • Rechtliche Informationen
  • Impressum

© 1996–2020 comparis.ch AG, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zürich, +41 44 360 52 62