Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Insurance

Comparis

Menu

Loans & mortgagesPersonal loansApplying for a loan

Applying for a loan: procedure, tips and useful information

Whether it's to finance the purchase of a new car or make it through a tough financial period, you've decided to take out a loan. We’ll show you how – step by step.

Overview:

Before applying for a loan

Step 1: do your research

Before you apply for a loan, you should familiarize yourself with the criteria. Not everyone gets approved for a loan. Credit capacity and creditworthiness play a role in deciding who receives a loan, along with other factors such as age, nationality, occupation, overdue debts, alimony and even place of residence. Learn more about personal loan eligibility criteria.

Step 2: work out how much you could borrow

Check your maximum loan amount

  • You should check approximately how much a lender would offer you.

Your credit capacity is the key factor here. Loan amounts of up to 80,000 francs are subject to the Consumer Credit Act (KKG/LCC). To protect borrowers from over-indebtedness, the Consumer Credit Act states that a loan may only be approved if the borrower is in a position to repay the total amount (including interest) within 36 months using the seizable portion of their income.

Calculate approximately how much you can afford to borrow.

Interest

Lenders put out advertisements featuring their lowest interest rates, currently starting at 3.5%. A word of caution, however: these attractive but largely unobtainable rates are only awarded to people with an excellent credit score and under special conditions.

In order to determine your interest rate, lenders will review your personal and financial situation in detail. Certain eligibility criteria and risk factors determine not only whether you'll be approved for a loan, but also under which conditions. Essentially, the lower the interest rate, the stricter the eligibility criteria.

Use our loan calculator to see how different interest rates affect the cost of your loan.

Choose your repayment term

Lenders offer terms from 6 to 120 months. The longer the repayment term, the higher the interest payments. It's important to pay your instalments on time. For this reason, we advise you to give yourself some financial buffer when making your calculations. Late payments and debt repayment plans will impact your credit score. If you miss payments, the lender may choose to terminate your contract.

The best solution is to play it safe: choose a longer repayment term and pay more than the minimum instalments. According to Swiss law, you can always pay back your loans early, which will lower the amount of interest you have to pay. Learn more about choosing your repayment term.

Our tips:

  • Be realistic about your budget.
  • Give yourself some financial buffer for one-off expenses.
  • Choose a longer repayment term.
  • Pay more than the minimum whenever possible.



So you’ve decided to apply for a loan?

You have two options:

Option 1: choose a reputable Swiss lender

  • Use our loan calculator to get an overview of loan deals in Switzerland and compare interest rates.
  • Take advantage of your right to obtain a free credit report in order to find out what information credit agencies have about you.
  • Undergoing a credit check is a central part of being granted a loan.
  • If you've already taken out loans or entered into leasing agreements, you can also request a credit report from the ZEK (in German and French only).
  • Tip: submitting several loan applications at the same time so that you can compare offers will have a negative impact on your chances of receiving a loan.

A solid credit score and a secure source of income are the basic requirements for taking out a loan. Lenders also apply their own risk criteria but do not publicize them.

  • Approximately 50% of all loan applications in Switzerland are rejected.
  • If you apply directly with a bank or crowdlending provider, your information will be requested from the ZEK database as soon as you submit your application.

Option 2: submit your loan enquiry to Credaris via Comparis

  • Credaris is a partner service of Comparis and specializes in brokering personal loans.
  • Credaris offers a no-risk check of your credit score and eligibility.
  • You'll receive an offer after undergoing a thorough background check.
  • Upon agreement, Credaris will submit an application on your behalf to the lender most likely to approve you for a loan.

Learn more about Credaris.

Submit no-obligation enquiry

Loan application

Step 1: submit your documents

Lenders and credit brokers first need some information about potential borrowers: their identity, credit rating and financial situation.

You will therefore need to submit the following paperwork:

  • Salary statements for the past 3 months
  • ID (identity card, passport)
  • For non-Swiss residents: settlement or residence permit
  • Often also a copy of your tenancy agreement

You may be required to submit additional documents later in the process, depending on your individual situation.

  • For self-employed people: a tax assessment
  • In some cases, further proof of your source(s) of income (e.g. bank credit notes for alimony or widow's pension)
  • Proof of marital status (e.g. divorce/separation decree)
  • When refinancing a loan: signed contract, bank details

Step 2: wait for your credit check results

Every potential borrower undergoes a credit check before being awarded a loan. Lenders request and analyze information on applicants such as their unpaid debts and past payment behaviour. The interest rate you receive depends on the results of your credit check. Having a positive credit rating lowers your risk in the eyes of the lender – and also your interest rate.

Good to know: depending on their internal risk assessment policies and the borrower's profile, lenders usually require certain additional documentation to be submitted – sometimes original copies. So you can expect to be asked for more paperwork during the course of your credit application.


Loan agreement

If you are approved for the loan you applied for, you will receive a contract to sign. Contracts covered by the Consumer Credit Act can be revoked by the borrower within 14 days. After the 14-day period, the loan will be transferred to your bank account. Loans over CHF 80,000 can be paid out directly.

Why is there a 14-day "right of withdrawal" period in Switzerland?


Loans covered by the Consumer Credit Act are only paid out after a 14-day cooling off period following the start of the contract. The idea is protect consumers, giving them time to change their minds and terminate the loan agreement. For this reason, “instant loans” (also called “express loans” or “quick loans”) are not offered in Switzerland, even though you may often see ads of this nature on the Internet. It is forbidden by law to use the term "instant loan" in advertisements.

Increase your chances of getting a personal loan

Loans are not suitable for solving ongoing financial difficulties or financing one-off activities like holidays or weddings. In order to protect consumers from falling into excessive debt, Swiss law has strict regulations regarding issuing loans. This includes checking borrowers' credit capacity, giving consumers a 14-day cooling-off period to change their minds, and allowing loans to be paid back early at any time. Taking out a loan is a long(er)-term obligation. You should therefore consider this decision carefully and make all the necessary preparations before submitting your application – for instance, requesting your own credit report and calculating how much you can afford to borrow.

Please note that every loan provider uses different criteria for their borrowers. It can therefore be difficult to assess your chances in advance. You should not send out multiple loan applications at once: this can lower your chances of being approved for a loan and negatively impact future loan applications. You can boost your chances by submitting a loan enquiry to Credaris, a partner service of Comparis. Credaris will review your profile free of charge and with no obligation, and give you an honest assessment of your options with respect to the loan you want.


Submit loan enquiry now

FAQ – frequently asked questions about loan applications

When it comes to applications with commercial lenders, you have the following three options:<
  • Directly with the lender (bank)
  • Via a crowdlending platform
  • Using a loan broker
To start off, you will need identity documents and proof of income. Additional documents will be requested based on your individual profile.
As a general rule, loans of up to CHF 250,000 may be approved in Switzerland. For loans covered by the Consumer Credit Act (up to CHF 80,000), lenders are obliged to check your credit capacity. You can use our calculator to work out how much you could borrow according to the Consumer Credit Act.

Calculate maximum loan amount
There is no limit to the number of loans you can take out. The only limiter is whether you can afford to pay the total monthly instalments. It is more effort to have multiple loans running at once. Taking out higher amounts tends to positively affect the interest rate. So if you want to take out additional loans, it would make sense to look into refinancing options. Certain lenders require that existing loans be paid off in advance.

Submitting several loan applications at the same time will have a negative impact on your chances of receiving a loan. Too many existing loan agreements will also adversely affect your application, as will switching between agreements too quickly.
All loan rejections are reported to the Central Office for Credit Information (ZEK). Depending on the reason for the rejection, having this information on file may make it difficult for you to take out loans in the future. However, being rejected for one loan doesn't necessarily mean you will be rejected for others. With that said, it's advisable to avoid unnecessary rejections by having your application thoroughly reviewed in advance. Credaris, a partner service of Comparis, can help you in this regard – free of charge and with no obligation.

Are you looking for a loan?

Credaris, a partner service of comparis.ch, can help – free of charge and with no obligation. For all matters relating to lending, borrowing, credit reports and the ZEK – Credaris provides the expertise you need.
Find the best deal

Approval of a loan is forbidden by law if it would lead to over-indebtedness (Art. 3 UWG).

Back to top

Newsletter

Stay up-to-date with the latest savings deals as well as expert tips on health, money and tax.

By registering, I agree to my data being processed in accordance with the data privacy statement of comparis.ch.

comparis.ch
  • About Comparis

  • Career

Social Media
Language
  • DE
  • FR
  • IT
  • EN
  • Contact
  • Data privacy protection
  • Legal information
  • Credits

© 1996–2021 comparis.ch AG, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zurich, +41 44 360 52 62

Comparis
Newsletter
de

Versicherungen

Auto & Motorrad

Immobilien

Kredit & Hypotheken

Preisvergleich

Gesundheit & Altersvorsorge

Weitere Services

Comparis

Menü

Kredit & HypothekenPrivatkreditKredit beantragen

Kredit beantragen: Ablauf, Tipps und nützliche Hinweise

Egal ob für den Kauf eines Autos oder zur Überbrückung kurzfristiger finanzieller Engpässe: Sie haben sich dafür entschieden, einen Kredit aufzunehmen. Wir zeigen Ihnen Schritt für Schritt, wie und wo Sie das tun können.

Übersicht:

Vor dem Kreditantrag

Schritt 1: Informieren Sie sich

Bevor Sie einen Kredit beantragen, sollten Sie sich über die Voraussetzungen informieren. Denn nicht jede Person bekommt einen Kredit. Kreditfähigkeit und Kreditwürdigkeit, aber auch Faktoren wie Alter, Nationalität, Erwerbstätigkeit, Betreibungen, Alimente und sogar der Wohnort beeinflussen die Vergabe. Lesen Sie mehr zu den Voraussetzungen für einen Privatkredit.

Schritt 2: Berechnen Sie Ihren möglichen Kredit

Betrag prüfen

  • Prüfen Sie, ob Sie sich den von Ihnen gewünschten Betrag leisten können.

Ausschlaggebend ist Ihre Kreditfähigkeit. Kredite bis CHF 80’000 fallen unter das Konsumkreditgesetz (KKG). Zum Schutz vor Überschuldung schreibt das KKG vor: Ein Kredit darf nur in einer Höhe bewilligt werden, in der er inklusive Zinsen innert 36 Monaten mit dem pfändbaren Einkommen zurückbezahlt werden könnte.

Berechnen Sie hier Ihre ungefähre Kreditlimite.

Zins

Die Kreditanbieter werben jeweils mit ihrem jeweiligen tiefsten Zins. Aktuell startet dieser bei 3,5 Prozent. Aber Achtung: Solche Schaufensterzinsen bekommen nur Personen mit einer hervorragenden Bonität unter speziellen Voraussetzungen.

Für eine Zinsofferte werden die persönliche und finanzielle Situation des Kreditnehmers im Detail geprüft. Die Aufnahme- und Risikokriterien entscheiden also nicht nur ob, sondern auch zu welchen Konditionen Sie einen Kredit erhalten. Generell gilt: Je tiefer der Zins, desto höher die Anforderungen an den Kreditnehmer.

Prüfen Sie im Kreditrechner, wie sich die Zinshöhe auf die Kreditkosten auswirkt.

Laufzeit wählen

Kreditgeber bieten Laufzeiten von 6 bis 120 Monaten an. Je länger die Laufzeit, desto teurer werden die Zinskosten. Die pünktliche Ratenzahlung ist wichtig. Kalkulieren Sie deshalb nicht bis an die Grenze Ihrer finanziellen Möglichkeiten. Verspätete Zahlungen und Abzahlungsvereinbarungen wirken sich auf die Bonität aus. Ausfallende Zahlungen können bis zur Auflösung des Vertrags seitens des Anbieters führen.

Am einfachsten sichern Sie sich ab, indem Sie eine längere Laufzeit wählen und mehr als die geschuldete Rate zurückzahlen. Eine schnellere Rückzahlung ist gesetzlich jederzeit möglich und senkt die Zinskosten. Hier mehr zur richtigen Kreditlaufzeit.

Unsere Tipps:

  • Schätzen Sie Ihr Budget realistisch ein.
  • Denken Sie an Puffer für unregelmässige Ausgaben.
  • Wählen Sie eine längere Laufzeit.
  • Tätigen Sie Sonderzahlungen, wann immer es das Budget erlaubt.



Sie haben sich entschieden, einen Kredit zu beantragen?

Dann haben Sie zwei Optionen:

Option 1: Sie wählen selbst einen der bekannten Schweizer Anbieter aus

  • Verschaffen Sie sich einen Überblick über die Kreditangebote in der Schweiz und vergleichen Sie Zinssätze in unserem Kreditrechner.
  • Nehmen Sie zuerst Ihr Recht auf kostenlose Selbstauskunft wahr, um zu prüfen, was Bonitätsauskunfteien über Sie gespeichert haben.
  • Die Bonitätsprüfung ist ein zentraler Teil der Kreditbewilligung.
  • Haben Sie bereits Kredite oder Leasingverträge abgeschlossen, fordern Sie zusätzlich eine Selbstauskunft bei der ZEK an.
  • Tipp: Mehrere parallele Anträge, um Angebote zu vergleichen, wirken sich negativ auf Ihre Kreditchancen aus.

Eine gute Bonität und ein gesichertes Einkommen sind Grundvoraussetzungen für die Kreditaufnahme. Darüber hinaus wendet aber jeder Anbieter verschiedene Risikokriterien an, die nicht öffentlich sind.

  • Etwa 50 Prozent aller Kreditanträge werden in der Schweiz abgelehnt.
  • Bei einem Antrag direkt bei einer Bank oder einem Crowdlending-Anbieter wird direkt nach Eingang des Antrags die ZEK-Datenbank abgefragt.

Option 2: Sie platzieren eine Anfrage via Comparis bei Credaris

  • Credaris ist ein Partner-Service von Comparis und spezialisiert auf die Vermittlung von Privatkrediten.
  • Credaris prüft Ihre Bonität und Voraussetzungen ohne Risiko.
  • Nach einem detaillierten Background-Check erhalten Sie eine Offerte.
  • Ihr Antrag wird nach Rücksprache mit Ihnen beim Anbieter eingereicht, bei dem Sie die besten Chancen auf Bewilligung haben.

Mehr über Credaris erfahren.

Kredit unverbindlich anfragen

Kreditantrag

Schritt 1: Unterlagen senden

Für die Identifikation, Prüfung der Bonität und der finanziellen Situation benötigt der Kreditgeber oder Vermittler im ersten Schritt einige Informationen zum Kreditnehmer.

Folgende Dokumente müssen eingereicht werden:

  • Lohnausweise der letzten 3 Monate
  • Identifikationsdokument (ID, Pass)
  • Für Ausländer die Niederlassungsbewilligung sowie der Ausländerausweis
  • Häufig wird ebenfalls ein Mietvertrag gefordert

Später im Prozess, je nach privater Situation des Kreditnehmers, werden weitere Unterlagen nachverlangt.

  • Bei Selbstständigen eine Steuerveranlagung
  • Je nach persönlicher Situation unterschiedliche Dokumente zum Nachweis der Einkommenssituation (z.B. Bankgutschriften Alimente, Witwenrente)
  • Dokumente bezüglich des Zivilstandes (z.B. Trennungsurteil, Scheidungsurteil)
  • Bei der Kreditablösung: unterzeichneter Vertrag, Bankverbindung

Schritt 2: Bonitätsprüfung abwarten

Vor der Kreditvergabe wird jeder Antragsteller einer Bonitätsprüfung unterzogen. Informationen wie Betreibungen, vergangenes Zahlungsverhalten und mehr werden eingeholt und vom Anbieter analysiert. Welchen Zins Sie für Ihren Kredit erhalten, hängt unter anderem mit den Resultaten der Bonitätsprüfung zusammen. Eine gute Bonität wirkt sich positiv auf das Risikoprofil und somit auf den Zins aus.

Gut zu wissen: Jeder Anbieter verlangt abhängig vom Profil des Kreditnehmers und der eigenen Risikopolitik zusätzliche Unterlagen, teilweise auch im Original. Deshalb werden im Verlauf eines Kreditantrages normalerweise zusätzliche Unterlagen nachgefordert.


Kreditvertrag

Wird der gewünschte Kredit bewilligt, erhält der Kreditnehmer den Vertrag zur Unterzeichnung. Für Verträge innerhalb des KKG gilt ein 14-tägiges Widerrufsrecht für den Kreditnehmer. Danach wird der Betrag auf das Bankkonto überwiesen. Kredite über 80’000 Franken können hingegen direkt ausbezahlt werden.

Warum gilt für Privatkredite in der Schweiz ein 14-tägiges Widerrufsrecht?


Bei Krediten, die unter das KKG fallen, wird der genehmigte Kreditbetrag erst nach 14 Tagen nach Vertragsbeginn ausbezahlt. Dies dient dem Schutz des Kreditnehmers, der sich während dieser Zeit noch umentscheiden und den Vertrag auflösen kann. Aus diesem Grund gibt es in der Schweiz auch keine sogenannten «Sofortkredite» oder «Schnellkredite», auch wenn im Internet häufig damit geworben wird. Mit dem Begriff Sofortkredit zu werben, ist sogar explizit untersagt.

So erhöhen Sie Ihre Chancen auf einen Privatkredit

Ein Kredit eignet sich nicht, um strukturelle Geldprobleme zu lösen oder für die Finanzierung kurzlebiger Aktivitäten – wie beispielsweise Ferien oder Hochzeiten. Die Kreditvergabe ist in der Schweiz stark geregelt, um Kunden vor Überschuldung zu schützen. Dazu zählen die Kreditfähigkeitsprüfung, das 14-tägige Widerrufsrecht oder die gesetzliche Vorgabe, dass ein Kredit jederzeit vorzeitig zurückgezahlt werden kann. Da es sich um eine längerfristige Verbindlichkeit handelt, ist es wichtig, sich die Kreditaufnahme gut zu überlegen und vor dem Antrag die nötigen Vorbereitungen zu treffen. Dazu gehört zum Beispiel, Selbstauskunft einzuholen und den möglichen Kreditrahmen zu berechnen.

Beachten Sie, dass jeder Anbieter eigene Aufnahmekriterien verwendet und es schwierig ist, die eigenen Chancen bei einem Anbieter einzuschätzen. Sie sollten nicht parallel Anträge an mehrere Kreditgeber senden. Eine Antragstellung an mehrere Anbieter gleichzeitig könnte Ihre Chancen auf eine Zusage mindern und zukünftige Kreditanträge beeinträchtigen. Sie können Ihre Chancen erhöhen, indem Sie eine Kreditanfrage bei Credaris, einer Partner-Firma von Comparis, platzieren. Nach einer kostenlosen und unverbindlichen Vorabprüfung erhalten Sie eine ehrliche Einschätzung Ihrer Möglichkeiten für den gewünschten Kredit.


Jetzt Kreditanfrage senden

FAQ – Häufig gestellte Fragen zum Kreditantrag

Für den Kreditantrag bei einem gewerblichen Kreditgeber haben Sie drei Optionen:

  • Direkt bei einem Kreditinstitut (Bank)
  • Über eine Crowdlending-Plattform
  • Mit Unterstützung eines Vermittlers

Im ersten Schritt benötigt man die Identifikation und Einkommensnachweise. Weitere Unterlagen werden abhängig vom Kundenprofil eingefordert.

Kredite werden in der Schweiz generell bis 250’000 Franken vergeben. Bei Krediten innerhalb des Konsumkreditgesetzes (bis 80’000 Franken) findet zwingend die Kreditfähigkeitsprüfung statt. Die eigene Kreditlimite gemäss Konsumkreditgesetz können Sie hier berechnen.

Kreditlimite berechnen

Es gibt keine Grenze für die Anzahl an Krediten. Entscheidend ist, ob man sich die monatlichen Raten für die gesamte Summe leisten kann. Aus administrativer Sicht sind mehrere unterschiedliche Kredite ein Zusatzaufwand. Höhere Beträge wirken sich eher positiv auf die Zinshöhe aus. Möchte man also zusätzliches Geld aufnehmen, lohnt es sich, eine Kreditablösung zu prüfen. Gewisse Anbieter setzen für einen Kreditantrag voraus, dass bestehende Kredite abgelöst werden.

Gleichzeitige Anträge bei mehreren Anbietern wirken sich negativ auf die Bewilligungschancen aus. Zu viele oder schnelle Wechsel laufender Verträge wirken sich ebenfalls nicht positiv auf die Bewilligung aus.

Die Ablehnung wird der Zentralstelle für Kreditinformationen ZEK gemeldet. Je nach Grund für die Ablehnung kann dieser Eintrag die künftige Kreditaufnahme erschweren. Eine Ablehnung führt aber nicht zwingend zu Folgeablehnungen. Es lohnt sich aber, unnötige Ablehnungen durch eine seriöse Vorabprüfung zu vermeiden. Dabei unterstützt Sie der Comparis-Partner-Service Credaris kostenlos und unverbindlich.