Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

Loans & mortgagesPersonal loansCar loans

Car loans: financing that gets you on the road

Ready to purchase a new car? You might be wondering how to pay for it. Financing options depend on the type of vehicle, type of use, and your personal preferences and plans. Find out here if a car loan is the right solution for you.

Overview:

  • What is a car loan?
  • When does it make sense to take out a loan for buying a car?
  • What are the advantages of car loans?

What is a car loan?

A car loan is a loan that you can take out to finance the purchase of a vehicle. In fact, for most lenders, car loans are the same as personal loans. This means that the loan isn't tied to your car purchase: you can basically use the amount for whatever you want. The term car loan is used in order to highlight the differences and advantages compared to a car lease.

Did you know…?

Financing the purchase of a vehicle is the most common reason for taking out a loan. More than one-fifth of Swiss households have at least one loan for buying a car. (Source: Federal Statistical Office, February 2020, in German only).


In most cases, a car loan is the same as a personal loan. This means that you could also use the loan for something other than buying a car. Lenders simply call it a car loan for marketing purposes – and to highlight the differences and advantages compared to leasing a car. This also applies to the product “Cashgate Credit Drive” for instance: although the name suggests it's a special car loan, it is no different than other Cashgate products.

In Switzerland there are currently two loan options specifically for purchasing a vehicle. Unlike standard personal loans, these are strictly car loans that must be used for buying a car and can only be obtained from an authorized dealer. The amount of the loan is transferred to the dealer instead of the borrower.

  • Cembra Financing Plus car loan (for used cars)
  • BCGE car loan (offered by Banque Cantonale de Genève)

The main difference with these dedicated car loans is that the car acts as a seizable asset in case of non-payment – the same as with leasing plans. This has an impact on how the lender assesses the risk of the loan and the eligibility criteria for the borrower.

Dedicated car loans are tied to the underlying seizable asset (in this case, the car) and come with additional requirements. In the case of Cembra, these requirements are as follows:

  • "Code 178: Change of keeper prohibited" applies, which means that you are not allowed to sell the car (the same as with leasing).
  • A retention of title will be registered for amounts of CHF 25,000 and above. 

At 7.95% or 9.95%, the interest rates for Cembra car loans are no cheaper than Cembra personal loans.

When is it worth taking out a car loan?

When buying a car, you have the option of paying in cash, entering into a leasing agreement or taking out a car loan. Paying in cash is definitely the cheapest option, but the funds aren't always available. If your budget is tight, it makes more sense to take out a loan to buy a used car instead of leasing a new car. This means that most cars bought on credit are vehicles for everyday use, not luxury purchases. 

Reasons for taking out a car loan:

  • You can't wait to make the purchase. 
  • Your family is about to grow.
  • Your current car broke down. 
  • You don't want to dip into your savings.

Ready to take out a car loan?

When taking out a car loan, the same conditions apply as with a normal personal loan.

You will need to undergo an individual credit check to find out whether you'll be approved for a loan and at what conditions. When it comes to the interest rate, the following typically applies: the lower the interest rate, the stricter the eligibility criteria. Around half of all direct loan applications to banks are rejected.

You can increase your chances of getting the loan you need by applying via Comparis. The loan experts at Credaris, a partner service of Comparis, will thoroughly review your application and submit it to the most appropriate lender – free of charge and with no obligation.

Submit loan enquiry

What are the advantages of car loans?

The vehicle financing options described above are personal loans, car loans and leasing.

Here's an overview of the differences:

OwnershipFree choice of insurerService garagePossible to resellUnlimited mileage
Personal loanYesYesFree choiceYesYes
Car loanYesYesFree choiceLimitedYes
LeasingNoLimitedFixed in the contractNoNo

Taking out a loan to purchase a car also has the following advantages:

  • The car is not linked to any financing agreement.
  • No calculation of residual value or pre-emption right.
  • Debt interest can be deducted from your taxes.
  • You always have the option of paying back the loan early.
  • Unlike leasing, there are no additional costs when terminating the contract.

More information: when does it make sense to choose a car loan vs. leasing?

FAQs: frequently asked questions about car loans

The eligibility requirements for a car loan are the same as for a normal personal loan. The basic criteria include your credit capacity, creditworthiness, age, occupation, etc. Furthermore, every lender uses internal criteria that are not published for security reasons. You can find out more about eligibility criteria here.
In order to submit a personal loan application, you will need to provide your salary statement(s) and a notarized copy of your identity card or passport. Non-Swiss residents will need to provide a copy of their settlement or residence permit or their passport. Lenders will often request a copy of your tenancy agreement as well. Whether other documents are needed at a later stage of the application process depends on your personal situation and the requirements of the lender.
The interest rate you receive depends on your credit score. You first need to submit a loan application in order to find out whether you'll be approved and what interest rate you'll receive. You can check approximately how much you can borrow by using our affordability calculator.
Yes. In Switzerland, loans can be refinanced or paid back in full at any time, thereby terminating the contract.
Interest rates range from 3.5% to 9.9%. The interest rate you receive depends on your credit score and the lender's risk assessment. Around half of all loan applications are rejected. You can submit a free loan enquiry to get a professional opinion on your options and possible interest rate.

Personal loans – quickly, safely and with no obligation

Our experts can negotiate the best rates for you.
Find the best deal now

Approval of a loan is forbidden by law if it would lead to over-indebtedness (Art. 3 UWG).

Back to top

Newsletter

Stay up-to-date with the latest savings deals as well as expert tips on health, money and tax.

By registering, I agree to my data being processed in accordance with the data privacy statement of comparis.ch.

comparis.ch
  • About Comparis

  • Career

Social Media
Language
  • DE
  • FR
  • IT
  • EN
  • Contact
  • Data privacy protection
  • Legal information
  • Credits

© 1996–2020 comparis.ch AG, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zurich, +41 44 360 52 62

Comparis
Newsletter
de

Versicherungen

Auto & Motorrad

Immobilien

Kredit & Hypotheken

Preisvergleich

Gesundheit & Altersvorsorge

Weitere Services

Comparis

Menü

Kredit & HypothekenPrivatkreditAutokredit

Autokredit: Mobil mit der richtigen Finanzierung

Haben Sie das passende Auto gefunden? Dann stellt sich die Frage nach der Finanzierung. Diese hängt ab von Fahrzeug, Nutzung sowie persönlichen Vorlieben und Plänen. Erfahren Sie hier, ob ein Autokredit für Sie die passende Lösung ist.

Übersicht:

  • Was ist ein Autokredit?
  • Wann eignet sich ein Kredit für den Autokauf?
  • Was sind die Vorteile eines Autokredits?

Was ist ein Autokredit?

Umgangssprachlich ist mit Autokredit ein Privatkredit für den Kauf eines Autos gemeint. Tatsächlich ist ein Autokredit bei den meisten Anbietern aber mit einem Privatkredit gleichzusetzen. Das heisst: Der Kreditbetrag ist nicht zweckgebunden, sondern kann auch für etwas anderes als einen Autokauf genutzt werden. Die Benennung als Autokredit dient dazu, die Unterschiede und Vorteile gegenüber einem Leasing aufzuzeigen.

Wussten Sie, dass...?

Die Fahrzeugfinanzierung ist der häufigste Grund für die Kreditaufnahme: Über ein Fünftel der Schweizer Haushalte haben mindestens einen Kredit für den Erwerb eines Fahrzeuges. (Quelle: Bundesamt für Statistik, veröff. Februar 2020).


Ein Autokredit ist bei den meisten Anbietern gleichzusetzen mit einem Privatkredit. Das heisst: Der Kreditbetrag kann auch für etwas anderes als den Autokauf genutzt werden. Die Benennung als Autokredit erfolgt aus Marketinggründen und zeigt die Unterschiede und Vorteile gegenüber einem Leasing auf. Das gilt beispielsweise auch für «Cashgate Credit Drive»: Der Name suggeriert, ein spezieller Autokredit zu sein, er unterscheidet sich aber nicht von anderen Cashgate-Krediten.

Aktuell gibt es in der Schweiz zwei speziell auf den Autokauf ausgerichtete Angebote. Diese sind im Gegensatz zum normalen Privatkredit zweckgebunden und können ausschliesslich für den Autokauf verwendet werden. Der Kredit kann nur beim Fachhändler abgeschlossen werden. Der Kreditbetrag wird nicht dem Kreditnehmer, sondern dem Fachhändler – in der Regel eine Garage oder ein Autohaus – überwiesen.

  • Fahrzeugkredit Cembra Finanzierung Plus (für Occasionen)
  • Fahrzeugkredit BCGE (Genfer Kantonalbank)

Der Hauptunterschied dieses «echten» Autokredits ist, dass das Fahrzeug wie beim Leasing zum pfändbaren Asset wird. Dies hat Einfluss auf die Risikobewertung und die Kreditanforderungen des Kreditnehmers.

Um diese Pfändbarkeit sicherzustellen, ist ein echter Autokredit zweckgebunden und mit zusätzlichen Auflagen verbunden. Bei Cembra sind das folgende:

  • Der Code 178 «Halterwechsel verboten» wird hinterlegt (wie bei einem Leasing), der Wagen kann also nicht einfach verkauft werden.
  • Ab CHF 25’000 Franken wird ein Eigentumsvorbehalt registriert. 

Die Zinsen für den Cembra-Autokredit liegen bei 7,95 % oder 9,95 % und sind somit nicht günstiger als ein Cembra-Privatkredit.

Wann lohnt sich ein Autokredit?

Für den Autokauf kommen Barzahlung, Leasing oder ein Autokredit in Frage. Am günstigsten ist in jedem Fall die Barzahlung eines Autos. Doch nicht immer reichen die Mittel dazu aus. Insbesondere bei einem knappen Budget ist der Kauf eines Gebrauchtwagens auf Kredit sinnvoller als das Leasen eines Neuwagens. Die meisten auf Kredit gekauften Autos sind entsprechend Alltagsfahrzeuge und keine Luxusanschaffungen. 

Ein Autokredit wird oft beantragt, weil:

  • die Anschaffung nicht warten kann. 
  • ein Familienzuwachs ansteht.
  • der bisherige Wagen defekt ist. 
  • die Ersparnisse nicht angetastet werden sollen.

Sie haben sich für einen Autokredit entschieden?

Bei der Kreditaufnahme für den Autokauf gelten dieselben Voraussetzungen wie für einen regulären Privatkredit.

Ob und zu welchen Konditionen Sie einen Kredit erhalten, erfahren Sie nur durch eine individuelle Prüfung. Bei der Zinsvergabe gilt allgemein: Je tiefer die Zinsen, desto höher sind die Anforderungen an den Kreditnehmer. Etwa die Hälfte aller Kreditanträge direkt bei Banken wird abgelehnt.

Mit einer Anfrage über Comparis steigern Sie Ihre Chancen auf den gewünschten Betrag: Die Kreditexperten und -expertinnen unseres Partner-Services Credaris platzieren Ihre Anfrage nach einer sorgfältigen Prüfung gezielt beim passenden Anbieter – kostenlos und unverbindlich.

Kreditanfrage senden

Was sind die Vorteile eines Autokredits?

Die bisher beschriebenen Möglichkeiten zur Autofinanzierung sind: Privatkredit, zweckgebundener Autokredit und Leasing.

Diese differenzieren sich durch folgende Eigenschaften:

EigentumFreie VersicherungswahlServicegarageEigentumswechselUnlimitierte Kilometer
PrivatkreditjajaFreie Wahljaja
Spezieller FahrzeugkreditjajaFreie Wahleingeschränktja
LeasingneineingeschränktVertraglich festgelegtneinnein

Ein Kredit für den Autokauf hat ausserdem weitere Vorteile:

  • Das Auto ist nicht an den Finanzierungsvertrag gebunden.
  • Keine Restwertkalkulation / Vorkaufsrechtvereinbarung.
  • Schuldzinsen können von den Steuern abgezogen werden.
  • Ein Kredit kann jederzeit früher zurückbezahlt werden.
  • Im Gegensatz zum Leasing fallen bei der Vertragsauflösung keine zusätzlichen Kosten an.

Weiterführende Informationen: Wann lohnt sich ein Autokredit, wann ein Leasing?

FAQ – Häufig gestellte Fragen zum Autokredit

Die Voraussetzungen für einen Autokredit sind gleich wie bei einem regulären Privatkredit. Basiskriterien sind die gesetzliche Kreditfähigkeit, Kreditwürdigkeit, Alter, Erwerbstätigkeit etc. Darüber hinaus wendet jeder Anbieter eigene Kriterien an, die aus Sicherheitsgründen nicht öffentlich sind. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie unter Aufnahmekriterien.

Das Kreditinstitut benötigt für den Privatkreditantrag in jedem Fall aktuelle Lohnabrechnung(en) und eine beglaubigte Kopie von Identitätskarte oder Pass beziehungsweise für Ausländer und Ausländerinnen die Niederlassungsbewilligung sowie den Ausländerausweis oder den Pass. Häufig wird auch der Mietvertrag verlangt. Im weiteren Antragsprozess hängt es von der persönlichen Situation und vom Anbieter ab, ob und welche weiteren Unterlagen eingereicht werden müssen.

Die Zinsvergabe ist bonitätsabhängig. Erst durch einen Antrag bei einem Anbieter erfahren Sie, ob und zu welchem Zinssatz Sie einen Kredit erhalten. Wie viel Kredit Sie ungefähr erhalten können, erfahren Sie in unserem Kreditlimitenrechner.

Ja, Kredite in der Schweiz können jederzeit abgelöst oder vollständig zurückbezahlt werden. Der Vertrag endet dann.

Kreditzinsen bewegen sich zwischen 3,5 % und 9,9 %. Welcher Zinssatz vergeben wird, hängt von Ihrer Bonität und den Risikokriterien der Anbieter ab. Etwa die Hälfte aller Kreditanträge wird abgelehnt. Eine professionelle Einschätzung Ihrer Möglichkeiten und des möglichen Zinses erhalten Sie hier mit einer kostenlosen Anfrage.

Privatkredit – schnell, sicher, unverbindlich

Unsere Experten verhandeln die für Sie besten Konditionen.
Jetzt das beste Angebot finden