Questions for comparis.ch

  • Can a risk insurance be borrowed on?

    Yes, depending on the General Terms and Conditions of Contract and additional conditions, the insurance policy can be pledged or borrowed on. Often, risk-life policies serve as hedge for mortgage loans.
  • What does the risk life insurance cover in the case of death?

    The insurance covers the case of death caused by accident or illness. There are benefit differences when it comes to coverage of mental illnesses and suicide. Within the contract duration, the insurance company makes a one-time payment or pension payments in the case of death. In the case of survivorship no benefits are made.
  • What is a risk life insurance?

    The risk life insurance only covers claims for cases (in this event death) that occur within the period covered by the insurance. If the event does not occur within this period, no insurance benefits are made.
  • What if you start smoking after the policy is issued?

    If you took out your risk life insurance at a non-smoker rate, you have to report any changes according to the insurance conditions. You will then be classified in the smoker rate with increased insurance premiums.
  • What are the tax benefits?

    A life insurance can be taken out as part of either pillar 3a or pillar 3b.

    Pillar 3a:
    The fixed pension plan (pillar 3a) focuses on family matters. Legal requirements define when a payout is made and who is to be registered as the beneficiary.

    Furthermore, as opposed to the flexible pension plan, the fixed pension plan provides tax benefits. Direct federal, cantonal and municipal taxes allow employed or self-employed people to deduct their premiums to the fixed pension plan up to the statutory maximum amount from their income.

    The time limit for paying premiums to the fixed pension plan is five years after the regular AHV retirement age; provided that you can prove that you continue to be in gainful employment.

    The beneficiary is determined by the ordinance on the tax deductibility of contributions to recognized forms of benefit schemes (BVV 3).Entitled persons are firstly the spouse or, respectively, the registered partner, secondly the lineal descendants (or persons treated as such, e.g. civil partners). Then, the order of the remaining legal heirs (parents, siblings, other heirs) can be determined.

    A payout is taxed at a reduced tax rate.

    Pillar 3b:
    With pillar 3b insurance premiums can be deducted from taxes as flat rates. What is more, the capital of the free pension is quickly available if need be.  
    When the insurance sum is paid out, however, income taxes in the amount of 10% to 15% become due. If the spouse or the children are the beneficiaries, this tax could, under certain circumstances, be avoided. If tax benefits are explicitly unwanted and provided that the General insurance conditions and other insurance conditions allow it, the insurance benefit is added to the inheritance and, in most of the cantons, is passed on to the heirs as tax-free capital.

     

  • How to proceed in the case of death?

    In case of death as the result of a disease: Contact your doctor. If he or she cannot be reached, contact your GP. If the latter cannot be reached either, contact the emergency doctor. The doctor determines the cause of death and issues a death certificate. In case of an accident / discovery of a dead person: Contact the police for accident investigations. This applies to all kinds of accidents (traffic accident, accident at work, domestic accident and other accidents). Death in the hospital: The hospital, clinical or home administration takes care of the necessary formalities and has the death certificate issued. Immediately inform the insurance company about the death.

    - Obtain the policy/policies
    - Which benefits are granted?
    - Which documents does the insurer need in order to be able to pay out the insured benefits?
    - Send claims by registered letter; refer to the policy number or the membership number. Make sure to include a copy of the official death certificate (can be obtained at the civil register office of the place of death) or the family record book.

    Reimbursement can be claimed for premiums paid in advance.

  • When do I need a risk life insurance covering death?

    The risk life insurance in the event of death protects the surviving dependants against major financial claims. This is particularly true for investments such as property, which are often financed by mortgage loans or credits, and can result in heavy financial burdens for the surviving descendants after the death of the insured person.

    Families:
    A risk life insurance offers protection against financial problems in the event of death of the principal earner As a rule of thumb: The amount of the insurance sum with a risk life insurance should be five times the gross annual salary including any possible depts.


    Debtor
    :
    Regarding mortgages for property current interest payments as well as planned mortgage repayments can be protected by the risk life insurance. Depending on the type of credit a product with decreasing or constant lump sum is taken into account. Choosing the insurance product carefully bears a huge saving potential. A decreasing lump sum means significantly lower costs of premium.

    Business partners can also ensure mutual financial protection by means of a risk life insurance. However, a risk cover can also be beneficial for entrepreneurs, stakeholders and key members, especially when considering the economic consequences of their absence.

     

  • How to decide whether to choose a risk life insurance with a decreasing or a constant lump sum

    This greatly depends on the purpose of coverage. For example, if the coverage includes a second mortgage that is to be reimbursed completely, a risk life insurance with a decreasing lump sum death benefit is recommended. However, if the children’s education or the loss of the principal’s earnings is to be covered, an insurance with a fixed insured sum is advisable. From a financial perspective, it is sensitive to choose a decreasing insured sum whenever possible.

  • Risk life insurance - what needs to be considered

    Amount of the sum insured:
    If the insurance is supposed to protect the family by covering the event of death of the principal earner, the sum insured should be three to five times the annual salary of the principal earner. Regarding the insurance of the credit card, the amount of the credit can be used as a benchmark. In this case, a risk life insurance with decreasing lump sum might be the best choice.


    Scope of coverage:
    Are all risks covered? Are there any specific situations (e.g. stays abroad) that are not included in the insurance coverage?

    Differences in risk classification:
    The providers differ significantly in the classification of the activity and the personal life situation of the insured person. For example, if you are smoker you have to pay a risk premium. The latter is fixed individually by the insurance company.

    Flexibility:
    Life insurances often only cover the risk of death. This would be done, for example, when taking out a mortgage for a real estate purchase. Since life insurances focus on the long term, flexibility is an important factor. As time goes by, the need for a pure risk life insurance might turn into a need for a life insurance with savings portions. Some, but not all providers support an according conversion of the insurance policy without the policyholder losing the premiums paid to date (in form of actuarial capital). Therefore, make sure to check the flexibility of the policy when concluding the contract, i.e. whether a conversion or cash surrender are possible. You can find information on the respective product sites in the life insurance comparison.

     

Ask a question

If you have not found an answer to your question on this page, you can ask it here.

Fragen an comparis.ch

  • Kann man eine Risikoversicherung beleihen?

    Ja, abhängig von den Bestimmungen in den AVBs und zusätzlichen Bestimmungen kann die Versicherungspolice verpfändet oder beliehen werden. Oft dienen den Banken Risikolebenspolicen als Absicherung für Hypothekardarlehen.
  • Was deckt die Risikolebensversicherung im Todesfall ab?

    Die Versicherung deckt den Todesfall durch Unfall oder Krankheit ab, wobei es vor allem bei der Deckung von psychischen Krankheiten und Selbsttötung Leistungsunterschiede gibt.
    Innerhalb der Vertragslaufzeit tätigt die Versicherung im Todesfall eine Einmalzahlung oder Rentenzahlungen.
    Im Überlebensfall werden keine Leistungen erbracht.
  • Was ist eine Risikolebensversicherung?

    Die Risikolebensversicherung erbringt dann eine Leistung, wenn der Versicherungsfall (hier der Todesfall) während der Versicherungsdauer eintritt. Tritt der Versicherungsfall ausserhalb der Versicherungsdauer ein, werden keine Leistungen erbracht.
  • Was passiert, wenn man nach Abschluss der Risikolebensversicherung zu rauchen beginnt?

    Wenn Sie Ihre Risikolebensversicherung zum Nichtrauchertarif abgeschlossen haben, müssen Sie diese Veränderung entsprechend den Versicherungsbedingungen melden und werden dann in den Rauchertarif mit den höheren Beiträgen eingestuft.
  • Welche steuerlichen Vorteile gibt es?

    Eine Todesfallversicherung kann sowohl im Rahmen der Säule 3a wie auch der Säule 3b abgeschlossen werden.
     
    Säule 3a:
    Die Säule 3a ist eine private, persönliche Altersvorsorge. Es bestehen gesetzliche Bestimmungen darüber, wann eine Auszahlung vorgenommen und wer als Begünstigter eingetragen werden kann.
    Ausserdem geniesst die gebundene Vorsorge gegenüber der freien Vorsorge steuerliche Vorteile. Bei den direkten Steuern an Bund, Kantone und Gemeinden können Arbeitnehmer und Selbständigerwerbende ihre Einzahlungen in die gebundene Vorsorge bis zu den gesetzlich vorgesehenen Höchstbeträgen von ihrem steuerlichen Einkommen abziehen.
    Einzahlungen in die gebundene Vorsorge können längstens bis fünf Jahre nach Erreichen des ordentlichen AHV-Rentenalters geleistet werden, vorausgesetzt, Sie erbringen den Nachweis, dass Sie weiterhin erwerbstätig sind.
    Wer als Begünstigter eingesetzt werden kann kann, regelt die Verordnung über die steuerliche Abzugsberechtigung für Beiträge an anerkannte Vorsorgeformen (BVV 3). Bezugsberechtigt sind zuerst der Ehegatte bzw. die eingetragene Partnerin oder der eingetragene Partner, dann die direkten Nachkommen (oder gleichgestellte Personen bzw. Lebenspartner). Danach kann die Reihenfolge der übrigen gesetzlichen Erben (Eltern, Geschwister, übrige Erben) bestimmt werden.
    Die Besteuerung findet bei Auszahlung zu einem reduzierten Steuersatz statt. Der Steuersatz ist je nach Kanton unterschiedlich.

    Säule 3b:
    In der Säule 3b können die Versicherungsprämien im Rahmen des Pauschalabzugs steuerlich geltend gemacht werden. Zusätzlich steht das Kapital der freien Vorsorge im Notfall schnell zur Verfügung.
    Bei der Auszahlung der Versicherungssumme fallen jedoch Einkommenssteuern in Höhe von 10% bis 15% an. Sind Ehegatte oder Kinder die Begünstigten, kann diese Steuer unter Umständen vermieden werden. Wird ausdrücklich keine Begünstigung gewünscht und ist dies auch laut AVB und anderen Versicherungsbedingungen zulässig, fliesst die Versicherungsleistung in die Erbmasse und geht in den meisten Kantonen steuerfrei an die Erben.

  • Wie geht man im Todesfall vor?

    Bei Tod als Folge einer Krankheit: Den behandelnden Arzt benachrichtigen; wenn dieser nicht erreichbar ist, den Hausarzt; ist auch dieser abwesend, den Notfallarzt. Der Arzt stellt die Todesursache fest und stellt eine Todesbescheinigung aus.
    Bei Tod durch einen Unfall / Auffindung einer verstorbenen Person: Polizei zur Abklärung des Unfallherganges beiziehen. Dies gilt für alle Unfälle (Verkehrs-, Arbeits-, Haushalts- und andere Unfälle).
    Tod im Spital: Die Spital-, Klinik- oder Heimverwaltung erledigt die nötigen Formalitäten und lässt eine Todesbescheinigung ausstellen.
    Die Versicherungsgesellschaft umgehend über den Tod informieren.

    • Police(n) beschaffen.
    • Welche Leistungen sind versichert?
    • Welche Unterlagen braucht der Versicherer, damit die versicherten Leistungen ausbezahlt werden können?
    • Ansprüche mit eingeschriebenem Brief unter Bezugnahme auf die Policen- oder Mitgliedschaftsnummer geltend machen. Als Beilage ist eine Kopie des amtlichen Todesscheines (erhältlich beim Zivilstandsamt des Sterbeortes) oder des Familienbüchleins nötig.
    • Für vorausbezahlte Prämien kann eine Prämienrückerstattung verlangt werden.
  • Wann benötige ich eine Risikolebensversicherung für den Todesfall?

    Die Risikolebensversicherung für den Todesfall schützt die Hinterbliebenen vor finanziellen Forderungen. Vor allem bei grossen Investitionen wie der Kauf von Immobilien wird die Finanzierung oft über Hypothekardarlehen oder Kredite getätigt, welche nach dem Tod der versicherten Person für die Nachkommen mit grossen finanziellen Belastungen verbunden sein können.

    Familien:
    Finanzielle Probleme können beim Tod des Hauptverdieners durch eine Risikolebensversicherung aufgefangen werden. Als Faustformel für die Höhe einer Risikolebensversicherung gilt: Fünf Bruttojahresgehälter plus eventuell vorhandene Schulden.

    Kreditnehmer
    :
    Im Fall, dass Hypotheken für Immobilien laufen, können mit der Risikolebensversicherung die laufenden Zinszahlungen sowie die geplante Tilgung der Hypothek abgesichert werden. Je nach Art des Kredites können Produkte mit fallender oder konstanter Versicherungssumme in Betracht gezogen werden. Die kluge Wahl des Versicherungsprodukts eröffnet ein grosses Sparpotenzial. Bei fallender Versicherungssumme ergeben sich wesentlich kleinere Prämienkosten.

    Auch Geschäftspartner können sich durch eine Risikolebensversicherung gegenseitig absichern. Aber auch für Unternehmer, Teilhaber und Schlüsselkräfte kann eine Risikoabsicherung vorteilhaft sein – besonders wenn man an die wirtschaftlichen Folgen ihres Ausfalls denkt.

  • Wann wählt man eine Risikoversicherung mit abnehmender, wann eine mit konstanter Todesfallleistung?

    Diese Frage hängt stark vom Zweck der Absicherung zusammen. Wird zum Beispiel eine Zweithypothek abgesichert, welche vollständig getilgt werden soll, so bietet sich eine Risikolebensversicherung mit abnehmendem Todesfallkapital an. Soll die Ausbildung der Kinder oder der Erwerbsausfall des Hauptverdieners abgesichert werden, ist eine Versicherung mit konstanter Versicherungssumme ratsam.
    Wenn immer möglich ist es finanziell interessant, eine abnehmende Versicherungssumme zu wählen.
  • Auf was ist bei der Risikolebensversicherung zu achten?

    Höhe der Versicherungssumme:
    Soll die Familie für den Fall abgesichert werden, dass der Hauptverdiener ausfällt, sollte die Versicherungssumme etwa das Drei- bis Fünffache des Jahresgehalts des Hauptversorgers betragen. Bei der Absicherung von Krediten kann die Kredithöhe als Massstab dienen. Hier ist unter Umständen eine Risikolebensversicherung mit fallender Versicherungssumme am besten geeignet.

    Deckungsumfang:
    Sind alle Risiken gedeckt? Gibt es Situationen (zum Beispiel Auslandsaufenthalte), in denen die Versicherungsdeckung nicht gewährleistet ist?

    Unterschiede in der Risikoklassifizierung:
    Die Anbieter unterscheiden sich stark in der Einstufung der Tätigkeiten und der persönlichen Lebensumstände der versicherten Person. Sind Sie zum Beispiel Raucher, zahlen Sie einen Risikoaufschlag. Dieser wird von jeder Versicherungsgesellschaft gesondert festgelegt.

    Flexibilität:
    Lebensversicherungen decken häufig bloss das reine Todesfallrisiko ab. Dies geschieht zum Beispiel bei der Aufnahme einer Hypothek beim Immobilienerwerb. Da Lebensversicherungen langfristig angelegt sind, ist Flexibilität ein wichtiger Faktor. Über die Jahre kann sich das Bedürfnis nach einer reinen Risikolebensversicherung bis hin zu einer Lebensversicherung mit Sparanteilen entwickeln. Einige Anbieter unterstützen die entsprechende Umwandlung der Versicherungspolice ohne den Verlust der bisher erbrachten Prämie (in Form des Deckungskapitals). Achten Sie beim Vertragsabschluss auf die Flexibilität der Police in Form von Umwandlung oder Rückkauf. Die entsprechenden Informationen finden Sie auf den Produktseiten im Lebensversicherungsvergleich von comparis.ch.

Frage stellen

Konnten Sie auf dieser Seite keine Antwort auf Ihre Frage finden, stellen Sie Ihre Frage hier.