Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

InsuranceHealth insuranceComplementary medicine – the natural alternative
Benefits

Complementary medicine – the natural alternative

02.09.2020

Complementary medicine: natural methods for strengthening and self-healing Source: iStock.com/JanPietruszka

Complementary and alternative forms of medicine are enjoying immense popularity. But basic health insurance only covers certain practices. If you want to access them all, you should consider taking out a supplemental insurance policy.

An increasing awareness of our body and our health has led to a greater general interest in alternatives to the treatment methods offered by conventional medicine. Comparis describes these alternative practices and explains how you can make use of them.

What is complementary medicine?

Unlike conventional medicine, complementary medicine is based on a holistic view of the human body. Its goal is not merely to counter the symptoms of an illness, but to identify the causes and strengthen a person’s ability to self-heal. These practices can be used to complement the treatment methods of conventional medicine. That’s why they are called “complementary”. If they replace standard medical treatment completely, they are described as alternative.

Many of these methods of diagnosis and treatment date back to a time before the development of conventional western medicine. Some are many thousands of years old. However, it is only recently that the effectiveness of these old methods has been subject to the precise level of scientific research that has long been standard for surgical operations and western medicines.

What complementary and alternative medicine practices does basic insurance cover?

Basic insurance will cover the cost of the following 5 complementary medicine practices, as long as they are provided by conventionally trained doctors:

  • Anthroposophic medicine
  • Homeopathy
  • Neural therapy
  • Phytotherapy
  • Traditional Chinese medicine

Physiotherapy is also usually covered by basic insurance. Although it is considered complementary and the therapist is not a doctor, it is covered as long as a doctor prescribes it. In addition, selected medicines from the field of complementary medicine are covered in Switzerland.

What supplemental insurance deals are available for complementary and alternative medicine?

Complementary and alternative medicine treatments can be covered by a single supplemental policy or as part of a package. If you are tempted by a package, make sure that you actually need all the other components it contains. Remember also that some insurers may only cover selected practices provided by specific doctors or therapists.

Supplemental insurance policies also differ in terms of the cost covered. Some health insurers will pay a percentage of the cost of outpatient treatments (e.g. 75% or 80%). Others will contribute a fixed amount (e.g. up to 80 francs per hour). Cover may differ for outpatient and inpatient services. The maximum amount payable for benefits provided in one year also varies.

When is it worth taking out supplemental insurance?

It's worth taking out supplemental insurance if you prefer to be treated using complementary or alternative medicine practices. This is because, from the wide range of services available in this area, only a few treatments are currently covered by basic insurance. Supplemental insurance complements compulsory basic health insurance. It therefore offers you a wider choice of therapies than basic insurance.

However, your chosen insurer is not obliged to accept your application for supplemental insurance. It is therefore advisable to address the matter early in the year.

What should I watch out for when taking out supplemental insurance for complementary and alternative medicine?

Essentially, you need to be meticulous when selecting a supplemental insurance deal. Not all insurers cover all treatment types. Check carefully whether your chosen therapy is included in the supplemental insurance deal you are considering, as often the choice of therapist is also restricted. Otherwise, in the worst-case scenario, you may not be able to be treated by your preferred specialist – even though you have supplemental insurance.

So take a close look at the benefits included. How much is reimbursed? There are significant differences here. Some insurers will pay a particular percentage up to a maximum amount, while others require you to pay a deductible first. Clarify these issues in advance to avoid unpleasant surprises.

Like in basic health insurance, there is a deductible and a coinsurance payment in supplemental insurance. Both vary from insurer to insurer. However, they are usually lower than in basic insurance.

Compare supplemental insurance now

Where can I find more information?

Complementary medicine is popular. Accordingly, the range of providers and treatments on the market is extensive and can be confusing. To get an idea of what type of treatment could be suitable for you, take advantage of any advisory services offered.

Many health insurers are happy to advise their policyholders and only pay for services provided by specialists who are listed in the Empirical Medicine Register (EMR) (in German, French and Italian only). Ideally, contact your health insurer to find out more. If you have a particular illness, you can also obtain good advice on alternative treatments from patient associations – such as the Swiss Cancer League or the Swiss League Against Rheumatism.

Related articles

Comparis
Newsletter
de

Versicherungen

Auto & Motorrad

Immobilien

Kredit & Hypotheken

Preisvergleich

Gesundheit & Altersvorsorge

Weitere Services

Comparis

Menü

VersicherungenKrankenkasseKomplementärmedizin – die natürliche Alternative
Leistungen

Komplementärmedizin – die natürliche Alternative

02.09.2020

Komplementärmedizin: natürliche Methoden zur Stärkung und Selbstheilung. Bild: iStock.com/JanPietruszka

Komplementär- und Alternativmedizin geniessen grosse Popularität. Doch die Grundversicherung deckt nur bestimmte Methoden. Wollen Sie das ganze Spektrum nutzen? Dann sollten Sie den Abschluss einer Zusatzversicherung prüfen.

Das zunehmende Gesundheits- und Körperbewusstsein hat das allgemeine Interesse an Alternativen zu schulmedizinischen Behandlungsmethoden gesteigert. Comparis erläutert die Methoden und wie Sie als Patientin oder Patient davon Gebrauch machen können.

Was ist Komplementärmedizin?

Die Komplementärmedizin richtet im Vergleich zur Schulmedizin einen ganzheitlichen Blick auf den Menschen. Ziel ist es, nicht nur die Symptome einer Krankheit zu bekämpfen, sondern auch nach den Ursachen zu suchen und die Kräfte zur Selbstheilung zu stärken. Die Methoden können als Ergänzung zu Behandlungen der Schulmedizin zum Einsatz kommen. Dann nennt man sie komplementär. Ersetzen sie die herkömmliche Behandlung ganz, spricht man von Alternativmedizin.

Viele dieser Verfahren zur Diagnose und Therapie stammen aus einer Zeit vor der westlichen Schulmedizin. Einige sind viele tausend Jahre alt. Erst in neuester Zeit wird allerdings die Wirksamkeit dieser alten Methoden mit der gleichen Präzision wissenschaftlich erforscht, wie sie bei chirurgischen Eingriffen und westlichen Arzneimitteln längst Standard ist.

Was zahlt die Grundversicherung bei Komplementär- und Alternativmedizin?

Die Grundversicherung übernimmt die Kosten für folgende 5 komplementärmedizinischen Leistungen, wenn sie von schulmedizinisch ausgebildeten Ärzten durchgeführt werden:

  • Anthroposophische Medizin
  • Homöopathie
  • Neuraltherapie
  • Phytotherapie
  • Traditionelle Chinesische Medizin

Auch Physiotherapien sind in der Regel durch die Grundversicherung abgedeckt. Sie sind zwar komplementär und der Therapeut ist kein Arzt – aber hier reicht es, wenn der Arzt sie verordnet. Zudem werden in der Schweiz Arzneimittel aus der Komplementärmedizin teilweise von der Krankenkasse bezahlt.

Welche Zusatzversicherungen gibt es für Komplementär- und Alternativmedizin?

Komplementär- und alternativmedizinische Behandlungen können als reines Zusatzprodukt oder als Paketlösung angeboten werden. Achten Sie bei umfassenden Paketlösungen darauf, ob Sie wirklich alle Bestandteile brauchen. Zudem werden je nach Krankenkasse nur ausgewählte Methoden von spezifischen Ärzten oder Therapeuten anerkannt.

Auch bei der Deckung unterscheiden sich die Zusatzversicherungen. Manche Krankenkassen bezahlen einen bestimmten Anteil an ambulante Behandlungen (z.B. 75 oder 80 Prozent). Andere vergüten einen fixen Betrag (z.B. bis zu 80 Franken pro Stunde). Die Deckung von ambulanten und stationären Leistungen kann unterschiedlich sein. Auch der Maximalbetrag der Leistungen pro Jahr variiert.

Wann lohnt sich für mich eine Zusatzversicherung?

Eine Zusatzversicherung lohnt sich für Sie, wenn Sie sich bevorzugt mit komplementär- bzw. alternativmedizinischen Methoden behandeln lassen möchten. Denn von der grossen Vielfalt in diesem Bereich wird derzeit nur ein kleiner Teil an Therapien von der Grundversorgung erstattet. Zusatzversicherungen ergänzen die obligatorische Grundversicherung. Damit haben Sie eine grössere Auswahl an Therapiemethoden als bei der Grundversicherung.

Bei der Zusatzversicherung besteht aber keine Pflicht des gewählten Versicherers, Sie zu akzeptieren. Befassen Sie sich also frühzeitig mit dem Thema!

Hier können Sie testen, ob Sie in der Zusatzversicherung aufgenommen werden: Schnelltest

Was muss ich bei einer Zusatzversicherung für Komplementär- und Alternativmedizin beachten?

Generell gilt: Augen auf bei der Wahl der passenden Zusatzversicherung. Denn nicht jede Versicherung zahlt auch alle Methoden. Prüfen Sie also genau, ob Ihre gewünschte Therapie in der Zusatzversicherung Ihrer Wahl enthalten ist. Oft ist auch die Wahl des Therapeuten/der Therapeutin eingeschränkt. Im schlechtesten Fall können Sie sich sonst trotz Zusatzversicherung nicht vom Spezialisten Ihrer Wahl behandeln lassen.

Einen genauen Blick sollten Sie auch auf die Leistungen werfen. Was wird bezahlt und in welcher Höhe? Da gibt es grosse Unterschiede. Oft wird ein gewisser Prozentanteil bis zu einer maximalen Summe bezahlt, bei anderen Versicherungen muss zuerst eine Franchise bezahlt werden. Klären Sie diese Punkte vorher genau ab, um böse Überraschungen zu vermeiden.

Bei der Zusatzversicherung gibt es wie in der Grundversicherung eine Franchise und einen Selbstbehalt. Beide unterscheiden sich je nach Anbieter. Sie sind in der Regel aber geringer als bei der Grundversicherung.

Jetzt Zusatzversicherung vergleichen

Wo bekomme ich weitere Informationen?

Komplementärmedizin ist beliebt. Entsprechend gross ist der Markt an Anbietern und die Vielfalt an Methoden ist verwirrend. Um eine Idee davon zu bekommen, welche Therapie für Sie passend sein könnte, machen Sie von den Beratungsangeboten Gebrauch.

Viele Krankenkassen beraten ihre Versicherten und vergüten nur Leistungen von Fachleuten, die im Erfahrungsmedizinischen Register (EMR), eingetragen sind. Fragen Sie am besten bei Ihrer Versicherung nach. Wenn Sie von einer bestimmten Krankheit betroffen sind, dann finden Sie auch bei Patientenverbänden gute Beratungen zu alternativen Methoden – wie zum Beispiel bei der Krebsliga oder der Rheumaliga.

Verwandte Beiträge