Property

Flat handover


 

Rental handover

 

Per legislation, a rental unit is to be handed over on the last day of the rental period. However, many rental contract forms contain special annotations regarding the handover appointment. In any case, check the rental contract for the condition in which you must hand over the flat. Report early any possible damage to the management and your liability insurance.

If you employ a cleaning company to take care of the final cleaning, be sure to obtain a handover guarantee. In case deficiencies with the cleaning are identified during the handover, you will not have to pay for additional cleaning.

To be on the safe side, note the meter readings for gas, electricity, heating and hot water. This information can help in the case of disagreements.

By all means, turn over the key only after all open issues with the old flat have been settled. Once the handover has taken place, you no longer have the right to enter the flat.

At the handover, the landlord must immediately report to you any deficiencies for which you are responsible. No obligation exists to sign the handover record. In case you are not in agreement with the contents of the record, you should decline to sign it.

If the landlord requests that you pay for a portion of worn down furnishings, he is obligated to provide the age of the furnishings in question. On the website of the Tenants' Association of German-Speaking Switzerland (in German) you can find a list of the average life expectancy of furnishings, flooring and wallpaper.

The landlord is also responsible for proving in what condition he handed over the rental unit, that is, if a deficiency was already present when possession was taken over. Therefore it is exceedingly important to document all deficiencies in writing when moving in. In so doing, you are better prepared for any eventual disagreements.

 

Handover of a new flat

 

When taking over a new flat, create a check-in list in which all flaws and defects are listed in detail. Also indicate when these defects will be fixed. In this way you can protect yourself from being charged for damages that were caused by the previous renter. In case a check-out list had been created at the termination of the preceding rental lease, the landlord must make this available to the new tenant if requested.

You can find an appropriate turn-over sheet (in German) on the website of the Tenants' Association of German-Speaking Switzerland.

The landlord must take care of larger defects. Agree in writing with the landlord by what date this will be resolved. Insist that smaller defects, such as a broken electrical outlet, are fixed by your move-in date.

In case additional defects become apparent only later, you can report these by registered mail to the landlord within a certain time period, which is usually between 10 and 30 days depending on the lease agreement.

Immobilien

Wohnungsübergabe


Abgabe Mietobjekt

Das Mietobjekt ist von Gesetzes wegen am letzten Tag der Kündigungsfrist abzugeben. Viele Formularmietverträge enthalten jedoch spezielle Vermerke zum Abgabetermin. Schauen Sie auf jeden Fall im Mietvertrag nach, in welchem Zustand Sie Ihre Wohnung abgeben müssen. Melden Sie etwaige Schäden rechtzeitig der Verwaltung und der Privathaftpflichtversicherung.

Wenn Sie für die Reinigung eine Reinigungsfirma engagieren, dann lassen Sie sich eine Abnahmegarantie geben. Falls die Reinigung bei der Übergabe Mängel aufweist, müssen Sie nicht zusätzlich für die Nachreinigung bezahlen.

Notieren Sie sicherheitshalber alle Zählerstände von Gas, Strom, Heizung und Warmwasser. So sind Sie bei etwaigen Streitigkeiten gut dokumentiert.

Geben Sie den Schlüssel auf alle Fälle erst zurück, wenn alle Pendenzen in der alten Wohnung erledigt sind. Denn nach dessen Rückgabe haben Sie kein Zutrittsrecht zur Wohnung mehr.

Der Vermieter muss Ihnen Mängel, für welche Sie haftbar sind, sofort bei Objektrückgabe mitteilen. Eine Pflicht zur Unterzeichnung des Abgabeprotokolls besteht nicht. Falls Sie mit dessen Inhalt nicht einverstanden sind, dann sollten Sie die Unterschrift verweigern.

Wenn der Vermieter eine Beteiligung an der abgenützten Einrichtung verlangt, dann ist er für das Alter der jeweiligen Einrichtung beweispflichtig. Auf der Website des Schweizerischen Mieterverbandes finden Sie eine Liste der durchschnittlichen Lebensdauer von Einrichtungsgegenständen, Böden und Tapeten.

Der Vermieter trägt auch die Beweispflicht dafür, wie er Ihnen das Objekt bei Mietbeginn übergeben hat, d.h. ob ein Mangel bei Bezug bereits vorhanden war. Darum ist es äusserst wichtig, beim Einzug alle Mängel schriftlich zu dokumentieren. So sind Sie sind Sie für etwaige Streitigkeiten beim Auszug besser gewappnet.

 

Übernahme neue Wohnung

Erstellen Sie bei Übernahme der neuen Wohnung ein Übernahmeprotokoll, worin Sie die Mängel detailliert auflisten. Notieren Sie darin auch, wann welche Mängel beseitigt werden. So schützen Sie sich davor, dass man Ihnen beim Auszug Schäden verrechnet, die Vormieter verursacht haben. Wurde bei der Beendigung des vorangegangenen Mietverhältnisses ein Rückgabeprotokoll erstellt, muss es der Vermieter der neuen Mieterschaft auf Verlangen zur Einsicht vorlegen.

Auf der Website des Mieterinnen-und Mieterverbandes der Deutschschweiz finden Sie ein entsprechendes Übernahmeprotokoll

Der Vermieter muss grössere Mängel beseitigen. Halten Sie gemeinsam mit dem Vermieter schriftlich fest, bis wann das geschehen muss. Bestehen Sie bei kleineren Schäden wie z.B. einer kaputten Steckdose darauf, dass diese bereits vor dem Einzug behoben werden.

Zeigen sich weitere Mängel erst nachträglich, dann können Sie diese innert einer bestimmten Frist – je nach Mietvertrag meistens 10 bis 30 Tage – schriftlich und eingeschrieben dem Vermieter melden.