Mortgage types explained

Mortgage types


Which mortgage type is right for me in my current situation? What are the different mortgage types? These are the questions you need to answer before taking out a mortgage.

Fixed-rate mortgage

With a fixed-rate mortgage, you commit to a set repayment term (between two and ten years), during which time the interest rate remains the same. With interest rates currently being so low, this type of mortgage is particularly attractive, especially those with long terms.   More

Libor mortgage

The Libor mortgage has a fixed term (three to five years) and an interest rate that tracks market rates, being adjusted every three to six months. This is the best type of mortgage if you want to benefit from low interest rates, but it can be risky in the long term.   More

Variable-rate mortgage

This mortgage has no fixed term and can be terminated at any time providing the required notice is given. The interest rate is adjusted periodically to reflect market changes. This mortgage type is highly flexible but therefore more expensive.   More

Special types or special conditions

Many banks offer their own special mortgage types, such as cheaper first-time buyer mortgages, mortgages with incentives for environmentally friendly buildings (Minergie mortgages) or reduced rates for households with children (family mortgages). These are just a few of the most prevalent ones.   More

Combinations

The mortgage types described above can be combined with each other in any way you wish – in accordance with the lender.   More


Go to mortgage guide


Request a personal quote

HypoPlus, a partner service of comparis.ch, compares all lenders and finds the best deal for you.

Request quotes


This might also interest you:

Die Hypothekarmodelle

Die Hypothekarmodelle erklärt – comparis.ch


Welches Modell passt zu mir und meiner Lebenssituation? Welche Modelle gibt es überhaupt? Diese Fragen müssen Sie vor Abschluss einer Hypothek für sich beantworten.

Festhypothek

Bei einer Festhypothek binden Sie sich über eine gewisse Laufzeit (zwei bis zehn Jahre), und der Zins ist fixiert. In der gegenwärtigen Tiefzinssituation ist dieses Modell vor allem mit langen Laufzeiten äusserst beliebt.   Mehr

Libor-Hypothek

Die Libor-Hypothek hat eine feste Laufzeit (drei bis fünf Jahre), der Zins wird alle drei bis sechs Monate den Marktzinsen angepasst. Bei diesem Modell kann man am meisten von den tiefen Zinsen profitieren, langfristig birgt das Modell aber Risiken.   Mehr

Variable Hypothek

Diese Hypothek hat keine feste Laufzeit, sie kann jederzeit unter Einhaltung der entsprechenden Fristen gekündigt werden. Der Zins wird periodisch den Marktverhältnissen angepasst. Diese Form ermöglicht eine hohe Flexibilität und ist deshalb teurer.   Mehr

Spezialmodelle oder Sonderkonditionen

Viele Banken haben spezielle Modelle im Angebot: eine vergünstigte Start-Hypothek, einen Bonus für umweltschonendes Bauen (Minergie-Hypothek) oder Vergünstigungen, wenn Kinder im Haushallt leben (Familien-Hypothek), um nur die gängigsten Modelle zu nennen.   Mehr

Kombinationen

Die obigen Modelle können – je nach Anbieter – beliebig miteinander kombiniert werden.   Mehr


Zum Hypotheken-Ratgeber


Fordern Sie Ihr persönliches Angebot an

HypoPlus, ein Partner-Service von comparis.ch, vergleicht alle Anbieter und sucht das beste Angebot für Sie heraus.

Angebote anfordern


Das könnte Sie auch noch interessieren: