Deductible / Excess


The term 'deductible' or 'excess' refers to the share of the loss, either a percentage or a fixed amount, that the policyholder has to pay out of pocket. By imposing a deductible, the insurance companies want to avoid that countless minor claims are made. Other terms for the deductible are 'retention' or 'coinsurance'.

  • Under contents insurance, the statutory deductible for damage due to natural hazards is 500 francs. Other deductibles vary depending on the insurance provider and usually range from 0 to 200 francs. You can find the individual insurance companies' detailed terms in the product characteristics.
  • The deductible under personal liability insurance is usually 200 francs. With some insurance companies, it can also be reduced, excluded or increased on request. There is often a separate regulation applying to deductibles for tenancy claims and claims under the endorsement for driving third-party vehicles.You can find the individual insurance companies' detailed terms in the product characteristics.

Tip:
The terms regarding the deductible for tenancy claims vary. It is worth checking whether it applies per move, per room or per claim.

 

Back

Selbstbehalt


Der Selbstbehalt bezeichnet den Teil des Schadens, den der Versicherte selbst tragen muss, sei es in Form eines Prozentsatzes oder eines fixen Betrages. Mit einem Selbstbehalt soll vermieden werden, dass viele Kleinschäden angemeldet werden. Andere Ausdrücke für Selbstbehalt sind die Begriffe "Selbstbeteiligung" und "Franchise".

  • In der Hausratversicherung gilt bei Elementarschäden ein gesetzlich festgelegter Selbstbehalt von 500 Franken. Weitere Selbstbehalte sind je nach Versicherung unterschiedlich und bewegen sich üblicherweise zwischen  0 und 200 Franken. Details pro Versicherung sehen Sie bei den Produktmerkmalen.
  • In der Privathaftpflichtversicherung ist ein Selbstbehalt von 200 Franken häufig, kann aber je nach Versicherung auf Wunsch auch reduziert, ausgeschlossen oder erhöht werden. Separat geregelt sind meist die Selbstbehalte bei Mieterschäden und bei der Zusatzversicherung Führen fremder Motorfahrzeuge. Details sehen Sie pro Versicherung bei den Produktmerkmalen aufgelistet.

Tipp:
Bei Mieterschäden ist die Regelung mit dem Selbstbehalt unterschiedlich. Es lohnt sich, darauf zu achten, ob er pro Auszug, pro Zimmer oder pro Schadenereignis gilt.

 

Zurück