Welcome to Switzerland

B or C residence permit in Switzerland – what are the benefits?

INFORMATION
|
Source: iStock / Alexey Morozov

Are you a foreign national looking to live and work in Switzerland? Then you will need a valid permit. Comparis explains the difference between the B and C permits, and the benefits of each.

If you are employed and are from an EU or European Free Trade Association (EFTA) member state, you may stay in Switzerland for a period of three months without a permit. You are simply required to register with your municipality of residence.

If you wish to live and work in Switzerland longer than three months, you will need a residence permit. You must apply to the relevant cantonal authority for this permit within 14 days of arrival and before you start work.

Living and working in Switzerland – which permit do I need?

The type of permit you need depends on the length of your employment contract:

L short-stay permit

Is your employment contract for a maximum of 364 days? If you are an employed foreign national from an EU or EFTA country, then you will get an L permit (short-stay). This permit is valid for the duration of your employment contract.

B residence permit

Is your employment contract temporary for more than one year or permanent? If you are an employed foreign national from an EU or EFTA country, then you will get a B residence permit. This permit is valid for five years and can be extended.

If you are self-employed, you will also get a B residence permit, but you must provide proof of your self-employed activity. Here you can find out more about about how persons from EU and EFTA member states can start a business in Switzerland

C permanent residence permit

Have you been living in Switzerland for more than five years? If you are an employed foreign national from an EU or EFTA member state and have been living legally in Switzerland for more than five years uninterrupted, you will be granted the C residence permit. This is valid permanently, but there is a renewal check every five years.

B residence permit – the benefits

  • No need to file a tax return if your annual salary is less than 120,000 francs
  • Instead, payment of withholding tax – set by the canton and deducted directly from your monthly salary
  • Pillar 3a: retrospective adjustment of witholding tax possible
  • Depending on the canton, tax benefits compared to permanent residents with C permit 

C residence permit – the benefits

  • Right to permanent residence
  • Right to residence cannot be linked to conditions (e.g. attending German lessons)
  • Same rights and obligations as the Swiss, except for the right to vote in elections and referendums

These articles might also interest you:

Tips on how to apply for an apartment
Beware of fake listings! How to avoid falling prey to fraudsters

Neu in der Schweiz

Aufenthaltsbewilligung B oder C in der Schweiz: Welche Vorteile haben sie?

INFO
|
Bild: iStock / Alexey Morozov

Sie möchten als ausländischer Staatsangehöriger in der Schweiz wohnen und arbeiten? Dann benötigen Sie eine gültige Bewilligung. Comparis erklärt die Unterschiede zwischen Aufenthaltsbewilligung B und Niederlassungsbewilligung C sowie ihre Vorteile.

Ausländische Erwerbstätige aus den EU- und EFTA-Staaten (European Free Trade Association/ Europäische Freihandelsassoziation) dürfen sich drei Monate ohne Bewilligung in der Schweiz aufhalten. Es besteht lediglich eine Meldepflicht bei der Wohngemeinde.

Möchten Sie länger als drei Monate in der Schweiz wohnen und arbeiten, ist eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung notwendig. Diese muss innerhalb von 14 Tagen nach Ankunft und vor Arbeitsbeginn bei der zuständigen kantonalen Behörde beantragt werden.

In der Schweiz wohnen und arbeiten: Welche Bewilligung?

Die Art der Bewilligung hängt von der Dauer des Arbeitsverhältnisses ab:

Kurzaufenthaltsbewilligung L

Ist Ihr Arbeitsvertrag auf maximal 364 Tage befristet? Dann erhalten Sie als ausländischer Erwerbstätiger aus den EU- und EFTA-Staaten die Kurzaufenthaltsbewilligung L. Diese ist genauso lange gültig wie die Dauer Ihres Arbeitsvertrags.

Aufenthaltsbewilligung B

Ist Ihr Arbeitsvertrag auf mindestens ein Jahr befristet oder unbefristet? Dann erhalten Sie als ausländischer Erwerbstätiger aus den EU- und EFTA-Staaten die Aufenthaltsbewilligung B. Diese ist fünf Jahre gültig und verlängerbar.

Selbstständig Erwerbstätige erhalten ebenfalls die Aufenthaltsbewilligung B. Voraussetzung: Sie können eine effektive selbstständige Erwerbstätigkeit nachweisen. Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen zur Firmengründung in der Schweiz durch Personen aus dem EU- und EFTA-Raum

Niederlassungsbewilligung C

Leben Sie länger als fünf Jahre in der Schweiz? Haben Sie als ausländischer Erwerbstätiger aus den EU- und EFTA-Staaten ordnungsgemäss und ununterbrochen länger als 5 Jahre in der Schweiz gewohnt, wird Ihnen die Niederlassungsbewilligung C erteilt. Diese ist unbeschränkt gültig. Es besteht lediglich eine Kontrollfrist von fünf Jahren.

Aufenthaltsbewilligung B: die Vorteile

  • Bis zu einem Jahresgehalt von 120’000 Franken keine Steuererklärung nötig
  • Stattdessen Zahlung von kantonal festgelegter Quellensteuer, die monatlich direkt vom Lohn abgezogen wird
  • Säule 3a: Nachträgliche Korrektur der Quellensteuer möglich
  • Je nach Kanton Steuervorteile gegenüber Niedergelassenen mit Niederlassungsbewilligung C 

Niederlassungsbewilligung C: die Vorteile

  • Unbeschränktes Aufenthaltsrecht
  • Aufenthaltsrecht darf nicht mit Bedingungen (z.B. den Besuch eines Deutschkurses) verbunden werden
  • Gleiche Rechte und Pflichten wie die Schweizer. Einzige Ausnahme: das Stimm- und Wahlrecht

Diese Artikel könnten Sie auch interessieren:

Teures Zürich: Lohnt sich ein Wohnsitz ausserhalb des Stadtzentrums?
Tipps: Wohnungsbewerbung und richtiger Umgang mit der Verwaltung
Fake-Inserate: Tipps gegen Betrug auf Immobilien-Portalen