Welcome to Switzerland

Unemployed in Switzerland, what now?

INFORMATION
|
The global crisis is also being clearly felt in Switzerland. Experts anticipate a decline in economic performance this year of more than 2 percent, and there is no foreseeable end for the recession. The number of unemployed in Switzerland has risen by 22 percent within a year, and immigrants, in particular, are affected more and more by unemployment.

For immigrants to receive compensation in the event of unemployment, a few requirements must be met. Over the last 2 years at least 12 months must have been worked as an employee. Citizenship does not play a part in terms of being able to claim unemployment compensation. Immigrants must only be in possession of a valid residence permit or a permit to stay. A special agreement applies for first-time entries from Germany. The contribution periods spent in Germany will be fully credited in Switzerland.

The basis for unemployment compensation is the insured earnings, which, depending on the personal circumstances, are 70 or 80% of the insured earnings. The length of the claim depends on various factors. If the claim requirements mentioned above are met, then one has a claim for 400 daily allowances.

In the event of unemployment, the affected parties register as quickly as possible with their municipality of residence or with the regional employment agency (RAV). You must have the following documents on hand for the registration to proceed without any problems: AHV (social security) card, official identification card, residency credentials as well as the residency permit or foreigner's identification.

Neu in der Schweiz

Arbeitslos in der Schweiz, was nun?

INFO
|
Die weltweite Krise ist auch in der Schweiz deutlich spürbar. Experten erwarten dieses Jahr einen Rückgang der Wirtschaftsleistung von über 2 Prozent und ein Ende der Rezession ist nicht absehbar. Die Zahl der Arbeitslosen in der Schweiz ist innert Jahresfrist um 22 Prozent gestiegen und gerade Zuwanderer sind immer mehr von Arbeitslosigkeit betroffen.

Damit Zuwanderer im Falle von Arbeitslosigkeit eine Entschädigung erhalten, müssen einige Voraussetzungen erfüllt sein. Es muss in den letzten 2 Jahren mindestens 12 Monate als Arbeitnehmer oder Arbeitnehmerin gearbeitet worden sein. Die Staatsangehörigkeit spielt für den Anspruch auf Arbeitslosenentschädigung keine Rolle. Zuwanderer müssen lediglich im Besitz einer gültige Niederlassungs- oder Aufenthaltsbewilligung sein. Bei einer erstmaligen Einreise aus Deutschland gilt ein besonderes Abkommen. Die in Deutschland zurückgelegten Beitragszeiten werden in der Schweiz voll angerechnet.

Die Basis für die Arbeitslosenentschädigung ist der versicherte Verdienst: Es wird ein Taggeld berechnet, das je nach persönlichen Verhältnissen 70 oder 80 Prozent des versicherten Verdienstes beträgt. Die Dauer des Anspruchs hängt von unterschiedlichen Faktoren ab. Wenn die oben genannten Anspruchsvoraussetzungen erfüllt sind, hat man Anspruch 400 Taggelder.

Im Falle von Arbeitslosigkeit melden sich Betroffene so schnell wie möglich bei der Wohngemeinde oder beim regionalen Arbeitsvermittlungszentrum (RAV) an. Damit die Anmeldung ohne Probleme verlaufen kann, müssen folgende Dokumente bereitgehalten werden: AHV-Karte, amtlicher Personalausweis, Wohnsitzbescheinigung sowie Niederlassungsbewilligung oder Ausländerausweis.