Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

TelecomAmazon Prime Video – your questions answered
TV-Streaming

Amazon Prime Video – your questions answered

05.03.2020

Source: istock / marcoventuriniautieri

Offering series, films and documentaries, Amazon Prime Video pretty much has something for everyone. And if that is not enough, there are additional options to choose from. Comparis explains how much a subscription and the extra options cost and answers other key questions.

What is Amazon Prime Video?

Amazon Prime Video, also referred to as just Prime Video or Amazon Video, is the streaming service provided by the online retail giant Amazon. If you have an Amazon Prime membership, this includes a range of services such as delivery benefits and Prime Music – and also Prime Video, which lets you watch series and films. There are also additional channels and films available for purchase.

How much does Amazon Prime Video cost in Switzerland?

Amazon Prime Video costs 5.99 euros per month, which at an exchange rate of 1.06 (as at 5 March 2020) works out at just under 6.40 francs. With this subscription, you can stream simultaneously on up to three devices and download films and series to watch offline. You can select one of four quality levels to suit the data volume you have available. 4K and HDR are only available for certain titles. You can choose an annual or monthly membership. The annual subscription costs 69 euros, which is 5.75 euros per month. Like other streaming providers, Amazon Prime Video allows you to test the service free of charge for one month. This trial month includes Amazon Music and Audible as well as the streaming service. If you like what Amazon Prime Video has to offer, it’s worth opting for the annual subscription as soon as the free trial ends, because it is cheaper than the monthly membership.

Amazon Prime Video also offers a range of channels such as Arthouse CNMA, Eurosport Player and Home of Horror. For the first three months, an additional channel costs 0.99 euros, which rises to 3.99 euros per month from the fourth month. So if you have watched all your preferred films and series under the standard subscription, it's worth subscribing to an additional channel every three months.

Are there any special offers?

Yes. Students and apprentices can get a 12-month Amazon Prime membership free of charge, and then a 50% discount on the standard price after that.

Comparis service: use the Comparis Internet, TV and landline comparison to compare different types of plans (Internet-only or combined packages) and find the right deal for your home.

What is the cancellation policy?

You can basically cancel your Amazon Prime Video subscription any time before your next payment date. If you took out a monthly subscription, you can cancel it on a monthly basis. If you cancel an annual subscription, your fee for the rest of the year will be refunded. If you decide not to continue using the service after the free trial, you have to choose “Do not renew” in your account settings.

Which devices are supported?

In order to use Amazon Prime Video, you first need an Amazon account. An Amazon Prime Video app is available for iOS and Android devices, Smart TVs and Blu-ray players. You can also watch Amazon Prime Video on Amazon streaming devices (Fire TV or the Fire TV stick), Apple TV and Google Chromecast. The Amazon Prime Video app also runs on the games consoles Sony PlayStation 3 and 4 and Xbox One and Xbox 360.

What does Amazon Prime Video offer?

Like its competitors, Amazon produces original content, series and films. Amazon Studios invites budding screenwriters to submit their ideas and scripts. Every year, several pilot episodes are produced, which users can rate. Programmes that receive the best responses are actually produced. Users of Amazon Prime Video can choose from over 600 series and over 3,300 films.

The most successful Amazon series are:

  • The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
  • Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan
  • Goliath
  • Homecoming
  • Too Old To Die Young

Amazon Prime Video also offers a wide range of films:

  • The Aeronauts (Amazon Original)
  • Beverly Hills Cop
  • The Hobbit (all three films)
  • I, Tonya
  • Despicable Me (all three films) and Minions
  • Jurassic World
  • Mission Impossible (all six films)
  • The Godfather
  • Fifty Shades of Grey

Before the start of a film and between the episodes of a series, there is usually an advert for another Amazon Prime title.

Can you also buy films?

If you wish, you can also purchase or rent films. The difference is that purchased films belong to you indefinitely and you can watch them as often as you like, whereas rented films are available for 30 days and you have 48 hours to finish them once started. In most cases, rented or purchased films can also be downloaded and viewed offline. It tends to be newer films, like Joker featuring Joaquin Phoenix, that are available to buy. The purchase prices vary from 3 to 11.99 euros. It costs between 3.99 and 4.99 euros to rent a film.

In what languages is Amazon Prime Video content available?

In Switzerland, films are generally available in the language of your region as well as the original language. Sometimes they can be shown in the original language with subtitles in the language of your region. Depending on the device you are using for Amazon Prime Video, you may be able to switch on closed captioning for the hearing impaired.

What does Amazon Prime Video do particularly well?

  1. Amazon Prime Video lists on the website what films and series are available, without you having to sign up first. You can therefore find out in advance whether the content on offer is of interest to you.
  2. Since you have the option – for a small fee – to subscribe to additional channels, you can tailor the Prime Video subscription to suit your personal taste. It is possible to switch or add channels should you later decide that you’d like to view a different channel.

How could Amazon Prime Video improve?

Amazon Prime Video has a vast library of content. Although the extra options help you to create your own custom platform, adding them can be rather complicated. So while there's no shortage of alternative content, accessing it involves lots of clicking and searching. The choice of films available is almost unlimited. However, if you are especially keen on watching series, Netflix is worth a look as its range is more extensive.

Amazon Prime Video is the only streaming service that shows trailers before a film or episode starts. So if you don't want your binge-watching interrupted or tend to be impatient, you might want to switch to an ad-free platform.

Amazon Prime Video is included in the Amazon Prime membership. However, many Amazon Prime features, such as free delivery of goods, are not available to customers in Switzerland, but the subscription costs the same as in Germany or Austria.

Summary

Amazon Prime Video’s library of content delivers all you could wish for and then some, as you always have the option of trying out additional channels or renting films. Whether action, anime, horror or comedy, there really is something for everyone. There is also an impressive range of children's films on offer. For this reason, Amazon Prime Video is a good choice for families and viewers who quickly get bored or have diverse interests.

Related articles

TV & Streaming

Fragen und Antworten zu Amazon Prime Video

INFO
|
Bild: istock / marcoventuriniautieri

Egal ob Serien, Filme oder Dokumentationen – Amazon Prime Video hat fast alles für fast jeden. Hat man doch schon alles durchgeschaut, bietet Amazon Prime Video noch diverse Zusatzoptionen. Wie viel ein Abo und die Zusatzoptionen kosten und weitere wichtige Fragen beantwortet Ihnen Comparis.

Was ist Amazon Prime Video?

Amazon Prime Video oder auch Prime Video / Amazon Video ist der Streaming-Dienst des Online-Versandhandels Amazon. Hat man eine Amazon-Prime-Mitgliedschaft, sind darin mehrere Dienste enthalten, nämlich Premiumversand, Prime Music oder eben auch Prime Video, um Serien und Filme zu schauen. Es gibt auch Kanäle und Filme, die man zusätzlich erwerben kann.

Wieviel kostet Amazon Prime Video in der Schweiz?

Amazon Prime Video gibt es für 5.99 Euro pro Monat bei einem Umrechnungskurs von 1.06 (Stand 05.03.20) also für knapp 6.40 Franken. Mit dem Abo kann man auf bis zu drei Geräten gleichzeitig etwas schauen und Filme und Serien für den Offline-Gebrauch herunterladen. Es gibt vier Qualitätsstufen, die man selbst einstellen kann, je nach Datenvolumen, das man zur Verfügung hat. 4K und HDR sind nur bei einzelnen Titeln verfügbar. Es gibt eine jährliche oder monatliche Mitgliedschaft, das Jahresabo kostet 69 Euro, also 5.75 Euro pro Monat. Wie bei Streaming-Anbietern üblich kann man Amazon Prime Video einen Monat lang kostenlos testen. Neben dem Streaming-Dienst sind im Testmonat auch Amazon Music und Audible inbegriffen. Gefällt Ihnen das Angebot von Amazon Prime Video, lohnt es sich also, nach dem Testmonat gleich ein Jahresabo abzuschliessen, da Sie so etwas Geld sparen können.

Amazon Prime Video bietet auch noch spezifische Kanäle an wie: Arthouse CNMA, Eurosports oder Home of Horror. Für die ersten drei Monate kostet ein zusätzlicher Kanal jeweils 0.99 Euro, ab dem vierten Monat 3.99 Euro pro Monat. Wenn man also im normalen Abo alle spannenden Filme und Serien gesehen hat, lohnt es sich, wenn man alle drei Monate einen anderen zusätzlichen Kanal abonniert.

Gibt es Sonderangebote?

Ja. Für Studierende und Lernende gibt es eine 12-monatige kostenlose Mitgliedschaft von Amazon Prime, danach erhält man 50 Prozent Rabatt auf den Originalpreis.

Wie ist die Kündigungsfrist?

Das Amazon Prime Video-Abo ist grundsätzlich jederzeit bis zur nächsten Zahlungsperiode kündbar. Löst man also monatlich das Abo, kann man es monatlich kündigen. Wer ein Jahresabo hat, kann ebenfalls die Mitgliedschaft beenden und bekommt den Mitgliederbeitrag für den verbleibenden Zeitraum zurückerstattet. Wenn Sie das Angebot nach dem Probemonat nicht weiter nutzen wollen, müssen Sie in den Kontoeinstellungen «Nicht Verlängern» auswählen.

Mit welchen Geräten funktioniert es?

Um Amazon Prime Video zu nutzen, braucht man zuallererst ein Amazon-Konto. Für iOS- und Android-Geräte, sowie den Smart TV und Blu-ray Player gibt es eine Amazon Prime Video App. Amazon Prime Video funktioniert auch über Streaming-Geräte von Amazon – Fire TV oder den Fire TV Stick – dem Apple TV-Gerät und Google Chromecast. Zudem läuft die Prime Video-App auf den Spielkonsolen Sony Playstation 3 und 4 und der Xbox One und der Xbox 360.

Wie ist das Angebot von Amazon Prime Video?

Auch Amazon produziert Originalinhalte, Serien und Filme. Die Amazon Studios bieten angehenden Drehbuchautoren an, ihre Ideen und Skripte einzusenden. Jährlich werden dann mehrere Pilotfolgen produziert, die von den Nutzern bewertet werden können – Sendungen mit vielen positiven Reaktionen werden dann tatsächlich produziert. Den Nutzern von Amazon Prime Video stehen über 600 Serien und über 3300 Filme zur Verfügung.

Die erfolgreichsten Amazon-Serien sind:

  • The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
  • Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan
  • Goliath
  • Homecoming
  • Too Old To Die Young

Amazon Prime Video hat auch eine breite Auswahl an Filmen:

  • The Aeronauts (Amazon Original)
  • Beverly Hills Cop
  • Der Hobbit (alle drei Filme)
  • I, Tonya
  • Ich einfach unverbesserlich (alle drei Filme) und die Minions
  • Jurassic World
  • Mission Impossible (alle sechs Filme)
  • Der Pate
  • Shades of Grey

Vor dem Filmstart und zwischen Folgen einer Serie gibt es meistens eine Werbung zu einem anderen Amazon Prime Angebot.

Kann man auch Filme kaufen?

Wenn Sie möchten, können Sie auch Filme kaufen oder ausleihen. Der Unterschied: Gekaufte Filme gehören Ihnen für einen unbegrenzten Zeitraum und können so oft angeschaut werden, wie Sie wollen. Ausgeliehene Filme stehen Ihnen 30 Tage zur Verfügung und wenn Sie mit dem Anschauen begonnen haben, noch 48 Stunden. In den meisten Fällen können die gekauften und ausgeliehenen Filme auch heruntergeladen werden und offline angeschaut werden. Vor allem neuere Filme, wie zum Beispiel der Joker mit Joaquin Phoenix stehen zum Kauf zur Verfügung. Die Preise zum Kauf variieren zwischen 3 Euro bis 11.99 Euro. Einen Film ausleihen kostet zwischen 3.99 und 4.99 Euro.

In welchen Sprachen gibt es das Angebot von Amazon Prime Video?

Amazon Prime Video bietet die Filme im deutschsprachigen Raum grundsätzlich in Deutsch sowie in der Originalsprache an. Es ist aber auch möglich, in Originalsprache mit deutschen Untertiteln zu schauen. Je nach Gerät, mit dem man Amazon Prime Video nutzt, ist es teilweise auch möglich, Bildbeschreibungen für Gehörlose einzustellen.

Was macht Amazon Prime Video besonders gut?

  1. Amazon Prime Video gibt auf der Website an, welche Filme und Serien verfügbar sind, ohne dass man dazu ein Abo gelöst haben muss. So kann man sich im Voraus informieren, ob die Inhalte, die einen interessieren, verfügbar sind.
  2. Da man die Möglichkeit hat – gegen einen kleinen Aufpreis – noch zusätzliche Kanäle zu abonnieren, kann man das Prime Video Abo dem persönlichen Geschmack anpassen. Will man dann später einen anderen Kanal zusätzlich abonnieren, ist ein Wechsel oder ein Hinzufügen gut möglich.

Wo könnte sich Amazon Prime Video verbessern?

Amazon Prime Video hat ein unglaublich breites Angebot. Die vielen Zusatzoptionen helfen zwar, eine individuelle Plattform zu erstellen, sie sind aber auch sehr umständlich. Überall kann man noch mehr haben, muss sich aber durchklicken, suchen und testen. Das Filmangebot ist nahezu unlimitiert. Möchte man aber sehr spezifisch Serien schauen, empfiehlt es sich, Netflix aufzusuchen, da es dort noch mehr Serien gibt.

Amazon Prime Video ist der einzige Streaming-Dienst, bei dem eine Werbung geschaltet wird, bevor man etwas anschauen kann. Wenn Sie also beim Binge Watching nicht gestört werden wollen oder eher zu Ungeduld neigen, sollten Sie zu einer werbefreien Plattform wechseln.

Amazon Prime Video ist ein Teil des Abos von Amazon Prime. Viele Funktionen von Amazon Prime wie etwa kostenlose Lieferung von Gegenständen können Sie in der Schweiz aber nicht nutzen. Das Abo kostet dennoch gleich viel wie in Deutschland oder Österreich.

Fazit

Auf Amazon Prime Video gibt es quasi alles – und sollte man sich jemals durch «alles» durchgeschaut haben, gibt es immer die Möglichkeit, Kanäle auszuprobieren und Filme auszuleihen. Das Angebot bietet für jeden Geschmack etwas, sei das Action, Anime, Horror oder Komödie. Zudem ist auch das Angebot an Kinderfilmen sehr gross. Daher lohnt sich Amazon Prime Video vor allem für Familien, Personen, die schnell gelangweilt oder vielseitig interessiert sind.