Prepaid

Prepaid plans – which deal is best for surfing?

ANALYSIS
|
Prepaid plans can be a good choice for all sorts of users. Which of these young people has the best deal? Source: iStock / DisobeyArt

This year, there are a plethora of prepaid mobile plans for web browsing on offer, including those from Sunrise, Yallo, M-Budget and Aldi. However, the data volumes and tariffs very significantly. So which is the most suitable for your usage needs? comparis.ch has compared prepaid plans. The best deals are presented here.

How does a prepaid plan work?

With prepaid (or pay-as-you-go) plans, payment is made in advance. So although this means you can’t sign up for a contract mobile phone deal, there are no cancellation deadlines. There is usually no minimum term either or if there is, it is limited to one month (with exceptions).

Who can benefit from a prepaid plan?

Until recently, prepaid plans were generally suitable only for light or occasional users. Nowadays, with the wide range of deals on offer, this is no longer the case.  A prepaid plan is usually a good choice if you:

  • use little data, make few calls and only use your telephone occasionally.
  • want to be in control of your spending – when your credit is used up, no further costs are incurred. The downside here is that you have to keep topping up your credit to keep your phone in use – this can be particularly awkward if you are abroad.
  • don’t want to commit to one provider or want to test the services of a provider.

In fact, prepaid plans actually offer some of the most attractive deals for any user. The best ones can be found under the user profiles light user, moderate user and digital nomad, as listed below. The monthly costs comprise the basic rate plus the cost of telephone calls and use of mobile data:

Light user

If you use around 300 MB data, phone for no more than 75 minutes or make 30 calls per month, it’s worth taking a look at the following plans:

Deals for light users

Provider Product Price per month
Sunrise Sunrise Prepaid budget 10 + data package CHF 15.00
Sunrise Sunrise Prepaid budget 15 CHF 15.00
Yallo Yallo All in 15

CHF 15.00

Aldi Aldi Suisse Mobile Smart 75 CHF 15.90
CoopMobile CoopMobile Prepaid + data package CHF 16.15

Moderate user

You are considered a moderate user if you use up to 1,000 MB of data, phone for up to 225 minutes or make a maximum of 90 calls per month. Prepaid plans combined with a data package might be a good choice for you.

Deals for moderate users

Provider Product Monthly costs
Yallo Yallo All in 20 CHF 26.25
M-Budget M-Budget Mobile Prepaid + Value Pack Big CHF 28.80
Aldi Aldi Suisse Mobile Smart CHF 28.90
Aldi Aldi Suisse Mobile Smart Flat Auto CHF 28.90
Lebara
Lebara Swiss
CHF 29.00

Digital nomad

Digital nomads use some 30,000 MB data, telephone for up to 3,750 minutes or make up to 1,500 calls per month. The only viable option for these ultra-heavy users is a flat rate plan, which is included in the following prepaid deals:

Deals for digital nomads

Provider Product Monthly costs
Sunrise Sunrise Prepaid Unlimited 90 days CHF 40.00
Yallo Yallo All in 30 CHF 50.00
Sunrise Sunrise Prepaid Unlimited 30 days

CHF 50.00

Yallo Yallo All in 40 CHF 60.00
Sunrise Sunrise Prepaid Umlimited CHF 75.00

If a prepaid plan is not right for you or you just want to compare more deals, you can check out our mobile phone tariff comparison. Here you will find the best deals for six different user profiles. In addition to the deals for the user types listed above, we have also worked out the best options for the following profiles: heavy user (525 minutes / 210 calls, 3,000 MB mobile data per month), few calls, large data volume (75 minutes / 30 calls, 3,000 MB mobile data per month) and lots of calls, small data volume (525 minutes / 210 calls, 300 MB mobile data per month). One of these profiles should fit your needs.

What should you watch out for with any prepaid plan?

Before you finally settle on a prepaid plan with a certain provider, you should check the following points:

  • Cost of making calls and using data in Switzerland and abroad
  • Services included
  • Additional services
  • Mobile network coverage offered by the provider
  • DL / UL speed
  • Minimum usage requirements

 

This article might also interest you:

Inside Apple – record profits, a successful iPhone X and the new HomePod

Prepaid

Prepaid-Abos: Welches Angebot eignet sich zum Surfen?

ANALYSE
|
Prepaid-Abos lohnen sich für viele verschiedene Nutzungsarten. Wer hat hier wohl das beste Abo? Bild: iStock / DisobeyArt

Ob Sunrise, Yallo, M-Budget oder Aldi: Für mobiles Internet gibt es 2018 viele Prepaid Handy Angebote. Die Datenvolumina und Tarifstrukturen sind dabei sehr unterschiedlich. Welches ist also für Ihre Nutzung am geeignetsten? comparis.ch hat Prepaid Angebote verglichen. Die besten Angebote werden hier aufgezeigt.

Wie funktioniert ein Prepaid-Abo?

Bei einem Prepaid-Abo wird die Zahlung im Voraus geleistet. Mit dem Abo kann deshalb zwar kein subventionierter Handy- oder Abzahlungsvertrag abgeschlossen werden, dafür gibt es keine Kündigungsfristen. Zudem besteht generell keine Mindestlaufzeit oder sie ist beschränkt auf einen Monat (Ausnahmen vorhanden).

Für wen lohnt sich Prepaid?

Früher waren Prepaid-Abos hauptsächlich für Wenig- und sporadische Nutzer geeignet. Heute trifft dies, durch die grosse Vielfalt an Angeboten, nicht mehr zu.  Ein Prepaid-Abo lohnt sich generell, wenn Sie:

  • wenig Daten verbrauchen, wenig telefonieren und ihr Telefon nur sehr sporadisch, also tageweise nutzen.
  • Ihre Kosten im Griff haben möchten – wenn das Guthaben aufgebraucht ist, fallen keine weiteren Kosten an. Ein Nachteil davon ist jedoch, dass das Guthaben wieder neu aufgeladen werden muss, bevor das Handy wieder einsatzbereit ist – gerade im Ausland kann das zu unangenehmen Überraschungen führen.
  • sich nicht auf einen Anbieter festlegen bzw. die Leistungen eines Anbieters testen wollen.

Grundsätzlich sind Prepaid-Abos für alle Nutzer unter den attraktivsten Angeboten. Die besten Angebote finden Sie bei den unten aufgeführten Nutzerprofilen «Wenignutzer», «Mittelnutzer» und «Digital Nomad». Die monatlichen Kosten setzen sich aus dem Grundtarif und den Kosten für Telefonie sowie für die Nutzung des mobilen Internets zusammen:

Wenignutzer

Sie nutzen ca. 300 MB Internet im Monat und telefonieren maximal 75 Minuten im Monat oder tätigen 30 Anrufe? Dann lohnt sich ein Blick auf folgende Abos:

Angebote für Wenignutzer

Anbieter Produkt Preis pro Monat
Sunrise Sunrise Prepaid Budget 10 + Datenpaket CHF 15.00
Sunrise Sunrise Prepaid Budget 15 CHF 15.00
Yallo Yallo All in 15

CHF 15.00

Aldi Aldi Mobile Smart 75 CHF 15.90
Coop Mobile Coop Mobile Prepaid + Datenpaket CHF 16.15

Mittelnutzer

Als Mittelnutzer gelten Sie, wenn Sie pro Monat bis zu 1'000 MB Internet nutzen und bis zu 225 Minuten telefonieren oder maximal 90 Anrufe tätigen. Für Sie können Prepaid-Abos, kombiniert mit einem Datenpaket, sinnvoll sein.

Angebote für Mittelnutzer

Anbieter Produkt Monatliche Kosten
Yallo Yallo All in 20 CHF 26.25
M-Budget M-Budget Prepaid + Mobile Value Pack Big CHF 28.80
Aldi Aldi Mobile Smart CHF 28.90
Aldi Aldi Mobile Smart Flat Auto CHF 28.90
Lebara
Lebara Swiss
CHF 29.00

Digital Nomads

Digital Nomads verbrauchen ca. 30'000 MB Internet im Monat und telefonieren bis zu 3'750 Minuten pro Monat oder führen bis zu 1'500 Anrufe. Für solche Ultra-Vielnutzer kommt nur eine Flatrate in Frage, die beispielsweise in folgenden Prepaid-Abonnementen erhältlich ist:

Angebote für Digital Nomads

Anbieter Produkt Monatliche Kosten
Sunrise Sunrise Prepaid Unlimited 90 days CHF 40.00
Yallo Yallo All in 30 CHF 50.00
Sunrise Sunrise Prepaid Unlimited 30 days

CHF 50.00

Yallo Yallo All in 40 CHF 60.00
Sunrise Sunrise Prepaid Umlimited CHF 75.00

Ist ein Prepaid Abo nicht das richtige für Sie oder möchten Sie noch mehr Tarife vergleichen? In unserem Telecom-Vergleich finden Sie für sechs verschiedene Nutzerprofile die jeweils günstigsten Angebote. Nebst den Angeboten für die oben genannten Nutzerprofile haben wir für sie auch alle Angebote für die Profile «Vielnutzer» (525 Minuten / 210  Anrufe, 3000  MB mobiles Internet im Monat), «Wenig Telefonie, viel Daten» (Telefonieren 75 Minuten / 30 Anrufe, 3000 MB mobiles Internet im Monat) und «Viel Telefonie, wenig Daten» (Telefonieren 525 Minuten / 210 Anrufe, 300 MB mobiles Internet im Monat) berechnet. Sicherlich trifft ein Nutzerprofil auch auf Sie zu.

Was sollte bei jedem Prepaid-Abo beachtet werden?

Bevor Sie sich endgültig für ein Prepaid-Abo eines Anbieters entscheiden, sollten Sie das Angebot auf die folgenden Punkte prüfen:

  • Preis für Telefonie und Daten im In- und Ausland
  • Inkludierte Leistungen
  • Zusatzleistungen
  • Mobilfunknetzwerkabdeckung des Anbieters
  • DL / UL Speed
  • Mindestnutzungsdauer

 

Diese Artikel könnten Sie auch interessieren:

Time Well Spent: Weniger Handy, mehr Leben
Inside Apple – Rekordgewinn, starkes iPhone X und neuer HomePod
Musik-Streaming: Vier Alternativen zu Spotify