Taxes

Income from dog tax has risen by more than a half in a decade

ANALYSIS
| By Leo Hug |
Source: iStock.com / Capuski

The tax man has a discovered a new revenue stream: dog owners. Within one decade, income from dog tax has risen by more than a half to over 50 million francs. This is revealed by a Comparis analysis. In Uster, dog tax is now almost three times the amount charged in Bellinzona. Also alarmingly high is the tax payable for a second dog in Basel.

The online comparison service comparis.ch compared the dog taxes in the cantonal capitals and largest Swiss cities and uncovered enormous differences. The lowest dog tax is in Bellinzona, where you will be charged 70 francs, while Uster tops the rankings with a levy of 200 francs. But the tax is relatively high in Winterthur, Zurich and Glarus as well.

“Some municipalities are clearly attempting to control the canine population by means of a progressive dog tax. A second dog is frequently taxed at double the rate,” observes Comparis governmental fees expert Leo Hug. The most extreme example is Basel: the city charges a whopping 320 francs for a second dog.

Marked increase in tax revenues

The amount dog owners must spend on dog tax has risen sharply in recent years. In 2017, cantons and municipalities generated 50.5 million francs through the dog tax. Ten years previously, it was only 33.2 million francs. This represents an increase of 52%. This can’t be explained by the number of dogs, because the dog population only rose by 12% to 551,000 dogs during the same period.

Municipalities can charge dog tax within the scope of cantonal guidelines. Some of the tax goes towards the cost of dealing with dog waste, which has been disposed of separately for twenty years. However, it can also be used for other purposes that have nothing to do with dogs. The municipalities must pass on a portion of their dog tax revenues to the cantons. In 2017, the cantons claimed 10.1 million francs – or 20% – of dog tax for themselves. More up-to-date data is not available.

Compare pet insurance

Assistance dogs usually tax-exempt

Not all dogs are subject to a tax. Avalanche and disaster rescue dogs along with assistance and service dogs are normally exempt. Many municipalities allow a discount for guard dogs on farms. Lucerne, for example, also applies a reduced rate for dogs used to protect homes in remote locations.

Steuern

Hundesteuer-Einnahmen sind innert 10 Jahren um mehr als die Hälfte gestiegen

ANALYSE
| von Leo Hug |
Bild: iStock.com / Capuski

Vater Staat hat die Hundebesitzer entdeckt. Die Einnahmen aus Hundesteuern sind innert eines Jahrzehnts um mehr als die Hälfte auf über 50 Millionen Franken gestiegen. Das zeigt eine Analyse von Comparis. In Uster erreicht die Hundesteuer mittlerweile fast das Dreifache der Taxe in Bellinzona. Abschreckend hoch ist die Abgabe für einen zweiten Hund in Basel.

Der Online-Vergleichsdienst comparis.ch hat die Hundetaxen der Kantonshauptorte und der grössten Schweizer Städte verglichen und ist dabei auf massive Unterschiede gestossen. In Bellinzona ist die Taxe für einen Hund mit 70 Franken am tiefsten und in Uster mit 200 Franken am höchsten. Aber auch in Winterthur, Zürich und Glarus sind die Taxen im Vergleich hoch.

«Einige Gemeinden versuchen offensichtlich, die Hundepopulation durch eine progressive Hundetaxe zu steuern. Nicht selten verlangen sie für den zweiten Hund den doppelten Tarif», beobachtet Comparis-Gebührenexperte Leo Hug. Besonders schmerzhaft ist das in Basel. Die Stadt verlangt für den zweiten Hund 320 Franken.

Kräftiger Zuwachs an Steuereinnahmen

Die Taxen für die Hundebesitzer haben sich in den vergangenen Jahren massiv verschärft. Im Jahr 2017 haben Kantone und Gemeinden über die Hundesteuer 50,5 Millionen Franken eingenommen. Zehn Jahre zuvor waren es nur 33,2 Millionen Franken. Das entspricht einem Anstieg um 52 Prozent. An der Anzahl Hunde kann es nicht liegen: Denn in derselben Zeit nahm die Hundepopulation um nur 12 Prozent auf 551'000 Hunde zu.

Die Gemeinden können die Hundesteuern im Rahmen kantonaler Leitlinien erheben. Sie werden zum Teil für die seit zwanzig Jahren übliche separate Entsorgung für Hundekot verwendet. Sie können aber auch für Zwecke genutzt werden, die nichts mit dem Hundewesen zu tun haben. Einen Teil ihrer Einnahmen aus Hundesteuern müssen die Gemeinden den Kantonen weitergeben. Im Jahr 2017 haben die Kantone 10,1 Millionen Franken oder 20 Prozent der Hundesteuern für sich beansprucht. Aktuellere Daten sind nicht erhältlich.

Tierversicherung vergleichen

Hunde mit Sonderaufgaben meist steuerbefreit

Nicht für alle Hunde wird eine Taxe erhoben. Lawinen- und Katastrophenhunde aber auch Behinderten- oder Diensthunde sind in der Regel davon befreit. Viele Gemeinden sehen eine Ermässigung für Wachhunde auf Bauernhöfen vor. Luzern zum Beispiel kennt auch eine Ermässigung für Hunde zum Schutz abgelegener Häuser.

Gebühren in der Schweiz