Changing pillar 3a


Savers can transfer their money from one retirement savings account to another, provided that the total account balance is transferred. This can be very profitable because the interest rates on retirement savings accounts vary from one provider to another, as is shown in the online comparison from comparis.ch.

Transferring one's retirement account to a provider that offers a better interest rate pays off in the long run. Moreover, splitting up one's retirement savings to several accounts with different providers is recommendable. You may hold an unlimited number of pillar 3a accounts, which leaves you free to stagger your withdrawals and even save tax while doing so.

Important to know: Generally, when terminating a pillar 3a account, the money must stay within the third-pillar system; i.e., it may not be transferred to a regular savings account. There are a few exceptions allowing for an early withdrawal, though.


The following chart illustrates how changing your provider works.

Wechsel der Säule 3a


Sparer können ihr Geld von einem Vorsorgekonto zu einem anderen transferieren – allerdings nur das komplette Kontoguthaben. Finanziell kann sich das sehr lohnen. Denn die Zinssätze auf die Vorsorgekonten sind je nach Anbieter unterschiedlich hoch, wie der Online-Vergleich von comparis.ch zeigt.

Der Transfer eines Vorsorgekontos zu einem Anbieter mit höherem Zinssatz lohnt sich auf lange Sicht. Es ist zudem von Vorteil, das Vorsorgekapital auf mehrere Konten bei verschiedenen Anbietern aufzuteilen. Die Anzahl der Säule 3a Konten ist unlimiert und bietet die Freiheit, die Bezüge aufzusplitten und erst noch Steuern zu sparen.

Wichtig zu wissen: Wenn Sie ein Säule 3a-Konto kündigen, muss das Geld grundsätzlich im 3a-System bleiben, darf also nicht auf ein normales Sparkonto überwiesen werden. Es gibt allerdings einige Ausnahmen für einen Vorbezug.


Die folgende Grafik zeigt den Prozess bei einem Anbieterwechsel auf.