Property Report: market development analysis and forecast


Where are the housing bubbles in Switzerland at the moment and what is the outlook for the market? A glimpse into the future is provided by a study of over 1.5 million house and apartment sales listings carried out by ETH Zurich (Chair of Entrepreneurial Risks) in partnership with comparis.ch. Analyses were performed every six months up until 2015 and occur once a year since then.

The study is based on a mathematical model devised by Professor Didier Sornette and his team (LPPL model). The current data set comprises asking prices for properties listed on comparis.ch between early 2005 and the end of June 2017. During the initial phase, the collaboration was co-financed by the Federal Commission for Technology and Innovation (CTI).

Interactive map

The Swiss property market in one click – view price changes by district and property type on our interactive map. You can select any time period.


The Property Report of ETH Zurich and comparis.ch differentiates districts according to their price dynamics:

  • The "critical" districts show strong signs of a housing bubble.
  • Districts exhibiting less distinctive signs of a bubble are labelled "to watch".
  • If the situation is still uncertain, districts are given the status "to monitor".

Those who intend to buy a house or apartment in one of these three district categories had best wait a little longer. However, according to the ETH researchers, there is no cause for alarm. The 'hot' regions on the property market are cooling down again. A sudden burst of the bubble is not to be expected.

Those districts with the status "Regime change", on the other hand, offer attractive purchase opportunities. There the price dynamics have already levelled out.

Immobilien-Report: Analyse und Prognose zur Marktentwicklung


Wo bestehen derzeit in der Schweiz Immobilien-Blasen und wohin entwickelt sich der Markt? Einen Blick in die Zukunft erlaubt eine Analyse von über 1.5 Millionen Kaufinseraten für Häuser und Wohnungen, welche die ETH Zürich (Chair of Entrepreneurial Risks) und comparis.ch bis 2015 im halbjährigen Turnus durchführten und ab 2016 einmal pro Jahr durchführen.

Die Untersuchung beruht auf einem mathematischen Modell von Professor Didier Sornette und seinem Team (LPPL-Modell). Die aktuelle Datengrundlage bilden die Angebotspreise für die Immobilien, die in Inseraten auf comparis.ch von Anfang 2005 bis Ende Juni 2017 angezeigt wurden. Die Zusammenarbeit wurde in der Startphase von der Kommission für Technologie und Innovation des Bundes (KTI) mitfinanziert.

Interaktive Karte

Der Schweizer Immobilienmarkt auf einen Klick: Auf einer interaktiven Karte sehen Sie die Preisänderungen nach Bezirk und Objektart. Die Zeitspanne können Sie dabei frei wählen.

Kaufen oder Warten?


Der Immobilien-Report der ETH Zürich und comparis.ch unterscheidet Bezirke je nach Preisdynamik:

  • In «kritischen» Bezirken bestehen starke Anzeichen einer Immobilien-Blase.
  • Bezirke mit schwächeren Zeichen einer Immobilien-Blase sind «zu überwachen».
  • Wo die Situation noch unsicher ist, erhalten die Bezirke den Status «zu beobachten».

Wer in diesen Bezirken ein Haus oder eine Wohnung kaufen möchte, wartet damit am besten noch. Ein Grund zur Sorge besteht den ETH-Forschern zufolge nicht. Die heissen Regionen im Immobilienmarkt kühlen sich wieder ab. Ein plötzliches Platzen der Blase ist nicht zu erwarten.

Gute Kaufchancen bieten dagegen die Bezirke mit dem Status «Veränderung der Preisentwicklung». Hier hat sich die Preisdynamik bereits beruhigt.